Showing 206 reviews of 191

Pendo

Product usage & behavior data capture

4,5 /5 (191 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,5 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
95%
recommended this app
Showing 206 reviews of 191
Chris W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product

Reviewed on 2020/11/09

Very good. The team were highly attentive and supportive. Has been a really enjoyable project getting this set up and running with benefits almost immediately.

Pros

It is a significant investment, but so many benefits, it is worth it. The software is very easy to integrate with (for standard web apps) to start getting analytics immediately but you do need a role that focuses on this as their day job to drive the most value from it. The guides are easy to set up and flexible too with lots of templates to help get you started quickly. Having worked in product management for over 25 years the discovery of Pendo was a godsend! Wish had discovered it years before.

Cons

Works well for standard web apps. If your app doesn't change URL for each page you visit then there may be issues tracking at volume. Not insurmountable but needs more time, thought.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good tracking, but you get what you set up

Reviewed on 2020/09/10

Outputs depend greatly on the familiarity of those setting up the page/feature tags and segments. It can be cleaned up later, but it's not a trivial effort to set up, and little happens automatically.

Pros

Tracking snippet is fast to install. For a SaaS solution, it starts logging events right away, regardless of whether a page or feature is tagged. This helps later, new tags retroactively apply based on logs.

Cons

Setup was very tedious, each page and feature needed to be tagged individually. Some features like app filters or groups didn't work for all of our solutions, leading to redundant naming conventions.

Elizabeth F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Function + Form + Freedom to make it awesome

Reviewed on 2020/11/16

Pros

Pendo is truly out-of-the-box fantastic and allows for product teams to communicate with users plus then analyze user behavior to drive decision-making and prioritization. It's great to announce and track feature adoption, allows for just about any customization, and its interface is easy to use even if someone doesn't have a lot of coding or website building experience. Their customer service is superior, and the company is very communicative and always has great new things for us as users.

Cons

Sometimes Pendo can be tricky with older code bases or with iframes, and rarely the guide builder behaves erratically so it's hard to tell how much you've saved.

Chase G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Pendo guides are like having an expert train you through every step.

Reviewed on 2020/11/23

A few years ago we identified a scaling challenge to onboard customers of all sizes and complexities at a faster rate and volume. Our customer’s expectations were that they should be able to self-service, to log in and figure out their set-up and get onboarded quickly and painlessly. This was at a time where a lot of our processes were manual and to that end, we required that the Implementation team provide the onboarding contact with a one-hour portal training.

To fix this, we created customized onboarding guides using Pendo and grew our self-service offerings in a way so that we did not lose the human connection that our customers value throughout onboarding and beyond.

Pros

We rely heavily on Pendo's Guide feature. Our onboarding guides are a customized and prescriptive list of tasks that are necessary for a user to complete in order to begin using their Bandwidth account. Our customers love that these embedded guides prompt them through the actual processes they perform in the Bandwidth Dashboard. It’s like having an expert train you through every step.

Cons

We wish that Pendo allowed for non-linear guides. It's often difficult to ensure that a user clicks the intended target element so that the guide progresses. I'd love to have the ability to account for a user's natural curiosity and allow them to explore more without losing their guide in the process.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I've been looking for a real solution to my User Behavior Analytics Problem

Reviewed on 2018/12/14

My experience with Pendo over the past year has been excellent, from initial discussions, implementation and support, Pendo has been great. Big shout out to the team at Pendo all have been very supportive and patient.

Pros

Pendo is built for product teams and provides a real solution to what I consider User Behavior Analytics, Qualitative + Quantitative Insights. The best part its super easy to get up and going, minimizes my development and implementation efforts. I have been able to train my Product Managers and UX Designers/Researchers in how to Tag, Generate Reports in less then 1 hour. Pendo makes Analytics easy + fun which is perfect in keeping my teams engaged and using analytics to measure success with each release. Also Pendo helps us now connect a complete user journey cross devices from desktop to mobile, it has helped us drive engagement into new areas of our applications through what they call Guides, and has allowed us to easily and quickly identify problem areas by looking into the analytics and using in-app surveys to collect additional in the momement feedback.

Cons

I must say not much I do not like about the software. The pricing model which is based on monthly active users can get costly if you have millions of users, so it's not ideal for putting Pendo on your marketing or lead pages, its best used within your application after users sign in.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Pendo does everything you could possibly want in User Engagement and Analytics! It is the...

Reviewed on 2019/02/03

Fantastic sales cycle, great CSM team and communication. We were pretty much completely onboarded (self-onboarded) when we finally signed and were given an Onboarding coordinator. His sessions were useful and still added value even though we'd figured the majority of it out on our own during the sales trial period. We're full steam ahead and looking for more and more way Pendo can help us know what we didn't know.

Pros

I love Pendo. I love it so much, I asked Capterra to add it to their software list just so I could review it (and no, I don't work there). We've used Pendo for the last 10 months and it couldn't be going better. We are a SaaS company and Pendo is giving our Product, Analytics, Customer Success and Onboarding Teams insights that were not previously possible. We leverage Pendo for user engagement, onboarding (tool tips, guides, popups etc.) and analytics. It is a smooth platform with great support and it works great. Couldn't recommend it more.

Cons

It's not necessarily a knock on Pendo so much as it is a knock on the quality of the development of your own site that Pendo sits on top of. If you have some questionable code, you may have a tricky time getting the rules and feature tagging completed exactly as you'd like. It helps if you have a knowledge of HTML and CSS to get around any of these pitfalls, otherwise you'll have to work with your Dev teams to get your internal code issues sorted out so that Pendo can work properly.

Isabella H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A complete product you can trust.

Reviewed on 2020/11/07

Pendo is being used in our organization, for a convenient objective in understanding, more than everything to know how our clients use the product that we offer to the exhibition for sale, including how we can better design the software that we currently have to improve the experience of each of the users who navigate through our digital platform, in other words similar and clearer, it should be noted that this system addresses the need to understand how the operators that we obtain on the website interact through the schedules that we have in force and in previous functionality.

Pros

Pendo provides a clean user interface to interact with, mentioning that this ensures that all data can be found quickly and efficiently, in order to reduce performance slowdown within this platform, which is quite essential for a understandable fluency, without excluding that it promotes accurate and up-to-date metrics on all the information we seek in general, for a more alternative benefit, highlighting that creating guides and surveys agrees to keep us closer to the clients that each organization acquires.

Cons

The current panel is very easy to use, however, it has a limited customization capacity, which we cannot configure the boards to our scope, much less move functions where it is most relevant, instead of adding them, the which is a quite serious problem, which requires an update for a more flexible platform, especially in terms of adapting the tools to the most conducive environment, for better development.

Tim V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A Must Have for Every Software Vendor

Reviewed on 2020/10/30

Pros

Pendo really excel at their ability to flexibly tag pages and features to paint a accurate path throughout your application. It's ability to retrospectively do so is a killer feature. Also, the ability to quickly throw up highly customizable notifications/dialogs/information/tooltips has truly changed the way we engage with our users. But I could go on and on - segmentation, the resource center, NPS surveying functionality, Salesforce integration, an API, etc...

Cons

The built in reporting is a great start and has a lot of features. But improvements could be made. We do find ourselves looking to get data out to do more with it.

Monisha R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Analytics data geared towards product teams

Reviewed on 2019/04/25

For a product manager audience, Pendo is an excellent tool. Great for tracking product engagement, new feature adoption, and understanding overall behavior of your customer base.

Pros

Lots of potential for segmentation and reporting, allows for in-app messaging and guides to communicate information to customers, which has been great for launching new features or announcements. NPS automation has been really useful as well. Customer support has been great the couple times it's been needed. Overall very instrumental to our team in tracking engagement and customer health.

Cons

I believe Salesforce integration is an additional cost which is not ideal. Individual user data showing in-app activity doesn't have the best visual presentation, a bit clunky to interpret. App layout could be a bit more intuitive.

Shaun V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It just works - Provides amazing insights

Reviewed on 2018/04/06

We understood our adoption issues and could apply data to our hypothesis on how to address them. Our customer success team now has strong visibility into their customers usage or lack thereof so we can get ahead of any issues. Our Pendo data is synced into Salesforce so our sales team can find references or up-sell opps easily. Our engineering team appreciates Pendo guides so they don't have to continually update modals and text as we roll-out new features or want to solicit feedback. Can't recommend the product and the team behind the product enough.

Pros

Pendo is easy to set up and quickly get value from. Our entire company is now using Pendo for different things - whether it be understanding adoption at an account level or putting marketing event invitations to selected customers in the app, Pendo is our go-to tool.

Cons

The dashboards and "groupings" leave a bit to be desired. There's so much data in the platform, I want it be as easy as possible to share with the team or put up on a TV . Everything is there, it just takes a bit of massaging and exporting to make it really shine.

Jake S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Fantastic analytics software

Reviewed on 2017/11/14

It allows us to track how our users are interacting with our software. It also allows us to create guides for new features os that users know how to use them and to poll our users and generate an NPS score.

Pros

I love the flexibility that pendo offers us. It allows us to create funnels and paths seamlessly so that we can see how our users are interacting with our software. The best part is that pendo stores data on things we haven't yet tagged so if we end up tagging that button or part of the page in the future, it will retroactively provide the data for timeframes before we tagged the item.

Cons

My main complaint is the speed. It can take a long time to load the results of our paths, funnels. If that could be optimized it would go a long way towards making it more usable.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good digital adoption platform option

Reviewed on 2019/03/26

Overall, we are still evaluating but are getting value from the analytics and the messaging features.

Pros

Pendo gives you a quick look at how your software is being used. One feature we like is the in-app messaging. Now, instead of relying on low email open rates, we can reach all logged in users.

Cons

The web and mobile versions are very different. The web is great but the mobile lacks some of the power features.

Claudio B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

a good way to understand your users patterns

Reviewed on 2018/09/10

Pros

as an engineers i didn't have to step in and customize stuff to give a good access to everyone else to it's informations.
it shows a great deal of useful informations and can help your businness a lot in understanding what should your next stes be in your roadmap

Cons

tagging each page was a boring task.
also it's weird how some data is extremely detailed and some other stuff is shown in a too simplicistic way

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great platform for communicating with clients through your app

Reviewed on 2019/05/07

Pros

Pendo provides great tooling for analyzing every aspect of how your customers use your product on almost every level. It also provides a great path for communicating to your clients through in-app help and new feature messaging without needing to code them directly into your own program.

Cons

Perhaps the only, current con of Pendo is their growth has left them understaffed to handle that growth. Hopefully, this adjusts.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

After fully understanding the power of Pendo I was hooked.

Reviewed on 2018/04/03

After extensive feature tagging we are able to track user paths and issues as they use our product. We also extensively use the in product guides to notify users of important new releases and features.

Pros

The simplicity of the interface and what it offers can be misleading at first. The ease of use, features and insights that Pendo offers is unmatched.

Cons

Some of the online documentation is vague on details and background. The API is also very complicated to use as compared to other RESTful APIs on the market. I'd encourage more detailed use case and setup instructions that are easier to navigate.

Jaime M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Jaime's Review on Pendo

Reviewed on 2020/11/04

Pros

Being able to see very specific usage stats on clients such as number of clicks vs downloads

Guides - show people what to do

Guides - building these in real-time (if something goes down on the platform can push out a message to all users)

Cons

Functionalities and navigation around the platform.
I was confident about using it before but feel like things are easy to forget when haven't used it for a while.

Craig B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

My review of Pendo

Reviewed on 2019/04/12

We have been able to gain additional feedback and highlight new features to our users quickly and relatively easily.

Pros

The ability to highlight new features
The ability to ask for feedback
The ability to assess the impact of additional help
The dashboards and reporting are useful

Cons

The lack of A/B testing facilities can I release a walkthrough to a percentage of our user base?
The difficulties with selectors when designing walkthroughs
The issues with the designer when putting together messages (randomly puts in new lines)
A way to export data in to other systems to work with other data sources

Matt B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Insights to customer usage

Reviewed on 2018/12/14

Pros

As a customer facing employee to our software customers, the data that Pendo provides is extremely powerful, to help us guide customers in better ways to leverage our platform for their business needs.

Cons

No complaints! Pendo helps guide our Product Mgt teams when enhancing our platform and helps customer facing teams in analyzing usage trends and addressing adoption challenges.

Hilary (seal) D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Pendo review

Reviewed on 2019/05/13

Nothing to complain about. Our whole team uses it religiously when speaking to customers about usage

Pros

The ability to see how much customers are using our platform

Cons

some of the features aren't totally intuitive

Bar A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great features but need to work out the kinks

Reviewed on 2020/11/04

Pros

Data is saved so you don't have to worry about tagging all your features upfront.

Cons

Very buggy. You need to launch the designer several times in order to work.

Kristian K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Pendo Review

Reviewed on 2019/04/12

Great product, would recommend. Brilliant staff and support.

Pros

Very simple to use, impressive default charts/metrics with the option to dig deeper if you know what you are looking to get out of the product.

Cons

All issues with Pendo have been related to their support of old technology and old product architecture on our behalf.

Ryan C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

I like Pendo, probably could use some training

Reviewed on 2018/12/14

It has been good. I don't use it often, but I'm impressed by the power of it. It feels like it has a pretty robust API, but I haven't interfaced with it yet. I would like to see a more intuitive UI around building guides and templates.

Pros

I like that it is easy to use, if you can find what you need. Again, it may just require some training on my part. It looks really good. For an analytics and feedback tool, it looks great. I also like that we can create content for capturing feedback in our app without having to build additional tooling and components. It saves us a lot of work.

Cons

It isn't intuitive out of the box. Again, with a little training it isn't hard to navigate, but it's a bit intimidating to come in and get stuff done. For example, when trying to create a guide template I have to go to global settings to set up the template. It doesn't feel like that is where it should go.

Josh T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Putting all the pieces together in your product stack

Reviewed on 2019/03/29

Pros

Ties all of our data back to the customer. Allows us to learn what features are driving customer sentiment up or down, and gives us an immediate way to improve the on-boarding experience for new users.

Cons

There's a non-trivial amount of fiddling to get things to look and feel right with the guides.