223 reviews

Duo Security

User identity verification & device vulnerability discovery

4,6 /5 (223 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,6
/
5
Value for Money
4,6
Features
4,5
Ease of Use
4,5
Customer Support
4,4
95% recommended this app
223 reviews
Daniel J.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

It's all about security

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/03/03
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, Duo gives me peace of mind knowing that I am the only one that can access my personal data base from log ins and websites. I like knowing that I can approve or reject any log ins from the commodity of my phone.

Pros

Duo is a great option to keep your personal information secured. I like that it requests security validation before logging into websites, and that you have the option to use the app to sign in to any device with a few taps. It is easy to use once everything has been set up correctly.

Cons

It can be hard to understand at first, and it might seem a little annoying to have to confirm you are the one logging into your websites every time, but it gets easier if you have the app. Another thing Duo could improve on is the fact that it only lets you "remember" one device at a time. Sometimes I need to log in from my work laptop or my personal laptop and it becomes tedious to remember which device I have registered.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Mirza R.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Duo is the best & free two factor authentication you could use

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/10/06
Review Source: Capterra

Very easy to use and integrate into daily life. Makes me have peace of mind that no one can hack into any of my accounts. Even if they try to login, I can simply deny their login request. I have been using this for almost two years now, never encountered a problem.

Pros

The ease of use is the best feature. It is simple to operate and makes logins more secure. You can easily link your google account or your bank account from the link option available. To login you can choose to receive a call, or a push notification (phone internet connectivity required) or enter a passcode (provided by the duo app). You also have the option to remember your device for a maximum of 60 days. You can still login if you don't have internet connectivity on you phone by using the "enter passcode option" or simply receiving a conformation call to you phone. And that is pretty much all you need!

Cons

There is nothing to dislike about this software. Although, I would like to point out that you have to be careful of not giving your phone to anyone. Just don't lose your phone.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Krishna D.
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Beware! Customer service has been non-existent following Cisco acquisition

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/03/10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We have used Duo for many years. It was easy to implement and has always worked well.

Cons

Last year we negotiated bulk pricing and paid in advance for a 14-month term. Later we discovered that they had never provisioned our licenses and were still billing our credit card. Now, four months later, after numerous phone calls and more than a dozen emails, they have still not provisioned the licenses we paid for. They have acknowledged that this is their mistake and they need to fix it, but they seem incapable of doing so.

I get the sense that their organization is completely dysfunctional following the Cisco acquisition. Given that they cannot solve the challenge of "how does a customer purchase your software?", I am worried what might happen if you came to them with anything more difficult.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Stephen G.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Security to fill a gap, but not comprehensive offering

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/09/27
Review Source: Capterra

Duo Security is a strong SaaS product to fill the very specific infrastructure gap of 2-factor authentication for infrastructure.

Pros

Duo Security is a great product to fill a very specific gap in infrastructure security, specifically for SSH management. For requirements for 2-factor authentication for SSH, Duo is quick to implement

Cons

Duo is difficult to enroll users with, which creates a significantly higher administrative overhead than other options. There are also significantly more delays in the Duo pushed-based notification systems (depending on the user and their network, etc.), which can cause issues for users authenticating.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Cory C.
Industry: Law Practice
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Easy to Use and Effective

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/09/22
Review Source: Capterra

I am able to log in remotely and do my work from home, which has been very important with the pandemic.

Pros

It is very easy to go to the app and generate a code on my device that I can then type into my login screen for my work laptop. Within seconds, I'm able to securely log into my system and be connected remotely. It is much more user-friendly and hassle-free than the last software we used for it.

Cons

I don't have anything specifically bad to say about this software . It does what I need it to do and it hasn't caused any issues.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Writing & Editing
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Easy Two-Factor Authentication

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/24
Review Source: Capterra

Duo Security would be in my list of top-ten "essential" apps for smart devices.

Pros

My employer uses Duo Security for two-factor authentication when logging into HR-related software or, more recently, Covid-testing & compliance. Two-factor authentication is the gold standard for login security. Duo mobile immediately sends a push to my smart device (phone, watch, etc.) where I approve the login request. I am consistently amazed at the speed of two-factor authentication; as soon as I approve the login, Duo confirms and logs me in. It makes two-factor authentication nearly effortless.

Cons

Those using multiple accounts for multiple employers may have to shuffle with the software a bit, but it is nothing overwhelming.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Networking
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Duo is easy to use and great for security

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/09/08
Review Source: Capterra

We needed a good solution to increase our security for signing onto our server, and Duo is great for that. Implementation was so easy and adding users is no problem at all. It's a great software.

Pros

Duo is so easy for our employees to use. Since all you have to do is click on a push notification to sign in with it, it doesn't add a lot of time like other MFA options. It's also really easy to integrate with all our software and logins, and we never have issues with it. I highly recommend Duo for anyone who needs an easy TFA or MFA solution.

Cons

The only real downside to Duo is that each employee has to install it on their personal smartphone, and some people don't like that.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Lindsey S.
Industry: Human Resources
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Duo keeps sensitive information safe

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/07
Review Source: Capterra

Duo is easy to use, effective, and keeps all the information safe

Pros

We use Duo as two-factor authentication for our human resources portal. It helps ensure that the sensitive information is protected, and that only members of our organization can access it

Cons

None! Amazing, easy to use, the app is simple, great customer service- no complaints at all. It works perfectly

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Dave T.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

It’s good.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/10/21
Review Source: Capterra

Overall good. Seems like good security. I’ve never had any bad issues or complaints.

Pros

We use this for two factor I’d for work apps. It’s nice. I like the layout and the ability to customize adding our logos and all. It really is similar to other apps though.

Cons

It’s really finicky when I have low phone signal compared to others. Seems to sign out too quickly and require many sign ins when using multiple University apps off campus. Wish there was a one and done solution.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Thatayaone M.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Cisco 2FA Review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/10/29
Review Source: Capterra

I use the android app for this software to authenticate for VPN access and other company websites with sensitive data and I haven't had any issues. The software is stable and easy to use.

Pros

Protects against hacking
Protects against sharing of login credentials
Easy to approve access via Duo Push, and also has the passcode option
The user interface is simple and easy to navigate

Cons

I have been using this software for more than a year and I haven't had any issues using it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Barry V.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Duo Security - Easiest DFA hands down

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/10
Review Source: Capterra

We love Duo Security. The implementation on our remote servers and web servers gives us piece of mind knowing that our important infrastructure is secured with DFA/2FA (Dual or two factor authentication). It's very easy to setup DFA on a remote server which is good too.

Pros

I like the integration with mobile and smart watches. I use Duo on a daily basis to login in to servers and online services. What I love the most is that as long as I'm wearing my smart watch I can approve logins directly from it. No passwords, no pins, biometrics needed. The authentication push is instantaneous which keeps the login on the target device/service from timing out.

Cons

What I like least is the quality of the hardware tokens. They don't seem to last very long (less than 1 year) and have to resync'd once or twice annually. For me this is no longer an issue because I authenticate using mobile or smart watch pushes. It would be nice to know that if my watch or phone were to die that the token is always reliable.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kalin H.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: Self Employed

Great Security Software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/24
Review Source: Capterra

Overall I have found Duo to be a great method for securing my data and private accounts. It has allowed me to make sure that sensitive information stays safe and away from prying eyes. It also gives me a sense of security financially, as some of my accounts secured by Duo are linked to payment portals.

Pros

Duo is a great way to ensure that your electronic information and accounts are secure. I have used it as a student and I have found that it is reliable and provides peace of mind. It provides a dual authentication process so that no one can access my accounts but me. I like that any attempt to login to an account sends a notification instantly to my personal cell phone, allowing me to approve or deny access.

Cons

I have experienced a few technical bugs with the software in my time using it, though they are relatively infrequent. There are times when Duo will push a login approval to my phone and then fail to allow me to log in to my profile even though I have accepted the push. It can also be confusing trying to figure out how to change settings with Duo. For example, if you have set the software to preferentially send an automatic push upon requesting login, it can be difficult to change that setting. There could be a little more clear direction regarding that process from Duo.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

John B.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Two-factor authentication that just works!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/30
Review Source: Capterra

Our organization has been using Duo Security two-factor authentication for years. The entire solution is incredibly reliable. The mobile app works great and is very easy to use. End-users can quickly and easily enroll their own devices via a self-service portal. This is very convenient whenever you get a new phone. Approval notifications can also be sent via phone, text or push. Push notifications are also supported on the Apple Watch. Although it's rarely needed, online support documentation is very robust. The best thing about Duo Security is...it just works, every time.

Pros

- User-friendly self-service portal for new device enrollment and management
- New account setup is easily done via scanning a QR code
- Multiple options for approval codes or notifications including phone, text or push (includes Apple Watch)
- Push notifications can be approved directly from the iOS lock screen
- Approval is also compatible with Face ID on iOS devices
- One-time bypass codes can be used for lost devices or temporary access
- Support for Universal 2nd Factor (U2F) security tokens
- Great online support and documentation library
- Flexible subscription plans with affordable pricing

Cons

When using an outdated version of the app, iOS push notifications just stop working without any error message or notification

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Carlos S.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Amazing Two-Factor Authenticator

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/09/21
Review Source: Capterra

Great experience, user friendly and having this installed as an app on your Smartphone and not a physical key is amazing!

Pros

You get push notifications instantly, and you don't even need to get into the app, it can display a notification in your notifications bar (Android User) and you can approve/deny from there. Also, if by mistake you deny the login attempt, it gives you a "second chance" to get into the app itself and approve it.

Cons

Nothing to complain about this as of now, I was an RSA SecurID user and having to carry that small key was a nightmare. One thing I'd like is to get Duo Security for Windows, I work remotely and I could have that installed on my home's PC. What if I get my phone stolen and unable to buy a new one???

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Best Two Factor Identification App

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I have used Duo for Two Factor Identification Security at two different employers so far in my career. It is such an easy to use, efficient and effective application. It eliminates the need to keep track of external network keys, passwords, and other redundant programs. I feel safe and secure with Duo Two Factor Identification because it requires both my phone and fingerprint in order to gain access to protected software.

Cons

Earlier this year I had to replace my iPhone and after I restored my new device from backup my Duo Two Vactor Identification was no longer linked. To my surprise, It took several hours to restore and reset my security settings at work the next morning. Although the Duo reset was quite inconvenient for me that day, restoring software is both an infrequent and uncommon occurrence for me.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Increase the security of your accounts

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/04/15
Review Source: Capterra

I like to app and I recommend it to anyone who wants to increase the security of the accounts.

Pros

It has been three years that I'm using Duo. This is the app that my university has decided to use to increase the security of accounts of faculties and students. I feel secure when I use the app. You can use several options for second authorization. it can send a push message to your mobile, you can enter a passcode, which is great. In addition, it does not take too much time to confirm the authorization.

Cons

I think it is a nice app. But I think if it had some other options to log in, that would be great. I myself prefer receiving a passcode in my email rather than using my cell phone all the time. All in all, I think if they work on the app and improve some sections, it would get better and better.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Anindita S.
Industry: Research
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Duo Security is important

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/07/01
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I have been introduced to Duo security the last year. The institute I am affiliated to insists on using the Duo security for access to emails and other sensitive data. Initially, I used to feel it is a little out of the way effort to have a two-factor authentication via Duo Security. But lately, I have it is a rather important safeguard for sensitive data, emails, etc. It adds another level of protection. With technological advancement stealing important information from the internet is a child's play. Using Duo security gives the users benefit of knowing when their emails or secured accounts are accessed (at least it does that for me). Besides, two-factor authentication allows me to restrict suspicious users from logging on.

Cons

Don't know but can the Duo also work by pushing login request via email? That would mean I wouldn't need to have my mobile phone next to me 24x7.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Scott C.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

An added layer of security when working remotely

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/05/05
Review Source: Capterra

Duo Security offers us the ability to work away from the office with minimal fear of having sensitive material exposed to unauthorized users. Working from home is often essential, so I'm glad we have Duo Security to help make it possible.

Pros

Duo Security effectively enables users to securely access their organization's network. Once you've signed in on your computer, a push notification is sent to your smartphone. Just click to approve it, and you are securely connected to the network. An unauthorized user would be unable to gain access without having possession of your phone. I appreciate that it's generally a quick, no-hassle process; signing in takes only a few seconds.

Cons

Occasionally it takes a couple of attempts to sign in to the network. Additionally, it can be inconvenient to need to have your phone handy whenever you sign in. I've had my phone charging in another room when I realize I have to go get it in order to sign in.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

2FA For the Enterprise

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/05
Review Source: Capterra

We wanted a 2FA solution for our VPN and password management solutions. Duo integrates with both. We also needed a 2FA solution that can be used by a wide variety of users. We have many remote users so being able to authenticate via app, text, or phone call makes it easy for all of our users to gain access in a way that is secure and available to them.

Pros

Duo has made it easy for our company to use 2FA across several of our services. It's easy to implement and easy to manage. Duo integrates easily with 3rd party applications and services. Users can use multiple ways to authenticate to Duo.

Cons

Push notifications to Cellphones can be spotty if a user has poor cell reception. Not necessarily a failure on Duo's part but it should be considered if you are going to use the App Push for authentication.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Duo Security will make your account secure

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/10/29
Review Source: Capterra

I started using Duo Security since 2017 when I started working as graduate assistant. The app had allowed me to make sure that my account at my job is secure and no one can easily access to my account without an approval on my phone. If you are using this app, you don't have to call or text your number to access to your account. You just press the push button and approve it from your phone and access to your account.

Pros

The app is very functional and easy to use. It makes the users to secure their accounts and make sure that no one can easily login to their account.

Cons

You should make sure that your phone has sufficient battery. If your phone battery dies, you might not be able to access your account on your computer. The slight side effect of using this app is that you just have to have an open phone.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jane G.
Company size: Self Employed

Best thing I ever did for securing my website

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/10/14
Review Source: Capterra

Ever since I've started using DuoSecurity to access my website admin interface, I haven't had any breaches in security and I feel safer knowing that hackers can't access my website easily.

I've been using DuoSecurity for several years now and offer it as part of my Security Packages when I launch a client's website, because it's a quick setup and for ease of mind.

I use an app on my iPhone that sends me a notification when I go to log in to my site, allowing me to "Approve" or "Disapprove" access to the site's admin interface easily. I also use it to access other accounts online that allow for a Code to be entered, giving me that piece of mind that my personal information is secure.

Highly recommended!

Pros

Security Features, Ease of Use, Apps

Cons

Their website is not easy to use because there are so many features available, which might be overwhelming to someone not familiar with it

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jen V.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Easy to use

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/09
Review Source: Capterra

Duo helps us to maintain a secure login to our sites. We use it to access payroll information, reports, our shared drive, and other things you want extra security around.

Pros

I like the fact the fact that Duo is so easy to use. You can it up to verify in different ways - through an app, a call, or email. I sue the app which I love. A simple swipe and accept and you are in your site securely. For computers that are secure and you use regularly you can have it remember you for 30 days which is very convenient for sites you use multiple times a day.

Cons

I really don't have any complains about the software. It works great for my purposes. The only thing I have heard people complain about is just two step verification in general.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

1-click for Two-Factor Authentification

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/15
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I have been an end user of Duo Security for the last 2 years, and I think that this is the best software for 2-factor authentification. The Duo App has a simply designed platform. When we sign into the website that requires authentification, we can just type a passcode provided by Duo App on the website or click an authentification request given by Duo App. Yes, it is that easy with Duo.

Cons

Setting up the Duo from the scratch can be challenging to some people who are not familiar with two-factor authentification. It is important for organizations or companies to provide a step-by-step installation procedure to users before they start using Duo as their sole authentification method.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Tara F.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Work safely from home with Duo

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/07/27
Review Source: Capterra

Overall my experience with Duo Security has been positive. Working with 3 different agencies that use Duo, I have not experienced any negative issues.

Pros

Working with highly sensitive personal data, we require the highest protection and security when working in office and working remotely from home. Integrating Duo with VPN has helped us confidently connect to our shared documentation. The 2-factor authentication helps lower risk of data breaches but verifying identity of the user. Duo is also used while in office to again confirm identity before allowing access to a vast amount of sensitive data.

Cons

I have not yet experienced issues with Duo and continue to use it daily as I am currently working remotely.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Fund-Raising
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Easy in practice, maybe a little pricey

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/05
Review Source: Capterra

Support is good. New features are rolled out occasionally, so being an admin it is a good idea to keep up-to-date about it.

Pros

Working on the end-user side of things is very easy. Just "allow" a login, no hassle with codes. Also having the (Apple) Watch app available means users always have a device very near.
On the admin side of things the configurability is impressive. We are running a sync with or AD so provisioning users is automatic.

Cons

It is a bit pricey as ie.e Azure MFA does most of the things as part of the EMS bundle (so if you have that, that is an option). Also on the end-user side, I find the Apple Watch is a little lagging (couple of seconds). Not a big issue, but a little annoying sometimes.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10