30 reviews

Blue

Automated feedback collection for development-based programs

4,7 /5 (30 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,7 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
97%
recommended this app
30 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Robust Product with Excellent Support

Reviewed on 2019/03/08

We use Blue to manage the course evaluation process across the entire university. I am one of about a dozen users who each manage an individual school within the university. Mine is the largest (comprising about 60% of courses offered and closer to 75% of courses evaluated).
Our university has been using Blue for about three years now. We chose this software after negative experiences with our last vendor, and we were specifically looking for something that could provide all of the below:
1) Automated data feed from our student information system (SIS) to Blue.
2) Customization for each school using the software.
3) Unified email messaging (one email per student per school regardless of number of courses involved).
4) Ability to handle large and complex questionnaires with built in triggering to ask the right questions for each individual course and instructor.
5) Ability to customize opening and closing dates for evaluations down to the course level.
6) Ability to manage both mid-term and end-of-course evaluations.
7) Ability to evaluate multiple instructors for a single course with a seamless experience for students (course and all instructors on a single questionnaire) and automatic distribution of data to separate reports per instructor (all receive course responses but each sees only their instructor responses).
I am the most advanced user on our campus, both based on training and based on the extensiveness with which I use the software. For most users here, the cour

Pros

The robust amount of features.
Ability to copy setup from one term to the next.
Ability to extensively customize evaluation process.
Ability to correct an error, add a course, or otherwise update data after evaluations have started.
Commitment of Explorance to improving the software based on customer feedback.
Variety of training options and levels, including customer and Explorance staff led monthly webinars.

Cons

High learning curve for new users.
Some of the limitations in reporting (less direct control of size/layout of displayed graphics, inability to do certain calculations in export to excel reports).

Becky P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Blue - 1st Rate Survey Software!

Reviewed on 2017/03/02

The University of Louisville (UofL) has used Blue Enterprise Surveys since February 2008. It is a pleasure to work with eXplorance. The customer support team is outstanding and support staff members are truly interested in helping the customer get the most benefit from their product. The survey software is easy to use. The overall quality of application is 1st rate and a welcome improvement over products used previously. The reports are easily customized with many options from which to select. Blue Surveys has all of the features UofL needs to send hundreds of surveys each year. UofL uses Blue Surveys to gauge campus climate, assess student satisfaction, request feedback regarding events on campus, gather information from faculty and staff who exit the university, and much, much more. With all of the features in Blue, the surveying possibilities are endless. Blue Surveys completely integrates with other platforms (such as Blackboard, PeopleSoft, Canvas, Moodle, Banner, etc.) to provide a seamless integration with existing business practices, allowing users to leverage data stored in other databases. Mobile device compatibility makes providing feedback easier and more convenient than ever before. Blue Surveys is definitely a great value.

Pros

The product is easy to use, has many great features, and integrates with existing platforms. eXplorance as a company listens to the needs of their customers. The ability to customize the "look and feel" of the interface by using our own logos allows us to customize the experience for each user. The response rate monitor allows users the ability to track the day of the week and hour of the day that responses are received so marketing efforts and automatic reminders can be scheduled for maximum impact. The "drag and drop" user interface allows for quick survey creation and administration.

Krista D.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Customer support is very responsive. Coming from a technical background, I found it easy to...

Reviewed on 2018/04/17

Pros

I like the updates CS/Support implements in a quick manner. Responsive to bugs in updates. System can easily handle thousands of requests. Responsive and easy to use for end user.

Cons

Wish it had more transparency in the timing of emails (export .csv showing when task emails would be sent, since likely stored in a DB somewhere). Can be tricky at times to implement changes during a published project (manual changes do not impact the DB, wish manual changes could override the DB but I understand why it is not coded that way). Wish some text fields could be modifiable (e.g. "Please select datasource", other technical/vague terms displayed to end users). Would love IE to be better supported (do not recommend this browser, but unfortunately users still use it)

Shirimpaka J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Blue Evaluation software

Reviewed on 2019/05/30

Actually, The overall experience is very good. In my Organization, we have managed to receive enough feedback from the students and we make changes to the course as well as the teacher based on the feedback received from our students.

Pros

I like the way it is quick, and I can easily track the progress of the students who responded to the survey and those who did not respond.
I like also the way I can send any information as the email to the group of students assigned to any task.

Cons

Sometimes it is challenging to wait for the system to be synchronized. This is a serious issue when it comes to the time I may choose to block the course of the students who do not respond to the evaluations, and when some of them see the course blocked and they respond the survey, I takes me again to be informed and synchronize manually, which I think it could be automated, because in case I am busy in other tasks, It can be a challenge for the students who filled the evaluations to get access on the Canvas page (for my case as we use Canvas).

Crystal K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

With eXplorances support we have been able to integrate Blue with BB and Banner successfully.

Reviewed on 2018/04/17

The ability to have a completely integrated course evaluation process for the entire university including credit and non-credit courses.

Pros

eXplorance listens to our institutions needs and requirements and is continuously modifying and updating their products to be more useful. The software is evolving and has kept base with the changes in the market.

Cons

The learning curve at the beginning is very steep. The software is not as intuitive as other products on the market. Having said that, it also can do more complicated survey design than the competitors.

Sanjay M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome features and value for money. Very user friendly user experience.

Reviewed on 2017/06/06

Parents are very happy to see their kids data in their mobile, hence very useful for school. And performance management tool helps me a lot

Pros

Ease to use and what you need is handy. Performance management tool is very useful for decesion making and makes my day to day life easy

Cons

Hardly see any thing which I don't like. May be some new features integration like inventory management would be useful

Response from eXplorance

Thank you Sanjay for your review. You may have entered the review about Blue when you intended to review another product. Sincerely,

John C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great HR support system

Reviewed on 2017/10/12

Always do your research, many times something this can be done in house. This all depends on your HR staff and your goal. Otherwise i'd recommend it.

Pros

The great thing about Blue is that you have various ways of using it. You can use it as an HR tool when doing completely wide evaluations on anything from employee wellbeing to overall company wellness.

Cons

It does take a bit to learn all the functions and depending on the individual this could be an easy or hard endeavor either or its a great tool.

Erika S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Customer Satisfaction Surveys

Reviewed on 2016/01/25

Explorance is an excellent company to work with and their BLUE system has no comparison when it comes to survey tools to capture the customer experience and satisfaction. An in addition to the tool being efficient is it is also user friendly. Explorance's customer service is excellent on all levels. Whether you are working with their professional services team or customer support their response is excellent and without a glitch. I would not hesitate to recommend them and their products.

Lisa S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Tool!

Reviewed on 2019/05/28

Blue Course Evaluation has allowed us to revamp the delivery of our student learning experience survey in the college which has resulted in improved engagement leading to more meaningful results.

Pros

The list of available features helped us customize the product to best suit our needs.

Cons

Sometimes with a lot of options and a limited budget you feel like you're having to exclude functionality that may have been useful.

Bongani M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

So far so good

Reviewed on 2019/03/13

My overall experience is good, the adoption of Blue has since alerted me that the university needs to rethink its filing systems like linking people to departments and modules that they teaching. This will in turn makes reporting on academic activities easy and enhance alignment with the university's teaching community.

Pros

At the University of Johannesburg (UJ) we began using Blue Course Evaluation this year, 2019 after a trial in 2018. Compare to our previous Course Evaluation mechanism, Blue is in a class of its own. Personally, I like the fact that it is simply to manage once it is set up, it organizes the whole evaluation experience. For example, after loading an evaluation, a lecturer can track the progress of his/her evaluation, have an accurate number of students enrolled in the programme, how many have completed the survey, how many in progress and how many still outstanding. With this information one can work towards improving the response rate. Linked with the University's ITS system, the data is very accurate as only registered students can complete the evaluation. Blue does not only provide course feedback, the system can do way more. For example like providing depth analysis as to which browser used, when the evaluation was completed, the channel used. This information is helpful because we get to know what needs to be done for students to respond positively and to improve so to get constructive feedback from these evaluations.

Cons

Setting up Blue Course Evaluation is not easy. It needs lots of system and information which the university had but not organized in a manner that Blue wanted it. Currently, we do not have a data base that links academic staff to the module that they teach. Without this information there was a little bit of confusion and we ended linking wrong people to modules as we relied on Blackboard information. Perhaps Blue must have a ready made template which institutions can used to sort their data before administration of Blue. This will help as institutions have their own filling systems which are sometimes in conflict with Blue requirements.

Carley D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Blue is a multi-dimensional course evaluation tool that can be scaled to work for any...

Reviewed on 2018/04/17

Ability to schedule automatic report openings and closings based on dynamic date rules--like open at 60% of the semester and close reports at 90% of semester.

Pros

The customizable solution will adapt to any institution's need... even to different scenarios within the same institution. The automatic report generation at the end of the survey was a must-have for us.

Cons

Difficult to set up for the first time... even with the help of the trainers. It takes a lot of time. The additional company trainings are expensive, and after two years, our team doesn't feel like we are capable of building new reports on our own.

Peggy C.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Blue is excellent for delivery of course evaluations that can be highly customized and...

Reviewed on 2017/06/26

Pros

Fabulous software vendor, flawless delivery to students, mobile friendly, ada compliant, great performance, hosting, great customer support.

Cons

The report interface to create customized reports from scratch is not intuitive for novice users. I think the upcoming changes in this area in the next version will address these concerns.

Junaid S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A good value as a institutional evaluation system

Reviewed on 2019/06/01

We are satisfied the with our implementation of Blue Course Evaluation. It has been a good value in addressing all our institutional evaluation needs.

Pros

The flexibility in data organization for a multi-subject multi-rater survey system is a strength of the system. The personalized support Explorance support team provides is excellent.

Cons

The software is adequate but can improve in the interface and features it provides in the development of survey form. The reporting similarly is adequate but can improve.

John V.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great Survey Product for Higher Education!

Reviewed on 2016/01/26

We use this survey tool for our student course evaluations and it works great. Explorance is a great company to work with, their customer service is top notch.

The software attaches to our student information system via Oracle views but we also upload some data via excel spreadsheets. It is pretty easy to use and maintain but it does take some getting used too. Once you have everything developed out (surveys, reporting) and a schedule, you just roll it forward for each semester.

Explorance is always working to improve the software and listens to customer feedback for future enhancements.

I highly recommend them.

Ramzan A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Blue Course Evaluation

Reviewed on 2019/06/01

Our organization is with Explorance since 2009-2010. It has been a long journey and demonstrates the product effectiveness to us. We have been extensively using BLUE for feedback surveys, commonly, for us as well, the most important survey is the course evaluation survey. We have been conveniently deploying the course evaluation survey to the students and then successfully publishing the reports to the relevant faculty accessible online. Our overall experience is extremely satisfactory with this product in terms of what it generally offers, and in particular with its excellent customer support center and people, who are 24/7 ready and available to answer and resolve customers' queries.

Pros

It's ease of use. Additionally, it is very handy to publish the course evaluations to the students, which I reckon is the most desirable feature to the Higher Education Institutions. BLUE gives one a robust control over the project even after it is published, it smartly and intelligently allows the users to handle the project subjects (courses) and members (instructors). Apart from the course evaluations one can conveniently execute and publish hundreds of feedback surveys to the intended audience privately or publicly. Report creating features using the survey response data are excellent and are sufficient enough to suffice the institutional reporting features. The most valuable thing is there customer support - no doubt it's one of the best I have ever experienced, staff responsiveness and effectively resolving the queries is unmatchable.

Cons

There is nothing such as the least one. Instead, I believe that there is always a room for improvement, in this era of Business Intelligence. Explorance understands, knows and has always been continuously endeavouring to optimally improve its product to address the market and customer needs.

Debra S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

the software has a steep learning curve; not intuitively obvious.

Reviewed on 2018/04/17

it does everything I need it to do, and fairly conveniently.

Pros

It has many functionalities - supposedly, once set up, a "one touch" and it does everything for you, which is true. It is hard to accidentally make a mistake -- that is, it just won't work, rather than working incorrectly. Tech support is good, although their communication style is a bit hard to get used to.

Cons

Even now that I am very familiar with it, I still often have to check with tech support about one thing or another. I don't like the report , and I wish it could be more customizable. I am the only one who knows how to use it, and to show its quirks to another would be difficult.

Gloria E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Exemplary Customer Service Supporting Impressive Software

Reviewed on 2019/03/15

The Customer Service and Support are extraordinary and have taken a novice user to advanced with their comprehensive training, knowledge base, as well as ongoing engagement with the product and community of users. It is a solid company with exceptional products.

Pros

The Blue Course Evaluation tool is mobile friendly and multi-platform, as well as very intuitive for end-users. The surveys can be executed and accessed in multiple ways, and those being asked to respond report very few access issues. It works! The Customer Service and Support are extraordinary.

Cons

The admin. side can be clunky, with essential safeguards restricting auto-updates and often multi-step changes if project needs modification after publishing. These are avoidable if you do the work before you publish, but this is often not feasible.

Nancy M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Blue Course Evaluations

Reviewed on 2019/03/04

Blue has assisted our PSI to reduce the number of survey platforms and move closer to automated survey processes.

Pros

I like the feautures that allow instructors to change survey dates and add their custom questions. As well, having the widget in the LMS for both students and instructors seems well used when reviewing the analytics in the response management tab.

Cons

Not having a test environment when integrating and installing the Data Sync Tool.

The naming conventions take quite a bit of time and effort to bwecome familair with and that lengthened the learning curve for administrators and end users.

Donaldo L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

General features

Reviewed on 2019/05/28

In general, the experience has been very good, we are an institute of higher education and it has solved us very well the subject of evaluations of courses and teachers.

Pros

The use of predesigned templates to generate evaluations, the use of question banks and data bases in an agile way, the generation of questionnaires in a simple way, the good quality of the generated reports, non complex administration.

Cons

Sometimes it is a little complicated to navigate between the options of the application, also sometimes it is not very intuitive.

Devendrudu P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The blue survey/360 review features are excellent, the customer support team is exceptional.

Reviewed on 2018/04/22

Pros

The blue survey is software is very user friendly and easy to use. The analysis reports are well structured.

Cons

The UI could be enhanced and more analysis could be provided in the reports, like stack ranking feature in 360 reviews.

Candace G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Blue is a great product and eXplorance is a great vendor.

Reviewed on 2018/04/20

Pros

Blue is very flexible and powerful, and can be configured to meet the different requirements of many different schools.

Cons

Consequences of some configuration decisions can be far-reaching, and should be documented more clearly.

Jacqueline R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

This is a great product to utilize for course reviews that need to be completed for students.

Reviewed on 2018/01/17

I love that this software provides easy access to gain a lot of data from students to improve the way professors approach their teaching techniques.

Pros

I like that students can easily answer multiple questions about their experience in a course so that faculty can implement changes towards their approach to teaching students to improve their success.

Cons

Sometimes it is very easy for a student to just answer the whole assessment without them actually completing it. I would recommend that each section, or every few questions, the assessment response options are changed to keep students aware of what they are completing.

Aimee L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

data steward's review of Blue

Reviewed on 2017/02/10

Blue is a great software; I wish I had more time to use it to it's full potential. Unfortunately, it's only role in my daily life is to calculate what I need tabulated without effort or worry. It does that for me.

Pros

The people behind it.

Cons

What i like least about the software is what others might love the most--that it is a lego type platform. You build it from the ground up--nothing comes prefab. I don't like this because I'm usually to busy to start things from the ground up, and I rarely do the kind of specialized analysis that would come from a uniquely defined system.

Carley D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Very adaptable product

Reviewed on 2017/02/09

There are so many adaptations and 'flexibilities' to the product that it isn't 'ready' just 'out of the box.' However, the software can be adapted to fit your specific needs so it works like a custom tool for your institution.

Pros

Adaptability

Cons

Complex set-up and huge learning curve to software

Oliver G.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

eXplorance took us to the next level with Blue!

Reviewed on 2016/01/26

Having developed, used and maintained a custom-built application that was fine for the requirements that were understood at the time (12 years ago), our organization was faced with the prospect of a significant investment to take this solution to the next level for the decade to come.

In selecting eXplorance as our strategic partner, in Blue we have a true solution that has taken our capability to the next level. It is user friendly with ongoing (minor) enhancements made that reflect customer feedback, it is adaptable to a wide range of data collection, analytics and reporting needs, and we have a wide range of Fortune 500 stakeholders who appreciate the modern look, feel and logic of their new interface.

We are very happy with this product - it has truly removed manual processes and enabled our time to be focused on the truly value adding post survey exercise of analysis discussions.