Classy Reviews

Classy

All-in-one fundraising platform for web & mobile deployment

4.2/5 (63 reviews)
Nikicha N.

Simple, modern platform that makes processing online gifts a breeze!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We had been using Classy for a few years and then decided to switch to a different platform. That was a HUGE mistake. We ended up switching almost immediately (even paying for two platforms at once). We love Classy's modern design for it's fundraising and event pages. We love how simple it is to edit the design of these pages and doesn't require any knowledge of HTML or really graphic design experience.

The best part of Classy is how smooth the integration is with Salesforce. While we have had some issues with certain data not being pushed in, the team is always responsive in trying to correct the error. The chat function is especially useful when I have small questions to ask.

Additionally, I enjoy their blog posts and resource emails and can always count on their site to have resources to download for all our communication and fundraising needs. Overall we have had a great experience using Classy and will continue to use their platform to manage our online giving.

Cons

We do wish there was a bit more flexibility in the kinds of things we can edit when designing campaigns but it gets the job done well as is. For example, we often wish to customize certain colors on one button vs. a theme but are unable to do so.

Another small con is that we have donors who sometimes mail in their credit card information to us but with no email address. This means we have to use an email associated with our organization, which sometimes causes classy to join or replace users who have had that email associated with their record as well. This is just the nature of basing users off email addresses as well as our fault for not indicating that we need a donors email to process online gifts. This is usually pretty simple to fix.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

Online Fundraising Made Beautiful and Easy

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

At my job, we administer a variety of charitable funds, many of which participate in different types of fundraising activities. Using Classy, we are able to tailor-make fundraising sites utilizing easy-to-use templates that address each of our donor's wants and needs. I often tell donors that their Classy page can serve as a stand-alone website for their efforts, which is wonderful for our grassroots groups who may not have money in their budget for a web designer or to buy a domain name. The customization allows us to add photos, change colors, and many other features, which result in some really gorgeous looking sites.

Classy makes it easy to access donation information, which can be easily viewed when you log into the system as an admin and exported to an CSV file. They have an event-specific template which can be used to sell tickets or registrations to an event. Since you can export all the purchaser info, it allows you to go green with your ticketing -- there's no need for purchasers to print out the email confirmation they receive when you have easy access to all buyer info.

In addition to the license fee, Classy does take a 1% fee on each online donation received. There is an option for the organization to pay the fee or for the donor to pay the fee. We ask our donors to pay the fee, and there has never been a complaint as fees are much higher on other comparable sites (EventBrite for ticketing, GoFundMe for crowd-funding, etc.).

Cons

Overall I love Classy, but there are a few areas it can improve. The user dashboard is not the easiest to navigate through. It lists the names of donors and the amounts, but not what campaign they donated to. So you have to go to through your campaigns to find the donation. For an organization like ours which administers many Classy pages at once, this can be needlessly time-consuming. I love the custom options that each template has, but sometimes there are glitches. For instance, I was unable to upload a background image to a recent campaign page. But a quick email to customer service fixed the issue in a very short amount of time. Classy is constantly upgrading and adjusting features though, so I imagine they will work out some of these kinks in the future.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Cassandra A.

Easy to use for donors and organizations, seamless integration, and a helpful support team!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/02/21
Review Source: Capterra

The integration with Salesforce has been a big win for us. We've more than doubled our funding while cutting our manual data entry time in half.

Pros

We made the switch to Classy from another fundraising platform in October 2018. The year prior, from October to December, we raised about $80,000. This year we raised more than double that, and I know that a big reason for that is because of Classy. The site is much easier to use for donors but it also is more aesthetically pleasing. It invites people in and engages them. Creating a page that transitions seamlessly from our own website was very easy to do with Classy. Page setup is user-friendly and I like that you can see the changes that you are making in real time, instead of having to make a change, save it, then go preview it, then go back and change it again (which is what we had to do on our old platform). Classy customer service has been very helpful as well. They are responsive and knowledgeable, and finding answers to my questions, or solutions to my problems, has been simple and pleasant. We have integrated Classy with our Salesforce database, which is a huge plus for us. There were some kinks but their support team was very helpful. Though more expensive that our former platform, I feel that the investment was definitely worth it.

Cons

The price is significantly higher than the platform we used before, both in annual costs and in transaction fees. We also need volunteer registration functionality, which Classy doesn't provide, so we do still have to use our old platform for that piece.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Bryan K.

Classy has provided us an excellent online fundraising platform!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/21
Review Source: Capterra

Classy has provided an excellent platform for development of our online fundraising efforts and is now the centerpiece of our plans for future revenue growth. Before Classy, we received the occasional online gift from site visitors but now online giving is our second largest revenue source and has been growing at 30% annually. We highly recommend Classy and believe the platform is a great value!

Pros

Compared to other platforms for nonprofits, Classy offers more versatility in designing visually compelling donation pages, campaign landing pages, peer-to-peer fundraising pages and more. They are also constantly innovating ways to raise more funds (for example, by allowing you to request credit card processing fees and set the percentage requested and by making monthly giving a more prominent option for donors). Their customer service is also timely and well-informed and reporting tools have become quite sophisticated.

Cons

It took a little time to get to understand how to best use the new reporting tools, but once I did learn, I was able to access and analyze much more data than before the revamp. So it worked out well. There's really nothing I have a complaint about.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Michelle H.

Mixed feelings

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/12/13
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

- allows several tiers of fundraising with no additional cost (campaign-->teams-->individual fundraisers)
- includes events, which is a simple platform (and it should be simple! just tickets!)
- upfront cost is more, but fee for % of donation is less than competitors
- customer service has been mostly polite and friendly; it's also nice to occasionally talk to the same person when a problem presents itself multiple times in a day, so I don't have to get someone new up to speed.
- chat for customer service is convenient, as I can keep working on other things as I wait for answers.

Cons

- We constantly have fundraisers confused on how to set up their page. This has been a huge pain point.
- In fairness, this is true with any platform: the fee for % of donation on TOP of the Paypal fee is painful. This is something that didn't occur to us when we started. Plus a monthly fee from Paypal to take the Classy donations.
- Customer service hasn't been particularly quick to pick up on problems, and we haven't been completely satisfied with some answers. We've been told on two different occasions that there's a "glitch" and to ignore something, instead of presenting a solution, or tell us the only solution is to refund a donation and ask the donor to re-donate.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Kristina B.

Fully Featured Nonprofit Fundraising Software - with a price to match - but not a CRM

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/07/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

You can make really beautiful and functional things with Classy, there is lots of room to customize and design. The peer to peer fundraising pages as part of event registration is great (this is what we are using it for). There are lots of moving parts so it is good that they have such great customer service - people on the phone have been great, also chat and email options. The onboarding process was really hands on - which it should be as the price/year is very high and taken with the percentage is even higher. We are early in our relationship with them trying to see if this powerful tool will bring in enough extra donations to be worth the added cost. No doubt its a good product with good service.

Cons

It's pricey, almost 3k/year - we've just launched our fundraising campaign and it remains to be seen if we can increase donations enough to cover the cost - but the biggest downside is you can't move your donor database in - at all. So let's be clear that this is not a CRM in any real sense- you can't upload files of people or donations to it - it is a one by one manual thing. It seems like a great way to manage people who have given through classy but if you have donor files already, you'll need another database - which you'll also have to pay for so this seems like a lot to pay for not a total solution. If you were to be starting from scratch this might be a moot problem. For us - we are keeping our Donor Tools account and just using classy for events as a test - but two donor portals is not an ideal situation.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

5.0/10
Monica G.

User-friendly platform and beyond

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/21
Review Source: Capterra

We track ALL of our donations through classy. It is the system that manages our donor profiles for one-time or recurring donors. We utilize Classy to create appealing web pages for tracking ticket sales, selling merchandise, and tracking free event registration. Utilizing Classy has allowed us to stay organized and empowered to raise more money for the children with cancer we support.

Pros

Classy is extremely user-friendly and the personal aspect of the platform is wonderful. Our organization receives constant support regarding platform questions, fundraising ideas and in helping us reach our goals in methods that are best for us.

Cons

It is my understanding Classy has expanded and a new system of representatives is in place. Our experience with our new representative felt busy and a little less personal than the first.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Claire B.

The best fundraising platform for our needs

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/20
Review Source: Capterra

We have been using Classy for many years now, and have raised tens of thousands of dollars from our growing community of donors. Classy is incredibly easy to use, and has amazing support, even though we're on a completely different time zone to the support team! The peer to peer campaigns, which we use at least once a year, are super straightforward and look great even if you don't know what you're doing or could never dream of creating something from scratch. We also shopped around and truly found that Classy offers the most competitive rates for what we need. Thanks!

Pros

Easy to use, and really prompt customer service.

Cons

Nothing! We're really happy with our use of Classy. I'm sure there's more we could do to make the most of all the platform has to offer but right now we're meeting all our needs.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Ashley N.

I absolutely LOVE Classy!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/12
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Classy is a GREAT tool for fundraisers who need customized donation pages. Working with Classy is SO easy and the templates that they have are wonderful. I absolutely love how you can further customize the templates to match your branding or even your donation form needs. Not every tool is as flexible or robust as Classy. Plus, their customer support is incredible.

Cons

When you initially connect with someone from Classy, it's obvious that you're working with someone from their sales team. They do call and email often, so if you don't want to use their service I highly recommend being upfront and stating that. Other than that, I loved it!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Kamryn L.

Great for fundraising in teams and has user-friendly reports

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/02/21
Review Source: Capterra

Allows us to more easily track our fundraising of individuals and teams and employ simultaneous campaigns.

Pros

Classy is a great platform for our Dance Marathon because we are able to have both individual fundraisers and teams, adding an extra element of camaraderie during our event! Additionally, the versatility of the different campaign types for our other initiatives is super helpful, too. Classy has also redone their reporting system, making it much more dynamic and user friendly. Classy support is generally helpful, too! Overall, my experience with Classy has been positive and would definitely recommend!

Cons

There is definitely room for improvement in some of the functionality. We've had a few donor complaints and I would like the ability to customize a bit more.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Corinne P.

Dynamic Fundraising Platform with Exceptional Customer Service

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Our organization has been using Classy as a platform for registration and fundraising for nearly 4 years. During that time, we have been most impressed by the customer service provided by the Classy team. The staff at Classy is always eager to help, which makes for a better experience for us, and for our users.

Cons

Although we (as administrators) find the platform to be extremely user friendly, there has been quite a learning curve for our supporters. We have been using Classy for nearly 4 years and still field many questions about navigating the site.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Ashleigh K.

Classy Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I've used Classy to run fundraising campaigns for 4 years now and it couldn't be an easier user interface. They offer everything a non-profit needs to raise money, including ticketed events, crowdfunding and peer to peer. On top of that, their reporting capabilities are top knotch and they are continuing to bulk up their marketing communications option within the platform as well. Classy is always thinking of new ways to make the job of non-profits easier!

Cons

More integrated marketing communications would be helpful!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Mick W.

Classy puts the fun in fundraising

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/10/30
Review Source: Capterra

Classy makes it easy to create reliable and professional looking online fundraising pages.

Pros

Beyond the ease of use and wide array of features, Classy's customer service is outstanding. They always go above and beyond to provide value to the non-profit community. Their toolkits, whitepapers and blog posts are available free to all, and the customer and technical support is always available and helpful. All around great service.

Cons

The trade-off for simplicity, ease of use and reliability is a more limited array of options and features. The complexity of our events frequently stretches the capabilities of the software's standard features. That said, Classy support can sometimes offer a custom work-around.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Maura B.

Classy is great. Amazing customer service and great product.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/02/21
Review Source: Capterra

We are creating beautiful event and donation pages and exciting our donor-base. Classy is easy to use on the front end and our users love it.

Pros

Classy offers an easy-to-use (back-end and front-end) software for our small organization. We have tried 4-5 other event softwares and Classy is our favorite by far.
Price negotiations were fair and the Classy staff was fantastic during our onboarding experience. It truly felt like they were intending the best for us and that felt great.
The customer support team is phenomenal. Any time we have had questions we have had them resolved and more in 20 minutes or way less.

Cons

Sometimes I run into features that I think are missing (it is important to realize that one software will not solve all of your problems). Classy has a great "suggestions" feature though that you can add tips for their developers.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Courtney O.

Best investment we made as a small non-profit

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/02/21
Review Source: Capterra

Classy has helped us diversify our donor base, it has helped us build and brand a monthly donor program, and it has helped us increase our online fundraising substantially.

Pros

Classy has been a game changer for us here at The Launch Pad. It felt like a scary investment because we are a very small non-profit and it can be risky to spend money on things other than programming. However, Classy helped us reach a broader audience, it engaged younger families in what we do, and it gave us a much more professional look. Classy is user friendly, it communicates to our donor database so our Salesforce account stays up to date, it sends receipts automatically, and as a team of only 3 people serving 100s of teens a month, that helps us out so much. We are classy customers for life!

Cons

The only complaint I have is that I wish we could switch between campaign templates without having to rebuild the design. It's not a huge ordeal, that would just make it a little more efficient.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Hannah H.

Is it the best bang for your buck?

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/06/15
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Classy meets our needs, but as an organization we are shopping around. Overall I would say it is mediocre. It’s not terrible but also not the best out there!

Pros

Classy covers most of the bases in donor engagement/ management platform. It is well known and integrates with most other platforms. Most donors are familiar and the customer interface is pretty simple!

Cons

No app. This was a huge disappointment for our organization. Also, customer service is slow and not always helpful. Classy is an investment and for small nonprofits might be too much and for large scale organization might not offer enough.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10

Beautiful product

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/01/09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It's incredibly easy and intuitive to use. Makes it easy to get anyone up and running on it quickly and actually producing things. On top of that, it's really robust in terms of customization and making something look sharp and professsional. In peer to peer fundraising its email automation takes out a ton of work.

Cons

It is not meant to be used as a "robust" donor database and as such integrates with salesforce which may be too big an operation for some and unless you are tech savvy or are good at importing data into your database it will create data silos.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Lindsey W.

Good customer service, team function is great

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I have had a good experience using Classy. One of the things I like best is the support that Classy offers, especially the "chat" function. It is very quick and easy to use. I also like the team function, where attendees can have both an individual page and be part of a team.

Cons

I don't like the cost of this software– it is very expensive, especially for a nonprofit.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Mary M.

Centralized & Resourceful

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/02/21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Classy is such a helpful tool for our nonprofit because the make fundraising centralized. You can set up events, peer to peer fundraisers, crowd funding, etc. We are still figuring out how to best use these different tools for our nonprofit, but Classy has a ton of resources to help with that too. I think the resources Classy offers is one of the things I like most about them. If I ever have a question, I just go there and there is usually a resource available.

Cons

It is hard to tell your donors how much they should pay to cover fees because WePay uses a set approach and Classy uses a percentage. It would be helpful if they could agree.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Mark H.

Fantastic Platform

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to get started and use. Great customer service.

Cons

Back end reporting needs a little more work to make seamless. For example, you may not see a donor's address or phone number in their Supporter profile, but it will show up in a transaction they made.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Kenton L.

Classy is #1 for Nonprofit Payment/Fundraising Online

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/04/18
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Classy is super easy to use. Integrates great into a website. Integrates great into Salesforce. Great information/customer service from their team, too. Value add!

Cons

Classy is not the most fashionable payment processor. It is getting better though. It takes people out of the website to do its payment or fundraising stuff.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Laura S.

A game-changer for organizations looking to take giving to the next level

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/02/21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

With millenials as the largest segment of charitable givers, it was important for us to have a visually-appealing, user-friendly platform for managing online giving. Classy has done that for us. We have made a complete shift in our giving strategy from almost exclusively direct-mail appeals to a robust, web-based, crowdfunding and peer-to-peer approach. Additionally, the integration with Salesforce has been instrumental for us in being able to get the most bang for our buck. Finally, the ongoing user support, blog posts, guides, checklists, etc. have really been second-to-none. I can't recommend Classy highly enough.

Cons

There are still a few features that are coming along - but with Classy's customer support, I'm sure they're on their way!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Heidi P.

Easy to use even with limited computer software knowledge

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/09/13
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

In the non-profit business, we rely heavily on volunteers. More often than not these kind folks have limited computer experience yet all find the simplicity makes them feel comfortable.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Erla T.

Love Classy!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/10
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Classy has been the most convenient fundraising site I have used. We needed a platform that would allow individuals to fund-raise under a team and Classy allows this.

Cons

Any time I've run into a problem or issue their customer service is very helpful and responsive. Terms and conditions have changed frequently, however.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Kara D.

Great For Fundraising Events

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/01
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

It makes it very easy to build great looking web pages. I love how easy it is to setup and design beautiful pages for fundraising events in minutes. I also love the ability to customize and send e-mails to individuals after they purchase a ticket to an event.

Cons

I wish they had more options when it comes to their coupons options. For example, we are holding a bar crawl fundraiser and I would like to set it up so it someone bought 3 tickets they would get the 4th free. They don't allow an option for that. Instead, I will have to e-mail the person who purchased 3 tickets a coupon code that they will then have to go back and enter in to get a 4th ticket free.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10