66 reviews

MasterControl Quality Excellence

Enterprise Quality Management

4,5 /5 (66 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,5
/
5
Value for Money
4,2
Features
4,1
Ease of Use
4,2
Customer Support
4,6
94% recommended this app
66 reviews
Joanne F.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

MasterControl Quality Management system

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/21
Review Source: Capterra

MasterControl has allowed us to replace book shelves of policy binders, file cabinets of employee training and competency forms. Staff can all access the same document at the same time instead of waiting for the binder to be free. Regulatory requirements are easy to track within the system.

Pros

This system is flexible enough for a any regulated industry. It includes a document management module, employee training module, Quality module that included Deviations, CAPA, Change Control, non-Conformance; Quality, risk management, etc.

Cons

The suite of modules has not been certified as HIPAA compliant, except for the Documents module. Full HIPAA compliance is on their timeline for 3rd quarter 2020.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jon T.
Industry: Medical Practice
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

System Integration

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/07/09
Review Source: Capterra

We needed a validated system to replace our existing homegrown systems. The integration of the modules made this move a relatively painless one.

Pros

We went from several home grown or small scale products and rolled them all into one with MasterControl. It significantly lowered our risk, makes our processes more efficient, and streamlined ongoing system maintenance and support. Many systems are good about recording information (all the inputs) but don't put much effort into the outputs. MasterControl makes it easy to pull out the information you are looking for and schedule specific reports for delivery when needed.

Cons

Being new to the medical device world, the sign offs and approvals seems cumbersome, but I would expect those from any system in this arena. That was a little to get used to, but it is setting us up for success when it comes audit time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Darci P.
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Company size: 201-500 Employees

UX and Reporting Falls Short

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/03/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The best thing about MasterControl is the integration of the various modules. It is great to be able to have Documents, Training, a Process Form suite, Audit & Supplier Suite (and other modules) all in one centralized system. The Documents linking is great.

Cons

I feel that the system falls VERY short on ease of finding information and Reporting (getting data out) and overall GUI organization making the End-User Experience way more complicated than it needs to be.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Debbie L.
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Quality Changes Everything

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/05/15
Review Source: Capterra

We are currently upgrading from and older version of MasterControl to their new cloud based offering and the updates to the training module will make keeping track of employees training status much quicker and easier.

Pros

The user interface makes this software so much easier to use than others that I have tried, even the most technophobic people in our organisation are willing and able to get on with MasterControl

Cons

There are a couple of areas where we would like to hide or remove buttons so that they don't confuse the end user, but I'm sure these suggestions will be looked at the way MasterControl evaluate all customer feedback and will eventually be implemented.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Joy D.
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Paperless quest

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/10/23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This software has enabled us to transition away from paper-based serial processes to electronic, parallel processes. It has brought bushiness efficiencies and increased compliance.

Cons

There were so many benefits to our business when we brought in this software. But (understandably) there were growing pains to balance what it/is not configurable vs making changes to long held business processes.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sharon M.
Industry: Research
Company size: 201-500 Employees

With A Quality Eye

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/05/13
Review Source: Capterra

It maybe confusing at first but once you understand how all the modules work and how you can adapt it to meet your needs it's great.

Pros

All documentation is in one place and excellent traceability. Electronic signatures reduces paper and time gathering wet signatures.

Cons

The system does require daily administration which needs to be recognised by business owner. The audit module isn't user friendly and could do with some improvements.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Carina W.
Industry: Medical Devices
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Leader in Document Control Systems

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/02/03
Review Source: Capterra

The ability to keep all documents in one location with visibility being managed by rights in the system reduces the concerns in our previous paper-based system. Also the approval process being electronic reduces delays from those out of town who can now sign wherever they are.

Pros

The configuration abilities that allow you to make adjustments that apply most directly to your company.

Cons

The implementation of the software wasn't as clear and smooth as we needed.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Rachael B.
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

MasterControl - Where Quality Changes Everything

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/05/14
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We have been using the Audit, Process, Documents and Training modules and find the interconnection between the modules to be the most useful functionality that we did not see with our other systems. MasterControl is easy to use and in most cases is intuitive in terms of the workflows and visibility to end users. The MasterControl Support team have been one of the best I've worked with and they will work quickly and effectively to ensure any issues are resolved and applicable feedback given.

Cons

Analytics / Reporting has been one of our main pain points and although there are many reports across the system and modules which show individual elements etc, there are not many reports which contain a full data set of information needed especially in terms of Training or Process reports. We also have some wishes for future enhancements to the software and this is where the MasterControl User Voice forum comes in most handy where users can submit ideas for enhancements as well as vote on other use voices.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jonathan H.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

User friendly product, reasonable price, infinite scalability

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/07/23
Review Source: Capterra

We're using MasterControl to control documents and issue training. Most of our users have gotten the hang of MasterControl with little instruction.

Pros

As someone with no document control experience, I was surprised how easy it was to learn MasterControl. The GUI is similar to Windows 10 and the in-app help guide is very comprehensive. Customer support has always been able to walk me through the processes I couldn't figure out on my own and I've never been put on hold.

Cons

I'm using an older version of MasterControl which, as I understand, was written specifically for Internet Explorer. Internet Explorer is now phasing out of existence, so I will be forced to upgrade to keep our system alive.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kathy O.
Industry: Biotechnology
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

MasterControl is a one-stop shop

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/06/29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I love that the training associated with organizational documents is all tracked/associated with the documents in one system.

Cons

I do not like having to go back to a main menu/screen once I've entered a screen in order for the screen to refresh. Specific example: current usage page. (currently using 2018.3, on premise)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jeremy R.
Industry: Medical Devices
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Powerful, but steep learning curve for users

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/03/17
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, it does what it is supposed to do. Once you get rolling, it's good. I wish documentation was better. I wish more control was given over individual document types. UI and bugs are annoying, but not show stoppers (though there is potential for the uninitiated). For the price, I would expect better UI/UX and fewer bugs, but it fills a niche, and the price reflects that accordingly.

Pros

The system is definitely a powerful system. There are a lot of great features just in documents and process modules. There are plenty of controls in place to control quality. Does everything you would expect of a quality management system.

Cons

Overpriced, IMHO. Has some bugs, and occasionally, they have caused quality issues. UI could definitely use some work - way too many additional clicks and navigations to get to get where you're going. New users have a difficult time adopting the system. There is a steep learning curve for both users and admins. Documentation leaves a lot to be desired in my experience. Would much prefer roles/rights be based on infocard type, not the vault they live in. Blanket rights on a vault cause unnecessary complexity in configurations. Not all users in a vault (e.g. geographical location, department, etc.), should have access to every document type in that vault, as recommended in MC best practices pptx...

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Mitchell B.
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Supplier Module

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/04/17
Review Source: Capterra

Overall not a bad experience. Wish the cost for classes was a bit less.

Pros

The supplier module, if set up correctly, allows the firm to set up all the various suppliers and link them to one another. The linking feature allows us to build a picture of the supply chain. Be sure to set up specific "Infocard" numbering schemes that match the various suppliers. For example, "Manufacturer-0001", "Vendor-0003", "Packager-0004". This way, when you link the infocards, you will immediately know the the entity is prior to opening the infocard. The ability to add custom fields is absolutely critical.

Cons

The contacts field needs a persons title field. Currently have to add the title next to the name of the individual which does not contain enough characters.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Brittany B.
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Initial Site to Multiple Sites

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/06/20
Review Source: Capterra

I've been a MasterControl System Administrator for two different types of companies now. Both companies started using MasterControl at one site and have/are spreading the usage of this software to their international locations. The process to deploy to other locations is very controlled and Administration has plenty of options in regards to how much data can be made available between the two.
Overall, great solution to the answer many of the needs of a company in today's regulated industries.

Pros

MasterControl bridges many of the critical functions of a regulated industry. The ability to have documents/training/audit/event forms/projects and more interacting directly is a huge advantage. All of these processes are required anyway, why waste resources on individual manual systems or separated software systems? MasterControl brings all of the benefits of a non-manual process with additional bonuses due to the inter-connectivity.

Cons

The pricing is quite steep - especially in regards to licensing it's always a significant business decision to invest in more.
The upgrade/enhancement process is actually designed well with the exception of retroactive updates. Many new/requested features are implemented in newer versions but upgrading is also a significant business decision.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Gen M.
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Company size: 201-500 Employees

MasterControl Multisystem User

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The customer service for any and all software issues simply cannot be beat. Employees are generally timely and knowledgeable in their responses. Although in the past, the fixes that the company has had to issues were sometimes just work-arounds, recently any representative I've worked with has been extremely thorough in resolving issues. System has undergone several huge improvements where I am much happier using the system as an administrator. System has decent logic to resolve issues for end users.

Cons

When the system gets upgraded, it always brings out a ton of unexpected issues. We know that we will have to dedicate a couple of days just to watching for problems. Casual end users have a hard time understanding the system often, and there isn't a ton of training content available from the company for basic users to help ease the transition.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Kristin J.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

A great company with an even better product.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

There are so many different options you can choose to utilize to whatever best fits your company's needs. It's also great, because the different products can "communicate" with one another to pull information from one area to another. It saves our company so much time. Not to mention every time we have implemented a new product, it has been such a great experience. I know sometimes it can be stressful, but MC does such a great job at making the process as easy as possible. I truly can't say enough great things about the software of the company.

Cons

This isn't necessarily a software issue, we are hopefully upgrading to the cloud and we will have the new reporting system that we don't have now.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Heather S.
Industry: Medical Devices
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

One Year on from our install of MasterControl

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/05/14
Review Source: Capterra

As a cloud customer it has been challenging to understand the maintenance, patch and upgrade processes of MasterControl. We have experienced issues and unfortunately some that have been repeated causing the business to loss confidence in the platform and the control / verification of updates. I am glad to report we are now working very closely with MasterControl on how we move forward to reduce issues and have a better understanding of their process.

Pros

The ability to have multiple modules all in the same platform. For example we can record non-conformances and CAPAs and link them directly to documents stored within the same system.

Cons

I find MasterControl a great documentation platform with additional modules added. The documentation module works great and seems to have been development well over time. I find some of the other modules newer to the platform are still a bit limited, will be great to see them continue to be developed.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Yasmine D.
Industry: Biotechnology
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Cusotmize Customize Customize!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/04
Review Source: Capterra

MasterControl has enabled our business to automate processes and capture electronic training and document approvals saving time and money and empowering end users to take control over their documents and processes.

Pros

I have been using MasterControl since 2004 and love the customization options available to me and my end users. You can customize just about anything in the system and make it your own. As a system administrator, its my job to deliver a product to my end users that is easy to use and that meets all of their needs and MasterControl gives me that ability.

Cons

MasterControl works best in Internet Explorer and has hiccups in other browsers, which tends to cause some confusion with end users.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Alecia O.
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Company size: 51-200 Employees

MasterControl Fan

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/04/02
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, implementing MasterControl has increased what we can do as a company. We've freed up time and resources to focus on business matters as opposed to the housekeeping tasks that take up so much of everyone's time. MasterControl is constantly working on improvements and that give our company great confidence that this will be a long lasting relationship.

Pros

MasterControl has brought many improvements to our company including transparency and efficiency, two things that are near impossible with a paper system. We continuously find benefits and ways improve our use of the system and look forward to implementing more modules.

Cons

As a reporting nerd, I would like some more freedom / options with reports. I understand that large, involved reports can slow down processes for everyone on the cloud, but it would still be nice to have some more freedom or even a way to do reporting outside of the system.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Brenna G.
Industry: Biotechnology
Company size: 201-500 Employees

MasterControl puts YOU in control

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/28
Review Source: Capterra

Having MasterControl has allowed us to ensure a centralized location for all quality information and data. When we used a paper based system previously, the information would be stored in various locations and was much more difficult to retrieve when necessary.

Pros

The document management system. Its very user friendly and configuration is a breeze!

Cons

Process module. Currently it's much more difficult to make changes to workflows for quality event management handled in that module, however if you can make your processes fit into the pre-configured workflows it works excellently.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Cody K.
Industry: Biotechnology
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

MasterControl Documents

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/10/06
Review Source: Capterra

I am responsible for all of the documentation for Quality Control for the company I work for. MasterControl works well for maintaining documentation, but the user interface could be greatly improved and simplified for new users.

Pros

It has a lot of functionality for creating, collaborating on, editing, and storing documents. The system works well for these purposes.

Cons

The user interface is often not intuitive. Button icons are sometimes used reused for very different purposes which causes confusion for new users.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Kate P.
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Review of document control and training modules

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/05/14
Review Source: Capterra

The support in getting started was second to none.

Pros

Turning our training and document control systems from a paper based system to electronic has been amazing. The automation of tasks and trustworthy electronic signature are the best elements of these modules. The VxT module made planning our PQ seamless.

Cons

Whereas for basic users this is a simple system, I think that a lot of what should be simple tasks are very complicated. Raising a change request is a 20 - 25+ step process. Creating a virtual folder is a 10+ step task. It is like the back end has become so complex to keep all the moving parts connected it is manifesting in the front end.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Nicole J.
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Does exactly whats advertised

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/14
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It is a very useful tool in our day to day operations for creating, collaborating, routing, and storing documents as well conducting training.

Cons

While it is aesthetically pleasing, there are parts of it that are not as user friendly as it seems. One of the biggest chanllenges that our company faces on daily basis is the inability to effiecntly pull information across modules such as in a training or document report.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Tamara S.
Industry: Biotechnology
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Diligent and Reliable system

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/20
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

I really like that it is so easy to use and that it is reliable. Getting audited a lot, it is important to have a system that is robust and takes care of all your documents. The support is a big component about why it is reliable. They are always available to troubleshoot in times of need

Cons

A lot of patches, but like any software that is normal. They do a great job in getting bugs fixed quickly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer

View from System Administrator

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/20
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

The Documents and Training Module alone, have had such an immense impact in the reduction of the amount of paperwork and time spent on updating the documents and getting the training out is so worth the purchase of the system.

Cons

With growth there is always things that can and are improved on, I just wish it was more intuitive or upgrade training came with the actual upgrades and enhancements.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Robin J.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Always improving!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/28
Review Source: Capterra

As a beta partner for the new eBR module we will be going live 2019 Q1. Love the new builder and the support and collaborative feedback between customer/users and MasterControl!

Pros

MasterControl stays on the cutting edge of compliance so you don't have to! From new features to new modules always looking forward to the next thing coming!

Cons

Jreports has been a struggle. Implemented new FBS forms with no out of the box reports.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10