102 reviews

Simio

Facility design simulation & production scheduling

4,7 /5 (102 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,7
/
5
Value for Money
4,5
Features
4,6
Ease of Use
4,2
Customer Support
4,6
98% recommended this app
102 reviews
Samridh S.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Makes Simulation fun and easy

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/04/05
Review Source: Capterra

Simio is an extremely powerful tool and it really makes one's life so much easier for simulations. Simio also does have a workbook that has lot of exercises that one can go through and learn a lot about the software. Once one has their head grasped around the concept, this software can save time, money, effort and provide accuracy.

Pros

I absolutely love using Simio. It is such a powerful tool and it makes sense why the premium paid version is so expensive. However the biggest pro I see is that there is a free version that can be used which can help one understand the world of simulation. Simio has everything one needs to perform the complicated simulation process that otherwise would require us to write 100s of lines of code and make debugging difficult and daunting. I have been using Simio to do various distribution simulations such as uniform, exponential, triangular and so on and I don;t have to think how to do random number generation. Simio has so much more tool such as I love the reliability function where i can define what are likelihood of a machine failing and how much it would affect my throughput and productivity due to the varying repair times. The best part of Simio is that you can see the live simulation of your system in real time. Create a simulation for a M/M/1 queuing system to replicate a ice-cream store and watch how your customers arrival and service times affects your business. Fun part of simio is one can actually assing model entities with actual people and replace boxes with actual images which makes the presentation part of your system more engaging with the team. if you are a simulation guy/girl/business this software has everything one needs to validate, verify the architecture and answer questions that is not possible to be solved analytically.

Cons

It is lot of work to learn this software and there are not much resources online readily available. Most resources are integrated to Simio and so looking at videos provided by Simio and reading the help section is the way to go. The free software however cannot simulate really huge simulation system and at that point one needs to purchase the paid version. getting around the software is daunting and there are lot of aspects one needs to know to figure out how to create their system.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

User friendly and great support

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/28
Review Source: Capterra

I learned on Arena in school but have been using Simio for 4-5 years now in a professional setting and it has been great.

Pros

Simio has been easy to learn and allows great flexibility and power for modeling different scenarios. Additionally, the company has been great to work with and the staff is very knowledgeable, friendly and accessible. You can tell they have a great company culture.

Cons

On bigger models it can run a little slow, but this is probably mainly a hardware issue or a lack of modeling efficiency on my end.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Khumbulani M.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Simio a world of possibilities

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/03/10
Review Source: Capterra

the software provides a wide range of possibilities to simulate and test known and unknown systems for better preparedness in their implementation.

Pros

ease of use
availability of student version and research version

Cons

none

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Ashley R.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Excellent software for handling complex simulations.

Used Other for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Simio software consists of standardized library. In order to focus on the visuals and to forget the analysis, this software is really easy for creating simulation models. It is no doubt the superb choice for business. It is quite easy to learn while other simulation software are quite difficult to learn comparatively. Its functionalities are really awesome with less time consuming. No doubt best ever simulation software. Matchless software with fantastic 3D animations.

Cons

There are not any specific cons about this software. Simulation is mostly written in graphical programming language which is no doubt easy for small and quick designs but as we move further this software is failed to navigate while discussing large and complex simulations. Above discuss is the only con I can hardly think of.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Maciek N.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Taught simulation in an analytics class using Simio

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The support tools available for Simio are incredible. There are tutorial videos for every level of user and it's very easy to pick up quickly. The software itself is fairly intuitive and you can have simulations created from scratch in a matter of minutes.

Cons

I don't really have any cons that I can think of, maybe navigating from one area of Simio to another can be confusing every now and then.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Very Powerful Simulation Software

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This software has been the full package for me, providing the functions, details, and support required to build advanced simulations.

Cons

If anything I woudl say that the biggest issue is that the program is so robust that I required an extensive in-service to learn my way through it, difficult to self-start.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Luís P.
Industry: Facilities Services
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Simio: the simplest, most complete way to run your systems simulation and analysis

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/02
Review Source: Capterra

I used SIMIO as part os my Masters course in Industrial Engineering in order to develop a fictional environment and search for better configurations, on an iteractive process. The software easily allowed me to manipulate the system in order to achieve my objectives, it is well designed and is customizable to great extent.

Pros

Easy of use and very intuitive when you get introduced with the basic. It allows for easy creation, editing and analysis of complex systems simulation.

Cons

Advanced functions might get hard to use if you don't have an experienced user helping you. Error messages could be more explicit and create a reference to where the configurational conflict lies.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Danial M.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Simio is not exactly what we expected but gives more than anticipated

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/06/20
Review Source: Capterra

Simio certainly delivey more realistic results than the simple spread-sheet based calculations we used previously, however you really need to invest a vast amount of effort in the model to be able to get an accurate and believable result.

Pros

The program gives an incredible amount of information and is far more accurate than the spread-sheet based caclulations we used in the past.

Cons

Setup of a true working model is very complicated and terribly time consuming. This is not a simple "drop in a box or two to make a production line and there it works" type of program, you need to invest the time using accurate input information in order to be able develop a true working model. Thereafter you need to keep updating your models in order to keep them relevant.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Design
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Great software

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/28
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Can be applied to many different scenarios and is easy to toggle between 3D and 2D modelling.

Cons

Available libraries is limited so support is required or training

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Luis a. M.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Excellent but I spend a lot of time trying to model my specifics.

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/06/22
Review Source: Capterra

Very easy to use

Pros

The amount of documentation is very good. The one prepared by SIMIO is excellent. It is very easy to use.

Cons

If I have a specific doubt, I spent a lot of time trying to figure out how to solve it. I need a very good computer to run smoothly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Colin A.

Simulating with the Analyst in Mind

Reviewed on 2016/11/09
Review Source: Capterra

It is very easy when building simulation models to focus on the visuals and forget the analysis. After all, we need to convince the stakeholders that the solution we propose will deliver what it says on the tin and what better way than to mesmerise them with animation. Actually, there is another way, demonstrate that all scenarios have been considered and with an inflated chest lay down the challenge, "tell me where I have gone wrong and I'll tell you what data I need to determine whether its fact or fiction".

Simio like most major simulation engines allows 3D visualisation and what is nice is a simple press of the '2' and '3' keys smoothly transitions you from 2D to 3D respectively. Add Google Warehouse and importing 3DSMax files and decent visuals can be shown. Developers please add STP or IGES file format.

This simulation engine seems to have been developed with not only the ability to quickly model with little to no code writing experience, but also empowers one to devise and quickly run scenarios that can answer the real questions and find those sensitive areas/ optimal solutions.

The start of any simulation project should start with the agreed conceptual model. This boils down to possible resources and a general set of inputs that trigger delays and produce outputs. Simio supports this basic concept in its standard library of objects. The object orientated approach means that these basic objects can be modified by adding more detailed lower level processes or modifying original logic. Of course the model is an object that can be imported into another model. Gaining model acceptance is generally easier with collaboration, so showing the team their input has been incorporated in a way that resembles the conceptual model goes a long way.

The power of discrete event simulation is its ability to handle random events. Simio has the standard list of distributions which using a form of intellitype is easy to define. Note to developers, it would be great if intellitype is available in all fields. Of course with distributions come replications, which using the Experiments function allow the analyst to create and execute scenarios using different user defined input parameters and compare results based on user defined KPIs. But Simio has another trick up its sleeve, using the Input Parameters tab and defining the distributions with the sample size, provides a neat way to analyse the impact the distribution has on specific result parameters.

Pros

Standard Library - Object Orientated approach to modelling means models can become objects in other models.

Copy and Paste - Processes data, functions etc can be copied between models.

Key Felds Data can be created like a database i.e. enter once use multiple times.

External Data - Supports links with external data files such as CSV or excel.

Easy Scenario Creation - Experiment function allows easy creation of multiple experiments and comparison of results.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Matthew S.

Simio Software and Risk-based Planning and Scheduling (RSP)

Reviewed on 2015/09/15
Review Source: Capterra

Deciding which type of simulation software for a business to purchase can be an extremely difficult decision. Being faced with this decision we began to investigate and compare simulation software packages available on the market. After comparison, Simio was the clear choice for our business. Although most simulation software packages are extremely difficult and confusing to learn, Simio's many resources make learning and mastering the software easy. Most noteworthy is the video tutorials provided which made the transition to Simio painless. Ultimately the decision to choose Simio was made based on the functionality of the software and the ability to accurately and quickly model real world systems for the purposes of finding solutions. Simio's 3D modeling abilities are unmatched by any other software packages available. Simio is quick and easy in the 3D department and compared to others is much less time consuming for similar 3D animations. With that said, the 3D modeling is generally a non-value added task and we were more focused on the software's modeling abilities. Simio's add-in packages operate flawlessly with OptQuest being the one we utilize the most. The customer support at Simio is outstanding too. I reached out to Simio when modeling a complex transit system this past year and they were able to identify my error and provided a fix the same day.

We recently decided to expand our abilities with the usage of Simio's Risk-based Planning and Scheduling. After watching roughly 11 videos about 10 minutes each, Simio's RPS was easily incorporated into a previous manufacturing process project. Adapting the previous project slightly was straightforward and surprisingly resulted in the RPS being setup almost automatically. The ability to incorporate the complexities of variation into the RPS is what makes this such an advantageous tool and also what separates it from others. Simio also offers an add-in package for the RPS, Wonderware MES which provides the real-time production data. Generating plans, evaluating risk, performing comparisons, and many other functions are available through Simio's RPS and we look forward to providing this to our clients. We give Simio our highest recommendation.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Neal H.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Employing Simio to size offshore vessel fleet (e.g. forecast charters) and to schedule shipments

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/07/13
Review Source: Capterra

Company spends hundreds of millions of dollars each year moving equipment and supplies to offshore drilling units and producing assets. We use Simio to determine optimal vessel fleet size and develop 10 days shipment schedules daily. Tool works well and has enabled us to reduce our fleet size considerably.

Pros

Handles highly complex simulations--we model 25+ slips, 30 vessels, 25 offshore locations, and more than 30 different types of demand product types such as barite, cement, casing, and baskets. Scheduler optimizes schedule based on lowest tangible and intangible costs and considers weather forecast, crew change schedules, and tank cleaning.

Cons

Simulation is written in a graphical programming language which is great for small, quick designs, but gets cumbersome to navigate in very large and complex simulations.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jeff J.
Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

SIMIO is Amazing

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/03/13
Review Source: Capterra

SIMIO is an amazing simulation software program. The ability to model moving resources, tasks precedence and data modeling set it apart from many other languages.

Pros

The ability to use data modeling to add intelligence to the entities is amazing.
The task precedence ability is another feature where SIMIO stands apart. Finally the ability to model dynamic moving resources is another great feature.

Cons

The feature creep of these objects has grown to out of control. The bloating of the objects has made it difficult to teach and modify them. So many properties and features. Their conveyor modeling is a little primitive. The ability to not set the controls in an experiment from a excel table with the all the optimization parameters for each control is a pain.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mauricio sven G.

Best simulation software

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The user interface is one of the best in the market. It´s always improving and they have an amazing team for support. They have helped me several times with questions that I had. Most of the time they answer the same day.
What I like the most is their policy towards education, particularly higher education. They provide all kind of help: documentation, demos, videos, books, blog, etc.
The "3D Warehouse" that connects automatically is free and very complete for improving your existing model.
The Simbits are the best tool for learning the software and for fast reference about doing something particular. I recommend any user to check anytime those Simbits.

Cons

I recently started to use Dashboards. However, there is not much info about how to use it and develop it. Anyway, this is a minor detail.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Laura S.
Industry: Architecture & Planning

Great Product & Team

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/03/08
Review Source: Capterra

Simio provides a user friendly interface that allows me to do my work quickly and effectively. It was very easy to get up to speed with Simio after initially learning the simulation language Arena in college. Simio makes it simple to model complex processes while incorporating 3D animation, helping our clients quickly understand how the model is working.

I would highly recommend Simio to anyone who is looking for a powerful simulation software that can span across industries and applications. Simio uses sprints to constantly improve their product, taking direct feedback from the people who are using the software daily. They have a great team of developers and engineers who understand the software deeply and are willing to go the extra mile to help answer questions.

I gave four stars for features & overall quality because Simio has improved greatly since I began using it several years ago, and I know that it will become even better in the future!

Pros

Flexibility, ease of use, responsive development team

Cons

Nothing immediately comes to mind!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Joaquin B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Summarizing my Simio experience for $10

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/03/08
Review Source: Capterra

Simio has resulted to be much more complex to use than I imagined at first.
I feel it's a brilliant piece of software, but still unfinished. Fits better to academic than industrial users. Sales strategy can only be described as "counter-arena-wise".

Pros

Elegant interface and data structure, Siman brought to its best.

Cons

Lack of support for big models. Limitations in graphical display.
Many expressions too deeply embedded. Too much clicks required. Lack of quick programming shorcuts.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Bonnie Y.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Simio review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/13
Review Source: Capterra

We use Simio to help customers design solutions for using our autonomous material transport robots. Looking at problems such as fleet sizing, traffic congestion, routing, batch size, cart quantity etc

Pros

Can build a simple model that quickly demonstrates value to organization and then has power to scale up to much more complex as needed

Cons

It’s a VERY mouse intensive software. and many basic features are missing for making model professional looking.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Petr T.
Industry: Warehousing
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Excelent customer support and frequent updates

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/03/13
Review Source: Capterra

This along with full feature pack and ability to extend with C# modules makes SIMIO excelent software.
I was suprised many times to find requested feature in the next sprint in less than a month.

Pros

User support is quick and helps with solving problems
Great community of users with usefull forum
Great 3D visualization
Object, entity, process oriented simulation software
Easy to use

Cons

didn't find any

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Pascal P.
Industry: Investment Management
Company size: 51-200 Employees

A Great Multi Purpose Simulation Package

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/03/13
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using SIMIO to optimize airport operations for six years and have been very happy with its ease of use, versatility, built-in features, and capability to customize processes. Technical support from SIMIO has always been good. People are pleased with the quality of the visual output and now that we can use the Occulus Rift to provide an immersive experience, there is even more to be pleased about SIMIO.

Pros

Ability to embed metrics in the simulation.

Cons

Management of interaction between entities during movement in free space to simulate for instance pedestrian movements on a sidewalk. They sometimes seem to get stuck against each other instead of walking around each others.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mark E.

There is on other product on the market today that comes close to Simio.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It is at least 10 years ahead of flexsim, arena, Anylogic, or any other products. It's agent based modelling at it finest and the planning board is unrivalled.

Cons

Nothing. It is extremely comprehensive with ground breaking advances which are optimally positioned for industry 4.0

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Airlines/Aviation
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Dalton's Simio Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like having the ability to rapidly model quick systems, but also having the ability to add in any level of complexity.

Cons

i least like the inability to view logs over multiple simulations to track information like buffer queues over time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Chad G.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Simio has allowed me to easily model different emergency department operational models for clients.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/07/11
Review Source: Capterra

I can model whatever I want to model in healthcare systems rapidly. It is a create communication tool and makes important decision easier.

Pros

Ease of ease. Smooth interface. I also like that I can "get under the hood" and customize it to my hearts desire. Again, I can create models quickly and model any scenario that comes up in an emergency department. We are know expanding its use to include inpatient services and other service lines. Great product!

Cons

Nothing really. It has become part and parcel with me over time. I would be nice if it had more pre-built healthcare models (anything to make my job easier)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sarah L.

Ease of use, nice 3D animation

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The software is very easy to use. It allows the students to put together a simple working model very quickly. Its experimentation mode allows for comparison of different scenarios, and the charting features and statistical results are easy to follow. Students love the 3D animation.

Cons

Honestly, I can't think of any. The workbook for Simio provides a step-by-step illustration and truly allows the users to grasp a new modeling concept within a fairly short amount of time. Granted, it takes practice to be able to remember the features and steps, but that is true of any simulation software packages.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Cesar F.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/03/08
Review Source: Capterra

I am a teacher at Universidad de San Carlos de Guatemala and I have been watching the improvement in my students over the years.

Pros

Ease of use and the software includes almost anything we need

Cons

You don't have a version for Mac OS

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10