177 reviews

PastorsLine

Text & voice messaging system for churches and ministries

4,3 /5 (177 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,3 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
86%
recommended this app
177 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Fantastic Idea Working Out the Details

Reviewed on 2021/04/06

With email open rates growing lower and the need for quick church communication in a time of COVID increasing, we tried PastorsLine as a way to combine the best of SMS messaging with a phone number our community knew well.

Pros

Being able to text from our landline is an incredible feature as we bridge the gap between folks who grew up texting and those who learned to do it later in life. In addition, the automation features that allow on-boarding of new community members are fantastic and well thought out.

Cons

The backend interface is a little clunky and not intuitive, but their roadmap includes major updates in this area, so I am excited to see future design changes.

Mike L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

PastorsLine Review

Reviewed on 2019/09/10

PastorsLine has helped us make meaningful connections as well as communicate easily to people in our congregation.

Pros

I love how easy PastorsLine is to use for first-time guest follow-up in our church. We collect data both digitally through PastorsLine as well as through a paper card. I've got a series of follow-up texts scheduled that has been super helpful for us in connecting with new people. I also love that they can reply directly to the text and I can have an exchange with them.

Cons

The features are fantastic but the interface is still a little wanting. They've been doing upgrades for the past year but the process to get to the end result seems a little slow.

Response from PastorsLine

Thanks Mike! We are so happy you have been able to have success with your new guests and being able to engage with them so easily. We do know the interface needs updating and we are in the process of making those changes (as you know). We do thank you for your patience and for sticking with us through it and can't wait for the finished product either!

Stevan S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A Worthwhile Investment of Time and Money for Our Church

Reviewed on 2019/07/16

I have had nothing but success in using PastorsLine. Even as I'm writing this review, two more of our retired-age adults signed up to receive prayer request alerts from our church through our PastorsLine software!

Pros

We love the ability of sending out burst communications in seconds to a variety of groups and people. Communicating immediately via text message is just the solution we were looking for as a church staff.

Cons

The back-end of PastorsLine is continuing to evolve even as we're using it. The app and web-versions of the software are growing my leaps and bounds even in our time using it. There are times when I wish the process was complete and finalized.

Response from PastorsLine

We're love hearing such success stories and we're glad that it is helping you to communicate better with your church! Thanks for your kind words, Stevan!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Improvement over built-in CCB texting options

Reviewed on 2019/09/16

I feel strongly the team running PastorsLine cares about their clients, and seems to be honest about the "clunky" nature of the product, and is striving to improve. They are quick to respond when there is a problem, and keep us in the loop as the product evolves.

Pros

Synchronization with CCB (Church Community Builder) is our primary reason for choosing this product. And the sync features work pretty well. The auto-respond features are useful, but very basic.

Cons

The user interface (both web based and phone app) is "clunky." It works most of the time, but the tool is always slow to refresh screens, and feels like I'm always waiting for it to catch up or respond. Development team has been working on a new interface for a long time, but in a year they still are working out the kinks of the beta interface. Auto-respond features can't be customized to synchronize with user defined fields, so they have limited use.

Response from PastorsLine

Thanks for sharing your experience! As you know, we are working to improve the interface and make it less clunky. We do thank you for your patience and for sticking with us through it and appreciate your feedback!

Cody K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A great option for following up with text campaigns and still being able to do voice calls

Reviewed on 2019/09/16

We've had a good experience with PastorsLine. We've hit a few bumps along the way, but the team is always ready to reach out and resolve issues quickly.

Pros

I love that I can connect all of this software with Planning Center and use the two seamlessly. It makes automated follow up manageable and effective.

Cons

I think the platform is a bit hard to get use too. The design could be more user friendly, but like with any new platform, after you learn it things become easier.

Response from PastorsLine

Hi, Cody! It's amazing to hear that you had a good experience especially with the PCO integration which made your automated follow up manageable and effective.

Annette C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Customer Service is Incredible!

Reviewed on 2020/03/23

They are so helpful and friendly. They've been a great fit for us and have provided an affordable option for keywords.

Pros

My favorite thing about Pastorsline is their customer service! They are so friendly, helpful, and go above and beyond to make using their software as simple as possible.

Cons

The software can be tough to navigate. It takes some training to learn the ins and outs of the software and you have to learn on the training elements quite a bit rather than it being intuitive.

Response from PastorsLine

Thanks for your kind words, Annette! We are very pleased to help you out! Thanks for sticking through the learning curve. and please keep reaching out to us when you need help.:)

Angela G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

PastorsLine Review

Reviewed on 2019/09/11

Pros

The ease of use for a new user & that it syncs with our current Planning Center software.

Cons

The amount of time it takes & the accuracy of texting large groups, & having to use a secondary number.

Response from PastorsLine

Thank you for the feedback, Angela! We appreciate your feedback and We're always working on improving in all those areas.

Becky L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

PastorsLine - Best way to get a response from our congregation

Reviewed on 2019/09/10

This is the first application that has really worked for us. From RSVP's to prayer requests to an encouraging word from our Pastor to an emergency message, PastorsLine has engaged our congregation in a easy to respond way, right at their individual finger tips, through their mobile phone!

Pros

The easy of sending out a text or voice messages.

Cons

Some areas in the integration with church management software. Not so intuitive; but once learned, no issues.

Response from PastorsLine

Thank you Becky! We are so glad it's helping you communicate better to your church! We love hearing stories like that!

Christina J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Review

Reviewed on 2019/09/16

It's honestly been a lot of extra time used trying to fix many different situations that have randomly come about. There always seems to be a "code" to fix everything, but usually takes a while.

Pros

The layout is pretty simple on how to navigate around. Creating templates, adding users and phone numbers are very easy as well.

Cons

It's extremely slow, the messages lag when you hit send it takes a few minutes for people to receive the message. Getting help/support can take hours to a day to get a response. All kinds of "errors/glitches" when sending out messages and navigating through the system. There is a Help section, but can never easily find what I need. Wish analytics were able to track more.

Response from PastorsLine

Thank you for your response Christina! We are sorry your experience with support has not been a good one. We do try to respond to everyone's request as soon as possible and resolve any issues reported within 24 hours.

For the messages being sent slow (if it's a group message)- that probably has to do with our built in throttle to send messages 1-3 seconds apart (depends on the size of the group) to avoid your messages being marked as spam by the carriers. Send us a chat and let's discuss more if you don't think this is the cause of the delay.

Aaron B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Communication Toolbox

Reviewed on 2019/09/28

Pastors Line has helped me close the gap in communication to our church. Fast. Reliable.
Great Support:

Pros

It can do basically anything.
So many possibilities.

Cons

Takes time to learn how to do it all. (But it’s worth it)

Response from PastorsLine

We appreciate your kind words, Aaron! Thanks for sharing your experience! :)

Ethan C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Professional Communication

Reviewed on 2019/08/11

Pros

PastorsLine is a current, ever growing and expanding software that makes communication to the masses simple and easy. I enjoy the ability to schedule messages, get people to sign up for things by texting a key phrase to a number, the adaptability/customization this software has, and that it is web and app based.

Cons

The least favorite function about this software is how at times the app can run a tad slower than I’d prefer.

Response from PastorsLine

Thank you so much for your kind words, Ethan. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. Our team is continuously working on to improve the product to provide the best service possible. Thank you for sticking with us!

Travis R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PastorsLine is just what we were looking for!

Reviewed on 2019/06/26

PastorsLine has enabled us to better communicate with our guests and regular attendees. From follow up, to regular communication we have been able to engage with our guests quicker and more efficiently than before!

Pros

-Quick, responsive customer service.
-Willing to take user feedback and continue to develop a better product.
-Has enhanced our guest follow up process.

Cons

-Online interface could be improved upon, but I know they are actively working on this.

Response from PastorsLine

We're so glad that it helped you improved the overall communication with your guests and regular attendees. Thank you, Travis, for taking the time to leave this excellent review!

Abraham S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Most useful software

Reviewed on 2019/09/10

Great program and customer service

Pros

Saves a lot of time and effort for the organisation

Cons

it is a program that only works if there is internet service

Response from PastorsLine

Thanks for your support, Abraham. It's true that as a user, the app would not work if there isn't any internet. However, your subscribers will always be able to text you as the system is in the cloud. Once you are back online, you would get the messages.

We previously had an option to send a blast from your phone's SMS app. We would consider bringing this back. This would allow you to text any specific group using your standard SMS app.

Thanks for sharing.

Joel D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great communication tool

Reviewed on 2019/09/16

Very good. Customer service makes all the difference!

Pros

Love the integration with ccb database and MailChimp. Easy to text a large group. I like that I can run automated communications but step in with personal texts or phone calls whenever it feels needed.

Cons

Little bit of a learning curve to know how to set up an automatic csmpagin and setting up the flow of an feels a little more complicated than it should be.

Response from PastorsLine

Thanks, Joel! We're ecstatic to hear that you love the integrations as well as our customer service! We appreciate your kind review. :)

Kindal W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Church Communication Tool!!!

Reviewed on 2019/09/16

Pros

I love being able to upload photos from the app, when sending out text messages. In other apps, I have not been able to do that. I also LOVE the automated birthday messages. It’s a nice touch for congregation to receive personalized messages on their birthday.

Cons

It appears that there are times where everyone doesn’t receive text messages that are sent. Not sure if it’s an app issue or an issue with the carrier.

Response from PastorsLine

Hey, Kindal! Thanks for your kind words! We're glad that you love it especially our automated, personalized birthday feature. If you're having trouble sending messages or you need assistance, please send us a chat or email at [email protected]

Ronee D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Raving review

Reviewed on 2019/02/28

Pastor's Line has been incredible for our church! Not only that is it functional, but their customer services is unreal! They actually edited/created a feature for me according to my specific needs! It worked out perfectly!

Pros

We use this software for everything: for contests, to connect people to Jesus, baptism, groups, serving... everything!

Cons

It is a little confusing at the beginning understanding campgains and groups and how they work together. Once you understand and get that down, it's much easier to use.

Response from PastorsLine

Thank you for the kind words, Ronee. We are so glad it's helping you and your church in different ways! :)

Cara S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Takes a bit to learn, but phenomenal results! Very worth learning the system!

Reviewed on 2017/09/26

Connection with our customer base. Mobility volunteers to participate.

Pros

Syncs with CCB, where all our contacts are already stored. Can pre-schedule a text to go out at a certain time. Great customer support - quick and responsive! Reasonable pricing. Can increase our plan as our use grows. No contracts!!

Cons

Not as intuitive as I'd like. They are still developing the tutorial videos. (their quick customer service makes up for this most times, tho).

Benjamin C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Greatly Increases Organizational Communication

Reviewed on 2019/01/09

As a small but growing church reaching young families, a good digital communications solution is essential to us. Pastorsline seems to have all of the features we could want at a price we can afford. The company support is top-notch also, and all of my interactions with staff there have been extremely positive.

Pros

For only a little more than what we were currently paying for an SMS service, we received a ton of other features like voice messaging, campaigns, and unlimited keywords.

Cons

It can be a little challenging to understand at first. Tutorial videos are provided, but it can still be complex because of the amount of features and options that are available.

Response from PastorsLine

Thank you, Benjamin! We are so happy that Pastorsline been a useful tool for your organizational communication. We appreciate your review!

Zach Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

It is pretty good!

Reviewed on 2019/09/16

Pros

I like that it connects to Church Community Builder. This is a huge pro for us.

Cons

Sometimes messaging people back is a bit clunky and I lose my place when there are multiple people who need to be responded to.

Response from PastorsLine

Thanks, Zach! We are working to improve the interface and make it less clunky. Thanks for sticking with us!

Paolo E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great communication tool with a bright future

Reviewed on 2017/04/10

I've been using the platform since it's beta stages. The team at Pastor's Line is extremely dedicated and attentive to customer feedback. They are constantly making improvements and adding features based on customer feedback. This is already a great tool to communicate effectively and will only get better.

Pros

The constant updates and added features.

Cons

Usability can still be improved a bit.

Response from PastorsLine

Thank you for your review. We are committed to improving. BTW, we just launched our iOS app. You can download it from here --> http://pastorsline.com/app/

Chloe R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product

Reviewed on 2019/09/26

Pros

I enjoy all the options that’s pastorsline gives its users. From the contests to the data retrieval it’s all super useful!

Cons

Sometimes I can get lost in all the details.

Response from PastorsLine

It's wonderful to hear that it's super helpful! :) Thanks for your kind words, Chloe!

Mike S.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

This system is a game changer for church communication

Reviewed on 2017/10/09

Pros

Used extensively during IRMA, out of the box ways to communicate back and forth! So worth the little cost to have this running!

Cons

Just need a little better easy of use on the app, but nothing that is a show stopper. Want to incorporate more CCB forms in the future.

Andrew T.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Overall, Good.

Reviewed on 2017/12/29

Pros

The software does what it says it will do. It does it well and is reasonably easy to use. If people use texting frequently - this could be a good option.

Cons

My team didn't take to it like I thought they would. Having a separate texting service - especially one that requires a special (very slow) app or logging into a computer in order to reply was very cumbersome - and actually pulled away from the relationships we were trying to build. I can see this working for many. But it didn't for us.

Kathy S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great to text the masses

Reviewed on 2020/02/18

Pros

I love being able to text the whole group at once instead of having to send out individual ones.

Cons

Just getting everything set up is difficult. I know I’m missing out in so many of the features because it’s more complicated than I’m used to.

Response from PastorsLine

Hey, Kathy! We appreciate your review! There is a learning curve but you can reach out to us at [email protected] when you need help! You can also check step-by-step instructions here https://help.pastorsline.com/en/
Thanks!

Timothy S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Pastor's Line

Reviewed on 2019/09/19

Pros

The pricing for the service is one of the reasons we chose to use this service. The rollover credits was very helpful for our situation. It has been a good additional to our overall communication strategy.

Cons

There really haven't been any significant problems that we have encountered with this service.

Response from PastorsLine

Thanks, Timothy! We're happy that you find it a good addition to your overall communication strategy. :)