56 reviews
Overall rating
4,7
/
5
Value for Money
4,7
Features
4,5
Ease of Use
4,6
Customer Support
4,8
98% recommended this app
56 reviews
Phillip M.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 51-200 Employees

GREAT OPERATIONAL CONTROL PROGRAM

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/09/30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

- FULL INTERFACE WITH OUR POS
- EASY TO USE, RELIABLE REPORTS
- THEORETICAL VS ACTUAL REPORT ALLOWS TARGETED RESPONSES TO COSTING ISSUES
- PURCHASING CONTROL
- REDUCES LABOUR COST

Cons

MINOR ISSUES ONLY
- ALTHOUGH EASY TO USE, THE LEARNING CURVE REQUIRES A SIGNIFICANT TIME INVESTMENT
- OUR POS DOES NOT FULLY INTERACT WITH THE PROGRAM TO OUR SATISFACTION

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Rocco Z.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Marketman Review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/11/24
Review Source: Capterra

great [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was wonderful, and [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is great also

Pros

set up was easy, the support was good and great follow thru

Cons

when you first set up. you should have more dialog with the company on how they would like to see items listed. i had a lot double redoing the original set up very time consuming .

i like the credit function but i don't understand why if the price drops it shows as a credit

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Erik D.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Attentive but flawed technology

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/04/17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Accurate food costs. Ability to reconcile invoices. Ability to order through the software. Works throughout my company.

Cons

Software doesnt always import to quickbooks. It took forever to get our Sysco account to work properly. COGS report should have snapshot view.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Maxwell P.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Food Costing & Analysis

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/11/19
Review Source: Capterra

We have been very pleased with MarketMan since the beginning. And even though this has been a really strange year, we have worked to implement the software at a location while trying to navigate the "new normal" with COVID, but we have been very well supported by MarketMan during this time.

Pros

This product is instrumental in ensuring your food costs are on a budget. I have used several Food Costing software packages, and MarketMan is really great at getting those costs under control and monitoring changes.

Cons

The only thing that I would really like to have added would be a push into Square from Marketman. Such as price and inventory changes could be set in MarketMan, and they would push into Square, but this is really a minor want.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Azizur R.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Super Easy and Accurate

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/11/17
Review Source: Capterra

Easy Implementation.
Easily accessible.
Easy to train team.
Export and Importing options are great.

Pros

Marketman captures all the information and the user-friendliness someone can expect. It feels very personalized.
Changes can be easily implemented. User requires minimum experience to familiar themself. I have used several software, I can say marketman is certainly the best!

Cons

Phone support needs to be more prompt! The team could attempt to solve problems over the phone rather than taking messages only.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Frank C.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Marketman helps drive efficiencies

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/11/23
Review Source: Capterra

Marketman is a great business partner and provides the best customer service. Attentive to the needs of our business. Great software that drove efficiency across multiple lawyers of the business, from inventory control, recipe costing and accounts payable.

Pros

The software is great on mobile platform. Invoice scanning with line item receiving is huge for us.

Cons

Wish it had the ability to calculate nutritional values for our recipes.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Melissa M.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

One platform, so many functions

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/09/20
Review Source: Capterra

We have finally found a platform that meets all our needs, and the recipe costing feature syncing with our POS system is really worth it. So happy we chose MarketMan!

Pros

I am most happy that the price of an ingredient carries through all functions from ordering, receiving invoices and payment, recipe costing, and inventory. The accuracy of this data has been a huge time-saver for the restaurant group, and we have a better idea of how profitable we are day-to day.

Cons

Getting all the items and sub-recipes loaded into the system can be a bit time-consuming up front. Worth it in the end though.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Bartho D.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Ordering Par Level

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/11/23
Review Source: Capterra

Good, would like to to integrate with Sage better and the interactive PAR levels as discussed previously.
The different stock UOM for the same product makes it pretty difficult to keep control and count.

Pros

Online capabilities. The system is great to set top and the stock control is really impressive

Cons

The PAR levels should be interactive and look at the usage trend to order a 7day, 10 day or 14 day stock holding.
We either over order or under order as seasons change.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Maria N.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 11-50 Employees

5 stars Inventory App

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/01/24
Review Source: Capterra

Before MM my inventory was really bad and once I discover this app everything felt into pieces. Good training team, they answer all my questions really fast and scheduling a web training with them is really easy and fast.

Pros

Easy to use, placing order really fast with the phone app, best Inventory count system, best up to date inventory control (literally just a click away), time saving when it comes to invoicing (once the order is placed from MM, it's just a click away to transform it into an invoice), integrate with Quickbooks and Revel, cookbooks and multiple measurement units. The best customer service and the training team.

Cons

When integrating with my Revel system, if I change the name of an item, in MM it will appear as a new item and it's hard to follow older reports since the date is not consistent.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Gede S.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Totally great inventory software!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/11/19
Review Source: Capterra

Accurately showing profit and expenses, physical inventory item quantity as controlling stock in storage.

Pros

I have been using this software more than 3years, the most i like are very accurately to calculate profit and lost day by day or monthly. Easy to use syncronizing with other POS system to create recipe in every single item sale.

Cons

Everything is perfect as what i need to running my company that i manage.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Nicola M.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Consistently improving itself

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ease of use - very intuitive
Customer service - quickest ever
Very detailed reports
Best value for money
Can integrate with multiple POS (virtually any if done manually )
Commissary Kitchen features
Cook book option

Cons

Not having a product for the front end (POS) otherwise, no Cons.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Andrew M.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 51-200 Employees

User Friendly Inventory Management :)

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/09/28
Review Source: Capterra

This allowed us to more easily see price problems. We can now easily check margins on items, and get up to date pricing on all of our items. It has made our inventory process much less intimidating, both speeding up the process, and making us feel confident that our count was accurately costed.

Pros

After struggling to use other programs for months, I happily found Marketman. This is the only program I have found that is cloud based, really does speed up the inventory counting process, and is also very user friendly. We have multiple people that log in to our account to check prices and enter recipes, so it was important for it to be easy to access and navigate. It was also important for us to be able to enter in inventory while counting, and to potentially have multiple people do it at once. Finally I like the ease of downloading anything you need. Whether its an old invoice, inventory report, or any other report you can easily download and print anything you have entered.

Cons

The one thing I wish it had was conversions for recipe entering. Unless you have the same unit of measuring as it is received in, you will likely have to do some converting to type up your recipes. Cheftech allows you to enter in other units of measurement (ex 1 cup flour=4.5oz) so you can now type up recipes using cup measurements rather than all weights etc.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Chris M.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 51-200 Employees

MarketMan is a First in-class Inventory Management Software Program.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/12/03
Review Source: Capterra

The customer service is excellent. MarketMan hires experts in both technology and customer success.

Pros

The on-boarding process with MarketMan is first class. They took several calls and demos to make sure they understood exactly what we needed to succeed. The training is extensive. It is a very intuitive system. Most importantly, the reporting features are easy to interpret and extremely detailed. The recipe building is a breeze and it enables the business to set food cost alerts on all menu items.

Cons

The one feature that we would like to see is the ability to enter purchasing budget dollar amounts and have them adjust as purchases are entered into the system.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Matthew P.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 51-200 Employees

User of Marketman

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/11/23
Review Source: Capterra

Good experience!

Pros

As administrator is was an easy and intuitive to set up for a multi-unit chain.
Being able to obtaining accurate actual to theoretical costs by building out our menu recipes was not very difficult.
Really like the invoicing scanning feature and having the ability to have images of the invoices stores with the reconciled invoices.
The systems mobile application is easy to use and convenient for the operators.

Cons

As we are a chain enterprise we use a multi-warehouse system with our main Distributor, US Foods. Setting up multi-distribution points with in the system took some additional time and effort.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 11-50 Employees

A good all around system

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/04/28
Review Source: Capterra

The integrated sales/inventory/ordering part of this system is greatly beneficial to our operation, allowing us to compare actual to theoretical costs. It also has greatly sped up the inventory taking/entering process, once the initial set up is done.

Pros

This system is very easy to use and navigate. I have been able to pick up the functions without "formal" training by Marketman. Ordering and invoice entry are easy and quickly accomplished. The iPad capability helps ordering from shelf to order. The inventory system is easy to use and calculates COGS as well as profitability. One of the best parts about this system is not the program, but the support that comes with it. Whenever I contact them about questions, they are either able to immediately respond or they get back to you within 24 hours.

Cons

The system works well, but when someone else has set it up, it can be difficult to find your way about the items in the program. It is also quite difficult to change UOM for items once they are set up and sometimes it is simply easier to make a new entry and delete the old one.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Edward P.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Overall functionality is fantastic really love the detail the system gives!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/04/23
Review Source: Capterra

usage reports ! pricing reports! financials ! and overall quality control on what items come into our stores!

Pros

I love the ease of getting all my stores inline when it comes to the products i decided to bring. The amount of time and work it takes to make a change from one brand to another happens in minutes. I love that im notified daily when there are price dependencies! at the end of the day we should always what on prices we agree on Market Man really brings that into light with the irregular price feature.

Cons

The only thing i dont like is the desktop version of market man its really tough to make changes in terms on turning items on and off for orders if this feature was available through the app for administrators that would be great!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Rodney I.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great product

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/10/04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to organize daily operation, all orders are sent through Marketman. Easy to upload invoices. Cost food out as well able to keep up with price increase

Cons

Sometimes it freezes but had to do with our location

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Steph B.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great value for money

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/11/30
Review Source: Capterra

do far so good. would be better with easier reporting functions

Pros

value for money, ease of use. Good customer support flexible

Cons

reporting functions need improvement....

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Our best tool to manager our food and beverage cost !

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/04/24
Review Source: Capterra

With MarketMan, we are able to monitor our Food and Beverage cost weekly to adapt our purchasing. It is also a great tool to negotiate best rates with our suppliers.

Pros

Easy to use and to understand for our team / Full of reports really useful / Making orders is easy and really flexible for our supplier / MarketMan Team is constantly listening and improving the software.

Cons

No way to manage internal transfer : transferring (in a simple way) a bottle of wine from our bar to our kitchen is impossible.
No acces of all our product on their mobile : would be really useful when speaking with a supplier outside of the restaurant

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Joseph L.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Best bang for the buck

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/04/25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Marketman has a beautiful user interface with robust reporting that allows granular tracking at an item level. The support team has a very solid understanding of food costing which also makes using the program that much easier. Personally, I am a huge advocate of doing one thing and doing it right. Marketman Does inventory and food cost controlling extremely well.

Cons

It would be nice if integrations took a little less digging on the restaurant side. It would be very helpful if there was the ability for a restaurant to build a custom item level report similar to the Cost of Goods report in which we could put specific items i.e chicken and get a set ALL day/week/month usage.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Simon E.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 51-200 Employees

MarketMan - Solving a gap in the market

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/10/05
Review Source: Capterra

We've used it for a couple of years now, due to operational issues we've put it down and picked back up again when we can, now we're focusing on it's full capability again and hope to keep the momentum.

Pros

It's pretty straightforward, there's some terminology that's confusing, but that's appropriate to the tasks in hand. It's pretty straightforward to use.

Cons

Sometimes it doesn't do what I need it to do al the time, the iPad app is good, but lacks some of the important desktop functionality. Again, that's the beauty of an iPad though I having a quick function on tasks.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Ray G.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 11-50 Employees

The new scanning inventory system is amazing. Saves hours of time

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/18
Review Source: Capterra

Inventory control and menu management is key to our business and this software has created a key asset to our company

Pros

Inventory , based on orders make it easy to find issues with personnel stealing product. By having a system to scan invoices makes it much easier to keep inventory control

Cons

I can't find an issue with the system currently . that is because when I have a request it is usually filled

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kayan T.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 201-500 Employees

MarketMan

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/11/17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We don't have to manually input our invoices.

Cons

We cannot customize / build our own reports

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Mark B.

Elegantly designed software

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/04/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This is very elegant, easy to use software, and they are actively maintaining and improving it. Still behind other softwares in terms of 3rd party interfaces, but they seem to be actively working on upgrades. Service is outstanding.

Cons

They aspire to significantly raising the cost of the software, raising prices and charging for upgrades a la carte rather than adding value, so software may be more expensive than competitors.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Caleb O.

After using SAP for 4yrs, I came to use Marketman with a lean, effective & efficient functionality

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/04/23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Flexibility and accessibility being powered by online resources, actual vs theoretical is also very crucial in analyzing stocks. invoice scanning to receive, cookbook is also vibrant to use.

Cons

mobile App not having full functions, combining two or more items that are attached as menu items is not possible. I need the incoming orders printable with order numbers also,

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support