154 reviews

Cherwell Service Management

Customizable IT service management solution

4,4 /5 (154 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,4 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
86%
recommended this app
154 reviews
Clayton A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best way to manage inventory and tasks.

Reviewed on 2020/08/11

We have the ability now to easily keep an eye on all service requests from any client at any time. It is very helpful to be able to pull up any information about a request from any machine so that our team can work together.

Pros

I like this program has a customizable interface that shows our team a consistent track of our progress. And, I like that we are able to search all tickets that have been created anywhere on our team for easy reference.

Cons

I dislike that, at times, certain tickets really require me to fill out a specific piece of information before saving the ticket. While it depends on the major service that I select, it can slow down the entire team by making us manually fill out this at a certain time.

Brian G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Cherwell is amazing software

Reviewed on 2016/10/05

We've been using Cherwell since August 2014, and have yet to encounter something we can't make it do. The ability to develop the tool with the access to the same tools and features that their in-house and partner developers use means that we can build the tool exactly as we like at very little cost, and it provides numerous ways to build integrations to other tools and services, without needing to develop expensive bespoke code. Going back to anything else would be unthinkable.

Pros

User community, ability to modify to meet our needs, variety of hosting options, a vendor who is as interested in making the best possible tool as we are.

Cons

The webclient isn't quite up to par with the installed client yet. This is my only real gripe.

Austin G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Highly customizable but watch for bugs

Reviewed on 2019/06/28

In the grand scheme of things, the software works very well. We are able to tailor it to meet our requirements for separating Incidents and Service Requests without too much of a learning curve. This has allowed us to obtain accurate metrics that were previously unavailable. The ability to customize everything has also opened up options for other teams to use the software instead of relying on email because other ticketing systems are too restrictive.

Pros

Cherwell gives you the ability to do almost anything you want/need to do. It's built in workflow (One-Step) feature is great for automating repeatable tasks. The extensibility and integration options are also huge benefits. Being able to link into pretty much any other application with a SQL back-end is huge.

Cons

There are quite a few bugs especially when it comes to the browser side of things. Customizing the Customer Portal lacks a functioning WYSIWYG interface and if you're a hosted customer, you have to open a ticket to have support restart IIS services before some of your changes go into effect. This makes creating/modifying a Customer Portal very painful. The Browser Client for technicians is also quite buggy. With the amount of "out of the box" features the software comes with, be very careful.. As some of these features are misconfigured out of the box and require either scouring the whole system or relying on a third party vendor who knows where the bugs are and can fix them. If you ask me, this is just a way to force you to use a consultant for implementation.

David K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Excellent ITSSM and climbing rapidly.

Reviewed on 2016/10/05

Excellent product with very good support. Very flexible and supports many business processes beyond ITSM. Has been effective for our organization for Supply Chain management. Very good user group community that free contributes mApps that significantly enhance functionality. Also has excellent business partners supporting a wide array of services.

Pros

Powerful and flexible. Great dashboards and reportts.

Cons

Allows you to implement poorly if you don't follow best practices. The look and feel of Windows client is a bit dated and needs refreshed.

Kevin V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Cherwell for Change Management

Reviewed on 2016/10/04

We did our implementation of Cherwell in an unconventional way. We started with the Change Management module because that is what we needed the most. From there we tackled Problem Management and then Incident Management. It was amazing how quickly we got Change Management working for Calvin IT. We did not have C.M. before so this was not only a technology project but also a culture change. Cherwell Software provided both a easy starting point out of the box and a easy path to make the changes we needed. The quick win in Change Management allowed us to tackle Problem and Incident with great momentum.

Pros

Easy to customize and develop new business processes

Cons

The portal needs to be responsive - the objects are currently static.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to manage your change management

Reviewed on 2018/05/05

Configuration is easy; Workflow is very easy to configure. Good documentation & training is available online.

Pros

You can easily configure and create Incidents and Change requests; easy to use workflow and very well integrated with Microsoft active directory. Support is available as a community website and or as a phone call.

Cons

Cloud based and it can be slow once in a while, but works most of the time it is fine. It is getting better after our feedback.

Brad S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Cherwell Service Management Review

Reviewed on 2016/10/05

Cherwell was a very easy application to install and configure to meet the needs of our organization. As the sole developer for the app, with the help of a vendor to start, we were able to get almost everything we needed up and running. Since the initial rollout, we've needed only occasional vendor support for some complex integrations, but everything else has been manageable internally. Overall, great product and easy to use and administer.

Pros

Easy to use and customize.

Cons

Sometimes not as powerful as you'd like.

Ray P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My Favorite Toy

Reviewed on 2016/10/05

If I can dream it, I can configure it in Cherwell. I love to describe it as playing a chess game with 5,000 pieces. My colleagues repeatedly ask, 'Can this be done? My usual response: give me 5 minutes and I will roll it out.

Pros

It can be configured in almost unlimited ways.

Cons

The features are so robust, sometimes I need assistance to find where to configure a tool.

Mike L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software, great company.

Reviewed on 2016/10/05

We've been using Cherwell for two years, and I still feel we've made the right choice. Its OOTB is excellent, and the ability to customize and expand the capabilities is great.

Pros

Works as expected. Easy to configure and is very intuitive.

Cons

Not really a "con", but our users are always coming up with new ways to use Cherwell.

Marsha N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Cherwell review

Reviewed on 2016/10/05

We have been a customer for 4 years. Ease of use is a big plus. Not losing your customizations after an update is wonderful. We have expanded our package to other departments over the last 4 years.

Pros

Product being updated to stay current with what is occurring in IT

Cons

None

David B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Cherwell is a very robust ITSM and beyond IT software

Reviewed on 2016/10/05

This is a great tool that has allowed us to exceed our initial goals of ITSM needs. We have been looking at other areas to use the tool

Pros

robustness

Cons

robustness

Mike A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Cherwell Service

Reviewed on 2016/10/04

This has been by far the easiest ITSM toolset to implement and configure than any previous toolset that I have implemented.

Pros

It allows you to do the things you need to do from an ITIL/ITSM perspective. As well as be creative when faced with obstacles, that do not require a "consultant" to code for you.

Cons

It needs to incorporate basic cost/financial management "attributes " for configuration objects

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Requires alot of cutomization

Reviewed on 2019/09/09

Software needs a lot of backend work and creates more issues then it resolves.

Pros

User limitation and liscensing. Lots of flexibility in reporting and searching.

Cons

Required lots of cutomization. Slow to run searches. Lack of ability to customize alot of setting that are important but ability to customize some that are kind of pointless.

Jerri H.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Robust Product

Reviewed on 2016/10/04

My experience with Cherwell is that it is very intuitive and a breeze to navigate through. Implementation can be as basic as Incident Management, or to include the whole suite of features and fuctionality. Cherwell training is engaging and concise, making for quick and easy answers to questions.

Pros

Full range of functionality and ability to implement components individually

Kevin H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Service Management built to support your structure without the need to compromise

Reviewed on 2016/10/04

The best thing I have experienced in moving to Cherwell is we did not have to build our internal processes around what the software is capable of doing. The beauty in Cherwell is the flexibility to build and shape it however you wish to support your infrastructure. Your service desk your way

Pros

Flexibility

Cons

Sometimes get lost in the options.

Jacque L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Heading into a great direction with Cherwell.

Reviewed on 2016/10/05

Came into the Cherwell project late in the project. However, my experience with then so far has been great. When talking to support they are willing to spend the time and make sure I understand. Excited about joining a user group to learn more about the product.

Pros

What you can do with the product, the flexibility in the product.

Cons

NA

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Cherwell was decent but with too much customization it become cumbersome and clumsy.

Reviewed on 2018/02/06

The best benefit is the ability to create and track tickets for your Service Desk, I would warn that you try to use it as out of the box as possible.

Pros

Cherwell has a great user interface and a low learning curve. We were able to use it rather easily after we had done the customization.

Cons

Customization is difficult and leads the the overall experience to decline I think. We had very specific needs and the changes we made were not done too well, especially since the consultant we had didn't know how to do them. We had to make all the changes ourselves and the system ended up slow and clumsy.

Eric S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Management Software

Reviewed on 2016/10/04

Cherwell is a great tool to use and stand up for use. This is a highly recommend software. The field and help desk love this

Pros

All tools are met

Cons

None yet

Phil E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great product!

Reviewed on 2019/10/17

Pros

Easy of use, codelessness, frequent updates

Cons

there are some limitations that come with codeless configration

Karen F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Renewables & Environment
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Cherwell New customer review

Reviewed on 2016/10/05

We have not gone live yet, go live in a few months. So far our development experience has been wonderful.

Pros

Love the self service portal , the ease of configurations as per my Admin team

Cons

umm, have not really found anything that we 'dont' like. anything that was questionable, we got the answers quickly.

Ludwig W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Evaluation of Cherwell ITSM solution

Reviewed on 2018/09/27

Only evaluation of the Cherwell software during a detailed ITSM selection procedure. This product came out of the evaluation in the TOP-6. Eventually the fact that the product is too much focused on IT departments and less on our way of working made us decide to go for a different solution. The support was very good during the evaluation.

Pros

Very well structured configuration environment.

Cons

Typical software for IT department and less for general use in ITSM applications.

Brian D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Decent ticketing system

Reviewed on 2018/09/20

Pros

Very straight forward to use. Haven't noticed any issues

Cons

No negatives at the moment. I will update review if any are found

Rosemarie T.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Ease of configuration. Great dashboards.

Reviewed on 2016/10/05

Implementation was smooth and user acceptance high. Management loved the outcome. We are now getting useful information to better manage our IT department. We have also given our customers better visibility to the level of service they are getting with customer dashboards.

Pros

Ease of configuration. Great useful dashboards.

Cons

Nothing comes to mind.

Melanie C.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent software!

Reviewed on 2016/10/04

I love this product for all your business needs., Facilities management and ITSM and inventory needs.

Pros

Ease of use

Cons

Don't have it installed yet

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

This is the WORST helpdesk/itsm product on the market

Reviewed on 2020/10/29

Worst commercial software platform I have ever seen.

Pros

Nothing - I have used a number of help desk systems over my 20-year IT career. This software is so bad I'm writing a review about it.

Cons

It's slow, unusable, the reporting stinks. It takes 5 clicks to view an email on a ticket that someone submitted. Do yourself a favor and buy something else.