10 reviews

Liberty

Knowledge, content & library management solution

4,8 /5 (10 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,8 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
100%
recommended this app
10 reviews
Steven C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good value library management system

Reviewed on 2021/03/22

The ability to manage digital objects is very important. Overall, a very polished system for a cost effective solution. Having the system administered by good technical staff in a hosted environment is a great trouble free way to go.

Pros

The product was mainly easy to use. The developers were constantly updating the features. Each release was bite size, and good to keep up with. I liked the ability to customise each bib type or template. The ability to embed pdf files in the catalogue record was really useful as the world goes with digital objects.

Cons

The lack of integration of authorities with bibliographic records meant that keeping a clean database was more time consuming than it should. There is a real lack of efficiency in this area.

Response from Softlink Information Centres

Hello Steve,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled you continue to enjoy the advantages of using Liberty and our hosting service.

We will continue to find ways to make Liberty even better and easier to use with every version release.

Kind Regards,

The Softlink IC Team

Eric G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Liberty is the total pakcage

Reviewed on 2019/08/20

Pros

It has the ability to be tailored to specific information needs. Liberty is our institutional repository of journal articles (we publish two journals), books, papers, and website information. The Liberty home page provides quick reference to most used information along with quick reference to additional resources. Library users (our members) consider the library to be their major member benefit because of the usefulness of the catalog which is due to the capabilities of Liberty.

Cons

I would like to have a full MARC editor. The resource records are very powerful and have great functionality; but there are times that a would like to be able to edit the MARC record directly.

Response from Softlink Information Centres

Hello Eric,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Liberty.

Your positive comments on Liberty and how it helps you to provide a great service to your users is wonderful to hear. That the Lum Library is considered by your users to be "their major benefit" must make you feel very proud!

While Liberty does include full MARC Cataloguing and a MARC editor screen we understand that to complete some local authority changes you were able to so via the applicable option in Resources.

We look forward to continuing our relationship with you and once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback.

Kind Regards,

The Softlink Team.

Julie K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Libraries
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

CATALOGUING

Reviewed on 2020/02/26

The college is new to this system.
Circulation is manually done for 53 years back.
Currently the cataloguing of books are in progress and this system will make it lot easier for staff and students to get accessible to the materials

Pros

The features are friendly usable.
Makes the cataloguing a lot more easy

Cons

I need more clarification on z-cataloguing

Response from Softlink Information Centres

Hello Julie,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experiences with Liberty. It is appreciated.

We are delighted you are finding Liberty to be user-friendly particularly when you have a significant cataloguing requirement!

I will ask one of our great Support team members to assist you with your Z-Cataloguing queries.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review.

The Softlink Information Centres team.

Hoina R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Reliable Library Management software

Reviewed on 2020/10/15

Liberty is integrating other useful software to enhance innovative services through one-stop-service or all-in-one service which is interesting but this comes with a separate price and we often can not pay. Liberty itself is excellent product and the support service is awesome.

Pros

Management functions, Circulation module, cataloguing module and all help tips, very helpful.

Cons

Some times when we try to update some functions and search for the specific parameters, they are found. Otherwise, all is excellent.

Response from Softlink Information Centres

Dear Hoina, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of Liberty. It is wonderful to hear you find Liberty to be an excellent library management system.

Our Support team members are awesome aren't they! Softlink IC is proud of them all. We will most certainly pass on your high praise to them.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write the review. We look forward to continuing the great relationship we have with you and your team well into the future.

The Softlink Team

Paul J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to understand and User Friendly

Reviewed on 2019/10/01

A keen supporter of liberty and organize user workshops in PNG. Encourage institutions to buy the product as it is user friendly and good support services.

Pros

Makes cataloguing very easy with images
Circulation and Check Out and Check In of Items
Patrons Files with Images

Cons

Please I need to do more of Z Cataloguing, can do cataloguing but not importing the bibliographical details from online. A fair bit of understanding.
Also the system management / default items, etc.
Problems of basic synchronising , etc.

Response from Softlink Information Centres

Hello Paul,

Thanks so much for your review.

Liberty can do all of the functionality you mentioned. I will get a Support Team member to contact you shortly to assist you.

Kind Regards,

The Softlink Team.

Eve M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product

Reviewed on 2019/11/23

We use Liberty for our member portal where we store meeting documents, research papers, project updates, presentations, webinars, team bios and other information of use to our members all with user security due to confidentiality of material.

Pros

Easy to set up, manage, customise, use and the support is excellent.

Cons

Can not think of a thing really. Like the customisation.

Response from Softlink Information Centres

Hi Eve,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Liberty.

We are thrilled to hear how well it meets all of your needs so well and that our wonderful Support team is so highly thought of.

We look forward to a long and happy partnership with you and all of your users!

Once again thank you,

The Softlink Team.

Enya-marie C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent customer support

Reviewed on 2019/11/15

Pros

I've received excellent support from Softlink that has been invaluable in learning how to use the system and navigating any software issues we have had.

Cons

It can be difficult to navigate at first but the training videos and reference manual are comprehensive and user-friendly.

Response from Softlink Information Centres

Hello Enya-Marie,

Thank you for taking the time to review Liberty.

It is great to know that you are finding all the training and information resources to be comprehensive and helpful.

We will certainly pass on your high praise to all the members of our Support Team. Like you, we think they are great!

We hope you enjoy using Liberty for many years to come, and once again, thank you.

The Softlink IC Team

Jennifer B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Reliable, with all the functionality I need

Reviewed on 2020/05/12

Liberty helps me efficiently maintain, promote and circulate our collection. Softlink is a trusted partner.

Pros

Liberty is a solid tool. It does everything we need it to do. I use OPAC, Cataloging and Circulation. The OPAC is attractive and easy for users to navigate. Cataloging is straightforward and efficient; I import MARC records and edit them for our catalog. Circulation is quick and easy too. Above all, tech support is superb - they are friendly, knowledgeable, and responsive.

Cons

I create statistical reports every month and I wish I didn't have to re-enter the dates for each metric I am checking. Also, Liberty is set up to work well with bar codes, but we don't bar code our collection so we have to key in circulation data. (That is not really Liberty's fault though!)

Response from Softlink Information Centres

Hello Jennifer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Liberty.

We are delighted you find the functionality and performance of our library management system fulfils your requirements so well.

Thank you for your endorsement of our Support team. We are proud of our support record and, like you, think our team is superb!

Your review will be shared with the Softlink team and once again, thank you.

David O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Liberty review

Reviewed on 2019/07/30

A couple of years ago we were encouraged to upgrade from Softlink's Oliver product which was more for schools, to Liberty. It's very similar but is more appropriate for us. I really like the product and I think the customer support service is first rate. I attend their annual user group conference/meeting and this is also a great way to learn about upgrades past, present and planned. And it is great to be able to give direct feedback to Softlink staff about the product and give them ideas for changes or improvements to the functionality. They note these down and do investigate and look to implement where possible.

Pros

Lots of functionality and looks good on screen. Lots of help available through the online manual and Softlink support (people) is really responsive and helpful.

Cons

Sometimes it can be a little non-intuitive. Or perhaps that's just me!

Response from Softlink Information Centres

Hello David,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Liberty and for your positive comments. We are especially happy to read your great comments about our Support Team - they are one of our greatest assets!

Thank you for the constructive feedback. It has been passed on to our Support team.

Once again David, thank you for taking the time to write your review, it is appreciated.

Softlink Information Centers

Sian D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Client support is unmatched

Reviewed on 2019/08/06

Pros

Liberty is a versatile LMS with a lot of customisation options, most of which are accessible to your average competent computer user. Administrator level gives very high levels of control (v granular security too, for other users), in a pretty straightforward way for most purposes.

Mostly I love the support team. I can spend ages trying to figure something out, or i can contact them and get detailed instructions same-day, usually very quickly. So you don't need to be an expert at all - you can just use the pros!

Cons

Some functionality feels opaque or is hard to implement the way we'd expect to. EG limiting which fields can be used on which page, makes sense in some ways, but then if we want to use the software for a non-standard library (primarily digital), there's a lot of 'paper loans' stuff that kinda gets in the way. I understand why it's there! It just isn't highly relevant to us.

Response from Softlink Information Centres

Hello Sian,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Liberty. Your feedback is valuable to us.

We are delighted to read your positive comments on the system and praise for our Support team - they are great aren't they! We will most certainly pass that on to them.

We look forward to continuing our relationship with you and your library colleagues.

Once again, thank you for your constructive feed-back and positive comments.

Kind Regards,

The Softlink Team.