Vitrium Systems Reviews

Vitrium Systems

Protect Your Content. Protect Your Business

4.4/5 (24 reviews)

Secure and functional with great customer service

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/12
Review Source: Capterra

We were uncertain when going from a standard PDF approach to a more sophisticated digital rights management approach. It was new to us and we were unsure whether it would overly complicate the delivery of content. The people at Vitrium have gone the extra mile to help us out, from the very beginning. Service and access to the employees, even top management, are very important to us. This is something that usually does not happen when working with a big company. Rather than sending large PDFs that some email servers reject, we are now sending a link that provides simple, protected access to our content. We encounter a small customer-related problem from time to time, but the people at Vitrium are quick to help us resolve it. We highly recommend Vitrium without reservation.

Pros

Vitrium allows us to create a quick username and password for each customer, which speeds up our delivery process, compared to our previous system. The online web viewer is an easy way for customers to view the report. It also enables viewing on tablet computers.

Cons

The user interface does not display the number of devices on which users have accessed a document. That must be done manually by sorting and filtering a spreadsheet for each user and each document. A quick counter on the UI would be ideal, and should be simple to add.

Response from Vitrium Systems

We are so grateful for your kind words. Thanks for sharing your review. In more recent versions of Vitrium, and for the enterprise subscriptions only, there's additional information provided for a given User's record under the Clear Usage window. There, at a glance, one can see Device Use, IP Address Use, Print Use, and File Use. However, it would seem that also providing File Use WITH Device Use per file would be useful and would help identify potential issues with end-users sharing content credentials. Vitrium also has plans on adding a notification system where administrators can define 'triggers' for things such as a user accessing content from n or more devices (or IPs) within a specified period of time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Sterling B.

One of the best and most affordable small business to enterprise level DRM solutions out there.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We use Vitrium mainly as a client PDF document security solution. It is cost effective, easy to use, with cogent and timely customer support that feels more like a part of your team rather than just another outsourced service run by low level customer service reps. When you need help. You get it directly from people who know the product and that save time, anxiety, and money.

Cons

With what it already does so efficiently with documents, would love for Vitrium to develop a multimedia DRM solution that covers audio and video so we wouldn't need to look for a DRM solution with a different company to cover those areas.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thank, Sterling so much for taking the time to leave us this amazing review. I'm sure you already know this today, but Vitrium now supports much more than PDF's today. A complete list, including video, is available here: https://support.vitrium.com/hc/en-us/articles/360000423563-What-file-formats-does-Vitrium-Security-protect-

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Michael C.

Vitrium Security offers easy-to-use DRM for PDFs and other formats.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The ability to manage access to our documents in a very specific way. The DRM for PDFs is very granular. No plugins or proprietary software are required. The web viewer is brilliant and brings our documents to any device while still maintaining control.

Cons

It is possible to defeat the DRM for PDFs, although this is not trivial or quick. It suits our product perfectly, because it does not contain sensitive information, but instead hundreds of pages of proprietary images. Removing the DRM from all these pages is unfeasible. However, if you are protecting short, sensitive documents, you are better off using the web viewer, whose DRM can't be defeated.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thanks for the kudos, Michael. Yes, we also believe that our proprietary Web Viewer product is much more secure than Adobe's PDF spec and we are constantly adding new features based on customer feedback. Video support is one of the biggest core product changes we delivered last fall and we're in the process of enabling inter-linked PDF's while maintaining links between multiple documents; Ability to embed files in a PDF and access same in the Web Viewer; and more ...

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Ron S.

I would recommend Vitrium to anyone looking to protect their content on PDF's

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/21
Review Source: Capterra

Protect our content.

Pros

Reliable software. Very acceptable uptime. Software patches delivered on weekends with minimal interruptions to our clients.

Cons

Slow loading, and downloading times for PDF documents. Implementation took a little longer that we like, however it was still reasonable considering the complex systems we had to integrate with.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thanks, Ron for your review. Last fall, there was a significant improvement made to the web viewer which greatly improved its ability to render the protected HTML5 content. However, you may need to re-protect older content. Reach out to [email protected] if you have performance issues and we'll be happy to work with you to resolve them.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Lindsay H.

Vitrium

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/12/20
Review Source: Capterra

My company uses Vitirum to encrypt sensitive reports and send them to our clients. We are a consulting company specializing in IT Security and HIPAA Compliance.

Pros

I like that this is a very easy method for our customers to use, unlike other methods I have employed in the past I never have customers coming back to me with issues or complaints.

Cons

I don't like that we have to be the one to set the password for the client, each client should be able to change the password on their first login when we create an account. Also we should be able to revoke access to a document once sent to one user without revoking all users rights. Lastly, I would like permissions to be more granular. It would be nice to be able to give customers the ability to print without giving them the ability to edit the document.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thanks, Lindsay, for your valuable feedback.
Revoking access can be handled by utilizing DRM Settings when provisioning content to an individual user (as is the case on your account today). Remove the DRM assignment (set it to 'not set') and the user will lose access. However, when the user is in a group and that group is granted DRM permissions, you would have to remove the user from the group otherwise the entire group of users would lose access.
Your request about the password is in the pipeline but has not been scheduled for development as yet.
We're not sure what you're describing as content as it is always read-only to an end-users. Perhaps you're describing annotations and printing? A suggestion is to reach out to [email protected] and pose your concerns as our team will be more than happy to assist you to find solutions to the concerns.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10

Easy and Effective PDF Protection

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/04
Review Source: Capterra

We have had a great experience in using Vitrium Security to protect documents which we deliver to our customers. Over the past 5+ years, Vitrium has added value to the information which we provide to our clients, and we are very happy with the service.

Pros

We appreciate the ease of use and the effectiveness in the protection afforded our documents in using Vitrium Security.

Cons

The sole area in which we would like to see improvement is in an easier method for users to select their own user name and password options for viewing documents.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thanks for your review. We are glad that you¿ve had a great experience in using Vitrium Security. Permissions are granted via user names which, in most cases, will be an email address. As many of the systems are integrated to 3rd party back-end systems, these email addresses are required to remain static in order to maintain the system relationships. However, an administrator of the Vitrium Administration UI can make the change to the end-users email address. However, an end-user must consult with the content vendor to request such a change.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Bob C.

We use Vitrium to protect digital versions of our courseware

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/22
Review Source: Capterra

intellectual property protection

Pros

Provides controllable/flexible security for our documents. Intellectual property protection for our materials.

Cons

Offline viewing doesn't work on Apple ios . Biggest complainte we get because many people use iPad or iPhone to review documents.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thanks, Bob for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We always aim to deliver a great experience. Offline access is supposed to work on iOS devices but it could be that the content is simply too large to be saved in the browser's cache for offline retrieval. If you could email [email protected] with an example, we will more than happy to help resolve this for you.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Suri M.

Guard your content

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/12/28
Review Source: Capterra

Good Product for your DRM solution in your enterprice.

Pros

Very well thought out product, protecting your content in commerce. Easy to integrate, 100% API enabled.

Cons

Bulk Encryption of content is time consuming process.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thanks, Suri for sharing your review. Yes, when we're speaking about GB's of data, it is relatively time-consuming as there are several processes involved to convert a raw 'unprotected' PDF to a 'protected' version and to convert that same raw file to an equivalent HTML5 rendering. Over time, Vitrium has implemented scalability in it's hosted environment such that when a host server senses an influx of content that it now scales and dynamically loads additional servers that can each take on a multitude of conversion tasks. This dynamic scaling is a feature available to all hosted accounts regardless of subscription level.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Amelina K.

always been good tech support is quick and helpful

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

What i like about vitrium is the easy to use function of it, there isn't too many issues so a smooth operating software is nice.

Cons

the only cons are the troubleshooting instructions can sometimes seem a little confusing to understand

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thanks, Amelina for your review. Vitrium has produced several more videos including detailed ones on our DRM implementation which can be confusing by times. You may want to review some of these or simply email [email protected] if you have specific hurdles that you're trying to cross. Our videos can be found here: https://support.vitrium.com/hc/en-us/categories/360000918811-Videos

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Does what it says

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Lots of flexibility for users to access pdfs(our primary use) setting expiry and resetting access. Able to limit access b device IP so people can’t just share your hard work.

Cons

Have had some glitches over the years. Weren’t able to reset access properly for a while. But the platforms rm seems quite it bit more stable recently.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thank you very much for your great review! We are glad that our DRM technology gives you control over your PDFs. It's one of our core values to continuously improve our products, services and processes.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Madalina O.

Unfortunately, it has been slow recently

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to track access, user friendly.
Like the reports.
Really professional and fast customer service.

Cons

Unfortunately, it has been really slow recently. It happens with small and large documents.
Not being able to see user's passwords.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thanks, Madalina for your feedback. Users passwords are a known sore spot and we'll be addressing that in the near future with a password reset feature for the end-users. However, if you'r eexperiencing slowness, please reach out to [email protected] and someone will gladly investigate and help resolve the issue.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Jason C.

We are very happy with support, but there are a number or shortcomings with the product.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/06/21
Review Source: Capterra

It secures our documents and that's the main goal we have.

Pros

Good API and meets most of our requirements. For a small document it performs well. Other than one major case, it has been consistent in reliability.

Cons

We had do deal with a major bug that hurt our system for over a month before the fix was found. We still can use the product in all of our system because it is too slow.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thanks, Jason for your review. While we did address your primary performance issues with what we call an Auth Extension, we do appreciate that there is work to be done still. Vitrium is actively making improvements to its core product based on your experience and that should be available by the end of summer 2019.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Ryan B.

Satisfied

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/01/04
Review Source: Capterra

Satisfied. Customer service is helpful and have been able to resolve most issues quickly.

Pros

It is easy to use and does the job it needs to do.

Cons

I would like to see more features such as a secure way to put digital files on a thumb-drive or flash card.
Also, I would suggest the following for files viewed online to make it function more inline with how adobe acrobat functions.
- Add a toolbar button to show one page at a time and allow users to use PgUp/PgDown to flip (no scrolling) to the previous/next page. And make this compatible with a remote.
- Add a toolbar button for true full screen mode where even the annotation tools are hidden from view.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thanks, Ryan for your detailed review. The option to download a protected PDF file and store or distribute them on thumb-drives or flash cards exists for years now. The issue is that your system is configured to use True SSO which requires your users first authenticate against your back-end. If you need to distribute files and have those users manually login to receive the secured content, then you could also request a 2nd account from Vitrium Systems that doesn't use SSO.
Since v7.2.1, based on your feedback/request, there is a navigation toolbar at the top of the Web Viewer window for moving between pages Up/Down icons (rather than scrolling) including a 'jump to page #' field. Also, full-screen reading mode is available. We will consider your request as a future enhancement. Today, the Web Viewer provides the means to collapse the bigger annotation bar (to the left) but leaves the smaller annotation menu bar. Above and to the left of the window is the scaling and zoom toolbar.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Rishi S.

Robust & Self Intutive system

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/12/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Reports, Different Security Policies, Watermark functionality and many more...

Cons

Would be great to get a UI functionality that supports our one of the business model for (IP Authen.) user reports - Currently it is achievable via API

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thanks, Rishi for your kind words. We understand your concern over 'group reporting' capabilities, and our data model is to provide the tools for our customers (you) to build their own end-user/group reporting web pages.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Adeline W.

Vitrium Security

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/12/19
Review Source: Capterra

We wanted to restrict others' access to our documents in softcopy for a prolonged period and the software perfectly address this.

Pros

I like the fact that there is an admin portal that allows easy administration and management of documents

Cons

DRM control setting that appears everywhere and I am not sure which is the valid one?

Response from Vitrium Systems

We¿re so glad that Vitrium successfully addressed the user access restriction and you¿ve found the admin portal easy-to-use.
DRM settings can be applied in five (5) areas: Global (not recommended for most), Content, Users, Groups, and Folders. We have a couple of useful videos that should help explain them in full detail here: https://support.vitrium.com/hc/en-us/categories/360000918811-Videos

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Jon S.

Vitrium allows us to easily and confidently share protected documents.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Prior to using Vitrium we were unable to share PDF's of documents and be confident that the documents were not being shared without our permission.

Cons

One issue with the software is that sometimes users have troubles due to Adobe settings. Better error messaging would be helpful.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Amy C.

Simple and easy

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/06/19
Review Source: Capterra

Data analytics, digital rights management.

Pros

I think the data analytics are very helpful in identifying usability. Determining who is accessing documentation has been helpful to the organization.

Cons

No folders and categorizing documents is not a function. When the portal is open it's just a dump of all documents, it's not functional or easy to use in this manor.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thanks, Amy for your valuable review. Your feedback always helps us get better. In the next release of Vitrium (later part of March 2019), the User Portal will support "Folders" as you describe.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

We have used Vitrium to secure PDFs for our media brand. Nice solution to consider

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/06/22
Review Source: Capterra

We definitely got a better handle on the usage of the PDFs by our audience and we can definitely see when users are having trouble opening a PDF

Pros

I'd say there are a ton of capabilities in the Vitrium system and the reporting capabilities are nice

Cons

Vitrium was a bit bit hard to configure on Day 1. I also felt the training provided could have been a bit better.

Response from Vitrium Systems

We are grateful to hear your kind words. If ever you need assistance, please simply email [email protected] and we will happily guide you. And don¿t forget to visit our help center: https://support.vitrium.com/hc/en-us

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Alex R.

Vitrium offers a great cloud based document security product. Not many rivals out there.

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/06/21
Review Source: Capterra

Secure management of documents post distribution and without using special software.

Pros

The ability to audit who reads what document when and control the access post distribution is a great feature. Well thought out and implemented. And doing it all through the browser is a game changer.

Cons

There are some obvious and easy features to add...more flexibility with Watermarking for example. Should be able to watermark as well as you can on adobe. Across the page at an angle. Thats an easy add. The UI/UX can improve as well, and does not work in mobile.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thanks, Alex for your review. The Vitrium Web Viewer should work in all web browsers and all devices, including mobile. If you're having an issue, please reach out to [email protected] However, Vitrium's downloaded Protected PDFs will not work on mobile devices as Adobe's Reader for mobile doesn't have all the required functionality to support our implementation model.
Also, Vitirum does support diagonal watermarks but perhaps not in June 2018!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

Great technical support for a somewhat difficult to use product

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The support team is extremely helpful and patient in working to resolve the issues that may emerge from protecting, distributing and opening documents.

Cons

My experience has been that it takes a lot of troubleshooting to get the document settings right. Users often have difficulty operating the software.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thank you for your feedback. We always aim to deliver a great experience. Vitrium has produced several more videos including detailed ones on our DRM implementation which can be confusing by times. You may want to review some of these or simply email [email protected] if you have specific hurdles that you're trying to cross. Our videos can be found here: https://support.vitrium.com/hc/en-us/categories/360000918811-Videos

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Andrew P.

The software covers what I need. Would appreciate more options but the price is already a lot for me

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Simple, intuitive interface. I'm not technical but the commands/functions are logical & well set out

Cons

The yearly subscription price! It's a lot for a micro business like me and the US$ price when converted to my A$ exacerbates it

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thanks, Andrew for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate the feedback and we are committed to improving our products, services and processes to create extra values to our customers.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Rhys W.

Fits all needs with a good support team

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/01/04
Review Source: Capterra

Intelligence security and protection

Pros

UI is easy to use and allows for all our business needs

Cons

Occasional issues with errors for customers but mainly this is end user driven

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

We are testing Vitrium to provide additional security for our pdf newsletters.

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/06/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The reporting and features provide insight into our reader's usage which we have not had previously.

Cons

The admin creation experience is somewhat cumbersome, with some features containing limited editing capabilities.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Could you please reach out to [email protected] if you're struggling with the system and one of our knowledgeable representatives will be happy to assist.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

5.0/10
Thomas B.

Helpful staff; product does what it says; good customer experiences

Used Monthly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/06/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The security features seem to work really well and I've had only positive reactions from my customers when sending them a Vitrium-protected PDF. It is enabling me to change my business model and to move away from print.

Cons

The user interface is a little clunky and initially counterintuitive. I think the user training is essential, and excellent as my trainer was I'd prefer a system where this was not necessary.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Thanks, Thomas for your valuable feedback. Vitrium has produced several more videos including detailed ones on our DRM implementation which can be confusing by times. You may want to review some of these or simply email [email protected] if you have specific hurdles that you're trying to cross. Our videos can be found here: https://support.vitrium.com/hc/en-us/categories/360000918811-Videos

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support