Firmex Virtual Data Room

4,6 (77)
Securely store and share highly confidential documents

Overall rating

4,6 /5
(77)
Value for Money
4,6/5
Features
4,4/5
Ease of Use
4,6/5
Customer Support
4,8/5

77 Reviews

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

To be or not to be organized!

Reviewed on 2019/05/29

Excellent. Easily adapted to our current work environment.

Pros

Ease of use. Simple integration with our current work flow management. Rapid customer response.

Cons

Sometimes difficult to find answers to questions regarding the tool.

Response from Firmex

Hi,

Thank you for your review. We're so pleased our platform integrates with your current work flow smoothly and you've had the chance to speak with our fantastic Support Team!

If you have any questions about Firmex features or functionality, we have our Firmex Knowledge Base available online. It has tons of helpful articles, FAQs and how-to videos.

https://support.firmex.com/hc/en-us

I use the tool myself quite frequently - but I do find that occasionally my search terms don't return the results that I KNOW are in there somewhere. In those instances (and any other time you have a question), please feel free to utilize our award-winning Support Team. They're available 24/7/365 by phone at 1(888)688-4042 ext. 11 or by email at [email protected]

Thank you again for choosing Firmex,

Kyle Bardsley
Senior Director, Customer Operations & Growth

Ian N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Renewables & Environment
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Simple, yet valuable

Reviewed on 2019/05/29

I've used Firmex DVR on many projects and it's much easier to use than other solutions. Data rooms requiring training will reduce the utilization by the project team.

Pros

Firmex VDR is easy to use. It offers the ability to toggle quickly between projects, has an intuitive folder structure, and allows for easy uploading and viewing of documents.

Cons

Having an embedded version control option would be valuable, with an easy way to distinguish between drafts and final versions of documents.

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Aconex and Citrix ShareFile

Reasons for Switching to Firmex Virtual Data Room

Ease of use, and easy navigation across projects.

Response from Firmex

Hi Ian,

Thanks for the review! With regard to Firmex having an embedded version control option, you'll be glad to know that we have one. Here's a quick summary of our versioning and document status options:

Firmex's versioning feature is built-in to our system. You can choose to upload a new document, or a new version of a document. You and your team can always access the version history, while only giving guests users access to the latest version of the document (the "document of truth"). Firmex can also detect new versions of a document based on the content of the document.

Firmex also supports content status on documents and folders. Many of our customers use this content status to designate whether a document is in draft, awaiting review, or final. This usually coincides with our document comment and tag systems.

Your Customer Success Manager will follow up with you to demonstrate these features at your convenience.

Kyle Bardsley
Senior Director, Customer Operations & Growth

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Banking
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Overall Good, But No Bells & Whistles

Reviewed on 2019/05/29

Overall good, but limited customer support.

Pros

Easy to use. Cost effective. User-friendly. Intuitive.

Cons

Highly limited functionality and user analytics.

Reasons for Switching to Firmex Virtual Data Room

Cost-effective solution.

Response from Firmex

Hi there,

Thank you for your feedback. We're very pleased you're happy with our platform. We're constantly working on improving our product, releasing new updates each month to bring new functionality to our amazing customers.

We very much appreciate the importance of having clear, easily accessible analytics when it comes to your various dataroom needs. For this reason, one our main focuses for the 2019 Product Road-map is improving reporting functionality.

If you're interested about hearing more about the upcoming releases, or have questions about product functionality, I'd be happy to arrange a call to discuss at your convenience. Alternatively, our award-winning Support Team is available 24/7/365.They can be reached at 1.888.688.4042 x11 or [email protected]

Thanks again for choosing Firmex,

Kyle Bardsley
Senior Director, Customer Operations & Growth

Austin P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Banking
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Austin Porter - Review

Reviewed on 2021/01/12

Pros

Easy user interface allows non-familiar teams to upload information. Management teams are able to collaborate with the sell side group to upload information. Much easier to use than Dropbox.

Cons

Item limits per page. (ie. only being able to see 200 files per page when looking at all files

Alternatives Considered

Venue Virtual Data Room

Reasons for Switching to Firmex Virtual Data Room

Familiarity with the firmex products/ have heard less than stellar reviews about their system from people that have used it.

Response from Firmex

Austin, thanks for the feedback and taking the time to review Firmex. Our users find that the 200 limit is more then enough file names within a page before it becomes difficult to navigate through. We would love to know if you are seeing this available with other providers you use or what the optimal number of items per page would be. James - Director of M&A Coverage

Wesley D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Banking
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Review of Firmex

Reviewed on 2021/01/15

It has been great. Never been overbilled. The team provides a heads up if you are reaching storage capacity vs. simply upping your bill. I've never had a client unable to understand how to use or access the data room.

Pros

I love the ease of setting it up. Other products have more features as far as downloading and tracking, but everyone does bulk downloading so it is irrelevant. You get the key features you need: Accessed, % downloaded, ability to revise documents, etc.

Cons

I haven't had any issues with the software. The customer service is the best I've seen. Very amenable if a transaction takes longer or goes on pause (i.e., they are willing to be flexible with pause periods and/or affordable monthly extensions)

Alternatives Considered

Smartsheet

Reasons for Switching to Firmex Virtual Data Room

Smartsheets is annoying to use.

Response from Firmex

Thanks for your review and we are happy to hear you're enjoying Firmex! We're always looking to improve our product, so your feedback is valuable in providing the best product and service to our clients.

Stephanie L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Banking
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Due Diligence Usage

Reviewed on 2021/03/31

Overall positive experience, hit some snags but CSRs have been quite helpful

Pros

Ease of use, continuous updates, easy to teach clients to use

Cons

importing and exporting documents can be problematic (e.g. files too large, titles too long)

Response from Firmex

Stephanie, thank you so much for your review and feedback. Although we don't have a definitive maximum upload size, if issues are experienced we advise keeping larger uploads between 5-10GB, and maintaining single-files under 5GB. We also recommend uploading directly from your local computer rather than a network drive, as the latter will be much slower depending on your network settings. In terms of downloads, we have to adhere to Windows file path limitations, our system will automatically truncate file names to ensure the download is successful. To help mitigate this file path limitation it's best to save directly to your c:\ and omit numbering if possible, this knowledge base article helps explain the file path limitations. Of course, do not hesitate to contact myself or our support team if you have any further questions. Jason - Director of Customer Success

https://support.firmex.com/hc/en-us/articles/204579793-Why-is-there-a-tilde-in-my-downloaded-documents-

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Firmex Virtual Data Room

Reviewed on 2019/01/10

For the Real Estate and Investment banking, the sharing of confidential documents within the company and taking on projects being in a group has been made easier. The legal documents and the finances which cannot be exposed can be accessed and updated from anywhere with Login access, for example on my iPhone.

Tracking old files is much easier, as we go through sharing hundereds of files everyday with corrections pointed and re-corrected.

Pros

The custom sharing platform which is secured and the visibility control for employees. The best part of software is the document validity & password we can set and the people we can choose from list that can access or view the documents. Also the same document cannot be shared by E-mail or any other non Data-room platform and if done. We can control the share and track of the confidential documents.

Cons

The drawback of this software is that we cannot assign different permission or access levels to people in same group. Also, the time stamp cannot be changes to local time, it's always EST available.

Response from Firmex

Hello!

Thank you for using Firmex. We pride ourselves on our customer service and you having the best experience.

In the future, we would be happy to show you how to set user-based permissions in the data room. It's a function we have to set from our end, as group-based permission is the preference of a majority of our users, it's our default.

In terms of time zones, increased functionality is on our road map. As it stands now all of our reports can be run at any time zone, be it est, your time zone, or anyone you choose.

Happy to jump on a quick call at your convenience.

Thanks you,

Jason @ Client Success

Connie L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Firmex Dataroom

Reviewed on 2021/05/18

Great customer service. The software is easy to use and manage.

Pros

The dataroom is easy to set up and easy to use. As an administrator, it is easy to add users and control their access. The watermark feature is great as there is a timestamp of when documents are downloaded.

Cons

Downloading the entire database is not easy and takes a lot of time.

Response from Firmex

Thank you so much for the feedback Connie. We wanted our user wizard to be simple and straight forward, so it's great to hear your positive experience. Watermarks are certainly a popular feature with our clients, especially given the fact that a third party plug-in is not required. In terms of downloading an entire database, this really depends on the amount of data within a particular project. Ensure you are downloading directly to your local computer. We will follow up with you directly to see if we can improve this process for you. Jason - Director of Customer Success

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Banking
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Firmex

Reviewed on 2019/05/29

Pros

Ease of use is very good. Speed and customization are good as well.

Cons

Files are not tethered after bulk downloads which limits reporting on how guys are using files

Response from Firmex

Hi,

We appreciate your review. With respect to your comment that, "Files are not tethered after bulk downloads which limits reporting on how guys are using files," Firmex's document protection options do indeed enable administrators to monitor and control documents after they've been bulk downloaded by a user.

Depending on which document protection options are set (e.g., Lock To Computer or Expire Access), you should be able to see if and when a document was opened or printed on a user's computer.

I'd be happy to hop on a call to demonstrate these features at your convenience.

Thanks again for choosing Firmex,

Kyle Bardsley
Senior Director, Customer Operations & Growth

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Banking
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fantastic VDR's

Reviewed on 2019/05/21

Pros

Very easy to use - incredibly easy to set up and edit data rooms, add documents to them, and give access to viewers

Cons

Honestly, nothing - I don't think there's much they could improve on!!

Matt I.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent Choice for a VDR

Reviewed on 2016/07/14

Our firm has used Firmex VDRs for dozens of investment banking transactions and are very pleased with the product they put out as well as the support and service we receive.

Pros

The functionality is perfect for running a VDR to share documents and files with many parties while controlling the document flow and accessibility of any party on any document. The product is very competitively priced compared to a lot of the service providers out there. Customer service is very prompt and happy to walk you through any issue, small or large. Firmex is also continually improving its services.

Cons

Security functionality is limited once the files have been downloaded by another party (if you allow them to download). Once a party bulk downloads you lose the ability to track their access and usage of documents and delete the document if you would like to remove their access from the information completely.

Response from Firmex

Hi Matt,

Thanks so much for taking the time to reflect on your Firmex experience.

We very much understand the benefits of being able to track how your users are interacting with files once they've been downloaded. We do offer a selection of Seclore-supported document protection options that can be applied to help monitor the document activity of your users even after the documents have been downloaded from the platform. The Lock to Computer, Expire Access and No Print document protections will give you the insight you're looking for!

I encourage you to reach out to your Firmex rep or Firmex Support to get more information and explore if these protections are right for your project.

Many thanks,

Maren Van Zutphen
Customer Success Manager

Michael S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Banking
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Investment Banking Review

Reviewed on 2021/01/12

It is my go to data room provider.

Pros

I like that it is user friendly and cost effective relative to alternatives. Also excellent customer service.

Cons

Creating folders once the main folder structure is set can be difficult.

Alternatives Considered

Datasite Diligence

Reasons for Switching to Firmex Virtual Data Room

Cost and familiarity with product

Response from Firmex

Michael, we appreciate your review and feedback. Within the platform you can create new folders by using the drop down arrow that is located either at the index level or folder level. This will allow you to create a new folder immediately within the desired folder structure area. Here is a link to support this. We also have an excel template that can be customized to your due diligence folder structure. The excel template can be uploaded into the data room directly which will automatically create an entire index folder structure for you. Andrew who is your rep at Firmex would be more then happy to connect and show you how this can be done within Firmex. James - Director of M&A Coverage

https://support.firmex.com/hc/en-us/articles/205148527-Upload-folders-documents

Paul G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use, broad functionality software

Reviewed on 2021/01/19

Very positive experience. I think Firmex is easy to use and is my go-to data rom.

Pros

Very easy to upload and organize files, very easy to set permissions.

Cons

Possible could make the download function easier to use and more reliable.

Response from Firmex

Paul, Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We're happy to hear that you're having a positive experience using Firmex. We are continuously looking to improve our product and appreciate the feedback regarding downloads. The download function within the browser will email a zip file containing all of the requested documents, however if you'd like to download directly to your desktop you can use our desktop tool. If you have any questions or require assistance, please do not hesitate to contact myself or your Customer Success Manager directly. Of course, our 24/7 support team is always available to help. Jason - Director of Client Success

https://support.firmex.com/hc/en-us/articles/206358288-Download-the-Document-Exchange-for-Desktop

Scott M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Banking
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

firmex

Reviewed on 2021/01/19

We have found Firmex to be a high value solution (low cost with decent functionality).

Pros

Firmex is very intuitive and straight forward. Not a lot of bells and whistles, but we don't really need that.

Cons

It would be very nice if it was easier to convert Firmex into a traditional folder view that you get with PCs instead of just the web interface view.

Response from Firmex

Hi Scott,

Thanks for your feedback on the Firmex platform. As the lead contact here at Firmex for SDR Ventures. I am happy to know Firmex is working for you.

We greatly appreciate your feedback about having the user interface similar to a traditional folder view. I will make sure to mention it to our product team, so they can take it into consideration for future releases.

As a former member of the support team, I'm quite familiar with the product. If there is anything I can do to help create an even better environment, either by offering some complimentary product training or taking down requests for improvements, please let me know. We are always eager to help.

Jorge - Customer Success Manager

Ewen B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good Virtual Data room product

Reviewed on 2021/01/20

Good

Pros

Ease of use - it's easy to upload documents and provide access to others.

Cons

Metrics tracking e.g. user logs, downloads etc

Alternatives Considered

Datasite Diligence

Reasons for Switching to Firmex Virtual Data Room

Recommended by colleague

Response from Firmex

Ewen, Thank You for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear you are having a positive experience, especially with our core functions such as uploading and provisioning access to others. We do have a reporting feature that provides user metrics such as time logged, amount of logins, and documents viewed/saved. If you have any questions or require assistance, please do not hesitate to contact myself or your Customer Success Manager directly. Of course, our 24/7 support team is always available to help. Jason - Director of Client Success

Emma S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

User feedback

Reviewed on 2019/07/22

Pros

I like how easy the software is to use, and how you can set all different levels of users, i.e people can only view documents and other cans download etc.

Cons

At first it was very complicated to use. Should have some demo videos.

Response from Firmex

Hi Emma,

Thank you for your feedback! I'm glad you've enjoyed using Firmex and found the software easy to navigate once you got familiar with the platform.

We do believe that our users could benefit from some videos when they're first introduced to Firmex. We do have a Getting Started video series available on our Firmex Knowledge Base, and I've attached the link to the first video in the series below.

https://support.firmex.com/hc/en-us/articles/204467538-Start-a-new-project-change-the-project-name

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Maren Van Zutphen
Customer Success Manager

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Firmex meets expectations!

Reviewed on 2019/05/29

Pros

Firmex is easy to use on both an admin and user perspective. The support from Firmex makes it easy to troubleshoot issues. Firmex is by the far the best VDR platform I've used (cost combined with functionality).

Cons

The process of allowing users to view certain documents within the VDR could be improved. For example, not having to setup permissions by group, but by user. Further, understanding when users are downloading information by receiving email notifications.

Response from Firmex

Hi,

Thanks for the review! We hear you loud and clear. The majority of our clients prefer group-based permissions and the advantages that come with it, but we understand that certain projects require user-based permissions.

Our Client Services team would be happy to customize your project to allow for user-based permissions. This will allow you to hide documents inside a folder by user, as well as setting up users instead of groups.

I'd be happy to hop on a quick call at your convenience.

Thanks again for choosing Firmex,

Kyle Bardsley
Senior Director, Customer Operations & Growth

Huzaifa K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use and essential service for M&A

Reviewed on 2021/01/12

It is an essential service used for mid market m&a. Overall experience has been great, with exceptional customer service and ease of use

Pros

The reports available with the storage are very helpful in maintaining momentum and deal flow.

Cons

Attaching a newer version of a document can be difficult at times due to having to change the file name manually

Alternatives Considered

Datasite Diligence

Reasons for Switching to Firmex Virtual Data Room

Better features

Response from Firmex

Huzaifa, thanks for review and your usage of Firmex. You may not be aware but we have version control within Firmex that allows you to upload an updated document, rendering it as a 2nd version of the original document. This also takes place once you have redacted a documents original version, it will show up as a 2nd version within Firmex. Here is a link to our document versions and a member of my support team would be happy to walk you through this feature as well. James - Director of M&A Coverage

https://support.firmex.com/hc/en-us/articles/206337768-Document-versions

Stacy C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Firmex works for legal practice

Reviewed on 2019/05/06

Overall I've found Firmex support to be outstanding. You get answers quickly and they are helpful when dealing with our clients.

Pros

I like that our clients don't need any special training or hand holding to use the software. Once they login it is very simple to upload/download documents and understand without special training. I also really like the different levels of security, as we often have multiple clients with different levels of access all in the same document room.

Cons

I can't think of anything at the moment that I'm dissatisfied with.

Emily N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

User-friendly and intuitive product

Reviewed on 2019/05/29

We have used Firmex at our firm for over 5 years. Every day I am asked to create data rooms because everyone knows it's the easiest and most efficient way to share documents confidentially.

Pros

Very easy to use, simple, quick, amazing customer service and functional for the various needs of our firm.

Cons

There isn't much I don't like about the software. Perhaps adding some more robust features would be useful but I know the team always has exciting things on their product roadmap so I usually see these enhancements on a regular basis!

Franklin P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Franklin Pogue's review

Reviewed on 2021/01/12

Best product on the market

Pros

Functionality and ease of use relative to other offerings

Cons

Loading new users seems to take more time than it should; wish that was a faster process; a competitor tool recognizes prior users on the platform, that functionality would be great

Alternatives Considered

Intralinks VIA and Datasite Diligence

Reasons for Switching to Firmex Virtual Data Room

better product at a lower cost

Response from Firmex

Franklin, thanks for the review and feedback. We are aware that other providers are able to drag and drop email addresses into the VDR and it recognizes the user within their database or makes the user input their information once they have been invited. We are exploring the possibility of this feature as well as improving our current method for adding uses into Firmex. Again your feedback is greatly appreciated and I have spoken to you already to get more insight on this feature. James - Director of M&A Coverage

Neda S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

review July 2019

Reviewed on 2019/07/31

no need to physically be in one office for audit reviews and the information can be easily organized.

Pros

Easy to upload information and the customer service team is very quick to respond.

Cons

Delegation of rights is not very easy to set up - often need to reach out to someone at firmex to walk me through the limits on users.

Response from Firmex

Hi Neda,

Thanks so much for this kind review. Obviously, we remain available to help as required (and thank you for complimenting our CS team, by the way) but if you want some assistance making templates for your audit reviews, that might make it easier to delegate rights in the future.

You can call me at 888-688-4042 ext 253, or the support team at ext 11, to talk about templates whenever you have a moment.

Always good to hear from you, and thanks again!

Jacob Rose
Dedicated CSM

Michael S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Stotz Firmex Review

Reviewed on 2021/01/15

For the price, this product is a fantastic value. Easy to use and has most of the features we need without all of the unnecessary functions that some other providers have added to their platforms.

Pros

Easy to use, straightforward, comes with all of the major features we use.

Cons

Could add some additional document restriction features. For example, other data rooms allow you to restrict access down to the individual document and individual user level, which comes in handy. To my knowledge, this is not a Firmex feature.

Response from Firmex

Hi Michael, thanks for the feedback. This may not be generally known, but we do offer document level permissions. It is something the admin of the data room has to request our support team to turn on because it does impact your folder level permissions. Our support team would advise you to create a separate sub-folder for the individual document and permission the sub-folder accordingly. I am happy to have one of my reps or a support team member walk you through this if you would like. James - Director of M&A Coverage

Nathan S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Banking
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Firmex Virtual Data Rooms review

Reviewed on 2018/10/04

Pros

Ease of use, ability to control the permissions on documents, reports showing time of use and activity levels, etc.

Cons

Sometimes difficulty with users not receiving their invitation emails, the inability to assign different permission levels to different members within a group.

Response from Firmex

Hi Nathan,

Thank you for your feedback! We're happy you've enjoyed your experience with us thus-far.

The group permission model was designed and put in place to make setting permissions easier and less difficult to manage for our project administrators. Of course, we understand there are certain cases where it would be more convenient to be able to control access at a user level. For that reason, we do have a User-Level Permissions option that can be enabled by a Firmex rep.

If you'd like to learn more about this feature or have it enabled, I encourage you to reach out to your rep.

Best regards,

Maren Van Zutphen
Customer Success Manager

Elliott T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Banking
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Theuerkauf Review

Reviewed on 2021/01/12

Pros

Ease of use, simple interface and very responsive customer service.

Cons

Nothing comes to mind. Can be slow loading up or posting documents sometimes but rare.

Response from Firmex

Thanks for your review, we are happy to hear you're enjoying Firmex! We're always looking to improve our product, so your feedback is valuable in providing the best product and service to our clients. We'll be in touch to see if there's anything we can do to improve upload speeds.