Showing 64 reviews of 52

Halo

Supply chain analytics and business intelligence platform

4,5 /5 (52 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,5 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
92%
recommended this app
Showing 64 reviews of 52
T. eric E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Halo has unlocked the data from the Dynamics AX safe

Reviewed on 2016/11/17

Prior to having a BI solution we were like many other companies I am sure. Exporting data straight from our ERP system into mostly Excel based reports. This was not only time consuming but also led to many errors in reporting, often having more than one version of the truth. That is why we decided to explore what our options were with BI. During our evaluation of many different BI vendors/software we quickly saw Halo rise above the rest. Halo Source is everything you need from a data warehouse, and cube creation perspective. On top of that, it is using full Microsoft based technology which makes the learning curve extremely fast, even for those non-developers. A deciding factor for Halo was the data quality module. Everyone has some form of dirty data, but Halo has a solution for that. It was the only company that offered this sort of feature and was a major reason we selected Halo as our business intelligence solution. You absolutely do not need to know how to write SQL to spin up your own data warehouse and cubes for use with Halo Prism. On the topic of Prism it is very streamlined visualization tool. Drag and drop with as many visual options as you would need. Prism has allowed us to gain insight into our data that we have struggled see. We truly believe that this will be one our most successfully projects that has the largest impact since our ERP implementation, and even then this is really the icing on the cake for our complete ERP suite.

Pros

Support from the point of sale and beyond. I have never been sold a product where the vendor kept constant contact even after the sale and install. Halo truly cares about their customers and their product, and we look forward to a long successful relationship with them.
Prism is extremely user friendly, drag and drop measures and dimensions to quickly and easily answer questions about your business.
Only software/solution to address data quality as a key part of the ETL process.
Solution experts who really know my business and our ERP system.
Training was exceptional.
Prebuilt templates to address industry specific needs.

Cons

Wish we could have moved forward with our BI approval faster. This was on us not Halo we just were not sure as a Business what we wanted. But once we had our demo it was clear Halo was our top choice. Power BI put a wrench in this process giving pause from our Executives, but once I tried to replicate some reports in Power BI and saw how large the learning curve was and that it did not include the foundation of any BI solution (a data warehouse) Halo again was where we turned.

Claudine T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Halo is the wasy to go!

Reviewed on 2021/02/23

HALO is a very good product and I wish our organization never switched to something else. The only reason we switched is because the company running our department is not affiliated with Halo and they have their own product.

Pros

We have multiple hospitals in our organization. I like that each individual hospital has it's own programmable screens so no sharing is required.

Cons

This is a very good product. I did not have any issues with it.

Jon B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Limited BI Tool

Reviewed on 2017/11/08

Great for a small companies making their first step into BI but maybe will be quickly outgrown, avoid if a mid to larger size company.

Pros

- Simple BI Toll great for small companies or simple requirements
- Fair price point for services provided

Cons

- Limited customization
- Challenging Integration to other systems
- "You get what you pay for" is true with functionality vs. pricing

Vamsi D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great tool and Excellent customer support

Reviewed on 2020/01/23

Pros

It's reliable and easy to use. Drag and drop interface makes it easier for users. It has a number of source connectors to pull the data from. Customer support is unmatched.

Cons

The installation process needs to be more simple.

Bill W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use and well supported.

Reviewed on 2018/06/27

Pros

The broad range of connectors, and the functionality and flexibility of the product make it great fit for our company needs. The template database makes it easy to build dashboards by incorporating best practice measures by area of business.

Cons

On-premise only means cloud data sources must be replicated or partially extracted locally for inclusion.

Steve K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

HALO Review

Reviewed on 2016/09/08

As I don't have the kills in-house to complete a lot of the work currently, we've been leveraging the skills of the Darren. Darren is great at understanding what we're asking, and also looking at the bigger picture and offering options for things we hadn't even considered.

Moving forward, we'd eventually like to have training for myself and Lauren so we can start to do more of this work ourselves

Pros

It is a tool we've never had before within the company
Once understood, easy to use the date to see what we want to see
Graphical interface
Good update schedule each year

Cons

Speed of some views (however this is related to our server resource)
There are a lot of features for HALO, however we're only scratching the surface with this

Response from Halo

Thank you, Steve!

Wilhelm E.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My Experience thus far

Reviewed on 2017/01/10

From the start of training to support afterward, I've been completely impressed. This product is honestly amazing. I have never seen a company provide the level of support with the almost instant response times from their support team. Not to mention the politeness and knowledge provided. Halo truly provides more than they advertise.

Pros

Ease of use - once you get into using it, you get hooked on what can be done.
Security - as an administrator I decide who sees what and at what level.
Prebuilt to my needs - haven't found what it can't do yet or what the great support team can't help us with.

Cons

What do I like least about this product. Well nothing so far. The only limitation when creating a View is your imagination.

Eric F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

First foray into BI

Reviewed on 2019/12/03

Good middle market platform with good support and training

Pros

Email functionality and cost effectiveness

Cons

Cost of licenses for power users and lack of intuitiveness as self-service platform

Jake T.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A must-have BI product.

Reviewed on 2016/03/31

Pros

Friendly and knowledgeable.
Always response to your support request quickly.
It's easy to use and easy your work.

Cons

Depends on Web Browser version. However, it's acceptable.

Lindsay K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome product!

Reviewed on 2017/05/09

Pros

It is easy to navigate and drill up or down to get information. This is a very powerful tool and allows the user to look at information in various different ways that would have taken much longer to put together manually.

Cons

So far, everything is working out great. We just need to get more data cubes added so that we can analyze additional aspects of the business.

Faisal H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Renewables & Environment
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Outstanding software

Reviewed on 2019/07/31

Pros

Halo is one software you need to complete optimize your business. It's data report are simple to understand.

Cons

It may be a little bit difficult using the software at the beginning, but with practice it begins to make sense.

Marcos M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Halo has a simple and intuitive interface for the end user.

Reviewed on 2017/05/09

It has several pre-built connectors, which made it much easier to obtain the data of the systems used by our operation.

Pros

It has a great training team, which allows quick implementation with results with less cost and time.

Adriana R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Halo BI Prism Training and Support Staff Help

Reviewed on 2016/03/30

Pros

I enjoyed the interactive class that was incredibly informative giving me insight into the exact material I needed to learn.

Cons

I do not have any issues with this program. It is very helpful!

Alicia C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Halo makes it easy for use to find to measure performance and find trends.

Reviewed on 2018/05/03

Halo software and support is great, gives you a good sense of understanding the concepts and functionality. I love it's flexibility and easy to use.

Pros

This software is fast, smarter, and helps our business organize data. No matter how unrefined our data is, this software was created for the purpose to stay organize and track trends that helps companies make faster and smarter decisions.

Cons

Halo offers limited customization. It can be a bit challenging using the integration to other systems. Not user friendly for sync integration. If you pay lower price, then you will get what you paid for it's true functionality.

Response from Halo

Thank you, Alicia! Please let us know if we can assist with your customization requirements.

Sincerely,

The Halo Team

Grant B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Using Prism for sales, sampling and stock reporting

Reviewed on 2016/08/25

Pros

Prism software is easy to use, simple to customise and change reports, data can be taken from multiple sources, reports can be distributed automatically. There are regular enhancements to the product. Halo keep me well informed about new features. Support for modifications is generally prompt.

Cons

No major complaints. A simpler way to email reports or choose specific data from reports and print to PDF or email would be good. Reports with quite a few calculated field can be slow to run. The report updates after every change you make - perhaps might be useful at times to be able to make several changes and then have it update.

Cindy H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Halo as a great business tool

Reviewed on 2017/05/09

The Halo team was great to work with and provided superb customer support. We were able to do a quick implementation and were up and running quickly for our leadership team.

Pros

I like the fact that the information provided is in an easy to understand format and you can quickly see if there is a business metric that needs to be investigated. Halo is easy for the leadership team to use and to do their own quick drill downs without having to ask IT for assistance. It is very intuitive. We view BI as a resource to point management to what to focus on and Halo provides an excellent tool to accomplish this.

Cons

There really are no cons. I find it a bit distracting the way we get pop up boxes when navigating the mouse over the charts, but that is a minor thing.

Odhran M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very happy with Halo

Reviewed on 2016/08/21

Pros

Very good balance between usability and functionality
Relatively simple for business analysts and computer literate users to "own" the cube side of things
Very easy for people with low/medium computer skills to analyse the data (presentation side of things)

Cons

I have nothing negative to say about either Halo Source or Halo Prism

Mark G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very Powerful tool - Highly recommended

Reviewed on 2016/03/24

Pros

It takes a lot of the grunt work out of the ETL process when creating data cubes and a data warehouse. The program lets you pull in data from multiple sources and easily transform it without any knowledge of SSIS or Data Analysis. The front end prism product is easy to learn and offers many options for presenting you data in dashboards and reports. The product is also self documenting which is a major time saver.

Cons

It does require the developer to have a good knowledge of the source data and how it relates. Would be nice if it had more templates for pulling data from ERP systems like Dynamics AX. It does come with some.

Ifeanyi O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Useful

Reviewed on 2019/05/25

Pros

This software has a lot of nice features. The presentation of data is unique and easy to understand.

Cons

You may need to be training to use it, not so easy to use.

Rajat W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Data Analysis and Data Visualization Platform

Reviewed on 2018/12/14

Pros

Great platform for data analysis and generating value out of data by creating dashboards. It also helps to plan supply chain management.

Cons

Stiff competition from other similar software's in the market. Sometime crashes out of the blue without any reason.

Jason V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Railroad Manufacture
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Halo Is a Good BI Tool for Not Needing High Skilled Front-End Users

Reviewed on 2019/06/19

We are spinning up cubes left and right to get at the data under JDE. We had no analytics/bi department prior to Halo. Now we are acting like a very advanced department with many subject areas being deployed each month. In just 6 months time, I now have Inventory, Account Ledger, Open Orders, and other things visualized and refreshing automatically everyday. Super excited about the future with this tool.

Pros

I like the flexibility it puts in the hands of the front end users. There is very little development time needed to "format charts" to be color schemes or certain column headers, etc. A front-end user can take on all that work in this tool. The main development is in building the cube and creating definitions on the backend for the facts, measures, and dimensions. Once that is done, the tool takes care of itself. I've used QlikView and Tabelau and Halo provides a nice consistent way of easy spin-up.

Cons

There is a steep learning curve in the beginning on all the settings associated with cubes, understanding processing order of operations, etc. Once you get a feel for that, things come together nicely. One major downfall is that everything "must" be in a cube with a time dimension. However, if you have non-time dimensional data you could just 'fake it', so it isn't a problem that can't be overcome. If you are used to using QlikView or something, where you can just load a dataset, you'll need to adapt to understand to use the front-end of Halo it needs to be in cube form.