143 reviews

Fergus

Job management software for trades and service businesses

4,6 /5 (143 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
99%
recommended this app
143 reviews
Bob W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Who let the Dog out

Reviewed on 2019/11/30

We could not organize our business day to day without Fergus

Pros

Great technical back up in layman's terms and we feel that we are being listened to.
Your people who answer questions do a great job.
I also like the information in "Notifications" about any problems that Fergus may be experiencing.

Cons

There is a lot of information and procedures that are a bit daunting at the start

Jonathan L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fergus, why wouldn't you?

Reviewed on 2018/10/02

Pros

Fergus software is easy to use and integrates exceptionally well with Xero accounting software. It doesn't matter where I am in the world I can have immediate access, and with one look can see from start to finish how my business is progressing to ensure great cash flow.

Its simple to use and easily helps all of my staff to achieve their daily goals. Fergus has helped to systematise our work flow to ensure the best benefits for our staff and our clients. An exceptionally good tool.

Cons

whats not to like? how many companies can you call up and if its practical, and helpful to all users, will alter their software to suit

Sonya C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Streamlining Made Easy - now everything is one place customers/supplier docs/ invoicing. Easy...

Reviewed on 2017/07/10

Time and everything else said in the review.

Pros

A complete all round package you only need this and your accounting package. I use Fergus and Xero which integrate seamlessly together and the system can be accessed any time anywhere. Now that everything has moved from paper to cloud - nothing gets missed! Everything is loaded directly against the job and you can track your profitability throughout the project. NO more backcosting! Plus, all the timesheets are loaded for payroll - everything in the one place. But best thing is being able to call and talk to someone on the other end of the phone. Its great to be able to talk through a process and solve a problem quickly so I can return to business and get the job done.

Cons

That you are unable to change the colour of the text to make a point. For example it would be great if we could use red printing for the customers that are bad debtors and therefore when they phone a job in - it would be noticeable and easy to see.

Jason G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

excellent

Reviewed on 2018/04/26

Pros

simple to use and ease of use. makes my business much smoother. typing this message is now annoying me.

Cons

would be nice if customers had access to post notes on a job , so as we can monitor all correspondence.
would be good if one person could insert hours for multiple persons on the online version and not app version (one click does all workers)
being able to insert your own test certificates and compliance certificates (Australia) is a massive miss.

when creating an invoice and importing workers hours it would be good if the description of what each worker did next to their hours so the client can understand what each worker has done, at the moment the hours and the job description are in different areas.

Ipad pro does not let you type in lower font when entering materials to a job

Rick J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fergus has revolutionized our business from the ground up.

Reviewed on 2018/01/17

Too many to list, it has improved every aspect of our business

Pros

There is so much I like about Fergus, but probably my favorite is that I know EVERY expense incurred by a job will be accounted for in the Job's invoice. Nothing is missed.

Cons

It would be good to be able to enter "Due By" dates when entering Supplier Invoices. Or have a default "Due at end of next Month" setting.

Response from Fergus Software

Thanks for your glowing review Rick! We are so happy Fergus has been able to contribute to the success of your business.

Paul T.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Pretty bloody good.

Reviewed on 2018/04/15

Streamlines our operations, payroll, records all customer info etc

Pros

Its functionality - it does a lot.
If we don't know how to use it, Fergus support is always only a call away with the solution.
Fergus is continually developing the software and is very user-centric in that it takes on development suggestions from its users.

Cons

I've always found GPS location is quite patchy - unreliable

Lorraine G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A practical all on one system for trades.

Reviewed on 2018/07/17

A working software than we can rely on

Pros

It is user friendly and there is continuous work to improve the user experience. It has an easy to read format and uses commonsense.

Cons

That you can't go back to a category page in the dashboard ie invoices you have to go home and then into that category and then the next item.

Sal F.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great all round job processing system for our business

Reviewed on 2018/07/30

Pros

Talks to accounting system directly, downloads supplier invoices directly and allows job bookings for several staff over several periods in a day/week

Cons

Photos won't resize on mobiles and credit card payments including fees not accessible other than 1st email acceptance to Client

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fergus is our favourite employee

Reviewed on 2018/07/12

We have more time to do billable work and the peace of mind to know we haven't missed on charging for materials or time.

Pros

The automation with accounting services, employees and trade suppliers so we never miss charging on materials or hours.

Cons

Some fiddly bits like trying to change margins on materials in invoicing ; I also have trouble going 'back' a screen or move if i make a mistake.

Brandon F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Facilities Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Fergus has met my needs and exceeded my expectations!

Reviewed on 2018/07/08

The biggest benefit I get from Fergus is the abililty to have all of my information in a central location, plus it integrates with Xero so I no longer have to do double entry!

Pros

Its a true all in one service management software. The program is user friendly and has the best configuration Ive used so far. The price point is perfect. The apps for iOS and Android are seamless with the browser.

Cons

I would like the ability to upload different certifications. The standard is for electrical services. Please add support for FireFox and Microsoft Edge.

Andrew P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Fergus Review

Reviewed on 2019/11/30

Fergus have been very helpful. The support team are easy to get a hold off and are very good to deal with

Pros

Ease of use, simplicity of the status board helping you track all current and upcoming job from start to finish.

Cons

The app could do with some better technology.

Steve L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Overall experience has been great, has made our company a lot more efficient and transparent

Reviewed on 2018/04/10

Pros

Reporting and the ease to use it. Its transparencies and accountability has help us become a better company and manage our jobs at a higher level.
The amounts of updates done to further improve the software is impressive.

Cons

At the moment when generating from quote in purchase orders it generates upside down which is annoying.

Lorraine G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for the trades

Reviewed on 2017/03/28

A very user friendly software product with a great support team who are always working to make it better. We have already recommended it and got others in the industry using it.

Pros

Ease of use

Cons

No certificates part of system

Response from Fergus Software

Thanks Lorraine - glad to hear you love our system. We are working on certifications as we speak!

Jason H.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Easy to use for everyone from the office staff to the guys on the road.

Reviewed on 2018/07/11

Pros

Ease of use for office staff and guys on the road from their phones. Can access it anywhere with internet.

Cons

Nothing really is wrong with this systems it is all working pretty well for us and makes our live easy to get jobs sorted.

Samuel F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for field services

Reviewed on 2018/11/28

Pros

It is a great tool to grow your business. I am able to track my workers on the field at any time. I am able to save a lot of time processing paperwork.

Cons

You are not able to edit/ add to a published quote.

Jason B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Review

Reviewed on 2020/10/20

Pros

Easy too use flows well cheap links with xero

Cons

Support can sometimes be a little late in replying

Jay K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Review for Fergus

Reviewed on 2018/09/15

Keeping Job records, invoices etc all in one place. Easy to show others in our business how to use the program and helps assist in the understanding of our trade

Pros

the easy use and functionality of the program, the features available and how this easily links into our accounting software.

Cons

I find the calendar is not easy on the eye, the hours of the day extend past a regular working day and this can be frustrating when wanting to quickly schedule a job.
The app is slow and entering data isnt easy, can be very temperamental.
And that certificates are now an additional price instead of being part of a full user.

Jamie C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fergus is brilliant. Love it.

Reviewed on 2017/01/09

Fergus is the center of our business. We couldn't survive with out it. Love it, our business has completely changed because of it.

Pros

It touches all parts of our business in a single piece of software.

Cons

Cost, but worth it.

Nicola N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Time Saving Software

Reviewed on 2016/11/24

As our business has grown in size Fergus has helped us become more efficient. The guys have the information at their fingertips saving phone calls back to the office.
After working our way through other software Fergus is a great fit for our business

Pros

The ease of creating a job and adding supporting information. Then being able to assign multiple staff but at different times.

Cons

The way the discount is shown at the bottom of the quote or invoice instead of per line. Its a bit confusing for our end clients.

David S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

New systems

Reviewed on 2016/12/19

It was a big call to move from my previous job management system to Fergus!
I should have done it years earlier!
I could not possibly mention all the benefits I have found since moving to Fergus.
I am more organized, as is the office staff, and my on site tradesman.
The staff at Fergus have been excellent, easy to contact and deal with, always looking for ways to improve the system and seriously taking on board any suggestions or requests to make the system work for us, and our specific needs.
The systems talk well to our accountancy package, and it is great to have easy access to all areas of my business.
Having used and looked at other similar products available, I would have no hesitation in recommending Fergus to any trade based organization.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome

Reviewed on 2018/11/30

Finally seeing profits, allows you to see margins before approving invoices

Pros

How easy it was to use even for someone with little computer experience

Cons

Nothing.
Everything that Fergus software offers has improved the efficiency of running our business.

James E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software, highly reccomend

Reviewed on 2019/11/13

Pros

Very easy to use great training and customer care from the team

Cons

Sometimes it can be difficult to navigate

Posie J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

User friendly and good support

Reviewed on 2019/07/02

As mentioned, our previous software didn't allow us to do variations within one job, which then skewed our reporting and made invoicing a nightmare. With Fergus this is no longer an issue, freeing up more time to spend building our business.
Support was another of our big issues. The team at Fergus are friendly, helpful and available. We have been made to feel valued as a customer.
If you are looking at changing providers, at least give Fergus a call to see if they fit your business. We are glad we did!

Pros

Fergus is a User friendly software. Right from the start, from importing & transferring existing data, through to the day to day use. The initial training was great - targeting each area we needed assistance with, to ensure we get the most out of the system. The ongoing support is good with a useful help button directing us to documentation, as well as the helpdesk team and one-on-one with our CS Manager, when needed. Really friendly and approachable team.
Working within a Job is easy through the app or online . We enjoy the flexibility with quoting and invoicing - being able to present these in various formats for individual customers. The Status Board is useful as this gives an overall view of where all jobs are at. It's then easy to drill down into these for a deeper look.
Being able to do variations within a job has been invaluable to us - our previous software didn't allow this.

Cons

Fergus are pro-active in continuing to develop their software, and we appreciate that not every single thing we would like is available, but they do listen and send our requests through to their development team. One small thing is being able to charge out 'unpaid' time on a job, within timesheeting. We can work around this, but it's a bit clunky for us.
It would be good to have a quicker turnaround on the online support at times. However, after mentioning this, we have experienced a good improvement.

Michal L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Our positive experience with Fergus

Reviewed on 2019/05/31

Fergus have been very accommodating, their service is personal friendly and attentive. We have been with them from their early days and have watched them grow and develop, they take on board their client's feedback. Given the fact that we are dealing with a local company, as oppose to a large international company, as we have in the past, has meant that we can resolve issues more easily and faster. Unlike with previous companies, in Fergus, they actually do answer customer's calls, it feels more personal.

Pros

I love that I have every detail of each job file in one place, from the first call of a potential client, to the last invoiced, all the job history, ie correspondence between Us and the client or Us and a supplier or any account detail relating to the job. I really like that it is locally owned.

Cons

Our accountant struggles with certain aspects when needing to retrieve financial information and do reports. I personally wish that in order to show to and fro correspondence in any specific job, that I wouldn't have to copy and paste replies from Outlook back to Fergus. Keeping a paper trail is vital in our business.

Tom F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

builders review

Reviewed on 2018/11/14

Pros

the ease for my employees to use with time sheets and seeing what jobs they are allocated too. invoicing structure to jobs makes life easy.

Cons

I have a lot of builders using fergus to run there businesses, and all really enjoy it. the one thing we would all really like to have on fergus is Gantt chart system for us to run our jobs in. doesnt have to be to technical to start with but it would really benefit us in programming our jobs and passing onto clients. Id love you guys to have one as i currently have to pay for it through another company and it gets rather annoying and confusing.