Jamroom Reviews

Jamroom

Scalable online social networking software

4.7/5 (6 reviews)
Lisa J.

In my opinion, Jamroom is super powerful with tons of features and the best support team on earth.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/06/23
Review Source: Capterra

This platform enabled me to save all my content and thousands of members from my old outdated Ning site and import them into my NEW site on Jamroom. I love that you can get assistance directly from the platform developers. Worth its weight in gold.

Pros

Incredibly flexible, great skins, awesome hosting packages offered as well. A real bargain, and is constantly kept up to date- update modules with a button click. No dealing with frustrating 3rd party plugins!

Cons

Knowing a little CSS and HTML will help with the initial learning curve. I'm not a coder, so it took me a while, but the Jamroom Team helped me a whole lot during the process. In using the platform for the past 2 years I've gotten way better at managing my own site and tweaking the codes when necessary.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Steve C.

A highly adaptable cms, perfect for publishing our University library online learning resources.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/06/26
Review Source: Capterra

Low cost, open source with ongoing development and great support.
I work in a University library and we selected Jamroom as our CMS for publishing our open access academic skills tutorials.
Jamroom has been perfect for us, allowing easy customisation to fit our specifications.

Pros

It is very easy to customize and highly extensible - you can build a module to do just about anything. The code is clear and easy to read and the support is great!
You can start with a completely free Core and then add inexpensive modules whenever you need.
Easy to maintain and update via the Marketplace.

Cons

Very difficult to find fault with it... there are occasional bugs but they are fixed immediately as soon as they are found.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Doug F.

Robust Features with Amazing Support

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/07/06
Review Source: Capterra

With Jamroom I am able to build sites efficiently and economically that are backed by the strenghth of a strong, professional support staff.

Pros

Jamroom offers an amazing amount of customizable features, along with newly developed modules on a regular basis. The support by the Jamroom staff is prompt and professional. Their products and service truly are some of the industry's best.

Cons

Presently, Jamroom does not offer ad management as an option. Although many developers may not need to use this option, ad management would provide a simple way to monetize a site.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Brent J.

Probably the most powerful social CMS you can use

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2016/06/18
Review Source: Capterra

Jamroom does have a bit of a learning curve, but once over the hump there's nothing else that comes close to providing the feature set and power it provides.

Pros

Create any type of site - literally. Super fast too.

Cons

Need to know a bit of HTML and CSS to really customize the templates.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Michael U.

Frekkin awesome CMS

Reviewed on 2014/03/28
Review Source: Capterra

Jamroom is kind of a hybrid CMS / development framework for building communities.

It can be overwhelming for non-technical users to get setup the way they want it if they are unfamiliar with code.

However for web developers it provides a great module framework that allows other existing modules to be extended via hooks in the code for manipulating data.

Each of the finished sites are structured so that the users profiles are the main focus of the site and the top level showcases the content the users have uploaded to their profiles.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

J H.

Horrible admin panel

Reviewed on 2015/09/06
Review Source: Capterra

Firstly there is no demo available so you have to go through the rigmarole of setting up your server & actually installing Jamroom in order to get a proper look at it (not very good).
Once you are in you will realise that the admin panel is not very user friendly with things buried inside many menus and menu options on the left, the right, in the middle and above.
The support forum is pretty active. But who wants to have to sit looking at that all day just to understand the smallest thing.

Response from Talldude Networks

The demos are here:
https://www.jamroom.net/demos

Agreed, the admin panel can be difficult to understand at first. Its good to know the structure is the same for each module in the control panel. Then once you know how to configure one module its the same for all the others.

Docs on the admin panel here:
https://www.jamroom.net/the-jamroom-network/documentation/jamroom-admin-handbook/3067/admin-control-panel-acp

Thanks for the review.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support