178 reviews

ManageEngine Desktop Central

Desktop, mobile device & patch management software

4,5 /5 (178 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,5 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
92%
recommended this app
178 reviews
Jim L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

An Absolutely Essential IT Support Solution for Small to Large Environments

Reviewed on 2021/02/17

See above! I mainly use Desktop Central to maintain third party applications (non-Microsoft). I also provide periodic remote desktop support for a few users, including one who works from home, like I do. It would take me hours to drive to the office or user's location!
. Especially in this last year, Desktop Central and a couple other Manage Engine products have been essential for me to provide support for a small office that is struggling financially to keep its doors open. I cannot say enough good things about this and the the other Manage Engine products.

Pros

From third party program installation and management to remote computer management, Desktop Central is an indispensable solution.
- Managing third party software is greatly simplified with Patch Management and Software Deployment.
- Full system Inventory, with Manage Licenses, Software Metering and automated system Scan.
- Remote Control allows remote desktop support, essential for today's IT support.
- A robust set of reports that can be scheduled and emailed.
- Integrates with Service Desk Plus to automatically create service tickets, and email alerts can be created.
- The Free version is fully functional and a great solution for small offices with a limited budget.

Cons

I have been using Desktop Central at my current position for 4 years. I cannot live without Desktop Central, or several other Manage Engine products! It is essential for IT to know what their network condition is, maintain its optimum health, and provide end user remote support. Desktop Central is only one of many Manage Engine products that allows IT support to do this.

Rajneesh B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Heterogeneous End-point Management from a Unified Console

Reviewed on 2020/06/25

Easy to use UI, Online help and chat support, Great community support. Overall, quick to learn and easy Setup.

Pros

More control, Power to you, whilst deploying SW Deployment, OS Patching and even MDM, all can be achieved from a single console. Not to mention, OS Deployment & Imaging are offered free for all Workstation & Servers. Gartner listed, Awesome support very Proactive indeed.

Cons

None at all. Out-of-box product features have nothing to complaint about. We love everything that DesktopCentral UEM has to offer.

Kapil U.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A unified endpoint management solution for omnichannel users for managing various s/w...

Reviewed on 2020/05/08

The ease of software deployment has been a cake walk. It has reduced the time efficiency by leaps and bounds. The performance of the software is a huge plus point

Pros

Ease of deploying the software to multiple devices with in minutes have saved cost, time and manpower for the organization

Cons

Customizing the dashboard and reports control could have been more user friendly.

Response from ManageEngine

Hello Kapil,

Greetings from ManageEngine!

We're glad that you like the multifariousness of Desktop Central. We hope our product has helped you with securing and managing your endpoints.

We're happy to know that software deployment has been a walk in the park for your organization by using our product. We hope you've tried other features as well. If you require further assistance with the product features, do write to us at [email protected]

Should you need any further information, please do not hesitate to write to us at [email protected]

Daniel H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Brilliant system that is constantly updated with new features

Reviewed on 2021/02/26

Customer service is usually really good. most issues are resolved within a couple of hours. if logs have to be sent, I'd give them 4-5 days

Pros

The system is cheap, reliable, integrates with our Servicedesk well and constantly has new features added to it

Cons

When a new update is released, their quality control can sometimes be lacking. there's always several issues such as not being able to search, not being able to sort, not being able to connect to PCs (these issues were just in the last 2 months).
Even though we have the Enterprise version (that's supposed to include everything), In the last 2 years, they've released a couple of Add-ons... They seem to ignore the fact that we paid for the enterprise level to get everything included, and are seperating everything that they can so that we have to continue spending

Wilson C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very important and useful automation tool for IT.

Reviewed on 2017/12/06

It automates a lot of things that takes time to manually do it. In simple words, it saved enormous time, energy, money and definitely increase productivity.

Pros

Ease of use, available feature to monitor status of specific computer desktop, server and laptop. As part of my job, to ensure 100% software patches are applied and monitored this application is very important to me or must have.

Cons

Poor support, raised a simple recurring issue (which suddenly occured) but no sulotion even remotely checked and provided the logs but still no clear guidance on how to correct. We have software patches for some reason cannot be distributed to computer desktops. We can manully download from the server and iinstall manually with no issue.

Response from ManageEngine

Hello Wilson,

Greetings from ManageEngine!

We're glad you like the multifariousness of Desktop Central. We hope our product has aced in helping you with endpoint management and security.

Thank you for your feedback on our support and we're happy to inform you that our support has scaled up to deliver top-notch customer service. If you require further assistance with the product, do write to us at [email protected]

Should you need any further information, please do not hesitate to write to us at [email protected]

Michael A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Free to use for up to 25 computers - A really good time saving tool

Reviewed on 2019/04/13

We have been using ManageEngine Desktop Central for a few years, and are still on the free tier that allows up to 25 computers to be managed. The primary purpose we had for installing it was to make sure all our computers have the latest Windows Updates installed. This is important to keep all our computers secure. It has been working well and I would recommend anyone with an office to use this software.

Pros

What I like most about ManageEngine Desktop Central is that it scans all our Windows computers on our network, and checks and reports on which computers require Windows Updates.

Cons

Sometimes the Windows Server component of ManageEngine Desktop Central does not start up on boot, and has to be started manually. It means after a reboot of the server, sometimes we do not notice the ManageEngine Desktop Central server hasn't started up and we do not receive reports for a few days.

Response from ManageEngine

Hello Michael,

Greetings from ManageEngine!

We're glad you like the multifariousness of Desktop Central. We hope our product has aced in helping you with endpoint management and security.

To ensure that the Desktop Central server is up and running after every system boot/reboot, you'll have to enable an option under the 'Product server settings' to 'Start Desktop Central automatically on machine bootup'. If you require further assistance with the server and client startup, do write to us at [email protected]

Should you need any further information, please do not hesitate to write to us at [email protected]

Girish B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best In the business-Desktop Management

Reviewed on 2020/02/11

Helped to be compliant at audit level & maintain the inventory details.

Pros

Ability to patch all the applications used over the organizations, Software Deployment with Self Service Portal for users,Security Policies & USB Management for security purpose & Most liked feature is Inventory module.

Cons

The Agent communication period of 90 Minutes.

Joe R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fantastic endpoint and even server management

Reviewed on 2021/03/12

This has helped me so much that when I started in a new company I made sure to get it for our deployments and management, it was easier to do since they didn't have one. Everyone I introduce this to thinks it is amazing.

Pros

Gives us the ability to monitor and run reports on all of our end points. The higher end component for OS Deployment has made PXE booting and loading as easy as clicking a few buttons. We can now deploy images on new or redeployable PCs in under 10 minutes and have a user setup and working in about 20 or less. Patch scanning and remote software deployment are amazing. Configuration changes like USB drive locking, printer or other kinds of things can be managed for better security. Documentation is fantastic with a large KB site.

Cons

Can be difficult to figure out some things. Some areas are accessible through multiple different ways to get there. Some areas can be a bit convoluted.

Mark B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Total control over ALL endpoints

Reviewed on 2021/01/28

It's a superb product if you are looking to dominate every aspect of endpoint management, both on mobile and desktop hardware!

Pros

ME Desktop Central gives me total control over every device in our organization -- desktop and mobile -- whether in a domain or workgroup, including both Windows, Mac, Android and Linux. Deploy configurations, software and even OSes. Connect remotely to user sessions or command prompt and even Windows registry. Patch management is top notch! Mobile Device Management is second to none (UEM Edition). Works well with the new features included in Windows Endpoint Management Portal (formerly Intune).

Cons

ManageEngine Desktop Central has absolutely zero cons.

Rishi K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Product

Reviewed on 2021/02/11

Perfect

Pros

Customer Service is truly amazing they'll get to you in less than a minute which is awesome and this product is absolutely recommended.

Cons

Never had any issues so far a little gui issue which are fixed very promptly.

Wayne S.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

The products provide a lot of value to organizations, and easily compete with the top vendors.

Reviewed on 2017/12/06

Pros

There are lots of solutions/modules available to help manage IT from an enterprise perspective. Could value on the small amount of resources needed to operate the solution.

Cons

We encounter ongoing challenges when trying to work with the Sales part of this company. It is very frustrating to deal with sales when trying to buy more than one module. Every module seems to have its own sales team that do not talk to the other sales teams. Worst part of the product.

Response from ManageEngine

Hello Wayne,

Greetings from ManageEngine!

We're glad you like the multifariousness of Desktop Central. We hope our product has aced in helping you with endpoint management and security.

Thank you for your feedback on our sales team, and we're happy to inform you that our sales team has scaled up to provide top-notch service. If you require further assistance with the product, do write to us at [email protected]

Should you need any further information, please do not hesitate to write to us at [email protected]

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Not intuitive, Sometimes makes management easier

Reviewed on 2018/02/07

Easily remote into client computers. Inventory of software and hardware is super simple.

Pros

Cost, it is very inexpensive in this software category but you get what you paid for is true for DesktopCentral. Support is easy to get a hold of. Remoting into a clients PC to diagnose issues is dead simple.

Cons

The lack of feature updates and the constant releasing of additional software which you need to pay for makes management of a large network difficult due to the intention software fragmentation of features. If they were to combine and add more value to the base product rather than looking to squeeze every penny out of each new feature, this product would be a great product. Many times when you are analyzing why a patch isn't being deployed, it is due to other reasons when contacting support and they rarely help with a solution to solve 150 computers refusing a patch. Usually the answer is to just disable DesktopCentral client to run Windows update traditionally due to the inconsistency of the ManageEngine client.

Response from ManageEngine

Hello,

Greetings from ManageEngine!

We're glad you like the multifariousness of Desktop Central - our inventory management and remote access capabilities.

We're sorry about the unpleasant experience. As for the patch management functionality and the product features, we've evolved to provide top-notch and hassle-free features. If you require further assistance with the product features, do write to us at [email protected]

Should you need any further information, please do not hesitate to write to us at [email protected]

Jatin G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Perfect Management Tool## Desktop in just finger touches

Reviewed on 2020/02/11

Overall experience is good, as now it is easy for me to manage and look after the status of development and developers' updates.

Pros

Access to all services from a remote server and with high speed.
Reports for projects and active logins can be assessed.

Cons

IDE can be improved for user-friendliness. The more inclusion of communication options is useful if added.
sometime Scrum meetings not possible. due to lack to connectivity.

Nuno O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Superb

Reviewed on 2017/06/09

Great application that makes me gain time to implement new solutions and keep the company safe. In less than an hour the solution is implemented and ready to go.

Pros

Simplicity and the free 25 users licence.

Cons

Not in Portuguese language

Response from ManageEngine

Hello Nuno,

Greetings from ManageEngine!

We're glad you like the multifariousness of Desktop Central. We hope our product has aced in helping you with endpoint management and security.

We're happy to inform that our product is now available in Portuguese as well. If you require further assistance with the product, do write to us at [email protected]

Should you need any further information, please do not hesitate to write to us at [email protected]

Shai H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Amazing and easy

Reviewed on 2021/03/30

Lots of options, licensing and installation manager, system updates, inventory, MDM and more

Pros

Software that is easy to operate, very convenient to work with

Cons

I was happy to be able to build screens with custom buttons

Jonny H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome

Reviewed on 2021/03/11

We have software control, remote access, HW and SW Inventory, reports, alerts. It's a important platform that every IT team have to take in your administration.

Pros

We can support our clients in house, is very easy. The remote desktop is very important, sure and dependable. The software deployment is very efficient

Cons

Patch Mgmt, OS Deployment. We knowless about these.

Gerson M.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It has all I need.

Reviewed on 2018/02/14

Management of USB drives is a plus. It's a problem with users using USB drives all the time.

Pros

Let's see. I can manage patching, bandwidth optimization, remote control and more. Alerts and reports of AD and users login.

Cons

I would love to be able to deliver Operative systems and to restrict the use of pirate software. That's is difficult to have I agree.

Response from ManageEngine

Hello Gerson,

Greetings from ManageEngine!

We're glad you like the multifariousness of Desktop Central and the fact that it has everything you need. We hope our product has aced in helping you with endpoint management and security.

Please be informed that you can prevent the usage of prohibited applications by detecting and uninstalling them automatically. If you require further assistance with the product, do write to us at [email protected]

Should you need any further information, please do not hesitate to write to us at [email protected]

Javier L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Smart desktop management solution for businesses of all sizes

Reviewed on 2019/05/06

Great tool that is easier to use and manage then Microsoft's own version of this. Would recommend to businesses from 1 person to thousands.

Pros

Manage engine is such a powerful tool that competes with Microsoft's titan SCCM. Manage Engine makes it easy to deploy software and updates to computers.

Cons

Sometimes the end user experience is tainted because the admin team deploying updates and software do not communicate with end users.

Response from ManageEngine

Hello Javier,

Greetings from ManageEngine!

We're glad you like the multifariousness of Desktop Central and the fact that our product has proved to be head and shoulders above Microsoft's SCCM. We hope our product has aced in helping you with endpoint management and security.

The IT administrator can enable notifications to keep the end user informed before carrying out any functionality.

Should you need any further information, please do not hesitate to write to us at [email protected]

Mike B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Great Software When It Works...It Just Seldom Works

Reviewed on 2017/12/14

Pros

Ease of use
Nice interface
Cost
That's about it but this box has a 100 character minimum so I'm typing this just to fulfill it.

Cons

It doesn't work
Support is useless and non-existent
False positives
Useless error messages
Agent won't install unless the planets perfectly align

Response from ManageEngine

Hello Mike,

Greetings from ManageEngine!

Thank you for letting us know about your unpleasant experience with our product and our earnest apologies for the same.

For the past three years, we've worked relentlessly towards our product's niche and releasing market-standard features. We have a good deal of customers who absolutely love our product and cannot do without it.

If you require further assistance with the product, do write to us at [email protected]

Should you need any further information, please do not hesitate to write to us at [email protected]

Aaron M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product for great support

Reviewed on 2021/02/01

I found this product saved me time and stress y allowing me to update and patch computers across the company without having to hit the road. It also saves time when working on end user support, by allowing me to remotely assist or to view device specs without physically being there or having to walk and users through sometimes difficult steps.

Pros

I liked most about this software the ability to manage, patch, troubleshoot and remote into desktops at multiple sites across my domain from one central location.

Cons

Adding remote location devices was a little harder than I hoped.

Waheed D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Desktop central

Reviewed on 2020/02/24

Pros

Good features related to IT operations
Helps me a lot for the IT inventory

Cons

Should be having 1 agent for all the manage engine product.

James V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Difficult to use

Reviewed on 2021/03/22

I get frustrated often. I would rather use a different product.

Pros

Not much. The remote app works well. That's about it.

Cons

Very difficult to navigate and use. I've been using it for 3 years, and still have not figured out how to get it running smoothly. Downloads fail for various reasons, and support does mostly well for simple things, but difficult things, not so much.

Jerome S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Daily usage review

Reviewed on 2021/03/10

Pros

I like that I can see which servers are missing patches and execute a deployment policy manually.

Cons

A vulnerability scanner would be a big plus.

Charles S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Feature Rich Produc

Reviewed on 2021/03/08

Pros

Desktop Central is one comprehensive product that can manage your entire IT infrastructure. Get more value by integrating with OpManager and ServiceDesk Plus.

Cons

I have not used it long enough to notice deficiencies.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Very helpful for administering handheld devices

Reviewed on 2018/06/14

Pros

This is very useful in helping to manage our iPads. Our users are spread out over a 200 mile radius and this allows me to update all iPads without having them brought back in for updates or changes.

Cons

Difficult to find what you are looking for at times. Not always intuitive when looking for how to adjust devices.

Response from ManageEngine

Hello,

Greetings from ManageEngine!

We're glad you like the multifariousness of Desktop Central. We hope our product has aced in helping you manage your iPads. However, Desktop Central helps you in centralized and automated management of servers, desktops, laptops, mobile devices, tablets, and point of sale devices as well.

We're working on creating better visibility in terms of our product's user interface. If you require further assistance with the product features, do write to us at [email protected]

Should you need any further information, please do not hesitate to write to us at [email protected]