Geekbot Reviews

Geekbot

Asynchronous standup meetings in Slack

4.9/5 (41 reviews)

Best slackbot for doing standup meetings

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/11
Review Source

Pros

- Ability to edit private DMs and silent publishing to the channel
- Ease of configuration, templating, onboarding
- Love the engagement survey/reminder to nudge
- Pleasant/engaging customer support
- Quick reply status for repeating the same status from the previous day

Cons

- Doesn't always start on time
- Suffered from extensive delays a few times (20-30 minutes between questions)
- Unable to manage other standups (I purchased for several teams but I'm unable to see/configure their settings)
- Response times from customer support are a bit slow even via intercom (expect 1-2 business days, sometimes longer)
- Timeline performance (dashboard view) for summarization sometimes lags

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Batikan K.

Improved Productivity

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/03/19
Review Source: Capterra

Geekbot allowed us to implement daily standup culture within our team without leaving Slack. We are a distributed small team that has members from 3 different countries, and we manage our daily standups + retrospectives through Geekbot. So far it has helped everyone to get up-to-speed with how to approach the project management culture we are trying to implement and it allowed everyone to see the progress being made, documented and openly appreciated.

Pros

It is easy to use. You just set it up and that's it, it is completely integrated with Slack, so you don't need to go to the dashboard to manage anything, you can handle a lot of stuff by just communicating with the bot. It is really easy to use and allows keeping everyone up to date.

Cons

It failed once or twice throughout our whole usage which caused some questions to be delivered late, but those were only small glitches. Overall, it is a pretty stable product.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Jeremie C.

standup meetings made easy for small remote teams with hectic schedules

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/10/02
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

At Trackener, we are a small startup (5 team members) and we are following the agile methodology. Standups are important for us to know on a daily basis who's doing what, and make sure our team is always focusing on what matters the most.

We had trouble finding an hour to schedule those standups since our CEO is always on the move, one of our team members is working part time mostly on evenings, and we often all work remotely.

Doing it on Slack with Geekbot, whenever someone starts his workday, was really a good idea because it enables us to keep that good habit of daily reporting our work while not necessarily doing it all at the same time. Among the interesting features that Geekbot provides are the reminders (if you don't do your standup, expect to be harassed!) and it tells you what you commited to do the day before, when you start your report.

We've used it daily in our team for more than 3 months and it's totally part of our daily routine.

Cons

There are a lot of features that we do not need though (like the dashboard, tracking, etc).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Porter B.

Simple, straightforward, useful, and fun.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to configure our group, and we loved a few options:
1) Managing different timezones
2) Customizing the messaging for the standup to fit our culture

Cons

Nothing really. We tried several Slack standup integrations and this was the only one our team liked and didn't find annoying. :)

Response from Venturegeeks

Thanks for your kind words,Porter! Glad Geekbot is helping your team sync and maintain your company's culture. :)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Aditya P.

About Geekbot

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/15
Review Source: Capterra

Overall experience is good

Pros

The product is very much useful specially for technology .

We can even attach files and send it to the team where swiftly.

The most interesting feature of the product is shortcut commands.

Cons

Its difficult to send multiple text. We have create snippet and then send it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Great product for teams!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/03/19
Review Source

Pros

We are a distributed small team that has members from 3 different countries, and we manage our daily standups + retrospectives through Geekbot. Geekbot allowed us to implement daily standup culture within our team without leaving Slack. So far it has helped everyone to get up-to-speed with how to approach the project management culture we are trying to implement and it allowed everyone to see the progress being made, documented and openly appreciated.

Cons

It's so simple, also there are some preset meetings for daily standup or retrospective, etc. They're really helpful to us.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

Geekbot for University Research Project

Used Daily for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2019/03/03
Review Source: Capterra

Geekbot staff and the bot have both been exceptional, proactive, and helpful.

For a student project that demands steady progress amidst other responsibilities, Geekbot creates a level of accountability that keeps the entire team in motivated and in the loop.

Pros

Customizable - able to set up days and times that meet the projects demands.

Engaging - private fun messages to motivate use.

Increases Accountability and Transparency - having a bot send out messages helps separate Scrum Master from becoming Scrum Overlord.

Efficient and concise - avoids the quick stand-up meetings that turn into long complex code reviews or water cool chats about the weekend.

Cons

No complaints. Works as advertised and the webhooks/API allow for scraping data to where we want to keep our records.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Natalie A.

Great tool for multi-location teams.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/01/15
Review Source

Pros

Its a great tool for teams who are wanting to run stand ups. Its helpful as you don't have to dial in everyday and people can still get visability over progress and blockers. It can easily be configured to prompt you at a flexible time.

Cons

Nothing its pretty easy to use. Sometimes it can pop up on weekend but I need to configure the times properly I think.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Luiz O.

Best slackbot for doing standup meetings!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/04/11
Review Source

Pros

All the standups are customizable. You can have many teams as you like, each with a different standup, including questions and schedules.

We've used it daily in our team for more than 6 months and it's totally part of our daily routine.

Cons

The leak of support for some languages on default answers. You can skip some questions or the entire report, but you have to use the specific keywords. Customize those words would be great.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Jake M.

Geekbot - a valuable tool for offshore teams and nice people to work with

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/08/13
Review Source: Capterra

The team was very helpful and their software does exactly what we need it to do. Thanks Geekbot!

Pros

The reports functionality and being able to customize it and trigger it for specific days of the week

Cons

For our usage, there is nothing lacking right now.

Response from Venturegeeks

Glad we're helping you guys. Thanks for your kind words ;)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Emily B.

I used geekbot to facilitate scrum for my team located in the US (east and west coast) and India

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/08/09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Geekbot really helped information flow between our US and India teams. It was originally hard for us to keep track of what everyone else was doing, and there was no convenient time to have a scrum because of the 12 hour time difference. After using geekbot, people were able to jump in and help others because they knew what they were working on. It also helped increase the accountability on the team by having a team wide commitment to what everyone was working on.

Cons

I wish there was integration with Jira - that way, you can easily see the tickets others are working on without having to search them yourself. I've been told this integration is coming, though!

Response from Venturegeeks

Truly appreciate your kind words. We're really happy Geekbot is a great solution for your team and promise we will integrate with Jira shortly!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Deepak A.

About Geekbot in Slack

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/11/28
Review Source: Capterra

Overall it saves time talking to individual person about their progress. Till date had good experience with the bot.

Pros

It's timely reminder helped me to get timely report of my team mates work progress. Daily reminder for their on going work progress, hurdles they are facing. Set up daily meeting reminders and calendar events.

Cons

Sometimes it feels like talking to a bot. It will be nice if we have some more AI feature in this.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Geekbot is the best way to run scrum or standup meeting in slack

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/07/30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

- Its quite simple and easy to use standup bot for startups
- It saves lot of time in meetings

Cons

- There is no option to snooze the notifications when Im out of office, or when I dont want to participate in the post standup notification
- The ping would sometime take some time to load. Its not always accurate on time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Highly recommend!

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/10/27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Geekbot is by far the best Daily Standup app for slack! I'm attending college and have a Software Engineering group project. Our group needed a Daily Standup slack bot to make our Standups easier and we had tried two others before with bad luck. Standup the customer support gave us so many problems so we switched to Geekbot and we could not be happier!! Geekbot has been excellent and I've recommended it to other teams at school who have equally loved it. I highly recommend it!!

Cons

There is nothing to complain about, we have had nothing but a pleasant experience with Geekbot so far.

Response from Venturegeeks

Thanks for the awesome review!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Camilo B.

Smart & Helpful

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/11/14
Review Source: Capterra

Amazing experience, its helped us tremendously.

Pros

It's been a really great experience, it has helped us to streamline daily to-dos for our team and encourage team communication surrounding specific tasks.

Cons

The only con we have is that we wish the price was a bit lower per user.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Akhil A.

If you're the kind who doesn't see value in paying for software. GeekBot is about to change that.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/08/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

GeekBot helps get teams on the same page. We are currently a team split between 3 timezones and 4 locations with serious concerns on inter-team communication. Moving to GeekBot almost instantly has helped bring the team closer to each other. We did some smart bot creation so all of the updates are not going into one channel. This way we have achieved not only company wide but also intra-team communication.

Cons

Difficult to track who all have completed their Daily Updates without leaving Slack. Everything else is super simple and easy to use.

Response from Venturegeeks

Glad Geekbot is helping your team connect and communicate around the globe.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Enrique B.

Easy to use slack bot for people using scrum and struggling with daily standups.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/01/14
Review Source: Capterra

Improve our daily standups with a remote team.

Pros

It's an easy way to handle daily standups when doing scrum. Lets everyone know what they're working on for keeping a record on tasks. It's really easy to use, convenient and can be customized to your needs (for example, pausing the standup when going on vacation or something similar).

Cons

The fact it's a bot makes it easier to ignore what other people are doing, instead of having to hear them when doing a daily standup in person. It's easy to disable the standup and sometimes you may be bothered by having to remember to set off the standup for a couple of days.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Fernando C.

It's really helpful. You can add your own questions, divide by teams, set when it will happen.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/06/01
Review Source: Capterra

Easy to set. Easy to use. And the support team is really helpful.

Pros

It helps a lot the communication. We used have problems doings standup meetings online, with webcams. It was so annoying, everyday people had problems with the internet connection. Now it's so easy to get updated about the teams work. We have teams in 4 different states in Brazil and use geekbot everyday in different slacks channels. We are really enjoying it.

Cons

In the beginning, some people had problems to report in more the one channel with different questions, but as soon as we learned how to use it, it got easier!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Fotis A.

Saves the day

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/03/23
Review Source

Pros

Intuitive interface, easy to use, very efficient, works great on my mobile phone as well. Makes team updates very easily digested & read

Cons

I'm extremely satisfied with Geekbot as a user and a team administrator, I can't find any cons at the moment.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Andrew S.

Making life better on a daily basis

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/04/13
Review Source: Capterra

I use Geekbot with my team on a daily basis and it has made my life so much better. I still do work in following up with my team and keeping track of what they're doing but now I can be more flexible about when I follow up. I use to have 3 different standups for a 6 person team. They ranged from 8 in the morning to 11 at night. It was difficult to get everyone on the same call. This has definitely made our lives better and allowed us to still keep track of what we're doing.

Pros

Automatic. It takes care of sending the messages so that I can sleep.

Response from Venturegeeks

Happy we're helping your team and of course we're glad you can get your nights sleep :)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Dan H.

Been using it for virtual standups with remote team members and it works great

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/01/25
Review Source: Capterra

Daily reminders to ensure team communication doesn't fall off.

Pros

I honestly prefer face-face standups but I know that's not always possible with travel and life so when we're not doing face-face we rely on geekbot to keep the team up to date

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Alan S.

Geekbot has helped our disjointed team feel part of a team again, in a non-intrusive manner

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/04/28
Review Source: Capterra

Helped open up communications across our team

Pros

How it fits around my day and my needs in a very convenient way. You can use it to ask the core questions that are important to your company when the users are ready to answer it. They don't have to stop what they are doing to attend an hour long meeting where they speak for 2 minutes about what they have done.

Cons

I did not like the fact that you couldn't change the geekboto logo, we would have liked to customise it with our own mascot or logo.

Response from Venturegeeks

Glad we're helping your team. Thank you very much for the review!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Reuben M.

Essential for remote teams.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/28
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Highly customize-able. Great for rapidly evolving workflows!

Cons

Honestly? Geekbot is pretty great... We're kinda inspired to make our bot just as useful :)

Response from Venturegeeks

Appreciate your kind words!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Cezar A.

Must have for remote teams

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/04/24
Review Source

Pros

Geekbot is simple, intuitive and useful. We were really struggling to work as a remote team, we tested multiple similar tools, but Geekbot was the single one which worked as expected and it was that intuitive. Now, we're syncing much better and it is so simple to keep track what everyone does.
It is very easy to setup, and is very customizable. The support team is very responsive too.

Cons

We're really happy with Geekbot and we don't have any problems with it. It is hard to have cons when it is that simple and customizable.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Fernando C.

Great!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/04/12
Review Source

Pros

It's customizable, the dashboard, and the history are great!

Cons

Nothing at all, they are doing a great job with the bot, even including new features (the lab is awesome)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10