77 reviews

Classy

All-in-one fundraising platform for web & mobile deployment

4,2 /5 (77 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,2 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
82%
recommended this app
77 reviews
James M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Donation Platform for EVEYONE

Reviewed on 2021/03/02

Overall we are pleased with moving to Classy for our fundraising and events platform.

Pros

We love being able to use Classy for ALL of our events. We are able to track donations, events, and fees. The cost is very good compared to many other services and we love being able to use Classy for our Monthly donors!

Cons

One area that we found was hard at first was pulling reports. However, because of the GREAT services from the Classy team, we were able to be taught and now we have no issues!!

Cyriac J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Run away if you can

Reviewed on 2018/11/20

Great if you are just starting with fundraising for your Org. Basic functionality bad customer service.

Pros

Accepts international donation and recurring donations. But these are standard function any platform should offer

Cons

Theme - only basic customization allowed . basically a single column form with all the fields. Assume that they clients can't add any code.

Does not allow the best practice of using multistep forms
Does not acceptBank ACH or paypal
You cannot even add a paypal button in the form instead you have to stick in a custom section under the body making it look ugly
Cannot integrate tracking and analytics tools like Google Tag manager, optimize or hotjar
Account servicing is bad. Our account exec barely responds to messages

Ashleigh K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Classy Review

Reviewed on 2019/03/19

Pros

I've used Classy to run fundraising campaigns for 4 years now and it couldn't be an easier user interface. They offer everything a non-profit needs to raise money, including ticketed events, crowdfunding and peer to peer. On top of that, their reporting capabilities are top knotch and they are continuing to bulk up their marketing communications option within the platform as well. Classy is always thinking of new ways to make the job of non-profits easier!

Cons

More integrated marketing communications would be helpful!

Monica G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

User-friendly platform and beyond

Reviewed on 2019/02/21

We track ALL of our donations through classy. It is the system that manages our donor profiles for one-time or recurring donors. We utilize Classy to create appealing web pages for tracking ticket sales, selling merchandise, and tracking free event registration. Utilizing Classy has allowed us to stay organized and empowered to raise more money for the children with cancer we support.

Pros

Classy is extremely user-friendly and the personal aspect of the platform is wonderful. Our organization receives constant support regarding platform questions, fundraising ideas and in helping us reach our goals in methods that are best for us.

Cons

It is my understanding Classy has expanded and a new system of representatives is in place. Our experience with our new representative felt busy and a little less personal than the first.

Darryl C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Classy review

Reviewed on 2020/02/18

Brooke at classy was an amazing account person for us. All in all classy is great but we truly are a small company and needed a CRM built in.

Pros

We really liked how user friendly it was for our fundraisers.

Cons

We needed a CRM and also thought the cost was a little high. We moved to a org like classy that had a crm built in for less of a cost.

Kaitlyn M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Several of our clients use Classy as their primary online fundraising software

Reviewed on 2018/03/26

It allows individuals to easily set up fundraisers on our behalf.

Pros

You can make visually appealing campaigns with relative ease. You don't have to be a designer to put these campaigns together and if you have time to dedicate to figuring out the most visually appealing format you can end up with a really solid, professional-looking fundraising campaign. The software can also be customized to send out receipts to online donors.

Cons

The thing I like least about Classy is the extra percentage they take from all incoming donations. They charge an additional fee on top of your payment processor (Stripe, Paypal, etc.) which can really eat into your funds raised if all of your online donations are being funneled through a Classy fundraising page. For this reason, I would recommend it only for crowdfunding or "friendraising" events because it is easy for others to sign up and fundraise on your organization's behalf.

Heather S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Not terribly impressed

Reviewed on 2019/12/06

We were able to solve our problem about spreading the word but were then unable to track our participants without separate tracking implementations. We only used the software for a short time because of this shortfall in the product.

Pros

We liked the interface and being able to add our logo and design to the page with ease. The presentation of the event was great, as was signing people up with ease.

Cons

We purchased this software to help us with an event and felt like the salespeople understood our goal, but then (after purchase) they weren't really able to deliver what they said. The software wasn't able to adequately track our buyers and we had to keep a separate spreadsheet to track it internally.

Sarah H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Classy

Reviewed on 2019/09/14

Customee service is great and you can really find some great ways to bring in more money.

Pros

Classy is great if you're looking for a way to supplement your current stream of income and maximize event revenues.

Cons

It can be an expensive and intensive starting process. If you have the time and money to invest its highly worthwhile.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Classy Review

Reviewed on 2019/01/03

Pros

Straightforward to use, basic fundraising tools.

Cons

Terrible customer service, frequently broken and buggy features.

Shelley G.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product so far

Reviewed on 2018/06/28

Pros

Thus far, I've had a really positive experience with Classy. Their platform is easy to use and beautiful.

Cons

The fees added to the gift amount feel a little steep. It it a trade off for a great user experience? We will see.

Sarah O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Awful experience

Reviewed on 2018/12/17

They wasted our time. Lied about their products and fees when researching so we had to cancel the contract after signing because they refused to honor the fee rate promised in the contract. It was supposed to make our lives easier but it made it much much harder.

Pros

What they promised was amazing. They seemed to have all of the features we were looking for in a software! That being said, they didn't actually have all of these products. They over promised then underdelivered.

Cons

Awful experience. They over promised a lot of features but they were difficult to use. They wouldn't onboard us for weeks even though we had paid. Also, they did not honor the contract. The contract stated one fee but they charged higher fees and they refused to go back. We finally canceled the contract. Their sales team had no idea about the product and it took weeks to talk to someone who knew how it worked. At that point, their sales team had promised things that didn't work or were more money.

Colleen F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Classy for nonprofit

Reviewed on 2019/09/17

Our goal was to increase individual giving to our organization. We did not meet that goal.

Pros

I think the examples within the CLASSY website are exemplary. They are excellent examples on how to 'tell your story'.

Cons

I felt that there was a significant emphasis on PEER to PEER fundraising; which is not something that we were interested in pursuing.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Pricey but the ROI is undeniable

Reviewed on 2019/03/10

Pros

Beautiful UX, great service, true and provable ROI

Cons

Classy is expensive, especially on a nonprofit budget.

Joy R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Modern fundraising for every nonprofit

Reviewed on 2019/05/11

Using classy has been a fantastic experience!

Pros

Classy is an all-encompassing platform that combines user-friendly design and flexible plans to create scaleable solutions for every social enterprise. It's streamlined, supportive, and able to integrate into any website.

Cons

FAQ's about the service are not readily available, and at first it was confusing. I realized later that support is available via email.

Stephanie B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Great base, but far from perfect functionalities

Reviewed on 2015/02/27

Pros

Easy to use to set up events and track information.

Cons

The functionality between registration and fundraising.

Jonathan L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Not very transparent about pricing.

Reviewed on 2017/08/17

Pros

Intuitive designs for those who want something simple and quick to setup to start taking online donations.

Cons

Doesn't integrate well with your own website as far as design goes. For custom designers, they will find the frustrating. Pricing must be requested, isn't made public.

Brian N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Software

Reviewed on 2019/09/08

Pros

Easy to use and a great resource for setting up campaigns.

Cons

Cost for smaller nonprofits like ours. It’s hard to budget for at times.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Online Fundraising Made Beautiful and Easy

Reviewed on 2018/01/18

Pros

At my job, we administer a variety of charitable funds, many of which participate in different types of fundraising activities. Using Classy, we are able to tailor-make fundraising sites utilizing easy-to-use templates that address each of our donor's wants and needs. I often tell donors that their Classy page can serve as a stand-alone website for their efforts, which is wonderful for our grassroots groups who may not have money in their budget for a web designer or to buy a domain name. The customization allows us to add photos, change colors, and many other features, which result in some really gorgeous looking sites.

Classy makes it easy to access donation information, which can be easily viewed when you log into the system as an admin and exported to an CSV file. They have an event-specific template which can be used to sell tickets or registrations to an event. Since you can export all the purchaser info, it allows you to go green with your ticketing -- there's no need for purchasers to print out the email confirmation they receive when you have easy access to all buyer info.

In addition to the license fee, Classy does take a 1% fee on each online donation received. There is an option for the organization to pay the fee or for the donor to pay the fee. We ask our donors to pay the fee, and there has never been a complaint as fees are much higher on other comparable sites (EventBrite for ticketing, GoFundMe for crowd-funding, etc.).

Cons

Overall I love Classy, but there are a few areas it can improve. The user dashboard is not the easiest to navigate through. It lists the names of donors and the amounts, but not what campaign they donated to. So you have to go to through your campaigns to find the donation. For an organization like ours which administers many Classy pages at once, this can be needlessly time-consuming. I love the custom options that each template has, but sometimes there are glitches. For instance, I was unable to upload a background image to a recent campaign page. But a quick email to customer service fixed the issue in a very short amount of time. Classy is constantly upgrading and adjusting features though, so I imagine they will work out some of these kinks in the future.

Michelle H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Mixed feelings

Reviewed on 2017/12/13

Pros

- allows several tiers of fundraising with no additional cost (campaign-->teams-->individual fundraisers)
- includes events, which is a simple platform (and it should be simple! just tickets!)
- upfront cost is more, but fee for % of donation is less than competitors
- customer service has been mostly polite and friendly; it's also nice to occasionally talk to the same person when a problem presents itself multiple times in a day, so I don't have to get someone new up to speed.
- chat for customer service is convenient, as I can keep working on other things as I wait for answers.

Cons

- We constantly have fundraisers confused on how to set up their page. This has been a huge pain point.
- In fairness, this is true with any platform: the fee for % of donation on TOP of the Paypal fee is painful. This is something that didn't occur to us when we started. Plus a monthly fee from Paypal to take the Classy donations.
- Customer service hasn't been particularly quick to pick up on problems, and we haven't been completely satisfied with some answers. We've been told on two different occasions that there's a "glitch" and to ignore something, instead of presenting a solution, or tell us the only solution is to refund a donation and ask the donor to re-donate.

Kristina B.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Fully Featured Nonprofit Fundraising Software - with a price to match - but not a CRM

Reviewed on 2018/07/19

Pros

You can make really beautiful and functional things with Classy, there is lots of room to customize and design. The peer to peer fundraising pages as part of event registration is great (this is what we are using it for). There are lots of moving parts so it is good that they have such great customer service - people on the phone have been great, also chat and email options. The onboarding process was really hands on - which it should be as the price/year is very high and taken with the percentage is even higher. We are early in our relationship with them trying to see if this powerful tool will bring in enough extra donations to be worth the added cost. No doubt its a good product with good service.

Cons

It's pricey, almost 3k/year - we've just launched our fundraising campaign and it remains to be seen if we can increase donations enough to cover the cost - but the biggest downside is you can't move your donor database in - at all. So let's be clear that this is not a CRM in any real sense- you can't upload files of people or donations to it - it is a one by one manual thing. It seems like a great way to manage people who have given through classy but if you have donor files already, you'll need another database - which you'll also have to pay for so this seems like a lot to pay for not a total solution. If you were to be starting from scratch this might be a moot problem. For us - we are keeping our Donor Tools account and just using classy for events as a test - but two donor portals is not an ideal situation.

Mick W.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Classy puts the fun in fundraising

Reviewed on 2017/10/30

Classy makes it easy to create reliable and professional looking online fundraising pages.

Pros

Beyond the ease of use and wide array of features, Classy's customer service is outstanding. They always go above and beyond to provide value to the non-profit community. Their toolkits, whitepapers and blog posts are available free to all, and the customer and technical support is always available and helpful. All around great service.

Cons

The trade-off for simplicity, ease of use and reliability is a more limited array of options and features. The complexity of our events frequently stretches the capabilities of the software's standard features. That said, Classy support can sometimes offer a custom work-around.

Hannah H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Is it the best bang for your buck?

Reviewed on 2018/06/15

Classy meets our needs, but as an organization we are shopping around. Overall I would say it is mediocre. It’s not terrible but also not the best out there!

Pros

Classy covers most of the bases in donor engagement/ management platform. It is well known and integrates with most other platforms. Most donors are familiar and the customer interface is pretty simple!

Cons

No app. This was a huge disappointment for our organization. Also, customer service is slow and not always helpful. Classy is an investment and for small nonprofits might be too much and for large scale organization might not offer enough.

Bryan K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Classy has provided us an excellent online fundraising platform!

Reviewed on 2019/02/21

Classy has provided an excellent platform for development of our online fundraising efforts and is now the centerpiece of our plans for future revenue growth. Before Classy, we received the occasional online gift from site visitors but now online giving is our second largest revenue source and has been growing at 30% annually. We highly recommend Classy and believe the platform is a great value!

Pros

Compared to other platforms for nonprofits, Classy offers more versatility in designing visually compelling donation pages, campaign landing pages, peer-to-peer fundraising pages and more. They are also constantly innovating ways to raise more funds (for example, by allowing you to request credit card processing fees and set the percentage requested and by making monthly giving a more prominent option for donors). Their customer service is also timely and well-informed and reporting tools have become quite sophisticated.

Cons

It took a little time to get to understand how to best use the new reporting tools, but once I did learn, I was able to access and analyze much more data than before the revamp. So it worked out well. There's really nothing I have a complaint about.

Lauren S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best there is

Reviewed on 2019/03/22

From a management point of view, Classy is by far the best product I have ever used. We have used other companies, as well as tried to have a custom software made for us. None of these hold a candle to Classy. Their customer service reps are always helpful and willing to help. The back end is easy to use, organized, and overall just awesome.

From a consumers side of things, I have made donations on classy pages and I have never had an issue. It is a clean site, easy to navigate, and timely with thank you emails.

You have a Classy fan for life from me!

Pros

It is so user friendly on both sides as an administrator and a donor. Also great support if you have questions.

Cons

That I didn't find it before now. How have I gone this long without Classy?

Paige S.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

LOVE CLASSY!

Reviewed on 2017/10/26

Increased donations, interactions, event registrations

Pros

user friendly
emphasis on branding
great support
has increased our event registrations
has increased donations

Cons

The design guidelines (pixel dimensions and how the images change sizes per viewing screen (phone vs. computer)) could be more clear from a back end point of view