Showing 142 reviews of 128

OpenCart

Open source e-commerce platform for selling online

4,3 /5 (128 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,3 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
83%
recommended this app
Showing 142 reviews of 128
Aris G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

OpenCart is the easy option for e-commerce solutions

Reviewed on 2021/01/03

We use OpenCart for retail stores as well as wholesale (B2B) stores. Using the native functionality and OCMOD we can make OpenCart behave like a Swiss Army knife, from Retail store to Wholesale store. This is buying as a lot of time, because choosing another platform or writing a new one for the purpose of a wholesale store would be time consuming, and let's not talk about the time that customers will need to adjust the get trained to use their wholesale store on top of the retail store. So, using the same technology and habits of coding functionality and the same User Experience and User Interface buys us a lot of time of development, training and setting up.

Pros

As a developer, I like the Model-View-Controller design pattern, it's easy to seperate things and understand the code, as well as reuse different controllers or models through the development of new extensions, as a result it's easy to make what it looks like native extensions, without breaking the software functionality if you follow the coding standards already used by the OpenCart developers. I think that the OCMOD system is the most intelligent way to extend OpenCart's functionality and I admire the developer who invented it. As for the UI, it's easy to use because all sections are seperated and grouped on the left column menu. Moving from other platforms to Opencart or moving from older OpenCart versions to newers is very easy especially from v2 to v3. From a user's point of view, OpenCart is like using an app, it's that easy. Labels and hints make it easier for new users to adapt as well as new customers to buy.

Cons

Even though OpenCart is stable since the beginning, I think we need more functionality that other platforms are having and would be nice if we could move them to OpenCart too. Not major functionality, but different minor things that will improve the workflow of an e-commerce owner, such as a summary page that will show products missing images, products with broken images, categories with no products, products with no descriptions or products missing translations etc. I think in the era of Javascript it would be nice if we could convert some pages that the administrator spends a lot of time to AJAX functionality or even Single Page Application so that we can make more and massively in less time. Although, that would break some 3rd party extensions obviously.

Petrus V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

OpenCart the way to go

Reviewed on 2019/04/17

I have had a tremendous experience... I can build my website the way I want, and once I pay for a OpenCart plugin, or theme, I add it to my box of tools that I can permanently use on any of my other sites.

The initial setup can be a little daunting, but once you've built your first site, it's fantastic.

The plugins and themes are very well priced, and the support is great.

OpenCart have addressed previous security flaws in their software, and https://www.tinfoilsecurity.com/ scanned my site and gave it a clean bill of health.

I recommend the 'Pavilion - Responsive OpenCart Theme by ThemeBurn | ThemeForest' as you do not need to know how to write a single line of code. It's responsive (re scales automatically) , so you do not have to worry about how it will look on a pc or mobile phone, and you can do almost anything you can think off. Granted that there is a HUGE learning curve, but it gets better as you learn how to work with the theme.

Pros

You control everything, and you can find plugins to add functionality you do not have... It is great if you want full control, and I have never found there is something I want that I cannot do without a plugin or a tweak here and there.

Support is great and often the developers who create the plugins will help you install the plugin for free after you buy it. They normally even do small tweaks for free, and add extra functionality at a minimal cost.

Yes, there are many ready built eCommerce platforms like shopify and squarspace, but you will have to pay a monthly hosting fee, including monthly plugin rental. If I could buy a plugin once off on shopify, I would perhaps reconsider, but most plugins are rental only. Shopify has a lot of features, but it does not have everything most people need. So you going to end up renting a lot of extra plugins. Take 10 different plugins on shopify, at a monthly cost of approx $20 each, and you 're going to pay $200 on top of your shopify costs. It all adds up.

Bottom line, if you do not mind a learning curve, and you want to keep costs down in the long run, along with full control, OpenCart is the way to go!

Cons

Like most software, there is a learning curve. It can be painful all at once, but the more you use OpenCart, the better it gets.

Danny D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Want to open basic ecommerce platform qucikly?

Reviewed on 2019/01/14

Pros

If you have even a modicum of coding knowledge and want to launch an ecommerce platform in a short amount of time, Open Cart is a great base for beginners. As a coder I prefer writing custom ecommerce platforms. But, some clients don't want to spend the time or money waiting for a custom platform. Thise customers get Open Cart. Plain and simple, this software is my go to base to help clients launch their store in the most time and cost effective manner.

Cons

Installing updates is a bit of a challenge. I recommend waiting a few months after each software update so their coders can work out any bugs and connectivity issues.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Decent self-hosted e-commerce solution for small shops

Reviewed on 2019/01/28

For a basic e-commerce website for a small shop, OpenCart can be a decent solution for self-hosted. Clients are always happy with the easy to use administration and find intuitive. As a developer, its been fairly easy to modify code. I typically recommend other software over OpenCart, but overall it's a decent platform to start out with.

Pros

Website administration is easy-to-use and non-technical clients can easily find what they need. Great basic set of features making setup of website fairly easy to get going. And of course the best part of OpenCart, it's free to use as open-source software.

Cons

Extensive customization can get costly with extensions. Some security issues with some of the extensions, so choose wisely. Outdated templates/themes. Not a good choice for larger shops as it will slow down considerably.

Anand R.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Simple eCommerce Script

Reviewed on 2018/03/07

Pros

I am running a successful store using opencart from past 5 years, extra modules can be easily installed using vqmod.

Cons

I am on 1.5 and struggling to get my data on 3.0. I wish there could have been a easy way of upgrade from 1.5 to 3.0

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Manage OpenCart as per your requirements.

Reviewed on 2019/05/11

Pros

1. OpenCart provide you complete environment to manage your products.
2. You can customize OpenCart as per your requirement.
3. You can edit OpenCart functionality if you have good web development skills .
4. Product listing , creation of product details , adding captions is easy.
5. Disable product , enable product is great features.
6. It has complete shopping cart features.

Cons

Customization of OpenCart is required web development skills .

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Open Source CMS

Reviewed on 2019/11/12

open cart is great as it is free i.e open source and is growing its business more and more with the passage of time and is always highly recommended for the beginners who wish to start their own E-Commerce business.

Pros

Open Cart is an open source content management system. The development of the websites is an easy task using open cart. It is best for the development of E-Commerce websites.
These type of organization is best for medium-sized E-commercer sites. It is improving itself more and more and many users are adopting it.

Cons

It is for the medium sized users and hence it is light weight. These does not allow the search engine optimization at the next level. It also does not support full functionality in inventory.

Djohn T.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A solid engine for creating online stores

Reviewed on 2018/02/15

Pros

This is a great free engine, which you can understand without knowing the programming languages. Convenient, and most importantly clear interface, easy installation, a lot of training materials. Great program for creating an online store.

Cons

Many of my colleagues complain that it is impossible to work with OpenCart without having a programmer on the team. But I do not agree with this!

Peter M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Rapid implementation and a lot of optional modules

Reviewed on 2017/09/15

Pros

OpenCart is very easy to deploy and includes a lot of great features out of the box. There is a great number of additional plugins available via the marketplace to extend this functionality.

Cons

Very few cons in regard to the purpose we have selected OpenCart for. Email handling could be improved to avoid potential spam ratings, etc for the system.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Excellent for a start up e-commerce store

Reviewed on 2019/01/06

Pros

Open cart is a great cms /e-commerce application for a quick online store set up. The back end is easy to learn and has all the functionality one requires to operate a profitable online store.

Cons

Customisation is not straight forward as far as creating your own themes and store designs. The application comes fit with great templates that can be used in the interim.

Shirley B.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

OpenCart - simple and convenient CMS

Reviewed on 2018/02/17

Pros

If you are creating your online store, then, in my opinion, OpenCart is a convenient and simple platform for these needs. A simple store can be created in just 10 minutes, you will only have to add the goods and all. What you like, is the speed of the sites on this engine. Pages open instantly, the goods are loaded very quickly and conveniently.

Cons

I had problems only with the addition of pictures of goods. Rather, it was not a problem, but just an inconvenience, since the images had to be added to the server first.

Rosalinda H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simple operation

Reviewed on 2020/01/29

Pros

I like that the admin panel is as simple as possible. I develop html pages in Sublime Text and just transfer them to the hosting like regular files. No additional parameters are required.

Cons

By default, the engine creates copies of pages. This negatively affects SEO promotion. Our company receives traffic to pages from social networks and the main site, but I would never do a page on OpenCart if I needed organic traffic.

Vegard W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Free and easy ecommerce with lightweight muscles!

Reviewed on 2016/12/10

It's open source and free, so anyone can be up and running with this lightweight champion of an ecommerce. If you're a beginner or a startup looking for an effective ecommerce solution that will sell both physical and digital goods, this is it.

My first ecommerce venture scaled with this solution and was easy for my first employee to learn fast and very easy to maintain, even security updates are now hassle free!

You got a few dollars for hosting and you can install this great piece of software.

Pros

Easy, intuitive and mostly problem free (just minimise usage of external plugins).

Cons

Not scalable for professional use (we're talking millions of dollars yearly sales). To simple code that could be problematic to scale for serious businesses looking for "metrics" and ways to "show" them more effectively. Go for other software or similar if already big, but start with OpenCart if your business is currently small.

James H.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

For me this is the one for selling online.

Reviewed on 2016/12/14

I have been an opencart user for over 5 years, almost 85% of the online store I build for are using opencart. I love everything about opencart, it has all the features you need by default and it is affordable to extend with plugins and extensions. I love the system code layout, it is easy to learn and modify. If you want to build an online store this should be on your top list of consideration if you're looking for speed, security, and easy learning curve.

Pros

Everything you need to build any type of e-commerce website.
Affordable plugins and extensions
I find it has great security
So many free / paid plugins and extensions to choose from

Cons

The update from version to version could be better streamlined
The v2 and v3 admin layout could be better, it can be confusing due to changes made to modules section and theme management.
Needs to use a better WYSIWYG for admin, it is so limited

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

OpenCart has provides a robust e-commerce solution!

Reviewed on 2018/07/12

Being able to build an e-commerce store with only limited knowledge in web design/development

Pros

OpenCart allows you to build an ecommerce store for your website in a simple fashion. There are set themes and templates available for you to choose from and then start adding content where prompted.

Cons

We have found limitations with the platform, for example when structuring a website. We've wanted to change a product structure for a client but there is a flaw in open cart which hasn't allowed this.

Will P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

It works but ....

Reviewed on 2020/03/03

Pros

how easy it is to install, configure and get around

Cons

The fact that you often hae to go play in the php coding

Moaz T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Probable the most easy to set up ecommerce solution

Reviewed on 2019/02/06

Pros

The best way to describe OpenCart would be, simple yet feature rich. OpenCart has been my go to solution for medium level ecommerce sites. Development is fairly flexible and the overall experience is tidy. Unlike some other ecommerce solution, OpenCart don't over complicate things.

Cons

VQMod is the only part of project i don't like. Never got comfortable working with it so would love to see an alternative to that.

Rafeeque C.
Overall rating
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Easy to use and user friendly

Reviewed on 2018/03/20

Pros

Drag and drop no need any kind of programing skill or professional experience we can deployed any kind e-commerce website as per ours requirements using opencart

Cons

Open source easy to deploy not much technically or progmeer skill required to operated or implementation

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Ecommerce with a lot of Custom Coding

Reviewed on 2018/12/10

Pros

The possibilities are endless, if you have a developer on your team.

Cons

You need a developer to get custom reports and do most things under the hood.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

A decent choice but not

Reviewed on 2018/05/03

Pros

Easy installation.
Easy management of products.
Very good use of multi language and multi currency.

Cons

Difficult to update, keeps having problems that take time to sort out.
Not so many good plugins, usually expensive and not updated very often.

Paul U.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

OpenCart: Easy setup

Reviewed on 2018/08/20

Opencart has made it easy for me to setup multiple eCommerce stores in a very short time.

Pros

Opencart is very easy to setup and configure, setting up a shop has never been easier and the newer version doesn't break, less bugs to worry about and no need to have coding experience.

Cons

Building themes and plugins are very technical. In-depth knowledge of twig and MVC is required which is very technical.

Florin P.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Hard to control and to update

Reviewed on 2018/02/28

Pros

A bit more custom software interaction than woocommerce, really great forum support. Good team, a product to be monitored in the future

Cons

Really hard to update from one big version to another, hard to extract all the products from the store and migrate to another, in earlier versions the linking system was a mess

Waseem S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Great open source eCommerce software

Reviewed on 2016/11/11

OpenCart is one of the top eCommerce software providers in the market and with it being open source is a great bonus. Plenty of features and a great backend make it choice that should definitely be considered.

Harpaul S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Get your E commerce Website running in minutes

Reviewed on 2018/06/06

Pros

Open Cart lets you create you online store within minutes. Many theme and customizations are available, that lets you adjust the store to meet your needs.

Cons

Open source support and help is less available as compared to its competitors Woo commerce or Magento . Some complex customization may need more effort

R d F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

opencart

Reviewed on 2018/10/16

So far no problems at this writing.

Pros

I Like open cart so easy to purchase and rec products with this e-commerce system

Cons

So far there have not been any problems with this system.