84 reviews

MasterControl Quality Excellence

Enterprise Quality Management

4,5 /5 (84 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,5 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
94%
recommended this app
84 reviews
Jon T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

System Integration

Reviewed on 2020/07/09

We needed a validated system to replace our existing homegrown systems. The integration of the modules made this move a relatively painless one.

Pros

We went from several home grown or small scale products and rolled them all into one with MasterControl. It significantly lowered our risk, makes our processes more efficient, and streamlined ongoing system maintenance and support. Many systems are good about recording information (all the inputs) but don't put much effort into the outputs. MasterControl makes it easy to pull out the information you are looking for and schedule specific reports for delivery when needed.

Cons

Being new to the medical device world, the sign offs and approvals seems cumbersome, but I would expect those from any system in this arena. That was a little to get used to, but it is setting us up for success when it comes audit time.

Rachael B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

MasterControl - Where Quality Changes Everything

Reviewed on 2020/05/14

Pros

We have been using the Audit, Process, Documents and Training modules and find the interconnection between the modules to be the most useful functionality that we did not see with our other systems. MasterControl is easy to use and in most cases is intuitive in terms of the workflows and visibility to end users. The MasterControl Support team have been one of the best I've worked with and they will work quickly and effectively to ensure any issues are resolved and applicable feedback given.

Cons

Analytics / Reporting has been one of our main pain points and although there are many reports across the system and modules which show individual elements etc, there are not many reports which contain a full data set of information needed especially in terms of Training or Process reports. We also have some wishes for future enhancements to the software and this is where the MasterControl User Voice forum comes in most handy where users can submit ideas for enhancements as well as vote on other use voices.

Mitchell B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Supplier Module

Reviewed on 2020/04/17

Overall not a bad experience. Wish the cost for classes was a bit less.

Pros

The supplier module, if set up correctly, allows the firm to set up all the various suppliers and link them to one another. The linking feature allows us to build a picture of the supply chain. Be sure to set up specific "Infocard" numbering schemes that match the various suppliers. For example, "Manufacturer-0001", "Vendor-0003", "Packager-0004". This way, when you link the infocards, you will immediately know the the entity is prior to opening the infocard. The ability to add custom fields is absolutely critical.

Cons

The contacts field needs a persons title field. Currently have to add the title next to the name of the individual which does not contain enough characters.

Joy D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Paperless quest

Reviewed on 2019/10/23

Pros

This software has enabled us to transition away from paper-based serial processes to electronic, parallel processes. It has brought bushiness efficiencies and increased compliance.

Cons

There were so many benefits to our business when we brought in this software. But (understandably) there were growing pains to balance what it/is not configurable vs making changes to long held business processes.

Kristin J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A great company with an even better product.

Reviewed on 2019/02/04

Pros

There are so many different options you can choose to utilize to whatever best fits your company's needs. It's also great, because the different products can "communicate" with one another to pull information from one area to another. It saves our company so much time. Not to mention every time we have implemented a new product, it has been such a great experience. I know sometimes it can be stressful, but MC does such a great job at making the process as easy as possible. I truly can't say enough great things about the software of the company.

Cons

This isn't necessarily a software issue, we are hopefully upgrading to the cloud and we will have the new reporting system that we don't have now.

Yasmine D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Cusotmize Customize Customize!

Reviewed on 2019/02/04

MasterControl has enabled our business to automate processes and capture electronic training and document approvals saving time and money and empowering end users to take control over their documents and processes.

Pros

I have been using MasterControl since 2004 and love the customization options available to me and my end users. You can customize just about anything in the system and make it your own. As a system administrator, its my job to deliver a product to my end users that is easy to use and that meets all of their needs and MasterControl gives me that ability.

Cons

MasterControl works best in Internet Explorer and has hiccups in other browsers, which tends to cause some confusion with end users.

James L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Audit Module

Reviewed on 2020/04/17

Pros

We were able to "automate" a lot of our documentation associated with audits such as audit reports, finding reports, letters to suppliers, etc. This saved us a lot of time in preparing routine documentation.

Cons

Finding information on how to configure the module was a bit difficult. For instance how to add the ability to launch CAPAs from internal audits took a bit of effort

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great App

Reviewed on 2018/12/03

Pros

Makes everything easier and streamlines the process. Very easy to use. Allowed for us to but new processes in place and remove the paper processes. Support.

Cons

The LDAP Import tool, Java, and the reporting tool. I do not really have any other cons. This is a good application.

Peter T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

title

Reviewed on 2020/05/15

Pros

Easy to use, ability to configure if required with support and guidance from MasterControl experts

Cons

Reporting.
Not all functionality is available via Internet Explorer

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Great Document Control System for Developed Companies

Reviewed on 2018/06/04

Pros

I like that this software can be custom tailored to fit your organization. There are also options to add other modules that all link to each other so it is easy to add on features if needed. Keeps track of all users training records

Cons

Not the most user friendly for people who lack computer skills and technical proficiency. Very expensive

Angeline P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Master Control Doc Control

Reviewed on 2019/08/07

Ok.

Pros

It’s one of countless document control management systems that I will see over the years. It’s very well-liked. Change control (controlling document versions/revisions/changes/comments) is seamless. Sometimes it’s the simplicity of a system that is most helpful. This one is a little complex but offers a lot (cross-functional to multiple programs/departments) and is great for streamlining documentation across multiple business sites.

Cons

I think that most companies would really enjoy this cross-functional business solution. I think it’s just a matter of money.

Jonelene V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Document control never been as easy

Reviewed on 2018/04/30

Pros

This QMS help us obtain our ISO certificate 2 years ago. With this approval on documents is on track and tractability is perfect.

Cons

We have on-site set up and only on our office can be access. It is a security but will be more flexible if it is cloud base.

Kirsty M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

MasterControl

Reviewed on 2020/05/14

Pros

- User friendly
- Bright tile displays
- Good reporting functionality
- Ability to have many modules all in the one system
- TAM service to provide quick feedback on issues
- Users across globe can choose their regional language
- Follow-the-sun help available

Cons

- Frequent upgrades can cause defects
- Validation tool needs improvement

Joanne F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MasterControl Quality Management system

Reviewed on 2020/01/21

MasterControl has allowed us to replace book shelves of policy binders, file cabinets of employee training and competency forms. Staff can all access the same document at the same time instead of waiting for the binder to be free. Regulatory requirements are easy to track within the system.

Pros

This system is flexible enough for a any regulated industry. It includes a document management module, employee training module, Quality module that included Deviations, CAPA, Change Control, non-Conformance; Quality, risk management, etc.

Cons

The suite of modules has not been certified as HIPAA compliant, except for the Documents module. Full HIPAA compliance is on their timeline for 3rd quarter 2020.

Clayton S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Enough for any regulated industry

Reviewed on 2021/03/31

MasterControl provided us everything we need for employee training. Use of paper records is not only impossible to control with a growing facility, it is a regulatory risk. The software is easy to use and definitely worth it. I can't speak to the report management side of it but I imagine it gets the job done as well based on what I have seen for training.

Pros

Plenty of features available, including CCM, CAPA, NCR and more. We mainly use it for management of employee training. Previously, we used a paper based training system. MasterControl is easy to use from a management side and the user end. Our employees got it right away and it worked like a charm at our facility. When new trainings are ready, they immediately get assigned.

Cons

Navigation can be a bit difficult. There are some features we would like removed just for ease of use for our employees, especially new employees. These are very minor criticisms and ultimately it does exactly what we want it to do.

Debbie L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Quality Changes Everything

Reviewed on 2020/05/15

We are currently upgrading from and older version of MasterControl to their new cloud based offering and the updates to the training module will make keeping track of employees training status much quicker and easier.

Pros

The user interface makes this software so much easier to use than others that I have tried, even the most technophobic people in our organisation are willing and able to get on with MasterControl

Cons

There are a couple of areas where we would like to hide or remove buttons so that they don't confuse the end user, but I'm sure these suggestions will be looked at the way MasterControl evaluate all customer feedback and will eventually be implemented.

Jeremy R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Powerful, but steep learning curve for users

Reviewed on 2020/03/17

Overall, it does what it is supposed to do. Once you get rolling, it's good. I wish documentation was better. I wish more control was given over individual document types. UI and bugs are annoying, but not show stoppers (though there is potential for the uninitiated). For the price, I would expect better UI/UX and fewer bugs, but it fills a niche, and the price reflects that accordingly.

Pros

The system is definitely a powerful system. There are a lot of great features just in documents and process modules. There are plenty of controls in place to control quality. Does everything you would expect of a quality management system.

Cons

Overpriced, IMHO. Has some bugs, and occasionally, they have caused quality issues. UI could definitely use some work - way too many additional clicks and navigations to get to get where you're going. New users have a difficult time adopting the system. There is a steep learning curve for both users and admins. Documentation leaves a lot to be desired in my experience. Would much prefer roles/rights be based on infocard type, not the vault they live in. Blanket rights on a vault cause unnecessary complexity in configurations. Not all users in a vault (e.g. geographical location, department, etc.), should have access to every document type in that vault, as recommended in MC best practices pptx...

Jonathan H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

User friendly product, reasonable price, infinite scalability

Reviewed on 2020/07/23

We're using MasterControl to control documents and issue training. Most of our users have gotten the hang of MasterControl with little instruction.

Pros

As someone with no document control experience, I was surprised how easy it was to learn MasterControl. The GUI is similar to Windows 10 and the in-app help guide is very comprehensive. Customer support has always been able to walk me through the processes I couldn't figure out on my own and I've never been put on hold.

Cons

I'm using an older version of MasterControl which, as I understand, was written specifically for Internet Explorer. Internet Explorer is now phasing out of existence, so I will be forced to upgrade to keep our system alive.

Heidi M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

MC Implementation

Reviewed on 2020/12/17

Support has been very helpful, and no matter how good you are, you will need them.

Pros

The training module has been very efficient in allowing us to track out training completion.

Cons

The Process module is cumbersome. We ended up scrapping everything and making custom forms and workflows.

Tyler E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

One-Stop-Shop

Reviewed on 2020/12/28

Pros

MasterControl is a great investment for mid-sized companies in the pharmaceutical industry. It allows us to maintain compliance via the pre-validated software. With larger companies having staff to manage a variety of documentation i.e. Procedures and Protocols, Testing Data, and Training; MasterControl allows smaller organizations to operate more efficiently.

Cons

To be honest, I have no cons regarding the software as we are still moving toward full implementation. I feel that MasterControl is staying ahead of us with innovation and development.

Donna J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MasterControl: Brings Excellence to Quality Management

Reviewed on 2018/12/20

Hands down the absolute best application support you will find!

Pros

Love the one stop shopping for pharmaceutical compliance. Love the document control module, the process module. We have the majority of all QMS within MasterControl. Their support team is the best in the business!

Cons

the new J-reports tools is not as intuitive as we would like, especially for the average user

Sandra P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

MasterControl

Reviewed on 2020/01/17

Pros

I like the ease of the updated system for Collaboration.

Cons

It is hard to say as our system was set up incorrectly when I started here and it has been a journey to get on the right track. It isn't always intuitive, too many screens to navigate when setting up new items in the system. One stop shopping is best.

Matthew M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Document Control Software out there

Reviewed on 2020/01/21

Keeping up with regulations on documentation is simplified with Master Control.

Pros

The software makes external auditing fast and streamlined. Master Control is the way to keep all your records, files, and your quality management documentation organized.

Cons

The nature of the software can be overwhelming to a new user.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Standard and configurable

Reviewed on 2020/05/14

Pros

Many standard but configurable solutions based on best practices
Great tools for pharmaceutical validation of their solution

Cons

Requires very skilled and trained employees to execute the daily business processes.
Lack of design / GUI customization

Kanya K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

MasterControl _ A one stop solution for Document and Training Compliance

Reviewed on 2020/01/20

Pros

We like document and training modules. This software has reduced loads of paper and reduced the efforts of managing wet paper signatures. The tool is easy to handle with respect to Document Workflows, assigning trainings, , managing users etc.

Cons

A complete training compliance report is missing. We need to look 2 - 3 canned reports to get consolidated report.