Showing 39 reviews of 29

Mozenda

The Experts In Web Data Scraping & Automation

4,4 /5 (29 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,4 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
83%
recommended this app
Showing 39 reviews of 29
Geoffrey L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Market Research
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Ease of use

Reviewed on 2018/10/11

Pros

I had a problem where I was manually checking changes to a saved search through Linkedin sales navigator. Through the use of this product and another, I was able to automate that process and save time and clicks to obtain the same information in a google sheet.

Cons

It's point and click, so if you don't enjoy that, it could be tedious. Although, the amount of time saved did make it worth it.

Laurie K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Well-supported scraping tool with full API

Reviewed on 2020/09/21

Mozenda is a great platform for creating webscrapes with assistance from the agent builder. Although the documentation could be better, I find that if I do have any questions, Mozenda support responds quickly and knowledgeably.

The problem with the documentation is really just that it's hard to find how to do more advanced things. Often the information is somewhere in a recording of a webinar, so it can take a bit of time to find it.

Inevitably, there are things that I need to do that require modifying the XPath definitions or working around limitations in the software. For example, Mozenda only captures data in a flat list, so if you would like to capture lists within lists, you have to repeat a lot of data and clean it up outside the tool itself.

The good news is that the API is complete (i.e. everything that can be done in the UIs can be done in the APIs, and more). The API documentation is mostly clear, but sometimes I do need to experiment to make sure I understand exactly what it returns.

Overall, I would recommend Mozenda to people who are looking for a faster alternative to coding their own webscrapes, or to less technical people who have fairly straight-forward requirements or are willing to take the time to learn how things work a little more "under the hood." The support is great!

Please note that opinions expressed in this review are my own and not necessarily shared by my employer.

Pros

Superb customer support
API can do everything I want it to, and more.
Agent builder is fairly easy to learn to use
Saves time hand-coding web scrapes

Cons

Complex scraping requirements are harder to achieve
Sometimes difficult to find relevant documentation
Inevitably requires some understanding of programming to use effectively

Brian G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Intentionally Burns Through Your Money

Reviewed on 2020/11/01

Good product and customer support. Terrible unethical management and sales methods.

Pros

The product is easy to use and the actual response from Customer Support is great.

Cons

I have been a customer for almost 10 years. Mozenda, intentionally, does not stop processes or provide features that would allow agents to stop running if they get stuck in a loop. This is a method that Mozenda uses to get you to use all of your credits and have to pay for more agents. I like the product. But, their unethical stealing of your money and management is why I moved after almost 10 years. Would NOT recommend.

Jon P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Mozenda efficiently scrapes and collects data on the web

Reviewed on 2018/12/12

We have used Mozenda to pull in data about potential customers as well as get data on what competitors are doing. Mozenda makes almost any kind of web scraping project simple to do.

Pros

I liked how fast it was to get setup and scraping data from sites. I could begin a new project, set the parameters, and it would be done collecting data within a few hours. The data was almost always scraped in the proper format without anything missing. It is easy to use and is only limited to what account plan you are on.

Cons

Sometimes it was difficult to get the software to fully understand what I was looking for it to accomplish and would pull in more information than I was looking for. This is probably more user error on not being able to specify properly. I would sometimes only want a specific part of a data field, but would end up getting more than I needed.

Response from Mozenda

Thank you Jon for your stellar review. We work hard to make sure you are able to collect the web data you need in the most efficient way.

Reading through your review I noticed your need for pulling specific data and not more than what you need into a data field. This can be accomplished easily through the feature named "Refine Captured Text." Right click on any line item and click there to highlight or modify Capture Definitions to get the data you need in the most organized way.

If you have more questions please contact our customer support staff at [email protected] or +1-801-995-4550. We can share our computer screen with you to show you how to do this step by step. Our support calls are complementary to all accounts, including free trial ones.

Please also reply to my email. I'm interested in knowing if you would be willing to let us write a use case on the success you've found by using Mozenda for web data.

Mike Alvarez
Mozenda
Marketing Director
801-995-4550

Jon P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Does what it should, reliably and smoothly

Reviewed on 2016/11/08

As is always the way these days, I'm measuring my satisfaction in terms of what has (or in this case hasn't) gone wrong.
It took a little bit of learning and tweaking to get things running but, starting as an absolute novice, I've now got Mozenda capturing my data, uploading to AWS, running daily and without issue. It's reliable, I'm perfectly happy my data will appear every day and there are sufficient sysetms in place that I even get an alert email on the odd occasion the crawls do not run (often an issue at my end, rather than theirs).

Pros

Powerful, functions, customisable, automatable.

Cons

One experience of a bug using up all my credits, but that's by far an outlier.

Michael M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Finally a robust web scraper that's easy to use

Reviewed on 2016/11/30

Mozenda works like a charm and a pleasure to use. It doesn't have the steep learning curve of other web scrapers. Tutorials and knowledge base are excellent. UI and functionality are top notch. Support is responsive if you have a question or issue. This one is a keeper.

Janne P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Setting up a new ecommerce site with product informaiton

Reviewed on 2016/11/08

We set up a new ecommerce site and we found that our suppliers were not well equipped to deliver us good quality product information. However, the information was readily availability on their website. I searched for many data scraping software but found out that only Mozenda was capable to deliver even the most complex product information extractions (I tested about three other similar software). In just few days I managed to extract product information from thousands of products with very little effort. I then refined the extracted data in Excel to get unique product information.

For basic data capturing (such as tables, simple text, links and pictures) you can learn to use the platform in about hour or two. However, if you don't have experience in XML or HTML, more advanced functions like using Xpath may take some more time to get hang out of.

Only minus side was that the tutorial page was outdated and I could not get holistic view of the product support. Also, you have to install a dedicated agent software to your PC. The software was sometimes a bit laggy and crashed few times. These issues were minor ones compared to the functionality and utility of the whole service. If you need to scrape large data sets, I would definitely urge you to try Mozenda before deciding anything else.

Pros

It's functionality and utility. I could execute almost anything I could imagine needing from a data scraping software

Cons

Support site was not consistent. The support launched from the agent was different from the website. There also seems to be random videos on Youtube. This needs be improved. Also, the agent crashed every now and then. Finally, it was very difficult to cancel the subscription. There was only a cancel account link, which I was not certain of.

Justin M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Mozenda is a must for businesses

Reviewed on 2015/11/30

Mozenda is an essential service to any company that makes data driven decisions. As many valuable sources of data are presented solely via website, the organized collection of such can be gold.

To put it simply, if you've ever found a website where you wished that you could copy/paste hundreds of records from. Then Mozenda is your solution.

The beautiful aspect of their software is that you don't need any programming skills nor do you need to hire someone who does. Mozenda isn't cheap but when you factor in the fact that its learning curve is small, you can do it all yourself, and if you need any help their tech department is just a phone call away. You come out ahead with Mozenda. I've personally been using it for 7 years now in my real estate business.

Tobias K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

It works, but it's expensive and you can definitely find a better value elsewhere

Reviewed on 2019/08/20

Pros

It's extremely easy to use, setup was simple and fun to figure out. It just works

Cons

High price, way more than other providers. Not really any negotiation on their end

Pete P.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

High-end web scraping tool great for complex scraping

Reviewed on 2018/05/04

Complex web scrapes captured needed data unavailable by 3rd parties without spending beyond our budget. Great marketing tool to develop address, phone, and/or email lists. Their support is awesome but you will use them a lot to get things done.

Pros

This tool allowed us to capture data from difficult website areas. It's high-end capabilities and features made obtaining required data possible. Customer support very responsive and knowledgeable.

Cons

Hard to use and understand programming terms needed to develop proper scrapes. It is easy to do a basic scrape but once data got complex, support always had to be called in.

Response from Mozenda

Hi Pete,

Thank you for being a great customer. And, thank you for your review and the five-star ratings for customer support and functionality.

There are 1.8 Billion websites online today and we work hard to make sure that Mozenda can scrape and extract data from the simple to the most complex.

For the majority of the websites online, website data can be extracted utilizing our simple point and click interface. We also agree with you that some websites are so complicated that sometimes it requires a phone call to our friendly staff for help setting up the Web Scraping Agents.

This is why we offer free phone and email customer support. We also prefer sharing our computer screens in real time so that the communication is seamless.

Have an excellent day!

Jim M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Enterprise class screen scraping for data-driven business

Reviewed on 2016/04/20

I've been using Mozenda for just under a year and couldn't recommend it more highly. After doing a fairly detailed review (and testing) of alternative screen scraping products I landed with Mozenda because of it ease of use, enterprise class performance, and growing feature set.

I currently run numerous agents (scrapers) daily against several different websites. I have each scraper on its own scraping schedule and each day, like clockwork, the scraper starts, performs the scraping task and then upon completion publishes my data to an Amazon web service bucket. Once the data is published to the bucket I am notified of the successful completion via email. During the course of the year, I have experienced error-free processing. There are several other publishing options in addition to Amazon, including FTP, email, as well as storage in the Mozenda cloud.

One feature that distinguishes Mozenda from its competitors is it customer support. I have participated in numerous goto-meeting sessions with Mozenda's support team working on a complex scraping agent or improving the processing efficiency of an existing agent. The support team is knowledgeable, willing to take the time to teach you and even available on Saturdays.

Mozenda can also scrape PDF files which is also something some of its competitors can't do.

I've been very happy with Mozenda and would recommend you give it a try.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Mozenda is my Secret Weapon

Reviewed on 2018/01/24

Allows me to create automated processes, connected systems and data integrations with online sources and tools.

Pros

Allows you to capture, update and automate anything on the internet. Allows for API-Like behavior between systems with no API.

Cons

Not enough testing / logical functionality. Requires Windows PC to run, and has RAM / Stability issues when dealing with extra large websites.

Luca L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best ever!

Reviewed on 2016/11/30

Started using the system about a year ago. The ease of building agents and the intuitive approach of the software is remarkable. What amazes me is the customer service. I have owned my company for 16 years and never did i have the experience as i had with Mozenda. Not only there is always someone to help, but everyone is extremely friendly and truly wants to help. All the steps to resolve whatever issue were explained and resolved within the hour. Wish Microsoft would learn customer service etiquette from Mozenda.

Pros

Ease of use and the ability to have the help desk resolve all issues- quickly

Cons

You can only run two agents at once, not the end of the world, but it would be nice to be able to run more.

Jason G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

The tool is fine for hobby projects but falls short for large-scale applications of data

Reviewed on 2018/03/15

Pros

The tool is pretty easy to get started with and no technical knowledge is required to scrape some data with it.

Cons

Not at all recommended for serious business requirements since the crawler breaks every now and then and gives unreliable data. Better to go with a fully managed web scraping service.

Lars F.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Not happy!

Reviewed on 2016/11/08

I did not get any useful feedback on my questions to the service unit and if I received an answer it was of little use and late. And I could not do my scrapping in the end! Poor service! Now I have hired a computer science student to help me!

Response from Mozenda

Dear Lars,

We are sorry you had such an experience with Mozenda. We understand that there are some websites that are harder to scrape than others. For this reason we have done something unmatched in our industry. We work with you to create your web scraping agents. We will give you free phone and email support to walk you through the set up. If you would like to give us another try please sign up for our free trial and then call +1-801-995-4550 or email [email protected] us for help. We'll set up a time to screen share your desktop and show you how to complete your project in the most efficient way. We also now have a Professional Services department that you can reach out to and request a no-obligation quote for the data you require. This option allows you to utilize our staff to collect the data you need, without you having to manage additional personnel or deal with difficult websites. You can go here for more info Mozenda.com/services. Best regards, Mike Alvarez, Mktg Dir

Steve L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Pretty good software

Reviewed on 2016/12/05

I've used Mozenda twice now for two different projects. I'm semi-technical and I found it pretty easy to use once I got started. If you've never used something like this then you'll need to invest a 1-3 hrs in learning it properly but once you do you will be flying. I plan to use them again.

Pros

easy

Cons

sometimes it can be hard to setup a scrape

Joe F.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

LongTime user loves this product

Reviewed on 2014/01/16

I have been a user of Mozenda for many years. I initially used the product for scraping competitor prices for a scrapbooking products company I worked for. I have since used Mozenda for many other uses, including personal quickie projects, as well as work projects. A few years ago there were some bumps after a release, but they got those wrinkles ironed out and the product is better than ever. No need to even try any other product.

Valentina C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Data Capture

Reviewed on 2019/03/27

Excellent experience, at work and organizational level helped to divide the needs of the company and verify the data

Pros

the collection and capture of data of all kinds, allows us to create a comprehensive database that will help the correct functioning of our information

Cons

I think that everything that this software offers is complete and you do not need to add anything else

Patrick T.
Overall rating
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Amazing tool

Reviewed on 2016/11/30

My experience has been great with the product and the team at Modenza. It has enabled me to ingest a large number of data point and focus my time on statistical analysis vs. data collection.

Pros

Easy to use

Cons

No to date other than cost. I used it monthly or so $100 is a bit costly but it saves me some serious legwork which makes it worth it.