AppSheet Reviews

AppSheet

Mobile app creation for technical and non-technical users

4.8/5 (480 reviews)
Levent K.

Want to develop mobile apps? Then you hit an exact match!

Reviewed on 2016/03/04
Review Source: Capterra

I have met AppSheet while I was searching the net on how to develop a mobile app from an Excel file. It was a DIY platform, pretty well organized and have some sample apps to show. To be honest, I though that these guys must either be kidding me, or the output is useless on the first sight.

Simply, the platform was an add-on to Google Docs. But after I've started to build an app for myself and began to understand the limits of it, I can proudly express that with only one word: "EXCELLENT". Yeah, it is excellent because:

1.) The platform's limit is your limit. There is no end (up to a certain extent for sure) to what you can do and develop. When you get used to it day by day, you think that you've learned it. However, suddenly, you feel that you are not even close to that idea :) Though I have a programming background and using AppSheet about 8 months, I can gladly say that "I'm still a newbie"...
2.) AppSheet is strong and AppSheet is really future pending. The reason is quite simple: though AppSheet is a small business enterprise, they have a very intimate, strong and professional customer care and management, which you cannot even find it in huge enterprises or corporate companies. We (yes, "we") are like a family in AppSheet from the senior to the junior.
3.) Have you problems with your development? AppSheet moderators, programmers, scripters are always by your side and they do not even skip a tiny message even if it might be silly or irrelevant.
4.) Do you have requests? Do you need features? Provided it's not so far away or not bounded by strict API policies (because of Google), depending on the priority list of the team, sooner or later you will have it. Just be patient and give them some time. Though how you quickly need it or how urgent it might be or how crucial it might be; just remember that they are 'simply' humans...
5.) The platform have a wonderful Community page in Google+ where you have the chance to meet wonderful people from all over the world with different apps, different needs, different requests etc. With this, you will also have the chance to develop your abilities and limits by learning from them. Community owns outstanding moderators who are also exprienced AppSheet developers. Each post is replied with great care and with light speed. This is the place where you feel the warmth of a family, intimacy and you clearly see how everyone cares about you and your problems.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Matt V.

The mobile app DIY platform I returned to.

Reviewed on 2016/03/20
Review Source: Capterra

When I was first looking for a mobile app development platform, I wanted something simple to use but powerful enough to allow me to completely customize the app to the vision I had in my head. When I first started using AppSheet it was only 7 months after they went live; at that point it was still in it's early stages and experiencing many growing pains. I found myself running into the limitations of the platform at that time and was frustrated enough I began looking around for another solution.

After playing around for a few weeks, I found myself constantly going back to AppSheet and playing around more and more. I'd find a limitation on another platform that didn't exist in AppSheet, I'd get frustrated that I'd have to learn a TON of stuff for one platform and return to AppSheet again because of it's ease of use. So after weeks of looking around I realized that AppSheet was the platform I was looking for and I just had to find ways to accomplish the goals I had.

Fast forward 10 months and you wouldn't believe the platform was the same. The AppSheet team publishes so many updates (almost daily) that it's hard to keep up! And their support is better than any I've seen. They've got an online community where you can actually get answers from the developers themselves. Got an issue, one of the programmers will take a look at your app and tell you what's wrong. Confused about how to get something to work, the community is filled with users who're very knowledgeable about the platform and are always willing to help a fellow user out. In the 9 months that I've been using AppSheet I've seen multiple ideas I've suggested become a reality; that's how important their user feedback is to them.... it drives the future of the platform.

AppSheet is the best of both worlds; it's simple enough that anyone can make a simple app in minutes with NO coding involved, yet complex enough that you can build an entire business management system from end to end on the platform. If you're looking for a mobile app DIY platform to create a solution for a problem you have... AppSheet really is the one to choose.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Ethan J.

Very easy way to create a functional mobile app with simple spreadsheets

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/06/29
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Overall, this worked fairly well for our company at the beginning. We used it to organize work orders for technicians and we loved the customization options, however, we ended up growing out of it and switched to a software that was more expensive, but already set up to handle the work load we have.

Pros

It's very easy to create an app with some simple data. You can add many fields and it's much easier to create this type of app than to learn code and become an app developer. It's pretty user friendly and has a lot of simply easy to use features. You can add maps, phone numbers, forms, price lists, or slideshows. It's a great way to organize work for a team and everyone can easily see it. Very customizable.

Cons

If you use the free version, there is a very long loading time required. If you use the paid version, it might be worth your time to look into software that is customized to your business needs already. You may find something for slightly more that will work well. You will be using Google Sheets for all your data and information. If you are uncomfortable with a spreadsheet, this may not be the best for you.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Ryan T.

A Review of AppSheet.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/09/13
Review Source: Capterra

The graphic user interface involving toggle buttons and icons are very helpful and increase efficiency in app creation. Overall this great mobile app has saved us a lot of headache. Highly recommended for industry firms that might specialize in keeping track of sales and also the hospitality sector.

Pros

AppSheet has been an incredible mobile application. It has helped our company to establish high quality iOS and Android apps. It's helpful that AppSheet can draw information directly from Excel spreadsheets and from items uploaded to Dropbox. The customizable apps generated are gorgeous. Company logos and colors can be as abstract or sleek as imaginable and apps can be updated by the end user. It's great! Lots of support, and fair pricing that is on a per month basis. Nothing shady.

Cons

I will say AppSheet takes a bit of time to get through the learning curve. Brand new users might experience some frustration. But after the initial learning period, AppSheet definitely becomes easy.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Mavares P.

Develop an App to suit you.

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/07/14
Review Source: Capterra

Develop the master programmer in you

Pros

How many times have we not wanted the PPPs to adapt to our needs? This dream has come true; With AppSheet you can create your own applications directly from any of your smart devices and with your own data. Completely compatible, both with your iPhone and with the Android system, and the best thing is that your data, spreadsheets, or any other information, even those that you use frequently in the clouds, can now be more at hand than before. One of the many advantages is that your applications adjust in a personalized way, and to the extent that your creativity and your needs increase, in the same way you can add quickly and easily, all the features that you can think of or that you need and without having to be a professional developer, then you share them with the people who need it

Cons

Like any system, it is important to remember that, in order to achieve its optimal understanding and development, it is necessary to enter and relate directly and personally to the application, which is why users should be aware of their needs, so that later, can try different solutions for your needs. Remember that although there are free versions, also the paid versions offer a wider range of possibilities and developments.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Jason W.

We use Appsheet to develop data collection practices for our NGO supporting refugees in Jordan

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/25
Review Source: Capterra

Appsheet has given us the ability to build our data collection and management practices in a modular way, which allows us to take advantage of their specific value in the context of our wider stack. Because our budget is limited, it's so helpful to use software such as Appsheet to get the best value for our money.

Pros

Appsheet is quick to deploy, powerfully-featured, and reasonably-priced for our needs. We've been able to rapidly build and iterate our data collection and management practices. Because we rely on volunteers and short-term interns, it's important that the software be easy to use and maintain, and we've found that the ramp up period is short.

Cons

Because we work with apps in both English and Arabic, it's important that we be able to switch between the languages, or even use both in certain fields. The support for left-to-right and right-to-left languages could be improved. We understand this is a pretty narrow use case, but it would allow greater adoption in the refugee space.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Andrés e. B.

A paper plane that will take you far away

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/12/18
Review Source: Capterra

I could say that this type of tool is one of those that we have to dare to use even when we do not have much training in the area. The results can be extremely good.

Pros

I had the opportunity to participate in a tourism project with a partner dedicated to the systems area and the experience with this complement was very good. I think he made the job easier for us during the development of the mobile app.

Even for non-programmers, it can be easy to use. It is based on "Excel" spreadsheets and the data structure is quite simple.

Some of the things that caught our attention are related to its functionalities: It allows you to establish small workflows, it supports GPS, maps. There is the possibility of activating notifications and as if that were not enough, you can access it without a connection.

Another interesting aspect, which also goes hand in hand with the Digital Transformation process, is storage. You can use any Cloud provider. Which gives it a very high value, at least from my point of view.

Cons

Personally I see no negative points, I think it is a tool that gives opportunity to professionals who are not from technical areas to learn and create or work on very interesting projects.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

A platform that takes the tedium out of building mobile apps

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/01/14
Review Source: Capterra

Launching the app and aligning it to end-user demands and expectations has not been a challenge at all. Since it is a dev+hosting platform, things are very much under my control. Helpful features like cloning an entire app make discovery and troubleshooting painless. More importantly, you pay only for the actual number of users!

Pros

For non-techies, with some basic understanding of application software and their usecases and essential database awareness, Appsheet lets you offer practical solutions very quickly and cost-effectively. I have not seen any other platform that makes it so dumbed down.

Cons

There are limitations that are quite possible for a platform that is still evolving. But, nothing so much that will force you to look for alternatives.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Patrick O.

Excellent app for people who are not programmers

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/07/20
Review Source: Capterra

We have other applications that are built by programmers and this is an easier application to adjust and improve upon quickly.

Pros

This is a great way to develop applications that work for your specific need. There are many options of functions that can be performed in this application, and there is a low cost to rolling the apps out. They are constantly updating the features of the application making it more user friendly. It is really great that it works of a database in google, which gives it a very stable platform and is easy to switch between users in the app and administrators who may need to cull the data.

Cons

If you are not in the programming world some of the functions are a little more complicated to use, and take some trial and error.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Appsheet is very easy to use

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/10/19
Review Source: Capterra

I work in a K12 education context, used to be a teacher for 40+ years. While I am nearing my pension, I have had an enormous amount of fun building this app.

Pros

The ease of use. No coding required. You can gradually build your app and learn while doing this. I found there was a gradual learning curve that met my needs and my capability.

Cons

Sometimes, it takes a long to synchronize. The way to correct mistakes that you make is not always obvious and you will need help. But on the other hand, the community is large enough and very helpful, so you will never have these problems for a longer period.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Vallabhan C.

If you thought getting a mobile app for your business was expensive and tough, think AppSheet.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/12/29
Review Source: Capterra

Our field sales team is brought together on a common platform that is easy for the users and managers as well. The spreadsheet interface also allows almost all usuaal spreadsheet app capabilities to be made use of easily

Pros

Its the ease of building an app from a Google Sheet and then having the freedom to shape it up with a full-fledged admin panel. And the beauty is that I haven't had to use the admin panel for months together: the app has been going on and on, without any interruption! I have no piece of hardware or software to worry about or monitor on a daily basis

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

very good tool to create your own mobile application in a matter of seconds for Android and iOS

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/05/13
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

if you want to have a mobile application for Android and iOS AppSheet is a good tool for that. allows us to create a mobile application quickly and easily from its tools and where it offers us to start testing your application for free.
The good thing about AppSheet is that it is not necessary to know the programming codes to develop our application. We can do it in a simple way and where we can find enough documentation on the web to guide us and build a mobile application.

Cons

Although AppSheet offers a lot of tools and ways to develop an app we can find a development limitation and problems that would not be the case if the development were done with code.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Skype for instant communication

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/02
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We can work simultaneously in one screen , small window of Skype open to communicate and other windows open to read or collect information.
Can do instant messaging or video calls at cheaper rate than phone calls. It's user friendly and easy to access

Cons

We can't save the communication at our desired location or folder like we can save the emails.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Ashley W.

This website makes it possible to make quick easy apps that tie into data already in google sheets.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/10/05
Review Source: Capterra

It helped organize my life.

Pros

It is quick and easy to use. You do not have to have prior experience in app building. Their help forum provides a lot of support and good resources for problem solving.

Cons

I think it's a little spendy since you have to have a payment plan for each app you want to deploy. You could design a simple website and have it hosted for cheaper.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Thibault R.

Prototype and play

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/20
Review Source: Capterra

We created an app we have one able to sell as mvp to more than 60 users

Pros

Super easy to create an app with no dev skills
Smart spreadsheets connections to app
Very intuitive approach
Free until you release giving you time to play
Offering new features regularly

Cons

Only English
Would need more options for users management and invites for learner onboarding

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Brian K.

AppSheet - Great for my music school

Reviewed on 2016/03/12
Review Source: Capterra

I work at a music school with about 35 employees, mostly music teachers. We had been looking for a way to transition from lesson notes in individual teacher binders to a paperless system to cut waste and improve communication between teachers and administration. We use a lot of Google Sheets, so the AppSheet platform was a good fit.

In fact, it turned that the capabilities of AppSheet wildly exceeded our initial plan. Now, not only are the lesson notes paperless, but their cross-referenced to students' other programs, and students can request materials and schedule performances within the app. One of the other administrators told me yesterday he doesn't know how we functioned before the app existed. It's an eight year old business, and we've been using the app for five weeks.

I gave it three stars for ease of use mostly because I failed to use the easy parts. I very quickly started using the Advanced Editor, and I think that a person's perception of that part of the service as easy or difficult to use will depend mostly on what you've experienced in the past. I don't have a great point of reference personally, but I have successfully used a lot of expressions and integrations in AppSheet despite having no training or formal experience with coding, and a limited history of spreadsheet use.

I've had to contact customer service a few times through their user community. A couple of times my troubles turned out to be bugs, which were resolved within an hour of my post (once on a Saturday). In all cases support was responsive and thorough.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Ryan A.

A must have for spreadsheet enthusiasts

Reviewed on 2016/03/05
Review Source: Capterra

I rarely write reviews, but AppSheet is most deserving. I use Excel spreadsheets for almost every aspect of my business. I have sheets for payroll, inventory, proposals, analytics, etc. They help me make informed decisions on a day to day basis.
While I love spreadsheets, it is not easy to access them when I am away from my computer. This is where Appsheet comes in handy.
With AppSheet, I can now turn my spreadsheets into a fully functioning app on my phone and input data whenever I want. I also can access my data through the customizable app and create an entirely new way to deal with my spreadsheets. I especially love the ability to create my own user interface and make the app look exactly how I want.
After creating an app based on a simple spreadsheet, I had a number of colleagues tell me how amazing the app was. They think that I'm a programmer and can build any type of app for them, when in reality I know nothing about app creation. I can build a spreadsheet, but I would fail miserably if I had to create an app. With AppSheet, I can do both now.
If you are using spreadsheets for personal or business purposes, I would highly suggest to take some time to get familiar with Appsheet. I would say that the learning curve is rather short and, like anything else, the longer you spend time with it, the better you will be. You need to also join the online forum so you can get support on any question. The online support is a community of users who are eager to help you solve your problem, big or small.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Jayadev V.

Quickest way to achieve process efficiency

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/02/06
Review Source: Capterra

Appsheet and Google sheet are a great combination of technology that helps to increase productivity and operational efficiency. Once a sheet is created in a spread sheet, you get the AppSheet add-on, then almost the application is done. Amazing software !!!

Pros

Almost all functionality that I look for is available.

Cons

Performance to be increased

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Collin R.

Great for our Business

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/28
Review Source: Capterra

Makes our Eq pickups very easy help full to the techs out in the field

Pros

App Sheet makes our Equipment pickups very easy. The Camera function makes it easy to scan our Bar codes and is a very quick and solid software.

Cons

There is nothing like we don't like very easy to use and very efficient

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
John J.

This will help our organization!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/04/14
Review Source: Capterra

I would like to see some improvements continue, such as formatting the column descriptions in colors and bold etc. I would also like to see if a entry is invalid that there is options on how to display on the app while filling it out and not waiting to save before highlighting, the thin red line is not easily visible.

Pros

Able to customize our needs on our own.

Cons

Formulas entry on spreadsheets using fill helps, I would like to see something like that if possible. I would like to see format options on column structure to change the size and format of individual questions.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Great Business Solutions

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/18
Review Source: Capterra

We created a CRM and an Oboarding application to help us with our business needs until our company grew too large and required enterprise software.

Pros

Really Versitile and can automate and handle many business needs.

Cons

Not much training videos or guides avaliable. Outdated training materials online.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Joe N.

this app is an excellent app

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/06/12
Review Source: Capterra

building apps for my mobile device from excel and word documents

Pros

this app is an excellent app keep up the good work
this app is an excellent one for creating apps from word and excel

Cons

this app needs support for microsoft infopath forms and microsoft access and visio drawings databases inport

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Adrian D.

Good fun

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/07/05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Useable and quite adaptable, good to make AppSheet data usable in the palm of your hand. Makes workflow more streamline.

Cons

Navigation sometimes confusing, but getting better with updates, maybe some more options for the background and start up screens, etc but that's a minor issue.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Nazem G.

The best easiest way to make an app

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/06/23
Review Source: Capterra

I dont need to hire scarce and expensive programmers to create web and mobile apps anymore.

Pros

I researched simple app development for many years and tried at least 10 tools, Appsheet is really the best and the only one that works, all the others are too complicated, with a steep learning curve.

Cons

Its a little slow, its takes more time than usual to update changes to the cloud, don't know why.
Im sure it will get better with time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

A Swiss Army Knife for business processes

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/26
Review Source: Capterra

Financial management of reactive and planned maintenance on a large support contract and company intranet so far.

Pros

For what is a very complex and powerful product the user interface is intuitive. I'm on a learning curve and regularly break my apps during the development stage, but the UI always tells me why and how to fix it.
We use Smartsheets for business collaboration but it has real limitations when sharing information between multiple teams, and in the area of workflows. Appsheet does add a layer of complexity but enables us to solve these issues.
The mapping functionality is also great and adding images makes for visually appealing apps.

Cons

Not knowing everything about it yet. There is no code to learn as such but a lot of functionality. Once you learn how expressions work you can exert a lot of control over the user experience, and control data entry, and am only just starting to do this.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10