113 reviews

Pivotal Tracker

Agile project management tool for developers

4,3 /5 (113 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,3 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
90%
recommended this app
113 reviews
Tigran H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Pivotal Tracker Review

Reviewed on 2020/03/12

Overall this the best software for little teams and for startups to start flow from scratch.

Pros

Pivotal is one the simplest agile management tool I've used. The flow is simple there, Icebox , current iteration and done. and also states are simple started, finished, delivered and accepted. unlike Jira this more simple to use and has very humble UX for users. It has all major integration with github, slack so it's the best option for little projects and startups for managing software flow.

Cons

Using this already 4 years I could mention a little cons that I've remember. One of them that when you do update on story description it does not emit any notification, you should tag someone under comment section that description is updated please take a look ore something. Another thing the mobile app on old IOS version working very slow and sometimes crashes.

Lindsey S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy to Use for Small and Large Scale Projects!

Reviewed on 2016/02/03

Pros

Pivotal Tracker is very easy to use, but you are able to get granular with projects if you need to. Basically, it works for small scale and large scale projects. The software is very organized which contributes to its ease of use.

If you manage or create multiple projects with the same structure, team members, or stories, you are easily able to create a template that can be uploaded each time you create a new project. This greatly reduces the time it takes to setup projects within the software if your company manages a high volume of similar projects.

The best aspect of the software is you are able to give point values to stories so you can track project velocity and estimate time until completion.

Cons

If you work on multiple projects at once, it can be difficult to view all stories you own across all projects. You will have to manual setup a multi-project workspace in order to see all stories that you own. If a new project gets created, you must manually add it to the workspace. This is the products biggest downfall in my opinion.

Brandon C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Pivotal Tracker - BPC

Reviewed on 2020/10/14

Pros

I like Pivotal Trackers ease of work assignment and description fields. Coming out of college, it was intuitive what work needed to be done using this tool.

Cons

I found that finding tickets once they were complete or lost in the backlog to be difficult.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great tool to manage projects and time

Reviewed on 2018/06/14

For the most part, internally, this has replaced email. We also use this to manage all company goals and initiatives, bug fixes, new features on the website, etc.

It also allows us all to see the pipeline of new initiatives and allow someone who might be the best person to work on a specific project take ownership of it

Pros

Having multiple projects going in multiple different areas of the company ( sales, marketing, development, etc) is very easy to track and to properly manage all the different projects going on in the company

Cons

While there are some organization with tagging user stories and creating epics, it would be nice if there was a way to order all stories in a filtered way. The issue we are running into is that we have many different projects, some of which are related to each other, but are randomly organized by the tag; rather than the date created or the priority.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Pivotal Tracker is our daily agile management tool at a tech startup.

Reviewed on 2018/05/04

Pros

Pivotal Tracker does a good job for agile product teams, allowing cadence and 2-week sprints to be easily organized. Stories can be sorted by labels, epics, or workplaces (these can include stories across multiple projects/labels/and assigned team members).

Cons

Pivotal Track is difficult when using it for a product team with lots of different project boards (i.e. Design, IOS, Android, Backend). It's hard to keep track of what you are assigned to across different projects. When someone comments you on a story, you receive an email notification, but there is no other way to keep track of outstanding questions or needs without going back through all of your read emails.

Mehak A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Most eligible tracker tool for an agile software development team.

Reviewed on 2019/12/28

Pivotal was the best tool that I could have used for the project I was working on, the project was being built in agile structure with stories and there had to be detailed time logging which is the strength of pivotal tracker.

Pros

The structure of the tools helps to manage and track agile development cycles, the work is presented as stories that can be estimated and the work done on them can be tracked. The best addon provided is the velocity calculation for the sprint.

Cons

One of the major drawback with pivotal is that it is tailor-made for agile development, and there is very little room for customization which can lead to you using or paying for some not required feature.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Excellent Software Development tracking tool

Reviewed on 2017/12/12

time saving
better planning
better tracking and audit
knowledge and asset building
better outcomes

Pros

Epics, Stories, Bugs, Tasks, Features
Dependency
Google Drive integration
Ability to apply tasks in a story and add notes and links to each

Cons

Forcing an agile model into a project that does not need it
We use a hybrid method and the fixation on Agile gets in the way of resource planning
Lack of ability to plan resources by story or task based on estimates for each person involved

George G.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Dive in! (or stay out, no half-measures)

Reviewed on 2017/01/16

Our company started using Pivotal Tracker to manage software development in an outsourced environment. It seems to be a really successful tool in that regard. It's collaboration features are strong, its assignment tracking is very strong, and its reports are pretty good. If you have an application to manage distributed tasks that are each of significant effort -- say a few hours to a few days each -- then Pivotal is a top contender and you should review it carefully.

The problem that I have with Pivotal is that its success in the coding side of the business led to its adoption across the board in all our business processes. Here's where the trouble started. It's a little too slow to use with tasks that should be measured in minutes rather than hours -- it adds too much relative overhead. Of course, there are ways to deal with this like using Zapier to integrate a list tool or Trell or the CRM with Pivotal... but then the real question is why go to all these lengths to apprise teams in other departments to a level of detail they are not interested in?

So, if you're developing code, debugging code, or create documents that that, say, 2 or more hours each, Pivotal Tracker is an excellent way to organize, and, well, 'track', progress, report on relative team velocity and, most importantly adapt workload to current work pave (it automatically moves stories from background to active based on the calculated velocity/workload of the team -- that's pretty cool.)

But if you just need a list, or if you existing tool, like a CRM, already has task management then don't complicate your life.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good at making lists

Reviewed on 2019/12/03

Overall, Pivotal Tracker serves the purpose of having a list of action items to discuss when on a conference call and to make obvious whose "court" the ball is in. I just wish there were ways to add other file types easily and to set up alert systems to make sure projects stay on a timeline.

Pros

Pivotal Tracker is a way for several off-site people working on the same project to stay in touch with the list of action items and obviously check them off when they are complete. What I like most is the visual of who is in charge of an item, when it was assigned, and when it is complete.

Cons

I feel Pivotal tracker doesn't do a great job of prompting people to complete their tasks. I wish there were features that would send an alert/message to the owner of tasks that are past due.

David T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome Software Project Management Tool

Reviewed on 2017/03/14

I used to be a Pivot.

Pros

Tons of tracking and story organization tools to create "epics" (batches of stories), "labels" (grouped stories) and analyze projects.

Cons

There are such a multitude of different options and tools that it can be overwhelming at first glance. You really need a "Pivot" to teach it to you to fully understand how to use it.

Alex N.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use

Favorite project manager we've used

Reviewed on 2017/10/13

Pros

Managing different states and having two parties (owner and requester) baked into each story are probably our favorite features.

Cons

Workspaces, a very powerful (and until recently underutilized by us) tool, cannot be shared with the team every team mate has to create their own.

Ian S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Extremely customizable proj. and issue mgmt. system

Reviewed on 2015/10/29

Pros

Innovative interface with a lot of control over what you see, what is filtered, what you're interacting with, etc. Help videos and knowledge base are well developed and informative. Lots of integration options with external systems.

Cons

Compared to something like FogBugz which is much simpler and more intuitive, the degree of complexity within Pivotal can be a little jarring, and some setup and accommodation time is usually required for newcomers.

Jeremy K.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

We use pivotal to track all of our engineering projects broken out into the different tasks.

Reviewed on 2018/06/11

Pros

It's a pretty robust development tracking tool and it helps keep us very organized in our weekly and beyond development planning. It makes organization of many different threads much clearer and keeps us on track.

Cons

It's not the most intuitive setup. It took awhile to feel like we were using it to its full extent of its benefits and really maximizing the value of it's features. Maybe a clearer intro would have helped.

David L.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great for simple work flows

Reviewed on 2017/06/27

Pros

It was simple to setup and start running. The one main view makes it easy to see everything so nothing gets lost.

Cons

Ff you have multiple products and 1 team, the software did not do well at forecasting and release planning. One of our smaller teams still uses it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

I used pivotal tracker to manage my product timeline

Reviewed on 2018/07/25

Pros

It was the perfect way to keep my product timeline up to date. It allowed me to easily collaborate with my engineering team.

Cons

It took some time to learn. There's a lot of features I don't use and can seem a bit cluttered sometimes.

James R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Online Media
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

This tool will greatly speed up your project workflow

Reviewed on 2018/06/14

Pros

I am in love with agile development, and this tool provides everything you need to implement the agile workflow effectively.

Cons

The only thing I'd like to see more of is integration with 3rd party apps and sites. Other than that I have no complaints.

Stacey S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Efficient Program Management without Over-Complicating

Reviewed on 2016/02/16

Pros

Pivotal Tracker is a great tool for easy accountability and time management when working with multiple projects at one time. It allows you to have a snap shot view of each project and where it is in the process from start to finish. It is a very reliable program with great backing (customer service support) and detailed processes that are easy to follow.

Cons

No complaints. This software has been a great resource for me.

Mofoyeke O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Sleek project/task management tool

Reviewed on 2018/11/07

Pros

I especially like the fact that the dashboard is editable to suit my particular preferences and that my remote staff can do same time.
Being the team lead, I love that with one page view I can also track the tasks and progress of my team members

Cons

I don't think this is good for a team larger than 10 because then the dashboard will be terribly cluttered with be too many windows to open. But in all its a smart co-working tool for small businesses like mine

Marisa j. L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Pivotal Tracker helps manage troubleshooting workflow

Reviewed on 2019/05/15

Pros

I love the ability to comment and tag people on my comments to keep up with user issues. Additionally, it's great that I can add screenshots and other helpful media to help the engineering team solve the problem.

Cons

It's not very user friendly at first. It took me a few weeks to figure out how to move items up in the queue, and how to really find what I was looking for.

Andrew V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Pivotal Tracker Review

Reviewed on 2016/02/16

Pros

The product provides a lot of options and settings that allow you to customize your project tracking.

Cons

While you can't directly relabel some functions, the use of some functions allow you to tackle any job that you throw at it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Been an extremely helpful tool for project management with our development team

Reviewed on 2018/04/17

Pros

Shows what kind of pace/trajectory you're on based on the amount of tasks you've completed. Makes large projects manageable to complete.

Cons

I don't really have any complaints. I'm looking at this tool from the project management side, so I've had no issues using it to create stories and assign to developers.

Hannah S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Downgrade from previous system

Reviewed on 2021/03/02

I'm new to Pivotal Tracker but it definitely feels like a downgrade from our previous system.

Pros

- The Story view is pretty easily organized
- Helpful tips for search options
- I think the color coding will be helpful once I get the hang of it

Cons

As someone who is not an administrator of the platform, there's little to no opportunity for me to interact with Epics and Stories.

Maria G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Potential, but difficult to navigate

Reviewed on 2019/10/13

It was alright, but I think it's due for a series UI refresh. It has advanced tools that are great to have, but hard to discover and hard to use.

Pros

I liked the single view of all the different project boards within one screen. Made it easier in terms of viewing the tasks that were associated with the different platforms we were dealing with. Also just being able to see a breakdown of the different types of tickets created regardless of whether it was a story of a bug was in one compiled view.

Cons

It was hard to navigate at times, especially when you've reached a point in which each panel had a lot of items added. The viewer becomes overwhelming and there was definitely a steep learning curve to get it up and running and get comfortable with it. I don't know if it was worth educating myself on how to use the interface when even after adding items and trying to manage them, it still felt like I had to keep learning.

Anoop N.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Task management made Easy with this.

Reviewed on 2017/04/17

Have been using this tool for 2.5 years, that is great proof of this tools user friendliness & quality.

Ken L.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Great software, love it

Reviewed on 2011/07/25

One of the most user friendly management tool. Love how it integrated so many different other applications. Absolutely great to use.