PortalGuard

Enable MFA, biometrics, SSO, and SSPR to support end-users

Overall rating

4,6 /5
(34)
Value for Money
4,7/5
Features
4,5/5
Ease of Use
4,5/5
Customer Support
4,8/5

97%
recommended this app
Sort by

34 Reviews

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent product with excellent support

Reviewed on 2020/06/23

With many companies you purchase a product and make your payments without much further interaction....

With many companies you purchase a product and make your payments without much further interaction. Our experience with this company has been very different from that. After several meetings with the implementation engineer, we developed a rapport that made us feel like our needs were understood and they were being met. Even better, we were invited to meet with their executive team to give them our feedback (which almost never happens with most vendors). Not only did they listen to our story, they offered additional information to help us better use their product. We could not be more pleased.

Pros

This product works reliably with a responsive and intuitive interface for users. It is extremely customizable and integrates with our Active Directory for authentication so that single sign-on is available for all of our integrated services. For non-SSO links, they are grouped seperately on the landing page with their links so users have one page with all of the important links they need. It provides SSO as well as password reset for users and the First-Time User experience can be customized to meet your needs. And the cost was very affordable compared to other products.

Cons

I guess you could hope for a solution that you can implement without any assistance, but the integrations with so many different services was actually a fairly complex task that took several days to complete. The implementation engineer who helped us was extremely knowledgeable and professional and he made this arduous task a breeze.

Bert
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Software is customized to our environment with personalized support, at a reasonable cost.

Reviewed on 2017/07/10

We benefit from single sign-on to a variety of systems as well as self-service password reset, a...

We benefit from single sign-on to a variety of systems as well as self-service password reset, a functional help desk tool and multi-factor authentication, all in a customizable package that can be hosted locally and in the cloud. It is ultra flexible in meeting our needs.

Pros

The support is absolutely outstanding. The software works as designed, and is rock solid. It has one
job to do, and it does it very well. It does not break - but if it does happen to have an issue, I know I will have support for a very critical element of my infrastructure.

The configuration of the product to link it with other systems was challenging and very technical. However, this was where PortalGuard excelled. It was a simple matter to configure PortalGuard in each case. The difficulty was with working through the configuration of the variety of applications we were connecting to it. In every case, the PistolStar / PortalGuard implementation team expertly guided us in the process through our wide variety of systems configurations. In every case, PortalGuard was able to link with our applications. It was obvious that they know how all of these puzzle pieces fit together.

We also used the PistolStar professional services for a few customizations to the admin interface. The process was well managed and the results were exactly what we had hoped for, and were produced in a timely manner.

The recent integration of extended portal features like announcements to PortalGuard is a welcome addition. I hope to see more of this kind of work in future versions.

The icing on the cake... all of it was reasonably priced and didn't break my budget.

Cons

The ability to make PortalGuard do whatever you want is both a blessing and a curse.

The user interface could use some work - but you can make those changes yourself - and many institutions have easily done so. In my opinion, I'd like to see this be easier to navigate and more "packaged". For example - the ability to apply simple skins / customizations to the layout via GUI would be a welcome addition.

The PG sales team could do a bit better job of marketing the product and services that stand behind it. They've since improved their site, but you should know that you are not just buying a product (PortalGuard), you are partnering with a company that can deliver single sign-on authentication *expertise* for your organization.

Jae
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Could Be A Lot Better

Reviewed on 2021/05/11

We have run into issues with the product needing updates and the updates have caused our system to...

We have run into issues with the product needing updates and the updates have caused our system to be unavailable.

Pros

That once the product is installed and configured properly it works.

Cons

The setup and configuration have been a nightmare at times and the customer support for the company has been less than stellar.

Alternatives Considered

CANVAS and OneLogin

Reasons for Switching to PortalGuard

Other Schools in our Area were using the same product and we thought that would help us.
Fred
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

How Much I Like PortalGurd!!?

Reviewed on 2021/05/17

We have close to a 100 applications that are integrated with PG. These are internal and external...

We have close to a 100 applications that are integrated with PG. These are internal and external applications. We can configure SSO with almost any application with in few minutes. The software availability is very high. I don't remember that PG ever stopped working unless hardware issue.
PG has been great partner for many years.

Pros

One of the greatest impact for our institution was the self service features of PG. Reset password and unlocking accounts features of self service reduced the number of calls to our helpdesk. It is very easy to use and implement. Integration with our system was seamless and easy.

Cons

When have been using PG for many years. After we implemented the software , we found out that there were some features that we could use and they were missing. We worked with PG's development and they added it those features. I guess , I really can't think of anything negative.

Jason
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PortalGuard is a great Product!

Reviewed on 2021/05/11

We have been using this for over 5 years and is a very handy self-service tool for Users to unlock...

We have been using this for over 5 years and is a very handy self-service tool for Users to unlock their accounts and reset their passwords without any interaction with our Helpdesk. Having the Client available at they Windows login screen is also cool.

Pros

Easy to use and implement! We have been using this for over 5 years and is a very handy self-service tool for Users to unlock their accounts and reset their passwords without any interaction with our Helpdesk. Having the Client available at they Windows login screen is also cool.

Cons

None. We have been using this for over 5 years and is a very handy self-service tool for Users to unlock their accounts and reset their passwords without any interaction with our Helpdesk. Having the Client available at they Windows login screen is also cool.

Mary
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Portalguard Review

Reviewed on 2020/06/29

Because of Portalguard we have been able to provide our users with SSO to our portal; establish...

Because of Portalguard we have been able to provide our users with SSO to our portal; establish effective password and security policies; and synchronize user passwords across multiple applications.

Pros

Portalguard is not difficult to install; we had excellent support and informal training from the top-notch support team at Pistolstar, so our rollout was smooth and very successful. The configuration tools are easy to use and very intuitive. Modifying settings is quite simple. Configuring new applications can be a bit complicated, but again, the support staff are extraordinary and very responsive.

Cons

MFA features are limited. Support documentation could be clearer and easier to follow.

Kevin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Product , great company

Reviewed on 2019/11/22

Has an Engineering manager it’s the kind of software you could deploy in your solution or infrastruc...

Has an Engineering manager it’s the kind of software you could deploy in your solution or infrastructure and forget it exists, for all the right reasons: doesn't require much maintenance, never goes down and no bugs in all the features we use... it just works! We even embedded it in our software for our cloud offering.
Deploy and forget!
Support team is great, and the company does listen to your feedback and change requests.
Don’t know which other password manager software you are currently looking at but forget about it and pick this one!

Pros

The ease of use, the flexibility and the stability of the product.

Cons

Lacking in the automatic deployment / update department.

Phillip
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

PortalGuard is a very flexible authentication tool that we can use to fit almost any use case

Reviewed on 2018/01/12

Pros

Very flexible. We have had several use cases arise where we want to provide a better authentication method and we've been able to create a method of doing so using PortalGuard. It also has the numerous features besides SSO including password self service and 2 Factor Authentication.

Cons

Not a huge concern, but still a smaller unknown company. When we work with other vendors to implement SAML most of them have never heard of PortalGuard and they don't have easy built in configurations to use with PortalGuard. As long as you understand the SAML methods you can usually work on a custom config to accomplish the goal

Bill
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Logins easier with Portal Guard

Reviewed on 2021/05/11

Portal Guard has been a great tool and has made it much easier to help other users working from...

Portal Guard has been a great tool and has made it much easier to help other users working from home to manage their passwords.

Pros

I like that once logged into Portal Guard I do not have to login internal sites multiple times during the day. Password changes have been made easier, which has really helped while working from home during the pandemic. It is nice that you can look up information like when your password is going to expire.

Cons

I run into problems sometimes after logging into Portal Guard i will receive a 404 error and have to hit the back button and start over again.

Jonathan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Support stand out

Reviewed on 2021/05/20

Pros

Their support structure is always helpful, they are willing to work with you and look to educate that you will be more self sufficient. American support is always appreciated.

Cons

If you aren't familiar with SAML there will be a learning curve on setting up identity providers but that is why good support is vital. Would prefer more control to organize tiles also.

Bernie
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Ease to Manage

Reviewed on 2018/01/09

Pros

The technical support team are fantastic. They help you step-by-step when setting it up and after implementation. The best features is that it gives end-users multiple ways to self-service. I would recommend this product.

Cons

Most institutions likely prefer to embed the login page of Portal Guard within their website. There is a great need to copy code to easily embed to any web page. More flexibilty or options is vital.

Curtis
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PortalGuard Security is a No-Brainer

Reviewed on 2021/05/21

We have different countries who log into embassies around the world so they can upload information...

We have different countries who log into embassies around the world so they can upload information and we need security. We are very happy with our worldwide portal arrangement using Portal Guard.

Pros

Our portal is guarded with an easy to use, intuitive and efficient system which allows users from all over the world to quickly use our system to gain access to our portal.

Cons

The software has no features or lack of thereof.

Rik
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Portalguard

Reviewed on 2018/11/19

We use this product for self service password reset and local 2FA authentication for servers and...

We use this product for self service password reset and local 2FA authentication for servers and static systems. We can't use it for laptops as some systems connect to the internet after login and those cannot authenticate without an active connection.

Pros

This was a good product for the money. It appeared at the right time for us to get a hold on some self service and 2fa issues

Cons

They are still missing the ability to do 2FA on a system that is not connected to the internet.

Mihajlo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PG review

Reviewed on 2021/05/24

sso and idp integration, support and reporting

sso and idp integration, support and reporting

Pros

product is very easy to use and the support is beyond awesome. It is customizable in so many ways it's great.

Cons

nothing really. the software does what we need it to do

Yared
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PortalGuard is a great identity management software.

Reviewed on 2018/01/09

Pros

It was easy to setup,
Upgrades add a lot more functionality and new features
Integration was seamless

Cons

I would not consider this a con, but it would have been great if PortalGuard could be setup in non-windows servers.

Jose
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It does the job

Reviewed on 2021/05/11

Pros

Its easy to use. Support is responsive. Self-Service Password reset is a bonus.

Cons

Does not have pre-packaged integrations. Every setup has to be done manually.

Anderson
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent partner

Reviewed on 2021/05/11

Have been using this solution for a year and now wish we would have made the change sooner.

Have been using this solution for a year and now wish we would have made the change sooner.

Pros

Ease of deployment while transitioning from a different provider for SSO. Support is US based and extremely easy to contact.

Cons

Nothing negative comes to mind with the solution we picked. Deployed with ease and up and running on time.

Clifford
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Southwestern Community College PortalGuard implementation.

Reviewed on 2017/02/13

Southwestern Community College District was looking for a self-service password reset program to...

Southwestern Community College District was looking for a self-service password reset program to integrate with Microsoft Active Directory. After doing some research, we chose PistolStar's PortalGuard product. The product is simple to configure and maintain. After the initial configuration was a success, we started looking for other applications that could use this technology. We had two immediate projects that came up. Our IDP connection to OpenCCCApply was difficult at best to support and maintain. The initial expenditure of time and effort to get IDP to OpenCCCApply operational before PortalGuard required 3 months of configuration and troubleshooting. Since IDP is the backend for PortalGuard, we opened discussions to see if it would be a good replacement. PortalGuard, with a couple of hours with tech support, had the IDP to OpenCCCApply connection configured and ready for production. It could not have been easier. The second project was the need to implement Single Sign-On throughout our campus community. This solution also went smoothly and with little effort. We have since integrated it with SharePoint, Blackboard, Canvas, OWA and WebAdvisor. We could not be more pleased with how this product and company have worked out for our needs.

Ed
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great product, great support

Reviewed on 2014/11/18

We purchased PortalGuard as a solution for our ever-increasing password reset issues. As our...

We purchased PortalGuard as a solution for our ever-increasing password reset issues. As our company continued to grow and added more distributed employees, we were spending more and more time managing passwords, resetting them, and unlocking accounts. PortalGuard solved all of those problems for us in one easy to use platform.

We were very pleased with the initial setup. Not only did the PG team help us plan out our use cases and installation, they helped us configure the server, test it, roll out the service, and they helped us with best practices for the future.

The software itself has been great. Very easy to use, even for our least tech-savvy employees. When we set it up with our Windows Login screen, it created the familiar "Forgot your password?" link that is common to many websites, so it was very intuitive to use right out of the box.

Integrating PG with OWA2010 was a little more challenging as it involved AD Federation Services, but once we got the federation server up and running, the rest was a piece of cake.

I highly recommend this product for businesses and organizations that are looking to save time and increase productivity by allowing users to manage their own passwords and accounts.

Tommy B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Review

Reviewed on 2021/05/25

It is good

It is good

Pros

Yes product easy to use. But a lot of features, so it takes time to set it up correctly

Cons

To many features. Not always easy to find the correct place to a setting

Susan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Great Experience

Reviewed on 2021/05/11

Pros

Everything is conveniently located, and the single sign on.

Cons

Password requirements are too long and not being able to reuse in more then year.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

PortalGuard review

Reviewed on 2021/05/17

Integration was seamless. Customer support is fantastic along with the sales team. They all work as...

Integration was seamless. Customer support is fantastic along with the sales team. They all work as a team and communication within is strong.

Pros

Love the product. Finding and comparing software is crucial in todays world to make sure leadership is making the correct decisions when purchasing software today.

Cons

Love the product. There are no features I dont like about the software.

Drew
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Makes life easier!

Reviewed on 2014/12/04

PortalGuard has saved us both time and money. With several public facing web applications that are...

PortalGuard has saved us both time and money. With several public facing web applications that are in use 24/7/365 forgotten passwords and password resets are a thing of the past for our service desk.
PortalGuard's support is superior to most other organizations that I've had to deal with. I usually have an answer or someone able to remote into my system the same day to help with any problems.
Users usually have no problems with the PortalGuard interface and are able to get registered in minutes.

Bradley
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great Customer Service

Reviewed on 2014/11/18

The PortalGuard product was one of the only SSO solutions that we could find that we could install...

The PortalGuard product was one of the only SSO solutions that we could find that we could install locally on campus and have complete control over. Additionally, the pricing model was much more palatable than some of the competing cloud-based products that charge per user.

Getting the demo of PortalGuard set up took a bit of effort, as we have a rather complex network situation. The PistolStar customer support team was fantastic, however, and made themselves eminently available.

Jackie
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Review of PortalGuard

Reviewed on 2015/02/06

Product works well for unlocking passwords
Easy to use
Easy to implement overall
Log files get...

Product works well for unlocking passwords
Easy to use
Easy to implement overall
Log files get really large, not sure how to deal with this for normal maintenance. Would like a better way to search logs if needed.
When used with pistolstar and our LDAP plug in we are unable to reset passwords since it does not synch with our LDAP plug in. Gregg had some ideas on how to correct this.
We are very satisfied with Portalguard.