MOVEit Reviews

MOVEit

Secure data & file transfer for enterprise-level users

4.5/5 (21 reviews)
Garrett M.

Good but needs new look

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/15
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Tons of functionality, security features are pretty good, logs and reports are nice, and it's usually easy to setup and upgrade. It can be run on premise which is great, and has features like an Outlook plugin that people like to use. Technical Support for the program has been great every time we need them, which is always over a mySQL database issue.

Cons

The user interface and functionality is lacking and we complain about it. It's older style, not HTML5 yet, and just looks outdated. Using java or flash plugins is horrible for users. The emails look outdated as well. Clients complain sometimes about how difficult it is to navigate and get their files. We have used this product for 6+ years without a major interface update, and it needs one.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Si T.

excellent product and support

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Being able to bypass email for sending large files was our primary goal.The software is very easy for sending or receiving large files that would otherwise not be allowed via email. The software has great security systems in place that stop bots and brute force attacks. Many different connectivity options.

Cons

Auditing is not explicit to show what actions were performed, only an "update" by a username with a date time stamp. Even if one clicks "OK" and no change was made, it is audited as an "update"

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Anand B.

MoveIT is a highly efficient tool for file transfer. It has amazing features.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

MoveIT is a highly efficient tool for file transfer. It has amazing features like archiving, adding tasks and scripts. It also give immense flexibility to be integrated with other softwares. It is highly used for running tasks related to file transfer, renaming them and even archiving them.

Cons

There no big shortcomings in this softwares. It can be enhanced to have email notifications. Also, it should be able to run as a desktop application and sends reports.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Victoria H.

Moveit Central - love the ability to automate processes

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/23
Review Source: Capterra

it' used daily - both the DMZ and Central. Central we have used to automate a lot of tasks that previously were done manually and it's been a great benefit to the business as well as to the support team.

Pros

Moveit Central - ease of use and powerful functionality. moveit DMZ - secure and easy to setup/use. Provides reporting and good functionality.

Cons

It can be a little complicated to setup. Best to plan it out before starting as its hard to make changes after wards.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Timothy N.

Top notch products and company.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/21
Review Source: Capterra

A consistent and dependable platform for worldclass managed file transfer.

Pros

I give Ipswitch and their products the highest marks in all categories. They are very strong and consistent in all area's and are what I like to call "the full meal deal".

Cons

The looming threat that they could go public someday and risk losing that personal touch we have become accomstomed with.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Lenny A.

Great product use it all the time

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ease of use, security driven . Setup and installation of the product was fairly easy, created a backup of the database and off we went .

Cons

Custom scripting can be cumbersome. Would like to see more friendly scripting. More built in options would also be welcomed .

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Excellent file movement software

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/01/09
Review Source: Capterra

Secure file movement, control, and reporting.

Pros

The interface is easy to use and creation of tasks is straightforward. Support typically responds quickly. Alerting and viewing the history of files moved and job outcomes are very useful.

Cons

There are some minor features that could be included instead of having to create custom VB scripts, such as file counts. Job auditing could be more specific as to what was changed.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Matthew L.

Great product for scheduled tasks!

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like the ability to schedule jobs and have them record what is moved in a database where we can see historically what has happened with our customers' import/export tasks. The ability to email on success/failure events and the flexibility of task configuration is great.

Cons

The upgrade process between versions is not as easy as I would like. We encountered multiple problems and had to get professional services to assist. License configuration with regards to PGP encryption has also been problematic and overly complicated, but I hear that has been streamlined for newer customers.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Michael S.

Excellent Product!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/05/15
Review Source: Capterra

Added security, encrypted data at rest, DMZ support, reliability.

Pros

Very secure
Support for High Availability
Scalable
Customizable
Monitoring/Alerts
Support for additional Modules
API support
Reliable
DMZ support
Data is encrypted at rest

Cons

The MOVEit Gateway product is fairly new and took a little more time to implement. Had to work with customer support to fix some issues, however, they were able to resolve in a timely fashion.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Chad G.

Excellent customer support

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We have been using this product for about 10 years. Very easy to use for our customers and administrators

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Aslan B.

We've used MoveIT Central for 2 years and it has helped us keep better track of our file movements.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/02/15
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It is very simple to create a task and see task runs and file moves. It is easy to setup new hosts as well as PGP and SSH keys as well.

Cons

If you have the MoveIT Central version without Advanced Reporting, the audit trail isn't that helpful.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer

Easy to use, Extremely reliable, Secure

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/10/10
Review Source: Capterra

Being able to bypass email for sending large files was our primary goal.

Pros

The software is very easy for sending or receiving large files that would otherwise not be allowed via email. The software has great security systems in place that stop bots and brute force attacks. Many different connectivity options.

Cons

Would like to see better client software for syncing and sending files. Drag and drop of files or folders is needed.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Jeff M.

MoveIt is a good system to utilize for file movement.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/01/11
Review Source: Capterra

Easy of use, quick reporting, auditing exists at a very high level.

Pros

Configuration of new/existing tasks is much easier than scripting everything. GUI is simple and easy to use.

Cons

Auditing is not explicit to show what actions were performed, only an "update" by a username with a date time stamp. Even if one clicks "OK" and no change was made, it is audited as an "update".

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Scott E.

Excellent application

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The ease of customizing file transfer jobs and the overall features of the application make it a very useful utility. The Outlook plugin is very handy as well.

Cons

At this time, there is really nothing that I don't like about the application. It does take some time to learn the interface but, after that, everything is great.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Larry D.

Exactly what a Managed File Transfer system should be!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/06/11
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The ease of use of the software interface whether for admins, users or temporary users. Also the stability of the software gives us peace of mind!

Cons

Would like the advanced features that we do not have access to in the Enterprise Version. Would be nice to do some scripting.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer

MOVEit makes lives more easier..!!!

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/07/06
Review Source: Capterra

Simple, amazing, fast, reliable, secured and any-size of a file can be transferred.

Pros

With Moveit, file transferring has just gone to a new level. Software is great when it comes to sharing of larger files which are not allowed to share by email directly. Different types of platforms such as windows, macs, androids and ios can be connected with the software. It provides a great security to all the files we are sharing.

Cons

If Moveit can develop a feature just to drag and drop files we need to share, that would be great. Emails allows this feature and it is better it to be incorporated with the app.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Avital B.

Rating only

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/26
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Good start but a little lacking

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/02/04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Managed file transfer is something that can be difficult to do an even more difficult to do right. MOVEit is a good start and they offer 80 percent of any features that a company may need. The ability to finely control the flow of documents that are transmitted to us was the best feature.

Cons

They were not able to handle a very high volume of files being transferred. This was a deal breaker for us but they were good otherwise.

Response from Ipswitch

Thank you for the honest feedback back. I have passed this information on to our Product Management group.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Good solution

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/06/28
Review Source: Capterra

Fast integration, management of various business processes.

Pros

I like the integration options of the software. It allows fast deployment of new business processes.

Cons

In some cases it was diffict to find an out of the box solution and we had to customize it based on the system tools.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Ryan G.

Great file transfer software

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/16
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The ease of use is wonderful for business needs. This software takes the pain out of securely moving and encrypting data across platforms.

Cons

There are sometimes delays in file transfer. User error can be cumbersome as there is very little mitigation.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

A Product wroth having

Used Monthly for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2019/05/09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This software is worth have in an organization. a reliable product in transferring software, to big files over a secure network.

Cons

Sometimes I feel like it is the same as having ShareIT in your PC. But again, this isn't that.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10