14 reviews

Certent Disclosure Management

Collaborative platform for internal and regulatory reporting

4,7 /5 (14 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,7 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
93%
recommended this app
14 reviews
Holley S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Certent Disclosure Management

Reviewed on 2020/09/16

Overall very good product.

Pros

The product was easy to install and it integrates well with Excel and using it is just like using Word. The learning curve was very small. We have been using for years now and have no complaints. The support is out of this world. If you choose the Platinum version, there is nothing it too it. The review your document, check for errors, and will file for you. Makes filing 10Q's, 10K's and 8K's easy and mostly stress free.

Cons

We did have to give our business proves a review in order to make sure the processes were in the right employees hands but once we figured that out there were no issues. I would say making sure you know the right way to build tables ahead of time is important, if not may end up doing things twice but you only make that mistake once. Communication is key.

Rachel M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great software, easy to use!

Reviewed on 2015/11/20

Our company has really enjoyed using this software. It's very easy to learn how to use the product and new employees within our department have caught on very quickly. Their customer service department is always very timely on their responses and has been extremely helpful whenever we've had issues that have come up. They are also great at looking for feedback for any improvements and have been responsive towards any suggestions we have had. Overall, we are very happy with this product!

Stephanie M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very user friendly product

Reviewed on 2020/09/15

Pros

I love how easy it is to use this product after some basic training. My favorite aspect of this software is that it allows us to link an Excel file and quickly refresh numbers, tables, and text within the Word document (10-Q or 10-K financial statement file). We have Hyperion retrieve formulas in our Excel files and have had no issues refreshing our Certent Word file with Hyperion formulas. We also utilize Certent's XBRL tagging service and have been very impressed with the Company's knowledge. We've always been able to have our questions answered quickly. We are able to quickly upload our files to the SEC website through the software, and we've never had a delay in our filing due to using this software.

Cons

We have been very happy with the software and the services provided by the staff working at Certent.

Elissa W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Certent Disclosure Management has taken days of our reporting cycle

Reviewed on 2020/09/21

Our Corporate Accounting team produce a number of internal and external reporting each quarter that is analyzing the same financial data. We have created automation by creating excel formulas for the numbers but even words like whether something "increased" or "decreased" has been automated. Then it is just a matter of opening up each file in Certent, hitting refresh and editing non-routine content that is more judgmental or does need to be updated each quarter.
During a quarter end, we are able to deliver our reporting about 2-3 days quicker and it is far more accurate.

Pros

Certent DM's integration between Word (access through Certent DM) and Excel has allowed our team to automate a significant amount of our internal and external reporting. This has not only taken days off our quarterly reporting process but has also improved the accuracy. Our first drafts are high quality and allows us to focus on more complex issues.
We also started using the Filing Wizard to submit our filings directly to EDGAR rather than sending them to a printer/filing agent. This has given us more control and time over our process as well as saved on paying an additional party in the process. Certent 'held my hand' through our first filings as it was a little nerve racking but they are always there to support.

Cons

- To have Excel integrate with Word (accessed through Certent DM), "named ranges" need to be created in Excel. This was not something I was familiar with but once I started using them, they are very easy to manage. They are essentially book marks.
- Otherwise, the tool does require a little practice to get used to setting up linked content.
- There are tips and tricks you need to be careful of such as only selecting the specific number or word you want to link but not the space immediately after it otherwise when you refresh the content, it removes that space and makes words merge together.
- We have tried to use Powerpoint and the functionality is not as easy to navigate so we have not progressed with this.

Andy Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

CDM Reporting

Reviewed on 2020/09/16

This added a lot of control and automated a very manual process. The software does what you expect and is pretty easy to use. The support you get is good. We have used it for over 10 years with very few issues.

Pros

We have used the product for over 10 years now. It is easy to use and eliminates the manual input from the last mile reporting for statutory accounts/financial statements. We have deployed it for other reports where you want to combine financial information and words and have an approval process to guarantee accuracy and completeness.
The product introduces many additional controls to ensure casting and cross referencing all work. It makes approvals visible and auditable. It allows auditors to see track changed versions provided to them reducing the need for checking everything again.
The software removes a lot of the pain from producing accounts (even rolling to a new year or adding a new company is so much easier). Having used it for so long you forget how much pain there is in some of these processes as they have been removed.

Cons

The integration with Adobe InDesign is okay but not great, improving this would make the last 100 yards of the last mile reporting even easier.
The iXBRL tagging does what it needs to do but is not the quickest thing to use. Once built you should not need to amend.

Doa Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Product

Reviewed on 2020/09/29

Pros

The software was easy to navigate and use. The certent team was responsive to my questions and resolved them in a timely manner.

Cons

There isn't anything that I don't really like. If there was one recommendation, it would be to allow leaving review notes within the word document.

Michael S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

CDM for External Reporting

Reviewed on 2020/09/15

Pros

Very good customer support, and a good quality software program.

Cons

Frequent updates, occasional bugs. Can be complex for beginners.

Vicky T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

2020Certent_review

Reviewed on 2020/09/15

Manage proxy and started S-8 filings

Pros

Ability to add table data from Excel source and format it easily.

Cons

Can't delete comments of other users when I am a key user

Ethan B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Slow and Clunky

Reviewed on 2020/09/28

Pros

I liked being able to work within Excel and Word since I am very familiar with those programs.

Cons

It seemed slow and clunky and somewhat unstable.

Mei W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nanotechnology
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

My review on Certent Disclosure Management from my past over 7+ years of user experience

Reviewed on 2020/09/16

I really think Certent is a great solution for SEC filing. In addition, like any other software app in today's world, it works best with the current devoted service rep team who has decent SEC filing knowledge.

Sometimes our rep can give us the solution we don't even know how to ask. Totally amazing!

Pros

1) service support is most important: specifically we have [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]
as our service support for the past 7 years without interruption. She has a devoted working attitude and we really love her service.
2) supporting service rep has sophisticated knowledge of SEC filing: when we first launched Certent and even in the beginning years of using Certent, unavoidably we would run into various not-working conditions. Whenever this happens, our service support rep [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is always available by our side and patiently provides us the real solution precisely pin-pointing to the problem, which greatly reduce our anxiety toward Certent and gradually foster our trust to Certent. Result is, after 7 years of using Certent, we now not only use Certent to do 8-K, 10-Q, 10-K and DEF14A proxy filing, but also use it to do S-8, equity offering related multiple 424B and SEC comment letter response, etc.
3) from user feedback perspective, I feel that Certent is a clean and sharp design to handle SEC filing. It is a great solution for in-house do-it-yourself SEC filing. We have not found other SEC filing application solution as robust as Certent.

Cons

So far everything is fine, except that IT support for Certent could be improved in a more efficient manner.

Michael D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Michael Review

Reviewed on 2020/09/24

Pros

It is very secure / strong audit trail / good integration with Office / great on collaboration / easy auditor review process because of its reputation for security, user activity auditing and encryption / Certent finally figured out an easier upgrade path (in the past it was a terrible experience to move from one release to the next) / Light on server resources

Cons

Awkward to add new users from Active Directory / Very difficult to roll out an upgrade globally because of the client (the client needs to be deployed to each computer)

Jeff H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Long-Time User

Reviewed on 2020/09/15

XBRL/iXBRL

Pros

We have used this software for over 5 years. It is easy to use and update. Additionally, the support that we have received has been exceptional.

Cons

Some of the technical tags are difficult to apply, but with the support that we receive from Certent, they are always able to help me and things tagged appropriately.

Henry C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great product with lots of flexibility and customization

Reviewed on 2020/09/21

Pros

It is user friendly, many customization, and the capability to import different type of files and generate reports in different format.

Cons

check in and check out time could be long sometime

Maria jose A.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great experience, with the software and also with customer serice team

Reviewed on 2015/11/20

We have been using Certent for our SEC filings since Q1 2015, this software allowed us save a lot of time during the filing process, and it also contributed to make the filing process much more efficient. We have received immediate answer in relation to XBRL and tool functionallity from the assigned team and we have really had a great experience with the tool. I reccommend Certent to other filers as a great tool to simplify the filing process.