4 304 reviews

Microsoft Teams

Chat-based workspace in Office 365

4,4 /5 (4304 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,4 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
90%
recommended this app
4 304 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent collaboration tool for teams

Reviewed on 2021/03/25

Since we are already using Microsoft office 365, it was an easier jump for us to adopt and onboard Microsoft teams.Being satisfied with the tool, it also helped to get cost savings and tight integration with the Microsoft ecosystem we have already adopted. I would prefer Teams any day over the alternatives purely for the peace of mind since it is more secure.

Pros

Microsoft teams provides all the functionalities like chat, message, call, audio/video meetings to enable collaboration among geo-distributed teams. We already had Microsoft business 365 setup, hence getting Teams was a breeze. We actually moved away from Skype for Business and adopted Teams for entire enterprise. It integrates well with our Microsoft ecosystem like Outlook, Azure DevOps, etc. Also it is very secured as compared to other alternatives in the market.

Cons

Microsoft teams UI seems outdated, it will be perfect to have a lightweight UI for desktop as well as mobile app for faster startup times for meetings. Also it will be great to have a centralized UI for all internal and external team org users

Ramindu D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Microsoft re-enters the corporate communication game with a strong contender

Reviewed on 2021/02/16

Our organization relies heavily on Microsoft tools to manage the enterprise, and finally having a decent office chat application provided by Microsoft was great.

Pros

Microsoft Teams has been out for a while, but it goes without saying that Microsoft was slow to release a proper organizational communication tool, which allowed other vendors like Slack to pick up the, well, slack. However, with the release of Teams, Microsoft seems to have re-entered the game. Teams works as well as you'd expect a modern office chat/video calling/meeting organizing application to work, and its integration with the already well-established Microsoft Office suite, including Outlook, makes it a very strong contender.

Cons

Teams seems to have some inane features that don't make sense. There are ghost hotkey combinations that make Teams do weird things when pressed. The meeting notes feature requires a lot of work, with attendees being locked out of editing notes at times where it doesn't make sense. The peripheral features that Teams provides still needs a lot of work.

Andy T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent communication and productivity app

Reviewed on 2021/02/25

My small team was already using Teams before the pandemic and we liked it. When the pandemic hit, we made the decision to finally tell everyone that Teams was the preferred communication method during work from home and people took to it really well. It's easy to use and our users adopted it quickly. We still use it every day and I can't imagine it won't be a big part of things even as work situations return to normal.

Pros

Teams is great because it combines a lot of different things together. All of the video chat and voice chat features have obviously been great during work from home, but my team was using it when we were in the office, and it was great then as well. The concept of channels is great. All of the different MS products you can tie in like Planner or SharePoint are great. If you want it to, it can really be a one stop app for many of the MS products you use on a daily basis. It's got a nice easy to use interface and they are frequently adding new features and integrations to it.

Cons

We've experienced issues with not being able to use Bluetooth headsets with Teams as easily as we'd like. Especially with the mic not working. Also, while I love all the integrations it offers, some of them are just slow enough in loading that it's easier to use the native app. By the time it loads some of my OneNote pages, I could easily open and start doing things on the native app. I'm sure that will get better and it's still nice to have th in one app when I want it.

Jon A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

At last! Teams is now the defacto standard for collaboration

Reviewed on 2020/11/26

Having use countless, similr solutions like Slack and WebEx, at last MS comes up trumps with a super, seamlessly integrated product in Teams. Having used Cisco WebEx and Slack, I was dubious about using teams, and when it was rolled out, I realised just how brilliant its become. I always derided MS products as being a but clunky and unable to compete with some of the "cooler" brands, but I am happy to report Teams has changed my mind.

From the way you can just start a call right from teams, to how you can bring people in to your call, share files stored in SharePoint and create public and private groups - it's just so quick and easy.

Now it's not to say everything is perfect, there is room for improvement like making it easier to customize your background without having to root around in the System32 folder (danger!). But for flexibility, collaboration, instant messaging, file sharing, conference calling and integration into the MS suite, you just don't need products like WebEx anymore, and I have also uninstalled Slack.

Genuinely impressed.

Pros

So easy to start a conference call, simple to schedule from Outlook, great conferencing features and IM tools. Integration with Yammer is great!

Cons

Some features need looking at, especially notifying the person who may be on mute for example, as well as having better capability on the whiteboard.

Pierre louis F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great collaboration tools

Reviewed on 2020/10/29

I use Microsoft Teams as principal collaboration tools for video calls, screen sharing and the apps is great. For example you can invite someone with any emails addresses in an online meeting even though the app isn’t install on his/her phone or computer ...it is easy to use in a web browser.

Pros

Microsoft Teams is a great tools, it is one of the app in the Microsoft 366 package (former office 365 ), you can use it for conferences call, sharing documents, creat group,...Microsoft announced Teams will replace Skype fo business summer 2021.

Cons

They could offer options to subscribe to Microsoft Teams as a stand alone app also, instead to pay for the whole Office 365 package.

Andrew C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Perfect for Staying Connected in 2020

Reviewed on 2020/10/14

Teams has been a great tool for our company to share messages, whether between two people, a division of people, or across the entire company of 100+ employees. Our company switched over from Slack as we grew in numbers, and while the UI has taken a bit of time to become acclimated to, Teams has been invaluable for us for all of the available features and the integration with Outlook calendars and our other Microsoft applications.

Pros

Teams has been perfect for my coworkers and me in 2020 when everyone is working remotely. We can effortlessly communicate with one another through the chat feature. We have created teams for our various work teams, departments, societies, and even for interests outside of work. Teams has enabled us to continue our biweekly meetings directly in the app. In a training session the other week, through screensharing I was even able to take control of the other user's screen, which was a remarkable feat. Teams also connects seamlessly with our Outlook calendars, which is a great deal of help when someone is asking in the channel about my availability or when a Teams meeting is on the horizon.

Cons

My only real con with Teams is that I wish it were easier to set a status - the status auto-changes to away after five minutes and sometimes has issues coming back to available. Any away or out of office statuses aren't as readily visible as I would like. The UI overall could be a bit more user-friendly.

Scott D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Bring the Team Together

Reviewed on 2020/09/10

Teams has allowed the compant to work remote and still come together through video conferences and webinars. Also file sharing through Teams has reduced the need for google docs and other additional spreadsheets.

Pros

Microsoft Teams allows you to set up on your computer and phone. It works on a variety of platforms. It makes it easy to chat with remote team members and share files. Also, you can do video conferences on the go. Similar to Facetime for IOS but a lot more functionality.

Cons

The issue may be fixed now, but Teams was having a hard time allowing outside parcipants who did not have a Teams account. We needed to bring in clients and it seemed to hang up frequently.

Vadiraja T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

All round solution for remote connections

Reviewed on 2020/08/26

Just to explain in one word, this is perfect.

Pros

> The speed of the connection is really super fast compared to any of the other software.
> The main thing which I have seen this doing best is screen share and video calls. Normally the software take some time to connect to the channel or meeting, but the teams exceeds them all. The lag-less connection anywhere around the world is really mind-blowing.
> The ease of use (one of the primary needs during this lock-down) is really fantastic.
> The flexibility in chat, meeting and groups is really good.
> The file sharing and the encryption which I personally use the most is better in front of its peers.

Cons

The main thing is audio connection. As compared to other software, this should explore the options which I personally found lacking in the teams. As soon as we connect to any meeting, there should be an option to connect outside audio connection like mobile phone to join. That would be a better solution as I found perfect.
Other than that, this is perfect.

Alain D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The better business tool for communication and collaboration

Reviewed on 2020/09/08

While Teams wasn't always a smooth ride, I've seen Microsoft make some pretty great changes in recent months to improve the user experience. Even something as simple as being able to make a chat window pop out of frame was a big deal for me in terms of being able to multitask.

Pros

I love that Teams ties in with the Microsoft Office suite and Sharepoint. It allows mulitple users the ability to edit and share a document simultaneously, while having a call or sent messages back and fourth, all without having to leave the tool. There's also a built-in calendar and task manager, so collaboration and accountability have a high level of visibility for the userbase.
Managing user accesses is also a breeze.

Cons

My biggest gripe: File management can be a NIGHTMARE. I'd love to see some work done by Microsoft to make it easier to find previously shared items. If you lose track of which conversation thread you shared a file in, finding it can be a lot of effort, involving retracing multiple steps. If there was a better/quicker way to search for shared items, it would be awesome.

Audrey B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The integration with the Office 365 suite is a great advantage

Reviewed on 2020/05/22

My team was using Microsoft Teams before we had to switch to remote work due to the current situation (we already had a flexible remote work policy so it was not uncommon for team members to attend meetings remotely). We are using it as an internal collaboration/communication tool to conduct meetings, share our screen and have informal conversations to ask a quick question or resolve an issue.
We also use it as a communication tool with clients: we ask questions to stakeholders and share documents with our clients via Teams and our clients have adopted it seamlessly.

Pros

Document management: Teams leverages the features of SharePoint for document management and allows to modify Office documents in real-time with multiple collaborators.
Easy definition of access rights to content/teams: Access rights can be defined at the team and at the channel level which allows to give access to Teams to clients while having separate areas within the team for internal conversation (which reduces the clutter for clients who would otherwise receive notifications for irrelevant conversations)
Multiple forms of communication: Teams allows to communicate via direct chat with another team member, within a channel, create group conversations and via conference calls.
Conference calls/webcast: High-quality webcast/videoconferencing with the ability to record a meeting and have this meeting saved to Microsoft Stream
Outlook integration: Ability to schedule Teams meetings from Outlook and vice versa

Cons

Access to meeting notes: when meeting notes are created during a meeting, they are associated directly to the meeting instead of being associated to the team. Having the option to take notes from a meeting that are added to a notebook shared by the team would allow to easily refer to these notes after the meeting (instead of having to look for the meeting to access the notes).
Notifications disabled by default: When part of multiple channels, it's easy to forget to enable notifications for each one. Conversations where the user or the entire channel is mentioned can go unnoticed.
The functionality that allows to toggle between Microsoft Teams organizations when you are part of multiple often causes errors that require to restart Teams.

Mohammed S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Microsoft's fantastic solution for team collaboration

Reviewed on 2020/04/25

Microsoft Teams has been designed from the ground-up to help businesses get their employees to communicate with each other more efficiently and effectively. In my personal experience with Microsoft Teams, this has been one of the main reasons of the company purchasing this software and using it as a central pillar for the IT teams. The various parts of IT (software team, infrastructure team, business analysts team) have been able to set up their own channels in which they can communicate with each other and send information relevant only to that team. In addition, other channels have been set up in which the entire IT department can share content with each other. In this way, the efficiency of communication has been solved with this one piece of software from Microsoft.

The benefits have been realized as teams are now able to spend more time working on relevant things instead of going through content which may be irrelevant for them. The Microsoft Teams 'channels' feature has been instrumental in allowing this to happen. In addition, Microsoft Teams has allowed for colleagues to communicate with each other from one place. This is because the software allows for chat/video/audio/content sharing facilities from within Microsoft Teams.
what benefits realized?

Pros

There are many features to like about Microsoft Teams, which I personally have experienced:

-The overall design of it is very minimalist, simple and clutter-free. This makes it very easy to use and work with on a daily basis
-The 'channels' feature is a fantastic feature which is dedicated for conversations regarding specific topics (and for specific recipients)
-Skype video and audio calls can be made directly from Microsoft Teams, thus saving valuable time
-You can share messages, pictures, files, and links with anyone within a conversation
-The 'slash command' feature is a fantastic shortcut tool to anything you want to get done
-Microsoft Teams has a special email view in which you can see the main parts of an email without actually leaving the conversation/chat
-Microsoft Teams is available on both Android and iOS so that you can collaborate from wherever you are
-Microsoft Teams integrates perfectly with Microsoft cloud platforms such as OneDrive and SharePoint. For example, you can actually see and access files that are on the cloud directly through the Teams interface
-Dark Mode looks great!

Cons

To be honest, Microsoft Teams contains virtually all the beneficial features that one could want from a collaboration tool. The interface is fairly simple to use as it has a minimalist design. However, there have been a number of bugs that Microsoft Teams has been affected with, however. Although subsequent Microsoft software updates have solved a lot of these issues, it can get quite frustrating for system administrators at times.

A reason why a company may not want to use Microsoft Teams is that there are other solutions such as Discord and Slack which have been popular for quite some time and do offer some good features for free. With Microsoft Teams for example, it is only free if there are less than 300 users and also there is a fee involved if a company then purchases the enterprise licence.

Sean T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best Collaboration Tool for Your Team

Reviewed on 2020/03/01

Overall, I think this far surpasses Microsoft's previous tool, Skype for Business, and has brought a new level of collaboration to Microsoft. I appreciate the attention to detail that Microsoft has put into this product and feel it would be a wonderful product for teams of all sizes.

Pros

As a tax manager in public accounting, my team is virtual, mobile and ever changing. With MS Teams I am able to create virtual team channel where we can collaborate, keep files and track assignments. My very favorite feature of this software is the ability to put documents into my team channel and then work on them at the same time as my team members. For example, I can upload an excel workbook with a clients tax return workpapers and then each person on my team can be in the file working on this at the same time. This is a HUGE game changer.

Cons

All things considered, I don't have a lot of criticism about this software except for one feature. In teams, the notification options are a bit limited. For example, when I receive a message from a coworker I have two options: 1) I can get a banner notification in the bottom right of my screen that will show the name of the sender and a few lines of the message or 2) no notification at all. What I think is missing here is the ability to have a banner pop up in the bottom corner that just shows that you have a new message. My reason for this is because I am often sharing my screen or have people who can see my screen - I want to be sure that confidential information is not displayed or that a more private message is not sitting in the corner of my screen for anyone to see.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Collaborative development - Microsoft teams to the rescue

Reviewed on 2019/11/02

It is a great software for communication. Saving a lot of effort and time. Building applications collaboratively.

Pros

It is very easy to use, convenient and user friendly. It is a very light weighted software and does not take much of your space. It is great for internal communication in a company. It supports features like polling which is very useful. It has various apps and connectors to integrate with other software. It supports sharing of all types of files. It is great for scheduling and holding meetings. It supports the functionality where different channels could be created for different departments and teams under a company and promote collaborative development. Also supports excel and other ms documents.

Cons

Sometimes while sharing files, the software freezes and have to try sharing the file multiple times. It saves the files by default to a teams folder in the system and does not ask for a path to store the file. The UI when attending demo calls should also be enhanced, it just shows the number of people in the call.

Sampath C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Textiles
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Microsoft Teams is not only for conferencing its bunch of application

Reviewed on 2019/10/17

Teams is good product for business work. This is coming with Office 365 as bulk product. Most of the time our internal roaming meeting are handle by MS Teams. Voice and Video quality is good, Screen sharing is working with low bandwidth conditions. Social Chanel activities like Facebook & Twitter are integrated with same application this is good feature for cooperate communication teams.

Pros

Microsoft Teams is not only conferencing app its integration bunch of application. With single application we are able to access most of the Microsoft service one-drive Calendar, One note, planner etc. Believe this is grate alternative for MS lync, SFB. Spaciously channel creation is very help full to discuss internal issues and and share our ideas. Team meeting work as slimier to Skype for business. video and voice quality is very clear and seems this is working with using less bandwidth. Product is getting attractive among the users and admins. it’s using AD credential for sign in.

Cons

Software startup time is slow have to wait little time to complete work. some time application environment complex for basic users that time we have to help them to find out application features. As a user and admin Cons are very less with the product.

Dan C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Microsoft Teams crushes Slack!

Reviewed on 2019/09/30

We wanted to get ahead of the sun setting of Skype for Business and realize the benefits of Teams collaboration capabilities.

Pros

Microsoft Teams provides all of the functionality of Skype for Business, but with a better user experience. The audio and video quality is excellent. The collaboration features are by far the best I've experienced. Simple to deploy, easy to use, I cannot say enough good things about Teams.

Cons

Without proper governance, this product will sprawl easily within your organization. Take some time to setup business rules and remove the default permissions, enabling the proper security and administration of the application.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Back and Forth Conversation Emails Are a Thing of The Past!

Reviewed on 2019/05/07

Teams has signalled a shift in the way those in our business communicate with one another. It has meant that instead of emailing back and forth, users now use Teams to IM one another. No longer do users attach files to emails and send them to one another; now they simply share files quickly and easily through Teams. This increased communication between colleagues and departments along with increased sharing of resources and collaboration on work projects has improved productivity significantly.

Pros

Teams is a very user-friendly application that facilitates communication between individual users and whole departments. IM capabilities mean that users can message one another to collaborate on projects and share ideas. Files and documents can be shared with others, and Teams also has audio/calling conferencing capabilities (part of Microsoft's vision to deprecate Skype for Business in favour of Teams) meaning users can meet and share ideas even if they are at home or away from the office. The mobile app allows you to chat to colleagues when you aren't at your desk. If users are part of a departmental team, they can view these teams within the app; they can message other team members, share files, and use other Microsoft-specific apps such as Planner or SharePoint if they have been set up. Meeting scheduling is also available from within Teams, linking up with your Outlook calendar. For administrators, it is easy to deploy and maintain the Teams application using GPOs, and the application itself is self-updating on startup.

Cons

Teams currently installs to the user's 'AppData Roaming' folder, which means that it is installed separately for every user that logs into the computer. It is quite resource intensive to run the applications compared to other communications apps. However, both of these issues have been flagged for review on the Microsoft Teams suggestions and feedback website, suggesting they will be rectified in a future release.

Stever jose G.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

organization and collaboration of work in a single tool

Reviewed on 2018/07/18

It is a software that is easy to handle and helps teamwork to flow faster and more efficiently.

Pros

the use of Microsoft Teams gave us the integration that we were lacking in order to integrate several solutions into one. the way of collaborative teamwork becomes a reality! In our company we have been using it for about 2 years and it has helped us to have a better control over the project's orientation.
You can organize each area in a team
Within each team you can have different channels
each channel is autonomous and has its space for chat (which is very complete with text format options)
each channel has an associated email address to receive mail and they are in the same panel as the chat.
You have availability to be each channel a site in Sharepoint Online to be able to assemble the library of documents for the documentation of each project or teamwork and can be accessed from teams or via web.
we can add wiki, onenote, etc. functionalities
complmenetos add on how to add a shortcut tab to Power BI, SP, MS Office, Planner, Jira, Open Agora, Youtube, VSTeamservices etc. which allows us to access any of these tools and more from the same channel.
It has a direct Chat integrated with Skype For Business and allows you to have 1 to 1 - 1 to n and make calls and conferences.
when creating the team, it has an associated agenda and you can conduct meetings via Skype for business without needing to use the Skype Forbusinees application.
adicioanla has notifications, file repository for each chat, I really recommend it as a functional tool for teamwork.

Cons

that the conversations when it happens a lot of time to have had them, the files and notes exchanged disappears from the panel, is one of the few things that would change him.

the mobile client is a bit unstable, I imagine it's a problem of being so new.

Zach C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Feature Rich but it has its Quirks

Reviewed on 2021/03/22

Overall, it serves our needs. I'm not overly excited about some of the complications we've run into, but it still seems to be the best fit for our team at the moment.

Pros

I like that meetings, scheduling, chat, and calls within our team are all seamlessly integrated into this one application. It is easy to get a call or meeting started with teammates, share screens, even control another teammate's screen remotely. I also like some of the features such as the "Meeting Notes" and "Whiteboard" that can be used during a meeting, and it is all saved for future reference.

Cons

Individual user account management is a nightmare. The process is overly complicated and seems to be glitchy due to the complications. It was an extremely difficult process to get our team upgraded from the "Free" tier to the "Business Basic" tier, and it required hours of work and multiple customer service phone calls.

I also don't like that the "Meeting Notes" is not real-time collaborative to have multiple people writing in it at the same time.

I think it still lacks more sophisticated integrations with 3rd party products.

Soumia D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Teams review a Microsoft 365 administrator

Reviewed on 2021/01/21

Microsoft Teams is considered a time and a lifesaver for me, I use it more than any other application and I enjoy using it and explaining how it works to others

Pros

as an administrator, I like how I can create teams, channels, add members and even assign owners from the admin center and make it easier to gather employees in specific groups.
restrict document sharing and guests inviting.
as a user and a CSP technical sales/ support representative, Microsoft Teams is my favorite application and it has helped me tremendously during the pandemic in scheduling and hosting business meetings in a mater of seconds, as well as providing support to customers and being able to have a live look at their screens, having the option to request control to resolve their issues.
another cool feature is the meeting recording option which automatically uploads the video to my Microsoft Stream and gives me a chance to go back to the meetings and share them with others if I want to.
my favorite of all time is the ability to share a document and collaborate with other team members, and it gets better when you just add a tab of the important file instead of looking for it in files every time you need it.

Cons

it requires some assistance for end-users to get familiar with it and use it to its full potential.
it is not considered a user-friendly app for those unfamiliar with it.
the fact that it is a part of other 365 plans, makes customers prefer other single applications

Nicholas C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Choice for Telecommuting

Reviewed on 2020/05/01

Overall, my experience has been really good. I would highly recommend the platform to any company that wants to implement a platform that allows for easy telecommuting and is integrated in with the Office 365 suite of products.

Pros

The software is extremely easy to use for all staff during the COVID-19 pandemic. Microsoft Teams has great video and audio quality for the video chats and is an excellent instant messaging platform. I especially like the fact that chats are automatically saved and can be searched using the search bar.

Cons

Setting up the software to communicate with people outside of your company can be cumbersome. We have not set up that functionality, so we can only message people within the company. Overall though, it is not that much of an inconvenience.

Sebastian L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Microsoft Teams ties togheter all your Office 365 tools and capabilities

Reviewed on 2020/02/06

With Microsoft Teams, I can spend more time doing active work and less time searching for information or keeping track of project updates. Within the Microsoft Teams app, I am getting updates regarding group chats between project members and always seeing the latest versions of all the documents I have access to.

Pros

The best thing about Microsoft Teams is how it is designed. Since it integrates with all your other Office 365 products, you only need one app (Microsoft Teams) to keep track of all your different projects and communication channels.

Cons

Microsoft Teams is getting better and better, but there are still some features missing when it comes to information protection and data-loss prevention. But since this is the product that Microsoft is throwing all its money at, those things will soon be solved. Keep track on the Microsoft 365 roadmap for all the upcoming features and updates.

Noel Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Meets Expectations, but doesn't 'wow'

Reviewed on 2021/01/07

Overall Teams does a pretty good job accomplishing the goal of keeping coworkers connected with a consistent form of communication.

The video chat gets the job done but doesn't really go above and beyond (although I'm not sure any video chat service does). The video chat features that come with presenting work, but the more complex features like presenting a PowerPoint can cause some hiccups.

Pros

Microsoft was quick to add features to their video chat. The integration of the office phone was also a nice feature since it could be used across platforms and work calls could easily be taken on your personal phone. The video chat overall is fairly reliable, especially if it is purely being used for a video chat.

Giphy integration is always a crowd pleaser.

Cons

Presenting with the video chat can get a little finicky when it comes to presentations to large groups or presenting with multiple presenters.

The file-sharing and file management with Teams is kind of wonky in that it's not blatantly obvious where you can access files shared and downloaded.

Occasionally Teams will need to be restarted due to connectivity issues.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Comprehensive Tool for Collaborating

Reviewed on 2020/09/22

Overall, I've enjoyed the overall simplicity of Teams and how I require less tools to work now. My gripes with the software are minor compared to the benefits I've seen from using the program.

Pros

Microsoft Teams is a comprehensive collaboration tool offering video conferencing, group chats, webinars, file sharing, and a calendar. Teams has cut down on the different programs required to collaborate effectively; no more emailing files on one platform and texting or video calling on another.

On top of offering many different features, Teams is also cross platform, and I frequently use both the desktop, web, and Android versions which all seamlessly integrate with one another.

Teams also integrates easily with outlook, with the calendars of both syncing to easily to show what's on schedule.

Live events are also a good experience, with the live feed being clear and an easy interface for asking questions or rewinding the live feed. VODs are also available as soon as the live feed concludes and is processed, so long as recording was enabled.

Cons

As far as I can tell, there is no option to configure who's video feed is shown on screen, or how many video feeds can be shown at a time. This makes conferencing lag behind some of Team's competitors

Navigation can be somewhat convoluted, especially in regards to where to find video conferences. I've ran into some issues with a video not showing up on my calendar, and I would need to find what chat it's linked to to join from there, or vice versa. On top of that, having tabs specifically for groups, chats (which also have groups within them), and files can make it confusing to go back to find chats or files.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Voice and Video that scale

Reviewed on 2020/09/29

Microsoft Teams in Azure was possibly the easiest thing we have ever deployed

Pros

The effortless deployment via Azure and the crystal clear voice and video. We regularly have meeting with over 200 participants in attendance and experience on issues what so ever bar users with poor internet connections.

Cons

It takes a little bit of time for a large power point to start rendering and in big meetings with hundreds of participants and multiple users presenting it can be a little frustrating

Yusuf H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good platform to colloborate

Reviewed on 2021/02/08

Good, easy to use tool which integrates well with office 365

Pros

Background during video calls
Chats
Ease of finding contacts

Cons

Screen share can be made simpler and seamless
Changing of screens should be easier rather than unshare and share
Include computer sound should be prominent