34 reviews

Rubrik

All Your Apps. Instantly Available.

4,7 /5 (34 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,7
/
5
Value for Money
4,4
Features
4,4
Ease of Use
4,7
Customer Support
4,8
97% recommended this app
34 reviews
Jon H.

We use Rubrik to protect Managed Cloud devices for our clients and we love it

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/03/26
Review Source: Capterra

Rubrik has allowed us to stop focusing on the minutiae of running a homegrown backup storage/orchestration product and focus on automation of the infrastructure/deployment instead
Rubrik has improved the performance of our backup jobs, allowing us to perform more backups with fewer resources overall
Rubrik has given our clients more choice in how backups function

Pros

The Rubrik API is central to the product
Rubrik backs up VMware-based VM very well
Rubrik is a growing company, which makes the personal interaction we have with their folks very rewarding and productive

Cons

The Rubrik product is still young (only a few years old), so it has some room to mature, specifically in the non-VMware backup space
Rubrik is a growing company, so sometimes it's difficult to build a relationship with tech support staff when you get a new person every time

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Casey G.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Backups made easy

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/10/17
Review Source: Capterra

Easy to install. Support is excellent. The product has saved us a few times with production servers going down. Instant recover is great.

Pros

Setup was a breeze. Easy to create SLAs depending on how many snapshots you want of each vm. Migration to either azure or aws is also handy. Customer support is excellent.

Cons

No cons at this point in time as we've had no issues whatsoever with the product.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Wholesale

I am patiently awaiting the release of 4.1 which should bring massive improvements .

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/19
Review Source: Capterra

We haven't progressed far enough with the product to see value to our overall business objectives.

Pros

Rubrik is used to protect 1,000+ objects in my environment with 90%+ being VMware virtual machines. It is being used across the whole organization, globally, with three clusters existing to support our global initiatives. It provides backup protection for my objects and also provides a way to migrate certain data profiles into the cloud.

Searchable Content - search for file across datasets allows for quick restores.

Cons

I am patiently awaiting the release of 4.1 which should bring massive improvements to the functionality of the system as well as add additional features missing from the product. I feel Rubrik is well suited for customers that want to run high amount of snapshots per day and wish for a lower RPO granularity for restore. It is less appropriate for perhaps customers that want to run all their backups in one evening because of how jobs are queued and spread across the backup window.

Missing functionality - allow for more granular intervals across different time segments.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 4.0/10

Frederic L.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Backup simplicity at the higher level

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/14
Review Source: Capterra

Rubrik had transformed our IT operation forever, we simply love backups now !

Pros

Easy to use, friendly, efficient. Rubrik understood how backups should work and how to simplify IT Team's tasks.

Cons

The upgrade process is still cumbersome, but simplicity is on the roadmap.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

René V.
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Brik the holes in your data protection strategy

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/03/17
Review Source: Capterra

Much better ROI over traditional data protection solutions like Avamar. Fastest time to market. High rate of innovation delivers great business value.

Pros

Fastest time to Market - literally takes minutes to install and setup (assuming your prerequisites are met). High rate of innovation - Rubrik has a very fast release cycle, new features come out regularly. Amazing support - very high NPS score, these guys care about their customers.

Cons

New to the market - but these guys are just getting started. No support for non-x86 workloads. Only starting to support in-guest agents for application and database consistent backups.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Miguel M.

We utilize Rubrik both Internally and as our BaaS solution offering. Its robust API interface allows

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Cloud Archival - Rubrik allows you to easily archive backups to any Objects based storage (AWS S3, Azure Blob, etc.)

File level restore - Rubrik allows you to download individual files from snapshot based backups. Without needing to mount or restore the entire VM.

Cons

Access Control - Rubrik's user roles and access could be a bit more granular. Current options do not allow for limited read-only accounts.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Rob M.

Rubrik is being used at my organization for backups of virtual and physical servers enterprise wide.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/03/15
Review Source: Capterra

I no longer feel the need to babysit and monitor all of the backup jobs in the backup system. It simply works when it is supposed to at all times. Live recovery is near instant and handles all mounts through the appliance for rapid recovery. Spinning up test SQL servers from mounts are great for our development team also.

Pros

Backups of virtual machines and live mounts are done really well
Storage arrays can integrate with Rubrik.
Easy cloud archive setup.

Cons

More storage array integration needed.
Easier restore for files that download using the browser. I can't get this to work.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Rubrik is used as the single backup platform within the business.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/09
Review Source: Capterra

It's improved operational efficiency, as we now don't have to spend time scheduling backups, and has created very tangible savings. In the next 5 years we expect to save over 55% switching from our legacy provider to Rubrik. It's also mitigated us against any future data centre blackouts through its Azure replication capabilities - while significantly reducing our power consumption and footprint in the data centre.

Pros

1. Replication to cloud
2. SLA based backups
3. Data immutability
4. Single platform
5. It's improved operational efficiency, as we now don't have to spend time scheduling backups, and has created very tangible savings. In the next 5 years we expect to save over 55% switching from our legacy provider to Rubrik. It's also mitigated us against any future data centre blackouts through its Azure replication capabilities - while significantly reducing our power consumption and footprint in the data centre.

Cons

Out of the box reporting could be better - However the API interface allows the generation of custom reports and the ability to retrieve any detail from the system

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Jerad W.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Easy Corporate Backup

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/12/27
Review Source: Capterra

This software is robust, yet easy to use. I definitely recommend Rubrik if you have servers with information that needs to be retained.

Pros

Finding backups across multiple servers and drives was a painless task with Rubrik. Navigating to the file or folder you needed to recover was easy and the recovery process was short.

Cons

Depending on the size of the file being recovered, it would take quite a bit of time to restore the file and then you would have to wait on it to be downloaded.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Opeyemi O.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 2-10 Employees

rubrik review

Used Other for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/12/26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

prior to the discovery of rubrik and how amazing it works, i had to babysit and personally monitor all of the backups that are ongoing, now, with rubrik, i have more time to myself as i do not have to be there for backups to be take, rubrik just takes care of them all the way i would have done if i was there to monitor it. The live recovery feature is a bomb as it is almost instantaneous.

Cons

The lack of first party tools for native application level understanding is really irking, although the developers are making up for this by the implementation of third party tools, but i feel they are not the best and mire needs to be done.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Brandon M.

A backup solution that just works!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/03/30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

More than any other backup platform, the jobs simply run and succeed without any other assistance needed. It is set and forget, replacing a solution that required daily work to verify/validate/fix issues from the backups.
Instant restore is not instant, but sub 1 minute, which is very fast to recover.

Cons

As it started working from most used to least used features, some edge case backups are not supported. No SQL filestream for transaction log backups, no support for smaller database vendors native products.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Does the Job well, Great Product

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/03/06
Review Source: Capterra

Some benefits are that the product does the back up process correctly and efficiently for our data and does not need to be constantly monitored like other programs we have used in the past.

Pros

Some pros of Rubrik are that is automatically balances a schedule. Also the feature to instantly live mounts of virtual machines is very convenient.

Cons

Lack of native AD/Sharepoint/Exchange tools which would be a nice addition. Also there is no batch recovery without using API calls.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Law Practice
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Set it and forget it (Mostly)

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I do not need to monitor it all the time. I can just create SLA's and apply them to VM's/servers. Then I can sit back and let it backup. When we have run into issues support has been very easy to work with. Since they are still a new/growing company they take customer feedback seriously and look to implement it where they can.

Cons

Some features do not work as shown, but support has been great to help resolve these issues. We were sold on some features that currently do not exist but will be coming in a future update.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Arulprasad R.

It was a a next gen Product , with we being a Vmware shop the product is doing a amazing job

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ease of Use/ Deduplication, Restore capability with ease/ Archival capability.
The UI is easy to use.
The Recovery of VM is much easier to use with variety of options to choose from cloud mount to local live ount.

Cons

Bare metal recovery of physical servers, Limitation with thier edge devices.
The Edge device doe not fit a profile for backing up a 5 VM's as of today as thier Space contraints takes much space in our datatastore. The uploads are limited with one per session from edge devices

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Excellent product!!

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/08/20
Review Source: Capterra

Overall this is a really great product. Anybody who has normal backup needs from Virtualization to SMB/NFS shares can use this product. It even has many of the OS level agents and key application agents like SQL and Exchange. It is missing an Active Directory object level backup/restore. They are working on an Office 365 backup capability (most other products don't have that yet either though). Overall this is a really nice product and it should be at the top of your list to consider if you are overhauling or replacing your backup solution.

Pros

Easy to use
Simple to manage
support is incredible
love the simple code upgrade process

Cons

Missing a few features, many of them are legacy, but still missing. Every release gets more features.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Lewis J.

The experience with Rubrik has been a great experience from POC to installing and using Rubrik.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/03/08
Review Source: Capterra

Not many dislikes about the product but would like NAS backup speeds to be faster but I have seen improvements with each software updates with new features.

Pros

The ease of use knowing that the product works and you can verify by the Gui and reports. I like how fast software updates are applied.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Michael S.

It does everything promised, and it's super easy to use. Support is incredible.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The ease of use and the fact that it just works. When you do need support, they are very responsive.

Cons

The inability to manage the expiration of relics. When a VM is deleted, the backups remain in Rubrik, but there is no way to allow these backups to expire. They are completely unmanaged requiring intervention to clean up.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Law Practice
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Great product that is easy to implement but has a lot of useful features

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/13
Review Source: Capterra

Fast and simple backup and restore with easy archive to the cloud

Pros

Easy implementation, good REST API interface, easy to create backups and DR systems with this product

Cons

Limited reporting built in to the system and not much report or audit customization availible. Also lackluster RBAC implementation.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer

Works Great but Lacking as a Overall Solution

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/07/10
Review Source: Capterra

Allows us to backup one of our environments across several different locations / servers and have it viewable from one central dashboard.

Pros

Dashboard interface is extremely easy to use for real time tracking of backups. Great customer support if you experience any issues.

Cons

Interface is somewhat all over the place when it comes to checking the status of recently run backups causing us to experience delays when tracking which are successfully completed vs those with errors.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Eric L.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Rubrik works really great, the compression and deduplication rate are incredible!

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/19
Review Source: Capterra

No more broken snapshots caused by a proxy crash

Pros

Management is very simple and intuitive
Compression and deduplication is incredible
It ingests data really fast, reducing the amount of time for backups
Archiving is made very simple through the cloud storage integration

Cons

The restore of application items like emails from Exchange or tables within databases has to be done with a 3rd party software, it's not integrated inside Rubrik

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Julio L.

Excellent Backup and Replication Solution

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

-It's quick and fast.
-Easy User Interface and Beautiful design
-Pretty much universal support: Windows, Linux
-Easy to learn and it's like an Apple Time Machine backup where you can browse for files and mount pretty much instantly.

Cons

Nothing bad about this product. The product performs well and efficiently. Pricing is a different issue because you pay what you get and this product delivers well so it's expected.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Banking
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great performance and usability

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/01/08
Review Source: Capterra

Backup times have been greatly reduced as well as the space consumed thanks to the great deduplication.

Pros

The integration of this with vcenter is fantastic. The backups are lightening fast and restores are exceptionally easy.

Cons

I really wish this would integrated with out StoreOnce backend better than it does or be offered as a software only solution that we can leverage our own hardware for.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Cory H.

The Rubrik platform is very easy to deploy and simple to manage.

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The software is built really well with an easy look and feel. The backups can be run automatically on several different schedules and the recovery time on the appliance can be completed in minutes.

Cons

The only Con is not a direct integration to tape backup. It requires a third party solution that is an additional purchase with and additional support contract.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Gareth E.

Makes backups great again

Reviewed on 2018/03/28
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

When I have used Rubrik it has been excellent, it makes backups easy again and you can near enough set and forget. It doesn't matter if anyone creates a new VM as this can be targeted automatically via the policies to ensure its backed up and your RPO's and RTO's are met. I think it took me longer to rack the device than it did to configure it and take my first backup

Cons

Just needs more SSO and 2FA but to be fair they are ahead of many vendors, just worth checking with an SE if yours is supported

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kevin M.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Great product and easy to setup and use

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It's ease of backing up vm's on all hypervisors that matter the ingestion deduplication and compression is amazing especially when pushing to cloud

Cons

The RBAC controls are weak currently and the alert management is too high level. The sql backups can be missed if the server is too busy but this is a pro too

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support