IBM Planning Analytics Reviews

IBM Planning Analytics

Planning, budgeting, forecasting, analysis & scorecarding

4.2/5 (9 reviews)
Michael B.

IBM Cognos TM-1

Reviewed on 2016/08/23
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

This product allows our Finance team to forecast. Being able to tie the data to our data warehouse allows our users to slice and dice the data they way that they need.

Cons

This product is hard to maintain at times. Being a place that doesn't have trained individuals on how to use this, we have to turn to outside vendors to help us out quite a bit. Doesn't seem to intuitive and is hard to finds information on the internet.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Gerson M.

Trustworthy as TM1

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/02/22
Review Source: Capterra

Predictive insights uncovered automatically with just a few clicks

Pros

It's powered by TM1 another great solution of IBM. Eliminate manual tasks derived from the constant and tedious use of spreadsheets. It provides dynamic planning and analytics workspace to model real-time scenarios. Once I export it to Excel as a formula driven file, all I have to do is edit the cell that it is pulling from and the result will vary depending of the desired result.

Cons

Must wait some time while files are processed. Also penalize heavily errors. But once is set the results are great.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Luigi S.

A predictive/analysis software at fist class

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/02
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

If you need to perform Budgetting activities having several cost centers and managers from which you need to collect budget data, this is the solution to your need.

Cons

The direct support supplied by IBM is more a commercial than technical support, by the way there is plenty of IBM partners supporting it

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Madhukeshwari S.

Awesome tool to manage budget and planning

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/06
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Its multi task software, so no need to buy different software to manage your organisation planning, reports are exporting to excel so easily modify it as you wish

Cons

Bit difficult to setup, no more articles over the internet, you need to ask some techies for one time setup. Later anyone can handle it

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
David C.

I've been a TM1 consultant and administrator for the past 5 years.

Reviewed on 2015/08/28
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

It is a very power tool if used in the right situation in the right way.

Cons

Ability to create complete UI and getting data out of it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Jeffrey B.

BI Product

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/03/13
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The overall product provides a central system and removes the need to purchase many different platforms.

Cons

The security setup is complex and difficult to do out of the box. Once setup, it works great with Acitve directory

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Luigi S.

The best budgetting sw ever seen

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/10
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I devellopped twice TM1 and my customers were always happy

Pros

IBM Cognos TM 1 is the best solution for budgetting & modelling; it has a strong adherence to each budgetting process due to its flexibility

Cons

The price is a little high for those companies having small business; the interface could be improuved

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Amanda A.

Best Customer Service

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2016/10/25
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

IBM has the absolute best customer service. Each time we had an issue there was someone from their IT Support to help right away. We spoke with a guy named Steve once that fixed us up perfectly. Thank you IBM and thank you Steve!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Nabeel C.

TM1 Review

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/11/18
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

TM1 is a great tool to have as long as the organization's system interfacing are setup to work reliably and the databases are designed to interface with each other. If these conditions are not ideal, then TM1 will not add as much value to the organization as it is designed to.

Pros

The biggest advantage of using IBM Cognos TM1 is the ability to fully incorporate budgets and planning into the accounting system and the ability to use Cognos and Costpoint and other softwares to expand, analyze and extrapolate these budgets, planning and forecasts.

Cons

TM1 heavily relies on data feed from other systems whether it be Cognos, CostPoint or T&E and any small issue during the data interface can skew the analysis and often result in errors and misleading financial analysis.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

5.0/10