Showing 61 reviews of 51

DBxtra

Ad-hoc reporting and business intelligence

4,4 /5 (51 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,4 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
92%
recommended this app
Showing 61 reviews of 51
Patrick S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A practical, good value, enterprise report server tool

Reviewed on 2016/12/06

Have been using it for 5 years, and now purchased another licence again for a new system.
Features we use:
Designer on server=yes
Designer by users =no
Data grids=yes
Pivot grids=yes
Reports (ie using designer)=yes
Scheduled server=once
Dashboard=no
It doesn't do _everything_ but in terms of basic data grid, reports, pivot it's very good. This is because it's built on DevExpress report designer which is as solid reporting tool.
Essentially the core requirements for reporting, ie user-based variables, parameter customisation, user group security, good web based reporting interface are very good.
It is excellent value for money when compared to other reporting tools on the market, which can easily span into the $10k upwards.
For me, the primary reason is the ease of use for creating and deploying reports. Once I have my SQL query created, just paste it into the designer, save the report, set permissions and you're done. For simple reports I can create them in 5-10 minutes, so that's extremely helpful when managmenet is on your tail to get something sorted. :-)

Pros

Good value, ease of use, practical.

Cons

Some quirks in the how the software auto-configures queries for parameters. Need more options for configuring parameters as its easy to void the use of indexes if you're not careful.

Dan G.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Generally a good and inexpensive product but it has a lot of issues

Reviewed on 2015/03/26

Pros:
Inexpensive
Powerful and feature rich
Web deployment capability
Tech support

Cons:
Memory and processing hog. Make sure you have a powerful computer when developing or it will crash far too often.
Doesn't have many bugs but the ones it does are very annoying and impede the use of some features
Very slow to fix bugs
Poor documentation (really poor - you have to contact technical support to learn how to do anything sophisticated)
Last release was extremely poorly conceived, delivered, and poorly communicated. They eliminated some good features and the upgrade wreaked havoc on our installation. We had to downgrade (which is not easy) and rebuild everything. Consequently we are very gun shy about upgrading and are still waiting months later for them to repair the damage form this release.
Examples:
The parameters window no longer displays by default
The output display is limited a window that is too small for some of our wider reports so now there are 2 sets of scroll bars
The moved the function buttons from top right to top left so our logo is crowded between the buttons and the report and looks terrible.
Product management needs a serious overhaul. Both because of the above bumbling and a number of features in the UI that are just plain bad design and need to be removed or fixed. For example:
Displaying the report parameters in a cryptic string in the report header without the option to hide them. Users don't need to see this and if you have a lot of parameters the result is a very long string which detracts from the report aesthetics.
You cannot have report parameters that are strings with commas, such as a company name as it does not work. You have to work around it in a non-elegant way to get it to work. This bug has been outstanding for more than a year. There is a similar problem with strings that contain single quotes (given that this is a SQL based report system you'd think the programmers would have had a clue about this).
If you customize the display of parameters in the report (so you don't get the non-user-friendly cryptic string) every time you edit the report your customizations are overwritten with that ridiculous string. You have to save your customization in a hidden field and copy and paste it back every time.

Note: All of the above has already been communicated to DBXtra. We are still awaiting a resolution.

Daniel R.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

DBxtra Reporting

Reviewed on 2012/04/18

The ROI for this product is incredible when compared to other database reporting tools such as, Crystal, SAP, Cognos and Business Objects, etc. I would recommend this product to anyone that may have multiple versions of a database, such as SQL, Oracle, DB2, Informix, Access, etc because of its ability to handle different versions of a database and produce professional reports quickly.

Pros

Can access multiple types of databases
Can create reports across application databases provided there are ways to join the data, eg billing and collection system joined with accounting application
Query generation is Intuitive
Creating professional style reports is intuitive and easy
Installation was easy
Remote access to reports via browser
End user can manipulate data using the data grid
30 day Demo available
Existing queries can be cut and pasted into the query designer.

Cons

The product has exceeded our expectations after trying it for 30 days. If I was forced to identify a con it would be that email support may not be as prompt as you would like; however, if you set up a call for support to answer questions, install, or training they ensure that all questions and training issues are resolved.

Nigel B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

DBxtra Report Writer

Reviewed on 2011/03/23

I would recommend DBxtra to anyone who needs an easy to use reporting package with lots of functionality but who finds other products expensive or overly complex.

Pros

DBxtra is extremely user friendly, particularly for anyone with experience of other packages such as MS Access or Crystal Reports etc. Generation of reports is very quick and simple and the ability to link to a number of SQL sources at the same time is an excellent feature of the product.

In one scenario which I use the product I can link a field operations MySql database on an externally-hosted server to an internal Sage SQL server and produce comprehensive reports.

I have been using DBxtra exclusively for some 5 year now and have had no real problems but even when I have the response and support from DBxtra has been excellent.

Cons

I genuinely can't really think of any. The help files could be a little clearer in some cases but they have been much improved recently.

Agung D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Recommended reporting application with affordable cost

Reviewed on 2016/12/01

Almost 6 years I using this solution for complex requirements and also limited budget.
Users really happy cause all thing related with this solution are easy.
Even for beginner developer without good basic for programming can easily setting this solution.
Thank you DBxtra!!!!!!

Pros

easy for developing and understanding event for beginner.

Chris H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An easy way to get data from database to web

Reviewed on 2016/12/06

After reviewing many alternatives, we selected DBxtra to publish our in-house data onto the web.
Implementation was straightforward, and we're publishing complex dashboards within a couple of days.
Too many features to comment on, but one we find excellent is the User / Group variables. These allow us to easily publish a single dashboard to our 60 suppliers, with the data displayed restricted to their login details
The online documentation covers the basics. For further instructions, you email support. The support team is impressive. All emails were replied to on the same day, with detailed and relevant instructions.
Overall, I am very impressed.

Pros

Easy to setup, dashboard functionality and customer support

Rex K.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

DBxtra - The right application, The right features at the right price.

Reviewed on 2014/07/17

We have been using DBxtra for over a year now. It performs well and has become a standard in our organization. We researched many products and found that virtually all others were outside of our price range or too low on features to work. We wanted a tool that didn't take a developer to run and manage. A tool that created rich web reports with the usual exports. DBxtra simply does it all it even will schedule reports to be run and sent as emails (very handy).
Since any review without "cons" I will supply the few we have found.

1. Some of the components are not as intuitive as you would expect, however once learned they are fine.
2. If you are interested in graphing as I am definitely take it for a test drive first. The graphing works well but there needs to be better control of labels.

Finally DBxtra needs some polishing as does all software all the time but it is money well spent and we plan on being a customer for a very long time.

Jerry L.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

DBxtra Evaluation

Reviewed on 2014/08/11

We've been looking for a reporting tool that has the flexibility for end users to modify the query criteria, sorting, and grouping data. DBxtra's data grid just provides all these capabilities. And it is easy to use. This is a great product and I recommend it to other users. It would be great if the free report viewer has an authentication mechanism. Currently, any user can double-click the report file on a disk drive to open it if the user can access the disk drive. Another thing is that the web version of the dashboard doesn't look as good as the windows version.

Response from Advisionario, S.A. de C.V.

Thanks Jerry for your review!
>>>It would be great if the free report viewer has an authentication mechanism. Currently, any user can double-click the report file on a disk drive to open it if the user can access the disk drive.
The free report viewer does not consider user security; this will require the Report Web Service which takes care of it.

Rudolf F. Vanek

Bryan M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Does what it says on the box

Reviewed on 2011/03/21

If you need a reporting system that is powerful, flexible and easy to use at all levels of user experience, this is it.

Pros

We provide consultancy and support for Computerised Maintenance Management Systems in the marine industry, including administering their database systems. As well as delivering bespoke 'permanent' reports with DBxtra we also write many hundreds of one off ad-hoc reports every year. Without DBxtra we could not provide this level of support. Our clients are very demanding but with DBxtra we can meet and often exceed these demands.

Cons

The only very small criticism is that with many hundreds of reports some of which are rarely used it can be difficult to locate the report you require.

Mohd S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Our Trusted DBxtra

Reviewed on 2015/03/26

We trust DBxtra so much that we let DBxtra runs LIVE reporting of our system that is fed with records every 5 seconds from our devices. We showed to our client and they were dazzled of DBxtra's features and importantly the stability of DBxtra that we achieved in our setup. We told them DBxtra did all the work unattended to produce the online LIVE reporting that could be drilled down to the last hour. Soon enough, we got the purchase order from this client as well as other projects and thanks to DBxtra for its hard work that helped us to win this client. Now we trust DBxtra even more ... to tackle our next client.

Todd W.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great reporting program

Reviewed on 2016/12/05

This is an excellent program that allows non-programmers to create reports. It has a very easy learning curve and the support is excellent. We use it to create reports that we can distribute to different users in our warehouse so that they can easily run themselves. It is very feature rich and allows you to tackle almost any reporting tasks you may have. The only negative is that in program documentation is a little sparse and some of the advanced functions are not documented but support is excellent and only an e-mail away.

Gerhard N.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Easiest Intranet Report Tool

Reviewed on 2014/07/18

In Our Company we use it for displaying almost 30 different AS400 Queries in out Intranet.
The big advantage is the flexibility in complex Report programming. It is very easy to but our own code with only little knowledge of visual basic.
Response Time of customer Service is surprising fast and efficient. Even remote support was possible.
After some installation Problems DBxtra runs 24 hours for almost on year continuous.

Roderick G.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

DBxtra in consulting projects

Reviewed on 2014/07/16

As a consulting firm, we are always looking for software to use in our projects and make our life easier. We came across DBxtra like 6 years ago, and since then it has solved a lot of our problems.
Our customers usually have the data, but they need a simple and affordable way to analyze it. That´s were DBxtra comes in with simple reporting, graphics, dynamic tables, and what I like the most, schedule server. For us, that´s what the customer wants, not depending on anyone for his data.
The only thing I wanted them to include, was a dashboard, and they have already done it.

In a few words, all our customers and ourselves, feel that we got a lot of value for what we paid.

Nigel B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Long Time User

Reviewed on 2016/12/06

I have been using DBxtra for many years now and I am always happy to tell people how good a product it is and how easy it is to use. The customer support is also second to none!!

Jan V.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Extracting valuable information out of meaningless data

Reviewed on 2014/08/08

Dbxtra has helped us to extract the information we need out of dispersed and different databases. Now we can make informed decisions which without this tool were not possible. Well worth the investment !

Dody T.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

DBXTRA is best solution for your report tools.

Reviewed on 2014/07/16

I have been using DBXTRA since v1 until now (v8) , almost nothing issues on techincal and support side , DBXTRA is very easy to used and support team is very quick in respon.

Sharif M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

webapplication for business

Reviewed on 2013/09/25

A web report platform for business

Frank J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

DbXTra Flexible Reporting

Reviewed on 2016/12/06

We implemented DbXtra as visual dynamic reporting alternative, we realized that helped our organization to have valuable information across processes and areas without development constraints and best in value, the benefit/cost ratio compared with other Visual Reporting Tools is very high. Something to improve is about web client features. Still great for basic Analytics.

Pros

- Ease to implement and distribute across users.
- Unlimited viewers with several filtering and drill down options.
- Designer cost is reasonable.
- Excel plug-in is a useful tool.

Cons

-Very limited performance on the web based version.
-Focused just in Windows version, no mac, no Linux.
-ETLs have been well built and debugged in external tools prior to considering DataSets in DbXtra.

Bob B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great Product!

Reviewed on 2014/07/15

We've been using DBxtra for nearly a year and have found it to be an invaluable tool. It has really allowed our project to progress rapidly by providing a fast way to write custom reports and provide access to helpful business intelligence data on the fly.

We love the dashboard reports! Showing our clients interactive data visualization with real-time data has been a god-send.

We reviewed several possible solutions before deciding on DBxtra. It has outperformed all them from ease of set-up, ease of use and cost. We highly recommend it.

S D.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Can be used as an option to help us

Reviewed on 2014/07/18

Dear Team,
So far we are satisfied with the performance of DBxtra team, because it always develop new innovations to suit customer needs. We always look forward to you to be able to continue to help us especially in case of large data query speeds and another thing to schedule server please more developed not only raw data that can be emailed but also report/dash board

TVM,
Daniel

Juan antonio P.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

DBXTRA GREAT SOFTWARE

Reviewed on 2016/12/05

I BEEN WORKING WITH THIS SOFTWARE AND FINALLY I DID RESOLVE A LOT OF PROBLEMS WITH MY INFORMATION, I HAVE A FANTASTIC REPORT, FANTASTIC SUPPORT.. GREAT DBXTRA SOFTWARE.

Rob C.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

DB Extra

Reviewed on 2011/03/18

Excellent product, absolutely no complaints

Pros

Meets our customers analytical requirements

Cons

none to speak of in the sector it is aimed at

Todd B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

DBxtra

Reviewed on 2014/07/17

So far DBXtra has met our needs in a 1500 plus member business, using multiple databases for our reporting needs. DBxtra's support staff provide a high level of service and are very knowledgeable about their products and responsive to customer needs.

Martyn A.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Best Report Writer and Best Support Available

Reviewed on 2015/05/12

We did a substantial amount of market testing before deciding on which product to settle on.

We needed to improve the quality of our reports, make data easier to understand for our end users and reduce the development time associated with report generation.

We evaluated a number of other competitors. We found the service to be reasonable with most of the companies we evaluated. In some products, we found very advanced features, but the development cycle would require lots of coding. We were looking for a solution that would steamline the report creation process and offer a powerful set of tools for visualising and presenting data back.

After we became disillusioned with the 4th product we tried, we moved over to testing DBxtra.

With DBxtra we had created and deployed our first report in less than 3 days (compared to over 7 with the other products)

DBxtra works like this: You build an underlying query using a visual query builder - from this you effectively have 4 separate methods of manipulating the data:

- Data Grids

- Pivot Tables

- Reports

- Dashboards

Go the website to see these.

But why am I actually writing this review?

During our testing of this product, the service and support we received was literally the best we've experienced. The friendly and experienced team at DBxtra never made us wait long for an answer to a support email and on a number of occasions they screen shared with us to provide advice. In about 5 situations, our requirements needed code changes in asp pages. Each time, they went away, researched our problem and came back and implemented it for us.

As part of our purchase we agreed on some customization work that needed to be done at short notice. We were a little worried about whether the quality of the service would drop off after we paid. When our customisation was not completed we sent an email to ask what was going on at 23:00 - only to get an instant reply to say that it had taken longer than planned due to a major storm, but they were staying with it until it was done. It was completed at around 02:00 - and was done so because the DBxtra team understood we needed it for showcase to a client the next morning and they delivered on their promise.

That's all there is to say really.