Office Practicum Reviews

Office Practicum

Pediatric practice management & EHR solution

4.8/5 (262 reviews)
Suzanne D.

Office Practicum delivers

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/12/21
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

This overall is a great program.

Pros

This is a pediatric software. The designers have built-in designs that are tailored to meet the demands of many pediatric offices. As times and requirements from multiple agencies change, the designers are quick to meet these new challenges. It is easy to use. We have trained new doctors, nurses, front office with no problems. It also has ways to keep confidentiality matters under control. We are able to do everything that we need to do on the software. The designers are prompt to handle problems and prompt to respond to new requirements including requirements, it seems, from the state level for each of the states. We also use the program for billing purposes, and have had no problems with the billing end of things. You can have your own design features added easily and make your own templates for almost everything. Plus, making templates is very user-friendly

Cons

Some of the things we need to do on the software comes at an additional price. For example, if you want to be storing on the cloud or you want the software to send emails of upcoming appointments to patients. Sometimes there are a lot of clicks that seem could be decreased. Extra clicks is time consuming. There are other things that could improve workflow as well which would also improve time consumption.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Gale K.

Pediatric Bliss

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/12/21
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I have been using OP for about 20 years now and have watched it grow and change like any child from infancy to adulthood, and this program has matured to an invaluable tool for pediatric practices across the country.

Pros

This is one of the easiest programs I have ever used. The point and click on most screens has made a computer dummy like me a genius when it comes to doing my job, or even helping out in areas of the program that are not in my every day job description. Entering payment, doing diagnostic testing in house or sent out to the lab, exam notes and prescriptions have become easier and quicker plus more legible. The program helps track tasks which need to be done when children come in for visits so nothing can be forgotten, vaccines history is available so appointments can be made within the correct time frame to the child to receive them so visits are not lost on early scheduling. This program, if used to it's fullest potential can be a doctors' dream come true.

Cons

There are very few cons to this program, but with all computer generated software, there is the occasional update that doesn't go well. When that happens, support at OP is usually on top of it and a fix is done asap, after all computers are only as good as the programmer and we are all human.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Debbie A.

Great for Pediatric Practices

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/13
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

The pre training was great!

Pros

IT is extremely pediatric friendly, There is a lot of good support.There is a support staff that you can reach through telephone, email or chat along with a list serve with a lo of other offices to so how every one does things or is there is an easier way then what you are doing. The software is very user friendly and the report modules are great. We have not even used all that is available such as the MU product and the Portal which I have heard are good too. Yesaly conferences are a great way to meet others on the program and have great classes to pick up new ideas and learn of changes.

Cons

Billing reports were a little harder to get used to. Our billing person has no problem but did take a little training.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Kathy E.

The more prep work you do prior to going live, the better you are!

Reviewed on 2014/08/26
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

It's pediatric-specific. I love the charge entry and the scrubbing part of it for billing. Messaging is great. It's a robust system.

Cons

It will definitely take your physicians much longer to do their job. Electronic is not quicker. Don't shortchange yourself with training and e-learning time in advance. Scanning paper, having consults, and creating legacies are tedious and a lot of work. We're still trying to work on this process. With paper, the providers could glance at it quickly and sign off on it. Now, you have to scroll down through everything, and it's a much longer process. Physicians are still spending additional time (hours) in the evenings doing messages and reviewing their scans. Billing statements are not user-friendly. They are hard to understand and explain to a patient. There's too much detail on them. There's no training on the upgrades. You have to figure them out yourself.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Mary C.

Excellent...

Reviewed on 2015/04/29
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

OP has been the best product for pediatrics. It really helps to have someone in the field such as Dr. Kressley, that understands how and what is needed from the provider level to the scanner level. Our documentation has improved as well as our vaccine counts. OP is always upgrading to get the most usage out of OP. The PM side has improved over the last 2 years. They bring us to their conference, teach us new and exciting things and not to mention they feed us well.

Cons

Slowness. This is a big issue for our office on Monday's when we are trying to schedule 6 providers. It's a known glitch with 14 but I'm sure this will be resolved as well.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Sue F.

Office Practicum

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/04/12
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

We have been using OP for almost 4 years and we are very happy with it. We did a lot of research before we chose OP and we are glad we chose this product. OP is very "user" friendly for pediatricians; whereas, the other products out there were not. This made the transition for paper charts to EMR a much smoother process than we anticipated. No regrets!!!

Pros

Ease of use. Support at OP is fabulous...very quick to respond and solve issues.

Cons

Not happy with the speed of retrieving messages. wish it were quicker. Not sure if this is just our system or a glitch with OP. OP is looking into it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Fred W.

Review of Office Practicum - Pediatric EMR

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/11/10
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

1) OP is designed specifically for outpatient pediatrics and thus is the best pediatric EMR on the market.
2) Best Immunization algorithm and always quickly updated to reflect ACIP recommendations.
3) Have found support very responsive and continued improvements on support response as OP has grown

Cons

Challenges with integration to hospital based systems / clinically integrated networks, but I don't think this is unique to OP and is something that OP is working on.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Courtney D.

Office Practicum

Reviewed on 2015/05/07
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The fact it is pediatrics specific! Most EHR's don't specialize in just one specialty and when changes are needed that becomes a bit difficult. That is not the case with OP. If a new vaccine comes out OP is on it and there is no leeway time for them to get the new information uploaded into the system. Their entire focus is making the best PEDIATRIC EHR system.

Cons

It would be nice if it was written in the initial contract & price to have a trainer come onsite after years 1, 2, 5 & 10 (of implementation) to do an analysis on how the software is being utilized and ways to become more efficient.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
David R.

Far and Away the BEST EHR for Pediatrics

Reviewed on 2016/08/22
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The product itself is incredible. I have been using it for over 11 years and am still thrilled with it! The updates are quick and the support is extremely helpful. As it is a Pediatric specific EHR, it is ALWAYS up to date with all the latest recommendations. I absolutely LOVE it!

Cons

Not really a criticism of Connexin software specifically, but I was used to the way things were when I first purchased it, You pay for the software, and get everything. Not a huge fan of now having to pay extra for all the additional "modules" but this is the way ALL software companies seem to be now.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Sandy H.

OP is a great pediatric EMR!

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/06/15
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

The portal is a great way to communicate with parents, save A LOT of paper and allow parents/patients to access their own medical records. It has saved us man-power hours and a ton of hassle. A great feature!

Pros

To have an EMR that specifically is tailored to pediatrics is key. The responsiveness of the OP staff, all the way up to the CEO, to their clients is unprecedented and so appreciated. We don't even use some of the features (yet) and we are so happy. It has made billing more efficient, chart documentation more complete and appropriate and has helped our practice immensely. We would highly recommend it for any peds practice!

Cons

The scan review feature needs tweaking - it takes a few clicks to go through scans. But even that is better than the paper system that we used prior.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Stephanie M.

A Program Catered to Your Practice

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/08/22
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

I love that OP is for pediatric practices only, so the focus is solely on ways to help our office function better. The program is easy to use and is constantly being updated with new features.

Cons

Occasionally, updates are released too quickly or without being tested and they may contain glitches which cause temporary issues.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Jeffrey D.

Robust pediatric software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/04/13
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Extremely robust, functionality includes everything a pediatric office would ever need. Emphasis on pediatric specifics including weight based drug dosing, growth charts, and immunizations.

Cons

It is so complex that it is difficult to learn how to use all the modules, and to teach it all to staff

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Debbie A.

Office Practicum is really a user friendly EHR!

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/04
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

I like that it is user friendly and it is specifically pediatric based. The support has been good however busy at times. I love the great tips and helpfulness from our rep, from the physician listserv and the conference. I feel like the software makes it easy to keep track of what you have outstanding and to follow up on messages, labs, superbills, etc.

Cons

I do think it is hard sometimes to get the support on more involved issues. When I call for something simple (to IT but not to me) the are quick to get it fixed but when I have a long standing issue I feel like I don't hear back for awhile. That being said I can usually get help when needed.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

"This EMR was designed by a pediatrician, and works beautifully for the way pediatricians practice.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Simply the best and most comprehensive features available anywhere, OP  comes loaded with over 200 pediatric-specific "sick visit' templates, immunization forecasting, electronic school and camp forms along with pediatric developmental assessments, surveys and disease-specific action plans.
I've used OP for 16 years, and can say with confidence that  it is designed specifically for pediatrics , with tools pediatricians need to both keep kids healthy and improve quality of care."

Cons

Hands down the best of the best for pediatric offices. OP is so user friendly and works around your practice.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Susan S.

Pediatric friendly software.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/10/05
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Customizable to your practice. Easy to train new employees. User friendly by our large office no matter their computer experience.

Cons

Printing is sometimes a hassle due to process of it sending to a webpage. Sometimes the report building isn’t as easy as it could be.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Susan K.

The value of Office Practicum to a pediatrician

Reviewed on 2014/02/01
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Office Practicum thinks like a pediatrician. They understand that taking care of children is inherently different than taking care of adult patients and they focus on things like vaccines, growth charts, adolescent confidentiality, well visits - things that are at the core of what pediatricians do every day. In addition, the vendor has created a virtual community of pediatricians who use the product and collaborate with each other to make use of the software even more valuable.

Cons

It's not really the vendor's fault, but so many outside regulatory changes including Meaningful Use and ICD-10 have no real value to practicing pediatricians, especially since at least 50% of us don't qualify for any MU funding. Sometimes the need to keep up with external regulations has necessitated slower incorporation of functionality that pediatric users want included to push the envelope.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Wayne S.

Best EMR that we have used to date

Reviewed on 2015/06/29
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Our office has previously used 2 other EMR's and I have used 2 other and by far this is the most intuitve and easy to use EMR on the market.
Easy to use and allows for work flow to be easy.
Thinks the way pediatricains think.
Can see where patient is in system from check in to check out
Financial reports easy to use and find out what you need
Easy to enter and keep inventory of vaccines

Cons

When you want to fine tune forms the process is very labor intensive.
However this system allows you to fine tune any report you want once you learn the system.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Lisa S.

Nursing and vaccines

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/09/28
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

OP doesn't forget about their clients!!

Pros

Simplicity of learning use of system and ease of building on knowledge acquired while using system.

Cons

I really get frustrated with updates that at times are not fixed to problems and each year when putting in new flu vaccine.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Dolly H.

OFFICE PRACTICUM and YOU

Reviewed on 2016/06/02
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

I am very happy with the way questions are responded to.
The politeness and help from the employees for hardware and software.
Once you get into the swing of OP it does a lot of streamlining your work.

Cons

I would like the rejections on bills to be more clearly telling a story about what happened. Each rejection should be clearly stated in each claim.
I would like to add on procedures to an existing bill when necessary.
I would like to not have a hard time tracing back credits and applying credits to accounts

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Cecile F.

OP Pediatric EHR review

Reviewed on 2014/05/04
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Our 12-provider pediatric practice likes the fact the EHR is for pediatrics only. We have been with OP for nine years. The ability to tailor your EHR to pediatrics and teens clinically is truly amazing. The OP culture is committed to best practices and incredibly open to feedback. They are always innovative and working to stay current with all the regulatory changes that impact pediatric practices: Meaningful Use, e-prescribing, HIEs, etc. I have never seen a company invite so much feedback in the spirit of change! Their medical director hands out her personal email on the blog all the time!

Cons

There have been so many changes for all EHRs in the last several years that OP can struggle, like the rest of us, to keep up and have products ready when they think they will come out. That said, I think they have become much wiser about how long it will take to be truly ready and more fully beta test before upgrades are released. The Practice Management side is not as strong as the clinical side, but new releases are addressing these issues.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Corey W.

Office Practicum pediatric EHR software is a WINNER.

Reviewed on 2014/10/30
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Unlike most medical EHR and billing software programs, Office Practicum is pediatric specific. It was designed by a pediatrician, and is solely 100% for pediatrics. The result is superior (and always appropriate) templates, great, beautiful growth charting, bright futures handouts build-in and developmental recommendations for specific patient visits. These plus many other characteristics that are so much more robust and appropriate for pediatricians. From sports physicals to vaccines for children, this software has it all, and it is all for pediatrics. Their customer service is superb, and the software itself is user-friendly.

Cons

The cost, pure and simple. But you get what you pay for, and this product is worth it!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Danette G.

They have thought of everything

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/05/15
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

It does seem the team at OP has thought of everything I would want in an EHR. Very specific to primary care.

Cons

Like all EHR it still takes longer to chart. I am left to put each detail in its bucket. Brain to EHR connection?

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Jennifer D.

Horrible. You will Loose money!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/15
Review Source: Capterra

None. I really like VERY VERY little about this software.

Pros

I do like the fact that you can drag and drop an appointment on the scheduling screen. That is really about it.

Cons

I HATE the call center for your issues. They LITERALLY never know how to fix a thing. They will close a case without an actual answer. You will get a link to a description of what the report is. Not how to fix an issue. The amount of clicks it takes to get anything printed is absurd. The rx writing is absurd. Your nursing staff should be able to send a refill on a chronic med without an issue but this system makes it impossible. They have LOTS of glitches that they NEVER know how it happened or how to fix it. They will say " well we need to see your work flow to recreate the problem". Its a glitch you can't recreate it. The owner is extremely rude and hard to deal with. We have had this system for 6 months and are still not seeing a good number of patients. The billing portion of this system is a complete nightmare. They have sooooo many places to look for charges and so many reports that are all completely different with completely different information on them that should overlap. I can't warn you enough to STAY AWAY!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

0.0/10
Alan C.

Great combination of templates and free form notes.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/03/13
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I've had EMR since 2000. This is a well organized company with great support.

Pros

Ease to make templates
Work flow
Support

Cons

Presently does not have an ability to automatically add a fee to overdue patient accounts.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Robin M.

Office Practicum Review

Reviewed on 2016/07/07
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

This EMR was designed by a pediatrician, and works beautifully for the way pediatricians practice. It incorporates Bright Future guidelines, is very easy to customize and allows for each practitioner to make templates for the way they practice. The company is very responsive to users, and is constantly trying to improve. Highly recommend.

Cons

Using their loaded developmental software adds additional expense
Updates sometimes not fully explained prior to release

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10