SecureDocs Reviews

SecureDocs

Virtual data room for short & long-term use

4.9/5 (112 reviews)
Shaun D.

Secure Doc site user

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/10
Review Source: Capterra

We use SecurDocs to provide access to our large data base for our CuMo mining project in Idaho. The database is huge(many Gigabytes) We use SecureDocs to give investors and potential partners access to our database to perform due diligence on what would be multi million dollar investments.
The data is proprietary and needs to be secure. To date over approximately 2 years we have not had a single problem with both our ability to manage and upload data to the site and our investors have had no trouble access the information.
In addition having an extra external backup is very useful given the millions of dollars spent to obtain the data.

Pros

Easy ability to upload and organize files in to folders and subfolders. We have over 10,000 files to upload, store and have clients access
folder structure simple and easy to maintain and most importantly can easily be understood by our clients and investors.
The price is reasonable on a yearly subscription
Security is excellent with password and verification code
Our potential investors find the site easy to navigate and download files.
Can easily handle the huge database that we have including gigabytes worth of photos

Cons

the 1 gigabyte per session download limit is the least point about the software, but it makes sense due to prevent people form controlling the entire download stream.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Chase N.

M&A Data Room - Best Value Data Room on the Market

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/06/18
Review Source: Capterra

For the price you cannot beat the SecureDocs package. The customer service is outstanding and the features are more than enough for data sharing.

Pros

The price point is great if you are running multiple deals that are short term in nature. The flexibility of payment options was a nice part for us as we have deals that both long and short term. Also the features available are more than enough for the confidential, secure, and ease of use for a data room. All of our employees have found it easy to use.

Cons

Compared to other data room providers that are more pricey it is missing some nice features. For example, there is no index applied to document names when downloading the data room.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Mykel S.

My PE firm runs all of our transactions through SecureDocs. It's invaluable.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/12/30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

SecureDocs is very easy to use as an administrator and is intuitive to new invited users which creates a lot of efficiency. The system serves as our system of record for all transaction work. The team is also great - they build customer feedback into the roadmap for new features and provide excellent support.

Cons

It's never failed our firm in any way, but it would be nice if SecureDocs enabled text search within documents. It would also be nice to re-index folder structures with copy paste.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Jesse B.

Awesome customer service & very easy to use.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/12/16
Review Source: Capterra

Reduces the amount of time I need to spend messing around in data rooms. It is very easy and efficient.

Pros

The software is extremely easy to use. I really like the interface and way you can upload // review files. The best part is the audit log to keep track of data room activity.

Cons

I don't have much bad to say about the software. There could be optimization in mass permission changes. For example, to turn on and off email notifications, you have to go manually 1 by 1. Other than that, no complaints.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Dorota S.

It's our second application of VDR we used. And Secure Docs is the first we decided to stay with.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/12/05
Review Source: Capterra

We save the room on our servers, we save our time, sharing files and documents with our business partners.

Pros

Secure Docs is very friendly and simple, you can followe the application with your intuition. And what more, comparing to other similar solutions, SD is much cheaper.

Cons

The application is safe and easy, you can share your files and documents with your business partners and stay sure, that nobody can stole your documents or change them in uncontrolled way.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Nadia N.

Superior product at a ridiculously reasonable price

Reviewed on 2015/04/21
Review Source: Capterra

SecureDocs is incredible. It is by far the most superior product on the market in terms of convenience, value, security, and ease of use. And if that isn't enough, you'll be blown away by their 24/7 support team who will consistently exceed your expectations. If you ever have to contact them, their level of responsiveness is second to none and they will resolve your issue or answer your question immediately. Seriously. I can't think of any other service provider who can match the exceptional level of customer service that they provide.
What can you use SecureDocs for? Everything. As a VC firm, we are continuously finding new ways to utilize the platform and simultaneously optimize our processes. We initially sought SecureDocs to fulfill a need to securely share our documents with our auditors; we then realized we could exploit the platform in so many new ways. Not only do we continue to use it for each audit, we now also use it for due diligence, tax, investor reporting, fundraising, valuations, and compliance. This time next year, we will probably have twice as many use cases.
The best part about SecureDocs? User permissions and the audit log. These features really set SecureDocs apart from other products available in the marketplace. Not only can you set highly specific access levels for each user, but you can also identify when that user logged in and which documents were viewed/downloaded. This has been an invaluable tool to discreetly evaluate investor interest and monitor when third-party consultants are working on our account.
Bottom line: It's a superior product at a ridiculously reasonable price. You can't go wrong.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Stuart G.

We utilise SecureDocs as a portal for issuing documentation our field force.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/11/30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It allows us to trace a document form issue to receipt with a specific DTG and recipient IP address, this is vital for us, as we produce an auditable trail from this data.

Cons

With respect to recipients receiving the data we do not get a timeframe of how long they spent reading a new upload. this would allow us to gauge acceptance & adherence to policy changes.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Sandro P.

Best VDR!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/06/01
Review Source: Capterra

Able to share securely deal documentation with banks and investors and discriminate view/download rights between different groups through the great UI

Pros

Excellent usability with all the functions needed. Reasonable price and no limits on capacity. Contracts are easy to understand and support is timely and friendly. Highly recommended. Correctly displays text in other languages.

Cons

Nothing. Service is perfect. Sometime the exchange to sing a new contract is not perfectly straightforward but it was always solved in a timely manner.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Mark L.

Great platform that is flexible and easy to use for multiple applications

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It's easy to move files around and organize documents as VDRs become more complicated over the life of the project. Also helpful that it's one flat fee vs. having to pay by file size. Nothing is worse than having to pick and chose what you want to upload because you're approaching your data limit like with other virtual data rooms.

Cons

The user experience is great, but if there were two areas I would improve the product it would be: 1) making it easier for users to see which files have been uploaded most recently and 2) being able to send a link to specific files to make it easier to communicate when answering questions on specific files in the data room.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Ankit M.

It was great using this friendly software and was really helpful. It met our objective.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/07/10
Review Source: Capterra

Log and audit trail is the best thing

Pros

Log and audit trail is the best thing in the software along with role creation. As an example, you get the watermark of the user whose id is used while taking the print which helps in data privacy.

Cons

There could be optimization in mass permission changes. You can't view mail attachments through the software. This does not let you to restrict access to 'view only'.

Response from SecureDocs

Thank you for your kind review of SecureDocs Virtual Data Room. We're happy to hear that you had a positive experience, and hope that you'll consider us again the next time the need arises.

We take customer feed back very seriously, and make sure to read each review for inspiration when adding new features, and when searching for areas of improvement to our product and service.

I noticed that you mentioned you wanted to be able to restrict access to 'view only', and we're pleased to let you know that our system does allow for 'view only' permissions.

We'd be happy to walk you through setting up that feature in order to improve your experience with our solution.

Thanks again for sharing your thoughts!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Setup & implementation in 1 hour, has all required functionalities of a data room

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/12/01
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ease of use, very fast (cloud based), security, 100% uptime. Bulk download functionality. High adaptability of roles and users.

Cons

Maybe some bells & whistles not available which you encounter in more expensive software. Eg. Automated Word/Excel to PDF import functionality.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Bradley L.

This software was perfect for my company. Extremely easy to use and track documents.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/11/29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We use this data room both for sharing critical documentation for due diligence for potential partnerships, as well as a drop box for sharing large documents with collaborators. It is very easy to manage the site, to control the access and rights for each individual or group, and also to keep a log of what functions were performed, and what documents were reviewed (down to the page number). The customization security features are excellent with 2-factor authorization, the need to accept a confidentiality (editable) statement, water marking of each page, and a blur out to prevent screen capture. Customer service is also very good with a smaller, personal feel to it. I would highly recommend this product.

Cons

You can't view PowerPoints through the software. This does not let you to restrict access to 'view only' and therefore can not share confidential documents in PPT form.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Jonathan G.

Set-up Data Room for M&A

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/06/14
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Very easy to use without any training or tutorials. Fixed cost with no hidden fees, unlike other data rooms that charge based on number of pages and video size. Start-up friendly with intro deals for new users.

Cons

They are not cleared by all investment bank compliance departments. This is not a comment on functionality or capabilities. But it does impact the ability to use them if your investment bank has not cleared them.

Response from SecureDocs

We're happy to hear that our solution was easy-to use and helpful during the M&A process.

Thank you for sharing!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Unlimited plans with flexible billing

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/12/05
Review Source: Capterra

When we needed to choose VDR solution the main problem was that most competitors does not publish pricing on their websites. After tiresome contacting with sales representatives of about 5 products I found out that I need to know documents count or space requirements to get price offer (which is hard to predict in most cases) and ridiculous prices of hundreds dollars per gigabyte. Unlimited plans of SecureDocs allowed us not to bother about documents size or count.

Pros

SecureDocs was chosen among other VDR solutions primarily because of unlimited storage/users plans, responsive customer support and flexible payment options (quarterly/monthly). Competitors usually offer price per Gb/documents count, and only long-term plans. I liked two-factor authentication and audit log in this product, as well as intuitive user interface.

Cons

Nothing. Everything worked fine, I can't remember any complaints from our users of SecureDocs.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Timothy B.

Lifesaver

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/05/21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The usability of the software makes SecureDocs a win. The platform is easy to navigate, and little expertise is needed to get up in and running. For us it was same day, with files being transitioned over by close of business day.

Cons

We have not really found any faults in the system.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Yannai S.

Great VDR Service

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/04/17
Review Source: Capterra

We used the SecureDocs for purposes of legal due diligence in equity financing transaction with multiple investors (each of which had different types of access rights to the material). Will definitely recommend it to others and will definitely use it again.

Pros

Easy to use UI, very intuitive. Has two factor authentication for recipient which was a must for us and did not appear in many other services. Did not get any complaints from the VDR users which is very important too. Very easy to upload (drag and drop), quick upload. Had the entire VDR setup within hours. Great option to set rules as to who can access what information and you can easily restrict the ability to download. Uses watermark on downloaded materials.

Cons

A bit pricey but still well worth it. Recommend a tutorial on how to define access rights to users.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Al M.

Best Cloud Sharing and Dataroom Platform

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2016/09/07
Review Source: Capterra

This product is absolutely great, quick to market and easy to use. My customers are impressed by how quickly we can deploy a dataroom and have them collaborating within minutes. We would love to see a SSO feature available for future integration within our corporate infrastructure but for our current needs, the product meets all the requirements.

Pros

Rich features (i.e. Drag and Drop)
Multi-factor authentication including bulk user upload
Data Room Control and granular permissions
Logging Enabled
Streamline look and feel

Cons

Single-Sign On Integration
SIEM integration

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Albert P.

Great platform. Easy to set up, zero friction with invited users. They have thought of everything.

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ease of use and ability to quickly get up and running. Easy to share and track activities. Fair pricing.

Cons

Still haven't quite perfected viewing multi-spreadsheets but not a major issue as users can download and view instead. Participator invitations end up in the target's clutter folder more often than not - it may be possible to fix this by checking the standard wording used in the invite to stop them getting picked up by filters

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Iain S.

Prospect Data Room

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/15
Review Source: Capterra

Our company is part of a Group with stakeholders scattered globally. Many individual users were experiencing difficulties using a competitor product due to restrictions on data size. Also I personally found the competitor product difficult to use.

Pros

Ease of use, unlimited users and data; Ability to create one corporate site quickly and easily.

Cons

Inability to link data room to desk top directory (unlike one of the competitors)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Robert M.

What you need and not more.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/12/01
Review Source: Capterra

Very fast to set up, simple to run (self-explanatory) and inexpensive--all while having all of the features you really need for a deal dataroom.

Pros

Simple, not bloated, focused on core necessary functionality which allows it to have the best pricing available by far.

Cons

Would prefer some better reporting templates, but that is really a small concern and worth the trade-off for price and lack of feature-bloating.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
John P.

Super easy to use and manage

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/07/03
Review Source: Capterra

Saves money and time with being able to provide a data room to your M&A clients. Sometimes the Attorneys will get involved and host the data room and the cost and ability to control the data is lost.

Pros

The software is very easy to use and the low cost price point is great. Very easy to order and set up any data room.

Cons

I really don't have any dislikes about this software. There are a few small things that could be offered where the user could choose how files will be numbered, for example 1, 2, 3 vs I, II, III.

Response from SecureDocs

Thank you so much for sharing your experience using SecureDocs. We're happy to hear it was a positive one!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Kevin N.

SecureDocs Great for Sensitive Documents

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/28
Review Source: Capterra

Our company uses SecureDocs for sensitive documentation that cannot be uploaded to simple cloud services. We have never had an issue and will continue to trust the service.

Pros

SecureDocs provides the security necessary for our sensitive documents that other cloud services simply cannot offer.

Cons

I do not believe there is a desktop app, but I imagine this would put our security at risk.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Martin R.

Excellent data room for startups

Reviewed on 2014/12/11
Review Source: Capterra

As a seed stage startup first time entrepreneur managing the due diligence process can be very confusing and cumbersome. The governance that SecureDocs established on our process was very important and valuable, some of our investors commented on how well organized we were and even mentioned that some of the companies they reviewed are not as sophisticated as we are. And that was in big part to how SecureDocs guided us through the process.

The only challenge we faced during the process, which is not necessarily because of SecureDocs, was around syncing the web room our attorney has in-house with SecureDocs. They have different folder hierarchies and we had to manually re-organized it. I didn't use the attorney's web room because it didn't have key capabilities like tracking who has access to it nor did I like the UI/UX of the out-of-the-box solution they bought.

In closing, I'm big on tech companies understanding that we are not buying a "tool". The SecureDocs team helped us get on-boarded, shared best practices, and helped a fellow company in the trenches look good in front of key stakeholders. I truly appreciate that.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Juan francisco L.

Excellent

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/06/25
Review Source: Capterra

Really easier to use, and helpful for our clients and the velocity for droop the files and who we can see in realy time the information.

Pros

Really is easier to use, and helpful for our clients and the velocity for droop the files and who we can see in realy time the information.

Cons

i would like a system that has the possibility to incorporate an file to coments or issue between the files in the web, I mean the possibility to the final client insert coment in the same web page about and specific items.

Response from SecureDocs

Thank you for sharing your experience using our solution. We're glad to hear it was a positive one!

We take customer feedback seriously and appreciate you taking the time to make suggestions for improvement.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Ajay G.

Securedocs- Solution for Virtual Data Room

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/02/01
Review Source: Capterra

I was about to finalise VDR deal with some other vendor at very high pricing and some how came to know about Securedocs. It was really surprising to get more featured product in good pricing.

Pros

Instant Setup
Good Pricing
Support Level

Cons

overall it’s a great product. May be some more customisable reports will do wonders

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10