MEX Reviews

MEX

Computerized maintenance management system (CMMS)

4.4/5 (40 reviews)
Harvey H.

Casella Mex Casella

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/01/23
Review Source: Capterra

Casella Family Brands initiated the use of Mex in 2007 "Just to help us with Maintenance", Who would have thought of the wide usage & power of the system now, The Business has grown considerably & Mex has adapted & grown with us from the early days of 10 users to now having 225 users, the business was on 1 site now we have multiple sites looking after maintenance function of 150+ maintenance staff & an asset register with over 10,000 assets. All functions of the Mex System are utilized from the requesting process & approval to the acquisition of parts & final Scheduling, A comprehensive history has been developed which we now have as a resource to use on reporting regulatory requirements & in moving the maintenance function forward strategically. The system may not be the biggest out there but its ability to be adaptable to our designed maintenance program whilst keeping a robust user environment is invaluable in running the day to day maintenance function, Mex is now in the centre of all the maintenance functions on all our sites giving us control of all our labour, materials, running costs & information.

Pros

Its ability to adapt to our changing maintenance function while withholding a robust user environment.

Cons

The systems scheduler is clunky & needs improvement, eventually as every user continues down the path of true jobs control the scheduling of the workload must be the pathway to this result.

Response from MEX

Thanks very much for the review Harvey, we¿re happy to hear that you¿ve had such a great experience with MEX over the last 9 years and thank you for the feedback regarding the scheduler. If you ever need any assistance you can always phone in and talk to our support staff. Thanks for taking the time to review MEX.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Reuben M.

Good but...

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/05
Review Source: Capterra

The software is full of great features, however they are only as great as the information that goes in, which can sometimes lead to frustration. We use MEX to run our stores (although no ordering happens through MEX unfortunately)
We also use the Preventative Maintenance in a big way, and some features are still struggling to be realized (for instance, the hierarchy of PM's)
However, when good information is input consistently, fairly consistent results are output.

Pros

Good features for stores and preventative maintenance etc. Lots of information and recording of history is possible.
Great to be able to add photos and all sorts of information in behind stores items, or work orders.

Cons

Often can be running slow and a bit clunky. Some features are not user friendly/intuitive to use (e.g. exiting a field in order to save) Building custom reports is way over-complicated for someone without the correct training.
Certain stock reports do not work, as they seem to have been installed or set up incorrectly.

Response from MEX

Hi Reuben,

Thank you for leaving a review, we appreciate your honest feedback and we are pleased to hear that you find a number of features good to use. We also wanted to let you know that problems highlighted with the usability of MEX are issues we take seriously. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further with you and help resolve your issues. We will be in touch shortly.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

4.0/10
Leah D.

Easy to use system. Great support and service

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/02/07
Review Source: Capterra

MEX is a great program and very easy to use.
The staff are friendly (that's you reception ladies) and very informative and helpful (support guys).
The front end platform looks great, is easy to navigate, and I like that you are able to set permissions to allow or restrict access to certain areas.
I particularly like the ability to take MEX with you via the iOS app.
As with any program there are occasional glitches or issues, but the support staff and developers do a fantastic job sorting things out where they can.
I would highly recommend MEX for anyone in the market for a good CMMS.

Pros

The support and assistance you get from the MEX staff. I believe that is key to any good program.

Cons

Nothing. I really enjoy using it.

Response from MEX

Hi Leah,

Firstly, thank you so much for taking the time to review our software. It¿s fantastic to hear you¿ve had great customer service across several of our departments. Having security levels and access restrictions within an organisation is extremely important and it¿s great know our customers agree and value the feature.

We pride ourselves on MEX¿s mobility through our App and our HTML 5 platform. Our goal this year is to diversify our mobility and increase its capacity. So, thank you for your suggestion it¿s been sent onto our research and development department.

Thanks again for the great review Leah.

Kind Regards
The MEX Team.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Philip M.

MEX Maintenance Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/13
Review Source: Capterra

MEX is already showing the business that we are top heavy with trades waiting around for break downs, with this information we now can plan more effectively by having trades onsite when required to carryout planned maintenance activities and not just be a breakdown team giving them more machine up-time.

Pros

MEX is by far one of the best CMMS I've used so far in my career its functionality makes it an easy system to implement which intern gives eases of use to the end user (maintenance trades),
Also regions is a great tool to setup multiple site locations across the business ensuring we have a standardised asset tree and control files,

Cons

Mex today requires further development by giving you the ability to import rosters into your schedule which will give you better planning functionality

Response from MEX

Hi Philip,
Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review. We take pride in customer satisfaction and are committed to delivering a useful and easy to use system. It's customers like you that make our job wonderful! Thanks, once again, for your kind words.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Joshua J.

Structured Maintenance Made Easy

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/01/31
Review Source: Capterra

From our initial dealings with the MEX team they were extremely helpful. They did not hesitate to come to our office and give us a professional and highly informative demonstration. MEX has allowed us to effectively manage our clients asset registers and assign structured preventative maintenance schedules to these assets. We are able to record all history and report on the complete lifecycle of an asset. Although MEX has virtually infinite combinations in relation to how you wish to set up your asset register MEX is very user friendly and the level to which you want to use it is up to the user, it has the capacity to be a very powerful management system across all areas of maintenance from reporting, to issuing work orders, managing invoices, tracking depreciation, flagging insurance expiry dates and police checks, the list goes on . Overall we are very happy with the MEX CMMS system and their customer service is second to none. We highly recommend MEX.

Response from MEX

Hi Joshua,

Thanks very much for the glowing review we¿re thrilled to hear all our employees are treating you with the respect and enthusiasm you deserve. We¿re all about making things easier for our customers so it¿s great to hear you find our Asset Register user friendly and our system intuitive and easy adaptable to your maintenance needs. Our support staff are always on hand if you need anything.

Kind Regards
MEX

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Stephen G.

Mex Review 28/02/2019

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/28
Review Source: Capterra

MEX is a good asset and maintenance management tool. if it's programmed and used correctly.

Pros

Well designed and easy to use once you've received the training

Cons

Often the work order list and request list just spins around and won't open. MEX are unsure what the problem is. This had had a significant impact on the users at the time.
the 250 reports that are provided with the initial set up are really a waste. you need to generate 3 reports to get the information you need and some of them don't even work. I don't think MEX should advertise thay have so many reports to potential customers as they're really not very good.

Response from MEX

Hi Stephen,

Thanks for sharing your feedback and taking the time to bring this to our attention. We are sorry to hear that you have been experiencing some issues with the usability & reports. Your suggestions and comments have been passed onto our Support Team so this can be looked into further. We will be in touch so that we can resolve any issues as quickly as possible.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
John T.

MEX Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/07
Review Source: Capterra

We have implemented a national structure for Asset Management and are using MEX as the tool for this system across a large number of sites Australia wide that have varying processes. The team at MEX has been 100% supportive to all our requests and the time this regionalised system has taken for us to roll out. The flexibility to our requirements has been extremely helpful with everyone from the receptionist, technical support and managers always more then happy to assist.

Pros

Ease of use, Function ability, ease of data capture and quick recall.

Cons

Some bugs have presented - However MEX has always supported us and provided the fix.
The I ability to group parts in stores catalogue.

Response from MEX

Hey John,

We are incredibly grateful that you took the time out to leave us such a nice review! It is so good to hear that you have had an smooth experience with the system and our team have always enjoyed helping you out. Thanks again for being a MEX advocate, we really appreciate it!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Tim H.

Mex Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/01/23
Review Source: Capterra

I have worked with MEX for 9 years and initially found it very easy to learn and work with. It is an intuitive Computerised Maintenance Management System with great support from the developers on the phone or via email.
Staff training is regularly held all around the country and onsite personalized training and support is also available.
The latest versions of MEX has allowed for customization of modules which is an outstanding feature that allows me to display the information I want and need for maintenance management. This along with the use of MEX Mobile for the use of Mobile devices has also been extremely positive for all staff using the system to conduct and record maintenance as it is completed in the field.

Pros

Functionality of all modules and ease of use is extremely good.

Cons

Nil

Response from MEX

Thanks for taking the time to review our software Tim. We always strive for exceptional customer service at MEX and It¿s great to hear from a happy customer.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Malcolm D.

Good, fit for purpose CMMS

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/02/07
Review Source: Capterra

We use Mex in 14 sites across the group and have found it to be an excellent tool to help manage our maintenance processes. I would recommend this software to anyone that wants a simple to use but customisable CMMS.

Pros

Straightforward ease of use, can customise to a relatively high level, and on phone support is superb.

Cons

It rarely does have a glitch. I think it is mainly our internet connection. A quick restart though and all is good

Response from MEX

Hi Malcom,

Thanks very much for taking the time to review MEX Maintenance Software. We¿re stoked to hear Mauri finds MEX to be so user friendly and simple across all 14 of your sites. We hope your MEX experiences continue to be smooth! If you do have any concerns our support staff are always happy to help.

Thanks again for the review.

Kind regards
The MEX Team.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Brad C.

Mex adaptability

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/05
Review Source: Capterra

We not only have used Mex to record work completed, we have started to and will continue to develop reliability and analysis of equipment and product production to identify where the company can improve.

Pros

The equipment we use to produce our products are of a wide variety with a fair bit of difference to account for. Mex as a CMMS product was adaptable to meet our requirements. Reporting and data entry design can be customized to easily get the information required without much preparation.

Cons

Would like to be able to use Minor Job Codes in reporting

Response from MEX

Hi Brad,
Thank you very much for such a great review! We work hard to meet requirements like yours, and we are really pleased to hear that MEX has been adapatable to your needs. We hope your experience continues to run smoothly. Thanks again for sharing your feedback!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Bobby K.

This software can be adopted and used easily.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/19
Review Source: Capterra

I have used Mex for at least 2 years before i had a formal training . Mex was easy to learn with lots of functions to choose from and also specific reports can be generated depending on the amount of data entry done.
Whenever support was required Mex help desk was always available and eager to help.
The Mex maintenance programme is highly recommended

Pros

This software can be customised to own needs

Cons

All parts of the this programme isd much liked but history data can be altered which i think should not be possible.(Only my thoughts)

Response from MEX

Hi Bobby,

Wow, thank you for your glowing review! We really appreciate your support and love to hear that MEX has been a huge benefit to your company. Your point on the changes to history data has been passed onto our Development Team. Thanks again for your high recommendation of MEX, we have really enjoyed working with you.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Jasmin C.

Review for MEX

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/03/05
Review Source: Capterra

So far it is a very accessible and easy program to use, it covers a wide range of functions

Pros

Its ability to 'make it your own', reasonably easy to use.

The help functions is broken down well and is easy to follow

Cons

The GOD mode is not very user friendly when it comes to adding in extra fields, especially in MEX Ops.

In the security function editing access to the right click field is time consuming. There is too many ways to access security function, when setting users up it could be very easily missed in a separate module.

Time sheet module could be improved, for example when you reference a Work Order it should bring the actual times over to the time sheet and not double up on the asset. Include a Payroll module or function that could the give ability to easily export a 'Payroll Report' with the listed trades/employees and their hours for the week (as per time sheet) and the referenced work order.

A chat function would be a great tool, where you could live chat to the the help desk.

Response from MEX

Hi Jasmin,
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our software. We are always looking for ways to streamline the user experience, so thanks for your comments on the God Mode feature, Timesheets and a Chat Tool. These suggestions have been passed onto our development team so we can further enhance your experience with MEX. Thank you again for sharing your feedback, we love hearing when our customers make MEX their own!

Kind Regards,
The MEX Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Darryl M.

MEX user for 5 years

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/06/11
Review Source: Capterra

MEX is reasonably easy to use and reliable.
Support is usually very helpful and quick to respond

Pros

Easy to export data and support is very helpful

Cons

Inputting data can be slow.
Changing details on many items can be tedious
I would like to have
- expense elements as well as the account codes
- in the catalogue I would like to have the functionality to change preferred supplier for each item depending on the region

Response from MEX

Hi Daryl,
Thank you very much for the review, we're stoked to hear that you have found the system easy to use and reliable over the last 5 years. In regards to the speed issues with inputting data, one of our support team members will be in touch shortly to investigate further. Thanks again for taking the time to review MEX.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Jack B.

The Swiss Army Knife of CMMS

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/03/15
Review Source: Capterra

Mex can do pretty much anything to do with preventative maintenance;
Putting hours, parts, activities and more onto jobs,
Automatically creating scheduled maintenance,
Collating everything on a job to invoice out,
Collecting readings, info and stats on machines,
Reporting an absolutely anything,
And their customer support is second to none.

Pros

Web-based. Flexible.

Cons

Invoicing and catalogue have a little bit more work to do.

Response from MEX

Hi Jack,

Thank for taking the time to review our software we are loving your analogy of MEX as the Swiss Army Knife of CMMS! We love hearing our customer success stories so thanks very much for sharing it.

Kind Regards,
The MEX Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
David W.

Barcoding in MEX

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/02
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Firstly MEX is user friendly, very easy to navigate through all the modules. Mex catalogue for spares is extremely important to us and is easy to set up and maintain. Currently introducing barcoding to our catalogue. Customer support is clear & very helpful when required.

Cons

My experience with this software over many has always been positive & at this point I am struggling to identify an area in MEX that I like least.

Response from MEX

Hi David,

Thank you very much for such a great review! We are so pleased to hear that MEX has had such a positive effect on your business. It is great to hear about our customer success stories so thanks again for sharing it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Quentin L.

All experiences have been v positive from initial sales, installation technical and product support

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/07/13
Review Source: Capterra

Control of stock and job planning. Good quality job data for financial and parts usage analysis to assist with optimisation.

Pros

Simple, flexible and on the web. Support is excellent. Stores and preventative worke seemlessly together.

Cons

Listings can only be sorted on a single column, also in listing locating row after viewing data.

Response from MEX

Hi Quentin,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review MEX Maintenance Software. we are thrilled to hear you've had nothing but good experiences with our staff throughout the whole process.

Thanks for your feedback regarding sort functionality i have passed this onto our development team.

If you ever need a hand don't hesitate to contact our support department on +61 7 3392 4777

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Adrian D.

MEX Review - NTG

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/19
Review Source: Capterra

Easy to use with great versatility and level of detail. Unfortunate speed issues.

Pros

Prompt customer support.
Versatility and customization.
Level of available detail.
Profiling and regions.

Cons

Speed issues (though, may be related to server).
Appears to be less customizable features in MEX 15 compared to MEX 12 (otherwise some features may not be available).

Response from MEX

Hi Adrian,

It is awesome to hear about your positive MEX experience. Versatility and customisation is definitely is a priority for us, so it is great to hear that these features have benefited you. Regarding your comment about speed issues, our Support Team will contact you to look into this further.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
David B.

Masonic Care MEX Review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/01/27
Review Source: Capterra

I have found MEX to be confusing at times compared to other systems that I have used.
We use MEX mainly to issue work orders to outside trades & in-house Maintenance personal, we then receive invoices from the external trades which we input into MEX, I find we seem to be having to double up on the amount of information that is required, ie you have to input the same information over various pages when you would think it would self generate onto these pages. This in it self is rather cumbersome & time consuming, or else I am doing something wrong.

Pros

The ease of use when set up,

Cons

Very clunky set up, information drops off the system with any apparent reason.

Response from MEX

Hi David, thanks for taking the time to review the MEX Software, we¿re sorry to hear you¿ve been experiencing some difficulties with the usability. One of our friendly support representatives will be giving you a call to see if we can help smooth things out for you.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Alec D.

I use MEX daily and it is great to track all maintenance activities.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/11/01
Review Source: Capterra

Our Preventative Maintenance schedules in MEX have resulted in regular accurate servicing of our equipment which has led to a reduction in our downtime.

Pros

MEX is an excellent tool displaying maintenance programs and PMs work completed to our external auditors.

Cons

PM categories ie fixed, triggered hierarchy etc. I would rather one only to select as it is confusing.

Response from MEX

Hi Alec,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review MEX. We are stoked to hear that using MEX has led to a reduction in your downtime!

If you have any issues with the PM Schedules you can always check out tech tips on our blog or contact our friendly support team on +61 7 3992 4777.

Kind Regards,
The MEX Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Useful tool to have

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/30
Review Source: Capterra

Cleaning up a clunky system the team at MEX is very helpful and friendly

Pros

MEX is a very simple system to use and is easy to navigate around.

Cons

The bulk of the system seems to be aimed towards vehicles not fixed equipment. Taking over a system that is not set up correctly from the start makes it hard to use to its full potential

Response from MEX

Hi There,
Thank you for the feedback. Initial implementation of any CMMS really does dictate the results you get from it. Happy to hear that our team have been helpful in working with you get around the clunky setup, if you need more help you know where to find us.
Thanks

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Alan C.

Not complex easy to use particularly at the end user trade environment

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/10/04
Review Source: Capterra

Maintenance management and visibility
Cost improvements
Improved stores management.

Pros

Easy of use
Customisation capacity
Integration into other business systems seamless
Support excellent not only software issue related but good training support.
Regions

Cons

System bugs to be address quicker
A few system processes could be added, delivery notes, retail ability (Part sales)
A lot of time spent correcting the Reports
Improve import export ability

Response from MEX

Hi Alan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review MEX we are so glad to hear you have experienced some great benefits from using MEX. I have also passed your suggestions and comments relating to added processes onto our research and development.

Kind Regards,
The MEX team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Paul M.

Custom Module

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/02/28
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The software itself is quite easy to use when creating a custom module, it has allowed our business to start to combine our Preventative Maintenance with our Quality system enabling our crews easier access to all the information and tools they require to complete their roles.

Cons

Custom Modules have limited space to populate
Custom Modules limitations - unable to have an item inserted into the module such as a Matrix or picture.

Response from MEX

Hi Paul,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the MEX system. It is wonderful to hear that you have found the system easy to use and that MEX has helped your crews complete their maintenance jobs. Our goal is to have a high level of customer satisfaction and it sounds like we achieved that goal with you. Your comments on the custom modules have been passed onto our friendly Support Team who will be in contact shortly to assist.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Daren H.

MEX CMMS System Review - Long Term User.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/02/17
Review Source: Capterra

Been with MEX since 2010, looked at many other CMMS before purchasing MEX, and even now review others to see if the current set up meets our needs.
Overwhelmingly, MEX delivers.
Even the best things in life sometimes dont perform the way we were expecting. With MEX, the support we receive is outstanding. Support calls are dealt with often within minutes.
You have to go a long way to beat this overall package.

Response from MEX

Hi Daren,

Thanks for the review, we¿re thrilled to hear that MEX continues to meet your requirements and that our support experiences have been outside.

Kind regards,
The MEX Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Steph K.

Great Solution

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/03/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This software has streamlined a lot of our current processes and has greatly assisted with our parts and stocktake. We have seen great improvement in repair times due to the parts being located thanks to cataloguing the items. The service history and APLs are all in one place which makes preparation for repairs and preventative maintenance a breeze.

Cons

I think printed Work Orders could use some minor changes.

Response from MEX

Hi Steph,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your MEX experience. Your recommendation means a lot to us and it is so great to hear that the system has been so helpful. Thanks also for your suggestion for the Printed Work Orders, we will be in touch shortly to discuss this further.

Kind Regards,
The MEX Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Denys B.

FleetMex Transport

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/03/05
Review Source: Capterra

FleetMex helps track all our fleet asset location, maintenance cost, takes care of the maintenance and inventory requirements, service projections, outstanding works and fleet reporting.

Pros

Simple to setup, easy to navigate around, SQL Data based,

Cons

Not being able to add major components to Assets and track warranty for them separately with out using Asset Childs. Not having a tyre module when in Fleet mode.

Response from MEX

Hi Denys,
Thank you for sharing your feedback, both positive and constructive. We are stoked to hear that you find MEX easy to use and simple to setup where we pride ourselves on being user friendly & continually strive to make maintenance simple. Your suggestions about warranty tracking and a tyre module have been passed onto our development team.

Kind Regards,
The MEX Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10