42 reviews

Handbid

Auction management with native mobile bidding capabilities

4,8 /5 (42 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,8 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
98%
recommended this app
42 reviews
Sahil V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

It is the best software for events related to auctions.

Reviewed on 2018/07/30

Pros

So far i have used so many bidding apps but this is the best one among them.I am using this app from past few months you can bid from anywhere across the globe in this app.Its very convenient for the sellers or auction organisers as well.They can invite bunch of people to their auctions without doing any physical work and the user interface of this app is very attractive yet simple.

Cons

I haven't come across any serious issue so far but there should be a feature to invite those bidders which were active in our previous auctions.

Donna C.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Habitat Dream Builder's Ball

Reviewed on 2016/09/23

Habitat Susquehanna was first non-profit in Harford County, MD to try mobile bidding at its annual event. It was exciting for everyone (some were a little reticent, but those who ventured into the future LOVED it), we raised more money on our Silent Auction than ever before, and will use it for the 3rd year in 2017. Our second auction had a higher participation level including people who followed the auction online but did not attend the event. Uploading info took only as long as the size of the auction and back office help was responsive and helpful. I DO recommend having a Handbid rep at your event; it's worth it! Any snags were dealt with quickly and efficiently and a good time was had by all.

Pros

The software had a learning curve, for sure, but once you get the hang of it, it's very easy to follow. The 'bugs' from our first year were improved for our second year, and I am sure that this year will be our easiest yet. From the perspective of the guests, it was like playing a videogame at an event except it was acceptable to be staring at your phone!

Cons

The phone version requires guests to realize where/when to swipe in order to see the details of an auction item.

Ashlie W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Fountain of Youth in Auctions Found at Handbid

Reviewed on 2016/09/07

After years in event management, there is finally a platform that takes the details of revenue components and turns it into a user-friendly system. The back-end component is worth its weight in gold! We had two weeks to plan and execute an event on the brink of the tragedy in Dallas after July 7th and by using Handbid our goals were more than exceeded in revenue. Our bidders at the venue and around the world enjoyed the app, the game like feel of the bidding process, and the checkout process. NO MORE LINES or PAPER BIDDING!!

Pros

Ease of use for the management team as well as event guests.

Cons

We didn't find this software sooner.

Debbie M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Museums & Institutions
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Cost effective auction software!

Reviewed on 2016/09/22

We've used Handbid for 5 years now. It has grown leaps and bounds each year. Our event attendees love it as do we. Our only gripe is resizing photos is a pain - if they allowed you to edit the photos within the platform all would be perfect! It's made paper bidding sheets a thing of the past. Having our guests bid from their seats in the ballroom is awesome as the auction tables are out in the foyer.

Handbid's customer service rocks! We only have one auction a year, so they patiently retrain us before our annual event. I've looked at other options, but the combination of features and price wins us over each time.

Jason G.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

What did we ever do before Handbid?

Reviewed on 2016/10/06

Handbid is fantastic! Not only did it save us significant time and effort, but it boosted our auction revenue to record levels. This intuitive application was simple to set up and rich in functionality. Handbid's great technology is only rivaled by their commitment to customer service. They provided our team with the necessary tools before we even asked and their tech support was always available to help (even on weekends & after hours). Our only disappointment is having to wait until next year's Handbid auction!

Blanche K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Glamour & Glitz Auction 2016

Reviewed on 2016/09/19

We purchased handbid for our school annual dinner and auction. This tool was wonderful and the staff was remarkable. Our experience was so wonderful that we have renewed our contract purchased it for our next year event in Feb 2017.

Pros

Easy to use

Cons

Nothing

Jared H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great App and Service!

Reviewed on 2016/10/04

This was our first year using an online bidding service and it went great! The staff were very helpful and were always there to help get our auction set up and provide service all along the way. Our members really loved the app and we are looking forward to using them again next year!

Pros

The staff were great and always available to help answer questions. The app is also really easy to use and set up.

Cons

I wish they would build in a feature that can help first-time users navigate the app.

Hannah P.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Wonderful platform

Reviewed on 2016/10/04

I absolutely loved using Handbid! An incredibly user-friendly interface that made my silent auction run so smoothly. Customer service was also amazing and I would highly recommend using Handbid for your next silent auction.

Abby M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Experience--worked like a charm!

Reviewed on 2016/10/04

Once over a slight learning curve, this app was very easy to set up and use. Would highly recommend having plenty of on-hand materials to explain downloading the application.

Pros

Allowed for a stress and error free event.

Cons

Learning curve for setting it up and downloading for attendees.

Josh G.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

1st Annual Success

Reviewed on 2016/10/12

The entire process was seamless: from check-in, silent auction, live auction, paddle raise, wine pull and check-out. All I heard all night from our guests was, "Check-in was a breeze" and "this app is cool". If I had to find one thing about the app that I might change is to be able to assign a cork number to an actual person (maybe there is a way to do this already), but I have 10 bottles that I need to get the respective owner and I have no idea who they belong to. At the end of the day it doesn't matter really, but that would be a nicety.

Also, my event planner friend that helped us out that night commented about how nice the layout was and how easy to use the it was compared to others she had used before.

Pros

I liked the customizations that you could tweak. We didn't use this feature, but I really like the handbid TV option as well which allows your audience to see a live updated dashboard into what is going on during the night.

Virginia A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome, awesome, awesome!

Reviewed on 2016/09/19

The best part of using Handbid is the customer service. They are always readily available for questions, concerns or suggestions. Think what really impressed me was when we had an issue closing our auction late at night and contacted their customer service and was provided an answer immediately despite the hour.

Pros

User friendly. App based and web based. Live time updates.

Cons

Broadcast messages don't necessarily reach everyone who's viewed your auction (the "browsers") but only people who have checked in as "bidders". Also not a way to notify bidders directly from the app/web that have previously been active in your auctions about a new auction you are running.

Celina D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

It's Ok

Reviewed on 2019/07/23

Pros

I like that Handbid allows customization of auctions based on individual event needs. You can also customize the allowed time for bids to be entered, when the auction is over, etc.

Cons

I think overall the software is a bit confusing and not very easy to use, especially for customers. It carries out its purpose, it's just a bit confusing.

Amanda B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Best Silent Auction Product Available

Reviewed on 2016/10/04

After working with silent auctions for organizations as a volunteer and as a non-profit employee, I wished for a helpful and easy tech product to manage appealing item promotion, user friendly checkout and bidding. Handbid came to our rescue. Our guests now have fun with the bidding and are much more engaged in the auction, getting immediate positive feedback for their participation. As a result, income has doubled on most of our silent auctions in the year we have been Handbid users. This is a great investment for us and we plan to keep the product for many years to come. The support is great and the account managers get back to you anytime there is an issue. The CEO even came to visit us to say hi and to show us new upgrades coming out soon. Five star company all the way around.

Stephanie W.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

intuitive, tons of features, great customer service

Reviewed on 2018/02/27

Pros

HandBid has been fabulous for us thus far. The customer service has been quick with questions and support, the pricing is beyond reasonable, and the product has been simple to use, both internally and for our clients. I've used it as a bidder at other auctions and it was fantastic. The internal side has been easy to use and fully featured to meet all of our needs.

Brad H.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great tool for schools and nonprofit events

Reviewed on 2016/10/07

We have run 2 gala events and a golf tournament with Handbid. It had a tremendous impact on our overall returns. Plus, the app is extremely easy to teach and use. We found that for our second and third events, it got even easier, since most of our parents already had Handbid on their phones, knew how to use it, etc. Finally, this tool was great because it allowed distant relatives and friends to participate in the auction. This made the event more fun, expanded our universe of bidders, and ultimately drove up bid prices on many of our items.

David B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great looking auction

Reviewed on 2018/08/07

Work great and everyone was able to bid.

Pros

This software looks really good and modern. Its a little harder to learn but once you have the hang of it. its really powerful and you can do a lot with it. I love you can steam the stats for everyone to see at your event. has lots of options to customize your auction. Has great customer service

Cons

I with you had more control over the pictures to be able to resize the in the program. That's my only con of this great software and its easy fix with bulk resizing software.

Drew V.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Handbid - Your Fundraising Partner!

Reviewed on 2016/10/06

I conduct an annual golf tournament as a fundraiser, and needed a tool to take my silent auction to another level. Handbid's features and functionality, as well as support, were second to none. I loved using, as did the participants. Great tool, give it try!

Pros

Features and functionality, and customer service

Cons

Pricing...with only one event per year, would like to see pricing per event model.

Tyler M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Handbid Review

Reviewed on 2016/10/04

Handbid really allowed us to get maximum value for our auction items. It created a buzz around the building and it also allowed everyone to participate, even if they couldn't be there in person.

Gina S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

KidsPeace loves Handbid

Reviewed on 2016/09/21

It was very easy to set up our auction! It looked professional and folks enjoyed using it. Diana gave excellent on-site support. Everyone we worked with from Handbid was very helpful!

Pros

Check out was a breeze!!!

Jeanine M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Digital Auction Software

Reviewed on 2020/09/07

Handbid has allowed us to take our auction online. But I'm not sure we couldn't have done the same thing via FB Marketplace.

Pros

We used this software because they are partners with MobileCause. So that was what we liked most. They supposedly worked seamlessly with our fundraising software.

Cons

We have been underwhelmed with the partnership between the two and the general ease of use of Handbid. Customer service is slow, if they answer you at all. Our users find the software clunky and slow. With COVID, we have had to our auction and event completely virtual and Handbid was not ready for that transition. This was our first year with MobileCause, so we learned that brand new software--then we had to turn around and learn a brand new software program with Handbid. We are a small nonprofit, so it was pretty overwhelming.

Allison M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Our First Auction with Handbid

Reviewed on 2016/10/04

After doing a lot of research with a number of companies, our school purchased Handbid for our 2016 school gala and auction. We had an excellent experience with a lot of good feedback from guests who attended the gala and others who bid from a remote location. We enjoyed the process of building the app for our gala and received prompt replies from our account manager when we had questions. One recommendation we hope Handbid will consider is a process to generate an auction booklet from the app. With more than 100 items listed at our event, it would have been a huge time saver to have this capability on the back end. We look forward to using Handbid again during the current school year.

Pros

The ease of use when building our event.

Cons

We had a few bumps along the way but were typically able to get the help with needed from Handbid.

Lekeshia F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Handbid

Reviewed on 2019/12/10

We love Handbid and usually run anywhere from 50-75 items on it three times a year for our event which gets viewed nationally using Handbid.

Pros

This is used for our event silent auction and runs 3 week prior to the event as well as used the night of the event for our live auction. We love the ease of setting up the items as well as for the bidders the process all the way through is very smooth.

Cons

We don't have any cons using this and love the feasibility of having everything on line versus in the past at the event on clipboards.

Jacqueline M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Working with Handbid is such a pleasant experience!

Reviewed on 2016/10/12

Working in the event industry, I have had the opportunity to work with multiple auction software companies. Working with Handbid has been the best experience, by far! The application was extremely easy to configure and their customer service team was there every step of the way to answer any questions we had.

Our staff and volunteers were able to make edits and updates quite quickly and more importantly our attendees were able to sign up, check-in, check-out, and bid with ease.

We loved the features handbid provided like being able to send alerts through out the event to promote an item/encourage an attendee to visit a specific area of the auction. This allowed us to ensure our auction got the exposure it needed without interrupting the event experience for the guests.

I would highly recommend Handbid! We will continue to use them for all of our future events and look forward to the same success.

Tamara A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Wonderful Experience!

Reviewed on 2016/09/14

We were slightly hesitant to move our auction activity to a mobile app, worried that our guests might have issues learning the new platform. We were completely wrong! Jeff and his team provided great support from our setup through our post-event work. The platform is very easy to use from the management side and from the user side. Our staff and volunteers had no problems learning how to manage the app for registration or bid input. Plus, the app looks great! Guests had fun bidding, enjoyed the interface, and appreciated that they could move around and keep tabs on their items. We will definitely be using Handbid for our future events!

Pros

Easy item and bidder input, mass uploads; Aesthetically fun; options for notifications or not for user; ease of event reports; timer for end of auction

Jen S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Handbid for Silent Auction

Reviewed on 2016/09/23

Transitioned from writing bids on bid sheets to Handbid, and had tremendous success. Our guests had a lot of fun with it and our revenue doubled the first year and tripled the second. Allowed our guests to engage in the live auction and silent (via their mobile devices) concurrently. I would highly recommend opening up the silent auction five days before, and working to get your guests up and bidding early and often! Thumbs up to Handbid and special shout out to the customer service team for the great support and training.