103 reviews

SimScale

Cloud-based CFD, FEA and thermal simulation via web browser.

4,5 /5 (103 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,5 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
93%
recommended this app
103 reviews
-doron -.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

surely recommend SimScale

Reviewed on 2021/02/12

I guess the above says it all.
Excellent CFD tool. Perfect support in both - knowledge, patience and response time!!

Pros

SimScale covers several applications for CFD analysis. My office is doing analysis and design for structures in the widest form. We do structures in Civil Engineering, Aeronautics, industrial equipment of all types. SimScale seems to fit any application within this list! The LBM option for wind pressure distribution on high rise. The PWC - an automated solution for wind comfort. The incompressible for airfoils etc. The multi-phase for liquid-air interaction. and probably a lot is yet to come.....

Cons

1. Show the CFL criteria plotted while running.
2. Enable video screen capture! now using 3rd party app.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

All around support

Reviewed on 2019/08/02

Pros

It supports all types of 3D models and can be used from anywhere since it is cloud-based.

Cons

In the beginning, it is not very intuitive. Complicated simulations can become too much for the software.

Guillermo G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Engineering simulation in the cloud

Reviewed on 2019/05/07

I have been using SimScale to tackle professional consulting projects, in the fields of structural analysis and flow simulation. It has allowed me to run detailed models to my like, and even run many simulations at the same time. All computation process and data is hosted in the cloud, so I can rest assured, turn off my computer and leave it running overnight. When needed help or advice, the forum is a great place with experienced, willing to help people.

Pros

The ability to run big models, such as FEA meshes in the order of 10 million nodes, and CFD in the order of 20 million cells, without the need of building a supercomputer is a game breaker. Just log in from a web browser and you are good to go to create, setup, run, supervise and post process any simulation. The support, both from the company and in the forum by other users is superb. Also, easy to access online tutorials, documentation, webinars and example projects lower the entre barrier for professionals that are new in the field.

Cons

Still missing some functionality to be considered a complete suite, basically some FEA and CFD simulation models.

Ermo T.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Short introduction to test some simple metal constructions

Reviewed on 2015/10/09

I encountered some problems regarding model creation during process. Problem is that I tried to repeat tutorial described process, so failed on a half way and was not able to repeat this on my own models. So excellent idea, fantastic solution but complex enough not to hit it on first time and some minor questions regarding repeating the lessons. Sorry I have not found time to get in deeper, but please continue to develop this solution. :)

Response from SimScale

Dear Ermo, thank you for taking the time to review our product! In the meantime, we added more than 10 workshop series and 15 webinar recordings that might be better for you to get used to simulating with SimScale. The industries and applications for which they were organized are very diverse, from Automotive and Aerospace to Thermal and Cooling cases. Please take a look here: https://www.simscale.com/learning/webinars/
and here:
https://www.simscale.com/learning/workshops/

Harald S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An excellent tool for mechanical analysis

Reviewed on 2017/09/15

Shorter development cycles, more capability in analysis mechanical components during the design stage.

Pros

It has a great user interface. Projects can be shared, version managed, and worked on collaboratively. It offers easy access to state of the art open source FEA analysis algorithms without all the hassle.

Cons

The 3D view could be smoother. It looks as if they are rendering it on a server, instead of having a true webGL interface. But that is only a minor issue.

Gustavo C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Nice aproach and easy to use.

Reviewed on 2016/11/07

the software is pretty useful, the tutorials are enogh if you had use any simulation software before, in the other hand, if i compare it with ansys im not sure about the the accuracy of the methods or the calculations. but as a fact if i have a hurry, i will use simscale it is faster.

Pros

the way it manage the data.
you can work any time and almost everywere

Cons

the confidence on the results is compromised, many clients requires some specific software in order to maintain this confidence.

Response from SimScale

Thank you for your feedback, Gustavo! The reason why we developed SimScale is to give everyone access to a powerful simulation solution. This is why actually our focus is on quality and accuracy of results. Please see here more than 40 validation cases that compare SimScale's simulation results with experimental data: https://www.simscale.com/docs/content/validation.html

Biagio A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Review Simscale

Reviewed on 2019/07/26

Pros

It’s very easy to use and there a lot of interesting free online courses

Cons

Sometime there are some bug in the workspace, and with the nelew interface the post-processing is limited

Desta milkessa E.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

My Little experience

Reviewed on 2015/10/09

Though, I didn't explore all the functionalities of the software, I found it a wounderful idea with wonderful tutors. From the first day I learbed about SimScale, I was recommending to all my friends and introducing it, as I was really facinated.

A little cons is that, it is a bit slow!

Response from SimScale

Thank you, Desta, for your comment! We are working to improve the speed aspect. Please note that this can also be influenced by your Internet connection. We hope to reach all your expectations very soon, as we are updating the platform every 2 weeks.

Enrique M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

First impression and great feedback

Reviewed on 2015/10/14

Simscale is a great software to develop your knowledge about numerical simulation. For me, one of the best things is the customer service, there are several people trying to assist you and always asking you if they can help you.
Maybe the biggest con, is that it's a bit difficult to establish all the possible conditions of a simulation.
One of the biggest advantages is that all modules (Fluid dynamics, Solid mechanics, Acoustics...) are similar, so, if you know one of them, it's really simple to learn another one.

Hariharan G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Usage and Support

Reviewed on 2016/10/06

I'm actually an Electronics Engineer, I tried to learn CFD using Simscale which was one of the best decisions that I had ever took. They offered several hours of free usage using which i tried out different stuffs. Also as a beginner I could use the software with ease with just a little help from the forums. The support provided is cool and your doubts are clarified as soon as possible.

Pros

1) UI
2) Easy to use

Cons

1) Sometimes the software gets stuck due to server

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software for beginners and even later

Reviewed on 2019/07/26

Pros

It's very easy to use. You don't have to install any complicated software. Tutorials are great. It has wide variety of simulations. You pay only what you use and it has free trials.

Cons

There is still some small gap between SimScale and professional software.

Benjamin A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good software

Reviewed on 2019/07/26

Pros

Good software that do not required powerful computer as it is based on the cloud. Easy to use for someone who knows CFA software, and you can download your cad from other softwares like catia

Cons

Sometimes difficult to import assemblies from other softwares

Jeevan R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

SimScale has simplified my simulation work from weeks to days !!!

Reviewed on 2016/10/13

Hello, I am a bicycle designer and manufacturer of bicycle components.
Since Simscale is a cloud based software, i need not worry about using my 8 year computer for the simulations. most importantly the UI is simple and effective (although i am not an mechanical engineer). It took me very less time to learn simulations from tutorials and Youtube and apply the same in SimScale.
I am using a trail version, but will certainly upgrade to Pro version soon. Also recommend other users too.

Pros

Ease of use, Can you old computers, Doesn't require graphic card, Simulations are fast

Cons

none

Vladimir A.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

An innovative sulution for engineering, may be very useful in future.

Reviewed on 2015/10/09

As I work in education (high school), it is interesting for me to get access to CAE systems in different places using different computers. This online service may fit me a lot in future to use it in studies.

Beeraiah G.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Good

Reviewed on 2015/10/09

I was on simscale plotfarm one month it is so nice to work and i did not get chance to work on simscale but it is really helpful and most important and good helpful things.

Crippa G.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Just some trials up to now

Reviewed on 2015/10/09

I feel the lack of a better material description (not simply elastic as I'm dealing with engineering plastics)

Zandrich M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Convenience - and Beyond

Reviewed on 2020/11/26

All members of the team operating SimScale routinely agree that SimScale is their default, the first and final choice.

Pros

Our use of SimScale was, in every respect, the product of an unforeseen use-case - and it happened to have a positive impact on our company. What was, initially, an uninformed purchase we simply had to make in order to facilitate the very specific needs of a client on short notice, resulted in the establishment of a team dedicated to SimScale - which has in the last eight months almost doubled its value over its set budget earlier this year. There was an instance where we required strictly thermal simulations to be conducted to specific criteria - something we had never done before, let alone knew was included in the functionality of SimScale - thankfully, a professional we had hired in an attempt to cement the contract kindly pointed out it was already available, he just needed the helm in order to put his skills to use - on the very day he was hired. Although use of SimScale is restricted to a single team, I've not received anything other than praise for the suite and services. I have no doubt that SimScale is the standard in all fields where these simulations are routinely conducted.

Cons

We had minor difficulty making use of the software, but this was because of lack of experience on our end, rather than a flaw on the end of SimScale.

David A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

a simulating software for everyone

Reviewed on 2020/11/26

Simscale i would describe as a tool for everyone. Especially as beginner without deep knowledge it is really easy to setup a simulation and run it. There are also many tutorials, example projects and a pretty good documentation online so you can learn how to use it. If you still have questions or need help you can use the forum and there is also chat integrated. If you use the chat you will have mostly an answer within a couple of minutes from one of the lovely simscale staff. You really feel that they will do their best to make your project a success. There is also some negative things, like missing features and the high cost of running models with a high mesh count. Overall the best thing you can do is to make your own experience with the tool. You can create an account for free in a couple of minutes and start simulating.

Pros

+ no hardware requirements
+ no installation
+ cloud
+ it offers wide toolsets for CFD and FEM
+ brilliant support
+ high value in customer feedback
+ huge community with a lot of example projects
+ good documentations

Cons

- missing features (there is a lot of ongoing development)
- big models with a high mesh count are expensive to run

Lorenzo V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An amazing tool

Reviewed on 2019/07/16

This tool has enabled me and my colleagues to achieve great results in car aerodynamics simulation.

Its simplicity made easy to explain CFD simulations to the "newbies" and improve our workflow.

Pros

It is a great tool because is offers a lot of power for the simulations and simplicity of use that is unrivaled by other tools.

Cons

Sometimes there are very specific needs that cannot be satisfied. This problems affects only minor aspects of the simulations: SimScale can always be used as a main tool

Jacob S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simscale after a 1.5 years

Reviewed on 2020/11/25

Very positive experience. When I had questions about the product I had very enthusiatic assistance from the simscale support team. I also very much enjoy the Simscale forum. It is an open place to discuss simulations, and any questions you might regarding the product.

Pros

I really like the ability to create multiple simulations to run parallel. Also the large offering of post processing allows for very informational and diverse results to be presented.

Cons

Sometimes it was a bit confusing what could create a simulation fail. This could have been inexperience with FEA, but as I used the product more and more I was able to increase my success rate and avoid common recurring errors.

Erika B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use, browser-based software with excellent customer support

Reviewed on 2017/09/05

Great training and customer support, easy to use interface that didn't require linux knowledge or other specialized knowledge. Ability to run models from any browser without the need for complex computing.

Pros

The user interface for this software, coupled with fantastic customer support and training, make it very easy to jump in and start using it to model complex scenarios from day one. The cloud-based computing means that I didn't need to dedicate an expensive computer to CFD modeling, and could run multiple simulations at once while still operating my main computer.

Cons

I've used the software primarily for CFD, and there have been a few pieces of openFOAM functionality (which is simscale's CFD backend) that haven't yet been migrated into simscale, so flexibility in modeling is slightly reduced from openFOAM. However, this is greatly made up for by the ease of use of the software and community experience.

Daniela L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great software with great customer support

Reviewed on 2018/08/23

Great experience would definitely recommend for anyone that wants/has to design and simulate a product or objec. As a engineering student I feel this is a great software to learn and increase knowledge in design and materials.

Pros

SimScale is a great package, I personally used it as an educational resourse for the biomedical industry and I absolutely loved it. It has a whole set of functions and tools that allows you to design, pre-process, and post-process. It also contains the geometry, mesh and simulation tabs that make this software incredible realiable.
The webinars SimScale offers are really helpful and allows you to learn more about te software and opens the options of use in many industries.
The staff are always very helpful and willing to explain and help in any topic.

Cons

Even though it is a great software and has all the main tools and functions, it still lacks a few features that are highly used in some industries.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Extremely user friendly

Reviewed on 2019/08/01

Pros

The software is highly user friendly whilst still being robust. It hides the clunky numbers involved with numerical analysis for new users whilst still providing the ability to change them for more experienced ones.

Cons

The software only supports fluid flow velocities of upto 0.5 Mach

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great simulations

Reviewed on 2018/12/14

Pros

Being a cloud-based tool makes it great because you can access your scenarios from anywhere plus it is really easy to interact with. Great customer service that helps you through a lot of issues

Cons

Sometimes it can get a little overloaded and slows the simulations down

Andrea F.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Too much for me (and for free)

Reviewed on 2016/10/07

First, I'm an industrial designer, with no experience in simulation and a brief training in structural analysis. I tried this software this summer while designing a product for the startup I work for, attracted by 2 words: "online" and "free". They have very slim budget and moreover I'm no expert in simulation, so spending money for a tool I couldn't use would make no sense.

Me and my colleague, which is more familiar with simulations, were surprised by how easy was to use the program and how much did it offer for free: for example, the hours of cloud computing are a good feature for people working without a great hardware, or without enough time!

Unfortunately, none of us was familiar enough with simulations to extract value from this tool, even if customer assistance has been outstanding.