MaxxTraxx Reviews

MaxxTraxx

Automotive repair shop management software

Overall rating

4,9 /5
(49)
Value for Money
4,9/5
Features
4,8/5
Ease of Use
4,7/5
Customer Support
5,0/5

96%
recommended this app
Sort by

49 Reviews

Zainab
Zainab
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Maxxtraxx Pro is the best out there

Reviewed on 2019/05/10

Problems this software as solved for my autoshop includes:
1.Stopped the clashing of appointments...

Problems this software as solved for my autoshop includes:
1.Stopped the clashing of appointments totally

2. Give the technician sense of timing thereby making us meet up with the deadline of clients

3. Little errors when it comes to numbers in the inventory was solved and many more

Pros

Using maxxtraxx pro, as increased the dynamics of job done in the auto shop when it comes to do with timeliness, accuracy and the employers working diligently. In administrative department, it as been of great importance in the aspect of setting appointments (successfully helped in avoiding clashes of client), the tracking of work in progress as successfully put the technicians on their A game, the inventory and invoice tracking as helped when it comes to cost and quality of parts bought. The technicians also love the integration of the software with AllData app which is what they are familiar with and the account section also love the software. I would strongly recommend this software to anyone and its money well spent.

Cons

There is to much to learn after you feel you have gotten the hang of it, you discover something new, my advise is know the aspect of the software you want and capitalize on it.

Lori
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

I love the software, but it's complicated.

Reviewed on 2020/08/03

The customer support is absolutely the best in any industry. I don't want to run them out of a job...

The customer support is absolutely the best in any industry. I don't want to run them out of a job because they are all such great people, but it would be helpful to have a manual for how to do things... I never find what I need on line because the training videos are too basic. I have been compiling my own manual, but new things come up all the time and I have to call in quite often. The software is so complicated that there are so many features I am just now discovering. This is a good thing, usually, except that it is just not intuitive and it is clear that it is an older software that is being patched together with newer features. This is not a problem for me, as I am used to it, but I would say that if Bolton didn't exist, I would have started to look at other options for more robust digital inspections, click to pay, the workflow screen, the ability to easily email customers their bill and the ability to go paperless with real time integrated tablets.

Pros

The amount of features and the accounting package.

Cons

I wouldn't be able to pay more for the software because I have to use Bolton to fill in the gaps where the software is lacking. With Bolton, it is about the same price or higher than some of these new softwares that have more features. I might not miss the little details that I think I like with this software if I can get the Bolton features elsewhere.

Dori
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Good program, poor interface

Reviewed on 2024/02/08

Pros

The overall program is good. To do quotes, billing, and inventory it is very helpful. Tracking orders and returns is great.

Cons

It takes twice as many steps to get to the final needed result. It does not integrate well. Will freeze and not save data.

Nick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MxxTraxx Pro is easy to use and has many features

Reviewed on 2019/08/11

Pros

It is full of many features. It really is a robust shop management system. Client management, inventory control, etc.... It integrates well with parts vendors online part ordering systems. Many features can be customized based on your preferences.

Cons

The scheduling/appointment system is lacking. We can create appointments, put estimated hours in but we can't schedule based on hours available per technician per day. I feel more attention needs to be put into this feature. We should be able to schedule work to techs from the appointment scheduler. Marketing features are a bit weak. There aren't many marketing features if you wanted to do your marketing in house.

Response from Scott Systems

Nick, thanks for the nice review. We appreciate the 15+ year relationship with you and your crew. In regards to the Schedule and Marketing features not being as strong as the rest of the program, we agree. When those modules were created, they were the best in the industry and still work extremely well. However, with the new technology that is available today, they can certainly be upgraded and improved for those shopowners that want the absolute best. Our plan is to concentrate on both of these areas in the next three months. Expect a call from us for input as to your needs in those modules. In the meantime, we have two major updates coming out over the next six weeks. that will continue the constant improvement we strive for in MaxxTraxx.

Randy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MaxxTraxx Is The Automotive Shop Software With The Most Bang For The Buck

Reviewed on 2020/07/29

I Am Very Happy With My Decision To Team With Scott Systems and The MaxxTraxx Software. This...

I Am Very Happy With My Decision To Team With Scott Systems and The MaxxTraxx Software. This Software Has Been Rock Solid. When There Was Something I Didn't Understand Or Needed Help With (Or Something I Messed Up) The Support Staff Have Always Been There To Get Me Back On Track Usually In Less Than A Minute. Best Money We Have Ever Spent In Our 35 years Of Being In Business.

Pros

From Inventory Control To The Ease Of Creating Service Repair Orders, Parts Counter Invoices And Marketing To And Communicating With Customers Through Email, Text And Through The Postal Service MaxxTraxx Has Been A Huge Part Of The Success Of Our Business. Their Support Team Is The Best Of Any Software Company I Have Ever Used. There Truly Isn't One Thing I Can Single Out As What I Like Most. Every Facet Of This Software And The Company That Stands Behind It Is A Package That Works.

Cons

I Have Been A Customer For Over 20 Years And There Has NEVER Been A Single Negative Issue With The Software Or The Company That Stands Behind It.

Claudia
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Automotive liquid gold

Reviewed on 2020/09/11

I have to say that every person at Scott Systems that I have worked with has not given up on me...

I have to say that every person at Scott Systems that I have worked with has not given up on me until we have come up with a resolution or a work flow change that works in our business. I can't say that for most software companies. We tested three companies in the same year and we are glad we found MaxxTraxx. I might be their worst nightmare but they are my best friend because they help me figure out how to communicate the importance of tracking cores and returns and using price matrices. The system does this well and I have been able to recoup money from our vendors that we were just not tracking before.

Pros

Fully integrated software with vendors, merchant services, and quickbooks. Although you don't need to use quickbooks because it is also a complete system and can stand alone without any hiccups. Customer service is amazing.

Cons

I would say training but that is also not fair because I am exception to every rule so I am absolutely sure that training is perfect. I get training from customer service a lot because I push hard at using every feature.

Greg
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

dependable

Reviewed on 2020/08/12

Just like my impact wrenches and sockets, MaxxTraxx is an integral part of my business for the long...

Just like my impact wrenches and sockets, MaxxTraxx is an integral part of my business for the long term.

Pros

The whole package is very good. It has a few soft spots, but we can live with that. Updates could be closer together, but when they do come out, they are tried and true, not filled with bugs and work arounds. Customer support is always spot on. The software rarely locks up and comes back up with minor help. Most of the glitches come after Windows does an update and does things like require passwords across your network.

Cons

Texting and dvi input could be better. The next update promises both.

Gary
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MaxxTraxx, One of The Best Auto Shop Point Of Sale Systems Out There

Reviewed on 2019/07/25

We have been a MaxxTraxx Pro user for over 10 years, we use it as POS, book keeping, inventory. We...

We have been a MaxxTraxx Pro user for over 10 years, we use it as POS, book keeping, inventory. We love it, it does everything we need at a competitive price and with great support.

Pros

CUSTOMER SUPPORT, Recently due to a health issue my life partner needed to learn how to use this software on the fly. She was able to get up and running almost immediately due to the intuitive user interface, but also phone support was essential in getting up to speed quickly.

Cons

It is a complex program, it can be difficult to find how to do a specific action, but no matter what you want to do this software has that capability.

Wayne
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

This shop management program is built for you!

Reviewed on 2022/09/06

The integration with my parts stores and the VIN search and the Carfax integration make this #1 in...

The integration with my parts stores and the VIN search and the Carfax integration make this #1 in its field for me. I like how it is constantly evolving and improving. It just gets better and better.

Pros

This does just about everything I need to run my shop. The support is AMAZING when you need it. We have used this product for 6 years and the few times a year we need help, the support team are on it!

Cons

It is made for the US market so we have to use other programs to do our accounting and payroll here in Canada.

Art
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Owner operator

Reviewed on 2020/09/11

Great company! I've been using MaxxTraxx for 28 years and there tech support team is always there...

Great company! I've been using MaxxTraxx for 28 years and there tech support team is always there when you need them. They keep the software updated.

Pros

The software has all the tools you need to succesfully run your business A-Z

Cons

I have always been satisfied with the product.

Alternatives Considered

Mitchell RepairCenter

Reasons for Switching to MaxxTraxx

Yes!
Mike
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Review

Reviewed on 2020/08/08

Overall experience not bad but the biggest issue I am have with MaxxTraxx we have had several...

Overall experience not bad but the biggest issue I am have with MaxxTraxx we have had several inssue from the start of using the software and these issues are very important to use and we have spoke with MaxxTraxx several times and told would be fix and it has been over 2 year and nothong has been done about it and at the currently time it is getting real old being told it will be look at and repair and never happens so at this current time we are starting to look into other software because we beleave it will never get repair and it seems like they just tell you what you want to here to get you off the phone....

Pros

easy to use, Tech support very good you can run credit cards threw the system.

Cons

Tracking PM's threw the software and scheduling system does not work corectly needs alot of help, the customer option has so little option driver option has just about no option not sure ehy they even have it in the system nost important thing for a driver there teliphone number and does have have a place for the driver number the report could use some help the digaital report option needs help

Gary
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MaxxTraxx Pro the best solotion for running an Auto Shop

Reviewed on 2018/09/27

Been using MaxxTraxx for 28 (?) years, changed over to the windows version in 2010 and never looked...

Been using MaxxTraxx for 28 (?) years, changed over to the windows version in 2010 and never looked back. The changeover went well, their tech support is AMAZING. We love it, and would not use anything else

Pros

It has so many features, even after 10 years of using it I discover new things that it can do all the time. It does my customer intake, marketing follow ups, inventory, invoicing and my back room. It interfaces with Quickbooks and other accounting software so my accountant can log in and do his thing. It also has a plethora of different reports so I can see whats happening IN my business

Cons

It has a huge l;earning curve. A bit cumbersome to get through pages to the end result (i.e. having to click 3 or 4 times thru different fields to complete a task)

shain
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the best and user friendly systems I've used.

Reviewed on 2023/03/01

I love this software and the customer service. They are very helpful and always very very friendly...

I love this software and the customer service. They are very helpful and always very very friendly on the phone. I've used multiple different systems and this is the best bang for the buck.

Pros

I like everything about this software. Once you get it all set up and tailored to your needs, it's awesome. Being a 1 man shop I don't have much time to make estimates, invoices, etc. Once I got all the KIT's entered in the computer I can make an estimate/invoice in a couple minutes. I also love the price. This is a great system and it doesn't break the bank every month.

Cons

Honestly, I can't really think of anything I don't like about the system.

Kevin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best purchase for our shop

Reviewed on 2019/01/18

Pros

SQL based, rock solid performance, networks well. Intelligently designed and works well in our RV shop environment. The parts ability has given us much greater control over our parts prices and purchasing. Takes a little to get used to and set-up the way you want but well worth the time and investment.

Cons

Could stand to have some more customizing options, it has a lot already for an SQL based app but it needs a few more. Added features take time to get in the program if they actually do.

Response from Scott Systems

Thanks for the nice review Kevin. We are working each day on ways to make the program better. If you have specific feature requests, please contact our Support Department or submit a Feature Request Ticket from the Help Menu in MaxxTraxx. As you may know, most major Feature Requests go to the Voting Board for all of our users to vote for while minor ones that we think will have value for the majority of our users are handled as soon as possible . We do our very best to add worthwhile new things while always trying to minimize program bloat. Please feel free to contact me anytime.

Stan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Absolutely the best combination of value, ease of use , and functionality.

Reviewed on 2020/03/21

Great. Over the years we had very few problems and their help was always immediate and accurate...

Great. Over the years we had very few problems and their help was always immediate and accurate when we did. We are closing our business and retiring and will miss connecting with our friends at Scott.

Pros

At first the ease of use, then the functionality, then the people at Scott Systems. It impossible to single out one aspect of this business; it is a great package.

Cons

Nothing at all. The software is so full of features we never found anything it would not do.

Jennifer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Jennifer opinion

Reviewed on 2023/03/06

I am happy with this program most of time .

I am happy with this program most of time .

Pros

Easy to use , The program runs my totals and keeps our techs organized . The monthly reports are helpful.

Cons

The inventory and pricing are so up and down.

Response from Scott Systems

Hi Jennifer, thank you for the nice review. However, we are concerned about your inventory issues. Please contact our Support team and they can try and determine what might be the issue. Inventory control is always difficult, but MaxxTraxx has a very detailed inventory control and pricing system. If there are problems on your system, we want to find them and fix them, whether it is a bug or maybe just a lack of our training you well enough.

Tom
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Madmax MaxxTraxx

Reviewed on 2023/03/03

The software is always helping you perform the tasks of the day, the support from Scott Systems is...

The software is always helping you perform the tasks of the day, the support from Scott Systems is always a good feeling when I know they are there should any Problems arise.

Pros

I started with Scott Systems when it was a DOS based Program , They converted all my data to a the new age software. Once you learn the software it is very functional and easy to navigate the program.

Cons

When Running reports The software wants a beginning date and an ending date . I think that is just making sure of the parameters to what reports you run.

Frank
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software

Reviewed on 2019/12/28

Pros

Accounting and payroll is very easy to use.
Everything is integrated great.
Full accounting system.
Best customer support i have ever had.

Cons

A better service due reminder system to flag when customers are due.

Response from Scott Systems

Thanks for the kind words Frank. It's nice to know our efforts are paying off for our family of users. We agree with the need for an improved reminder system. Expect to see it soon.

Cal
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

owner

Reviewed on 2023/03/03

Excellent

Excellent

Pros

This product is very easy to use. I have 2 service writers and they all love it.

Cons

What i like about this Software is fully complete and what a good think about it is that it is integrated with Worldpac Auto Parts the only thing is if they can Add another supplier like IMC or SSF

Response from Scott Systems

Hi Cal, thanks for the nice words. We are constantly building the program to better. As far as your need for IMC or SSF, we have integrations to both of them. Please call our Support team and they can walk you through the setup. Take Care, Mark

Randy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MaxxTraxx Is Simply The Best Software Of Any Type We Have Ever Used

Reviewed on 2022/04/12

MaxxTraxx makes every aspect of our business easier or faster.

MaxxTraxx makes every aspect of our business easier or faster.

Pros

We like every feature of this software but more importantly we like the customer service we receive from the help desk on the limited occasions we have had to contact them for support. Most of those issues over the years have been user error.

Cons

I have given it much thought and can not think of a single thing I don't like about this software.

Steve
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

What a system.

Reviewed on 2023/03/01

Overall very happy.

Overall very happy.

Pros

I have worked with several dealership systems and this one is better than most of them and they cost thousands.

Cons

I actually dont have any dislikes. If there is a couple of improvemrnts that i may recomend its not going to make that much of a change. There isnt a perfect mouse trap for everything so sometime you need to contact them and support is quick and easy.

Nick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

MaxxTraxx Pro is great for shops

Reviewed on 2019/01/08

We have used MaxxTraxx for 13 years in shop and have found it to be a great program overall

We have used MaxxTraxx for 13 years in shop and have found it to be a great program overall

Pros

I like the features of the program. There are too many to list here but it's a robust program sufficient for any automotive shop.

Cons

Slow to adopt new technologies as they become available.

Response from Scott Systems

Hello Nick. First and foremost, thank you for trusting us with your business since 2005. We are constantly adding to the program but we know it is never fast enough. I'll call you so we can go over any new tech that is of interest to you. It changes everyday as you know.

Duane
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Long Time MaxxTraxx User, and still Happy!

Reviewed on 2022/05/27

Best and most comprehensive business software around, makes our shop very Professional.

Best and most comprehensive business software around, makes our shop very Professional.

Pros

The Corporate version, which we use, has integrated Accounting and Payroll, and reports are extensive. MaxxTraxx accounting system is a TRUE double-entry accounting system, and many of its features are even easier to use than Quickbooks.

Cons

Unable to "delete" vendor invoices once they are created.

Craig
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great group of people

Reviewed on 2020/08/04

Pros

I have used Scott Systems, Maxx Traxx since it was a DOS version. I have grown with the company getting new features and ordering parts online. They have always listened to my input for new advances. If there is a problem they are right on top of it in a hurry. I could not think of a better software to use for our company.

Cons

I guess I don't have any cons. They are cutting edge.

john
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

20 years plus and still going

Reviewed on 2021/03/04

have recommended this software to other businesses and never a complaint

have recommended this software to other businesses and never a complaint

Pros

Ease of use, and integration with parts suppliers. We also do our accounting and payroll and the end of the year always runs smooth. Also, the tech support is second to none.

Cons

No complaints about the software. Every thing runs as advertised. This is the least worrisome thing about my business