Scalyr Reviews

Scalyr

Modern log management that's fast, especially at scale.

4.4/5 (18 reviews)
Verified Reviewer

Easy to use logging software which provides great value to both large and small teams.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/05/06
Review Source: Capterra

Overall experience has been great. Our servers are entirely on the cloud, by combining Scalyr with Splunk, we are able to monitor server logs on a realtime basis and immediately be alerted of production fires or any errors which occur thereby helping us respond in near realtime basis. While querying was not very intuitive at first, the newer powerqueries seem to hold great promise. the scalyr software has more progress to make, but at the moment it really does give the value for every penny invested in this software.

Pros

It gives you a real time insights into your server logs.
This is especially important for SaaS products, because you can literally monitor every single log.
It is very easy to setup and get started, nothing too complicated.
Alerting is very easy based on various criterion
Minimal but fully functional software

Cons

1. Searching and Querying is still in it's primitive stages, so searching is only as good as the way your logging is enabled in your software code.
The scalyr software essentially displays your logs. If your software has no logging in place, then if you have a production fire due to bad code on production there is no way of knowing it.
2. Not sufficient documentation to get up to speed and running wrt querying.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Ben T.

Love Scalyr

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/09/21
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

We were a very early adopter of Scalyr and it continues to be the core of our devops setup. We use it for the majority of our monitoring, alerting, forensics and log analysis. The biggest pro is that it's a fantastic value for the cost -- it's literally a fraction of the cost of SumoLogic or Splunk. It's also a lot faster than both of those options, especially Splunk. Integrating with Slack and PagerDuty were trivial, and the API is dead simple to use (we push stats into Redshift so we can graph timeseries in Chartio). The customer support is always quick and extremely helpful. Overall, we're big fans.

Cons

UI is still confusing at times, though this is greatly improved over the last two years. It also lacks some of the advanced graphing features of Splunk like complex time-series analyses, though these are nice-to-have features for me.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Jeffrey P.

Great tool with some work to still be done

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/09/21
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Fast searches for just about anything within the log files
Easy to setup
Easy to use query language and parsers
Easy to create dashboards
Easy to use APIs
This has helped us find problems very quickly, and avoid many problems, it has paid for itself many times over.

Cons

No export from web console
Short timeouts on queries causing problems sometimes when trying to gather data over more than a week
There are some features/integrations that we had to build because they do not exist like Rabbitmq stats, memcache stats, and running SQL queries on our databases.
Bug in live tail makes it difficult to use when you have multi line log entries

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Khaled A.

I used Scaylr everyday with our applications and it's really amazing.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/09/25
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

* Searching and filtering for logs is really awesome
* Performance of the agent and really good.
* Switching between different accounts after the new UI change is really useful.
* Log Volume tracking.

Cons

* Sometimes search is a bit slow for large queries, It would be nice to optimize the message indexing or having to prepare some frequently used queries.
* It would be great to share queries between team members or have pre-defined filters.
* Having some built-in analysis for errors and different log levels would be great.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Michael R.

Powerful logging and search engine

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/09/21
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

- Very easy to setup
- Search engine is very intuitive for any technical person (regex, .. etc)
- Log parser is very flexible
- Alerts are very helpful to detect error or anomalies in your platform

Cons

Very few things that could improve the product for my own use case:
- Allow date/time with timezone in the time range filter (eg. 2017-09-21 17:44:17+00:00)
- Allow exporting search result/logs and graph from the UI

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Very good

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/10/01
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It's very fast and allows to filter data in a very easy way

Cons

It's UI is a little bit old wich in the first touch make me a little bit unconfortable

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Youssef M.

Easy, fast and flexible

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/09/22
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

- Easy to use
- UI is stable, not buggy
- Flexible for navigation and filtering
- I like live tail feature a lot.

Cons

- It is not clear easily from the UI how much logs Scalyr retain from the past.
- The applications list screen can be very long if one uses Scalyr for many services, better to find a more nice way to show those.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Easy to use and fast

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/09/22
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

I can get to the information I'm looking for quickly and easily. UI is modern and visually appealing.

Cons

.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Does its job well

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/10/08
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

it's easy to use; has an intuitive interface for search. It basically almost always does what it's supposed to do.

Cons

When the amount of the data gets large enough, the search may not work - it will either end up giving me partial data or timeout.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Great solution for my new startup team to get visibility to our apps in a unified way.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/09/21
Review Source: GetApp

Having used significantly more expensive solutions in prior companies I really like the value.

Pros

The ease of onboarding has really been a highlight. With only a few hours of effort we've quickly instrumented several hosts, adapted the parsing to meet our needs, and are getting real value. As a small team in the startup scene I'm very impressed with the app.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Developer

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/09/21
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Quick and easy access to logs, nice search options, and a rapid interface when browsing and reading a lot of lines from a log.Scalyr does exactly what we wanted it to. It automatically stores the logs for each server separately, and have a good search function to easily find the right date or error.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
James L.

Rating only

Used Daily for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2017/09/22
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Good Feature Set

Used Weekly for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2017/09/21
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Good set of features and easy to set up. The trial was up and running in a matter of hours and we could start getting useful information pretty much straight away.

Cons

The product doesn't necessarily scale to all sizes of organisation. It's suited to a certain size of organisation.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Dealdiane D.

A great tool for managing and troubleshooting multiple projects

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/02/06
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The fact that logs from different servers can be managed from a single place is great. Setup was easy although we haven't tried advanced configurations yet. It works well for what it's been intended to do.

Cons

Works well so far so have no complaints. The UI, although have been recently updated, still seems a bit clunky and not too pleasing but works well.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Juan O.

Rating only

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/18
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Avinash D.

Rating only

Used Weekly for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2017/09/26
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Prashant D.

Logs at your fingertips!

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/05/29
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Super fast log search and custom dashboard are the much appreciated features.

Cons

Pricing model can be improved and made more customer friendly.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Charlie W.

Rating only

Used Monthly for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2017/09/21
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10