Jamf Pro Reviews

Jamf Pro

Apple device management & security for IT professionals

4.7/5 (325 reviews)
Alison W.

Good value, and features, but the flow of the site leads to confusion.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/09/19
Review Source: Capterra

We use Jamf to push applications, restrict certain features and streamline the setup process of our iPads. Jamf allows us to give students the App Store so that they can perform updates, while still preventing (discouraging) them from downloading non-school applications through a lock-down configuration. We also use Jamf to block several things, the ability to apply passcodes and the fingerprint lock. We also use it to shorten the setup process for students by excluding some of the setup screens.

Pros

I like the freedom there is to create configuration profiles, and manage groups. One of the features that we utilize the most are smart groups, to either organize mobile devices or to regulate iPad security (prohibit students from downloading apps, while still keeping the App Store available to them, and see who has downloaded restricted apps that we do not want to "publicize" to the point they will put them on their phones.

I do like the fact that a group of people can each be working in the same area, such as the same Configuration Profile, and we can still function, other software that we use only allow one user for the organization at once prohibiting multitasking.

One of the biggest reasons we continue to use this software rather than migrate the remaining portion of our organization to Mosyle (which offers quite a bit for free), is the customer support.

Cons

One thing that stands out is the organization of the product. Due to the varied ways to administer devices and applications, there are a few different screens to use. We have found that we have to visit several pages to accomplish one task, such as automatic update of apps in the system, to be pushed out into Self Service to groups. We have since switched from codes to Managed and found it less cumbersome, but having to visit student pages as well as the VPP assignments when there are changes that are not immediately pushed out has made the learning curve for some members of the department steeper than it needs to be.

We have occasionally experienced support advice that seemed like checking off a checklist of things to try before delving deeper into issues. We understand, having frequently done this with Apple and even our own users, however, sometimes, it seems like the checklist is more important than looking at the whole issue.

Finally, not quite a con, but we do not currently use Jamf for our Computers or Apple TVs because of the cost to benefit ratio not being justifiable. We keep things fairly open and would only really just use it to aid in set-up and some push of applications and updates, but not exhaustive.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Jason C.

Jamf is a growing company with a great product and amazing support, really listen to customers!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/08/02
Review Source: Capterra

I could not do my job without this software. We are very limited in staff, time and money. Without Jamf Pro, we would not be able to effectively manage the fleet of iPads, MacBooks, iMacs and Apple TVs we have.

Pros

Jamf is a growing company with a great product and amazing support,
really listens to customers!
Pros: Jamf has been doing this the longest when it comes to Mac and
iOS device management. They are a relatively small, yet growing
company with Midwest values, that really cares about helping
organizations succeed with Apple.

They stand behind their product and their support is phenomenal! They
are passionate about giving back to the communities they are based in
(Chippewa Valley, Minneapolis, and offices around the world). They put
on the worlds largest user conference for Apple IT admins and they
have the largest user help knowledge base, jamfnation.com. They also
provide same day or prior support of major OS and iOS releases. They
are constantly refining the product and adding new features to it.

If you have an issue, Jamf support will bend over backwards to help
you, even if you're not a paying customer. They care that much about you
and the product. Also, the soon to be released version 10 will bring
many needed changes to the UI.

Cons

Jamf Pro is not the cheapest, but you get what you pay for. For
instance it allows me to manage 6k+ iPads and over 2200 Macs, iMacs
and Apple TVs with a very small staff. The money we pay for the
solution is more than made up in the ability to manage all of these
devices successfully and with a limited staff. That being said, like
all software, Jamf Pro has issues. Sometimes these can be major
issues. However, Jamf is quick to throw dedicated support at these
issues and works hard to fix them. As mentioned above, they are
growing for sure and there will be some growing pains along with this
growth.

The update to the UI cannot come fast enough. Would like to actually
be able to pull usable metrics and reports from the product. The
logging errors could use more of an update or hotlinks to resolutions
(feature request maybe?), but this is more for on-prem hosting.
Overall though, it's a great product with a great company and team
behind it!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Mike B.

Pretty good management system for Macs. Don't even consider LANDesk.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/08/02
Review Source: Capterra

Because it is a MDM solution that actually works, with reliable uptime and easy maintenance requirements, I am the hero for having pushed for JAMFPro.

Pros

Fairly easy to figure out what it takes to make it work if you are of average intelligence for this sort of thing. In my case, it was difficult, until I figured it out. Patch management was the priority for us and it turns you have to be a little creative in trying to get the information extracted from the Macs (depending on the application) in order to determine if it needs to be patched. In another words, it's not as turnkey as much as I was led to believe. Support at JAMFNation is fantastic. Those folks have tackled most of the problems and that's where I located the scripts and other nuances required to make it work. No other resource like it. Newbies and super rockstars all contribute to make things work. JAMF staff also helpful. Make sure you contribute too!

Cons

For me personally, the required Jumpstart training you need to purchase didn't work so well. Did not know enough about what I was doing to ask intelligent questions. After the training, fighting the learning curve began. There are no step-by-step procedures (or friendly user manual) to help a newbie get the system up and running. Mind you I say this as a complete novice and not a very smart one at that.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Alan M.

Great Mac management software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/13
Review Source: Capterra

Overall the experience has been extremely positive and I would definitely recommend Jamf, they are the best in the business. My only negative would be that they sometimes seem more interested in implementing new features than addressing known issues.

Pros

Jamf Pro is a very powerful tool with a rich feature set. There is a learning curve but the training available is excellent, providing you are in a region it is available.

We manage a global fleet of Macs and use a hosted cloud instance which allows us to install software, perform updates and just generally manage our Macs no matter where our users are.

The Self Service app gives our users the ability to install software when it suits them or run fixes to known issues without having to contact IT.

Cons

Support can be a bit slow at times, as we have a hosted instance when we call support we are often told we have to wait for someone from the cloud team to take a look and get back to us. Also since updating to v10 we have had performance issues because of a product issue which could be resolved by throwing more resources at the server but as we do not host it we do not have the control to do that. Apparently the problem has been addressed in the next release.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Craig H.

Good Product, Good Experience

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/09/19
Review Source: Capterra

The ability to manage a fleet of MacOS and iOS devices.

Pros

Jamf Pro works really well for managing a fleet of MacOS and iOS devices. The management console is easy to navigate and the feature set is clear. The ability to segregate administrators by using Sites is a nice feature for us. Integration with Apple's services is quite good and easy to maintain. We split our infrastructure across multiple hosts (database on one machine, a management point is on one host, the managed devices on another) is key for us. Also nice that the infrastructure runs on multiple OSes, we run ours on RHEL.

Cons

The issue was related to communication and to bug checking during an update. One update broke access to Active Directory based security groups. This broke many of our workflows for distributed administrators. Customer support was good for initial triage, but follow-up communication was poor. The issue was fixed in two later updates but we were not told that the issue was fixed. We thought it had been fixed but we had to call Jamf and explicitly ask for confirmation. Would have been nice if Jamf had proactively followed up on a support case to let us know the problem was resolved.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Mike B.

A partner and software and training that gives my staff super powers.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/25
Review Source: Capterra

We are able to secure, provision, manage and support Mac users 24/7 and around the globe with this tool. We estimate we save 15 technicians and 8 full time support engineers and can use that funding and time to take on projects the business needs rather than manually managing our infrastructure and application suite.

This is a massive difference in ability and why I feel JAMF gives my staff super powers to do more with less and raise the quality of our support all the while.

Pros

Jamf Pro is so powerful and simple and focused on letting us succeed, it's in a class of its own.
We've been in production for 6 years with major staff turnover and this company has continued to support us despite many chances where we might have dropped the ball. Professional services, quality of the code and stability of the platform are major factors that have made it successful in our specific challenging environment.

Cons

There is no downside we have faced. Release cycle is faster than we need, training and communications are above par for SAAS and functionality and value makes it a must renew each time we renew and re-evaluate MDM solutions.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Andrew C.

Best Management Software on the Market!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/10/17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This software allows you to manage several computers as well as iPads from it's friendly user interface. We've implemented it successfully in our schools (over 20 locations) and it is a tremendous help. We've been able to use this software to deploy programs and applications without having to hand install them on multiple computers/iPads..it's a HUGE time saver.

Cons

There really isn't too much to not like about this software. Their support team is friendly/knowledgeable, they stand by their product, and it is easy to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Jax W.

The best for Apple device management

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/01
Review Source: Capterra

It is the best out there for Apple MDMs. That said, the field is still pretty bad. Not all of the issues are with Jamf, as Apple has certainly bungled a few things, like Apple School Manager. But if you're committed to the Apple way of life, Jamf is absolutely the only way to go, and has certainly made things easier on me since we switched from a competitor.

Pros

It does everything you need it to in terms of managing whatever you buy from Apple, with a focus on as much automation for mass deployment as possible. Since they focus on Apple, they have all the latest features available as soon as possible.

Cons

When things break, they can break badly, and a lot of solutions involve running command line scripts and requesting service restarts from support, so if you aren't willing to dig into these sorts of things, it might be difficult for you when support gives you this type of solution.

Also, their marketing can be very deceptive, with their analysis on costs phrased as to make apples-to-oranges comparisons and obfuscate their competition's benefits.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

5.0/10
Mark W.

Macs Managed

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/10
Review Source: Capterra

We have used this product for 5 years and have loved it. It allows us to focus on our people and not worry about Did that printer get installed? We know it is going to happen. We can automate a ton of stuff and not worry about it. We know it will work and we can manipulate thousands of computers in seconds in real time.

Pros

It does everything that Apple lets them do. Save money and time by having less IT support staff and your staff feels like they have the power to manage themselves and not need to reach out to IT and feel frustrated when it takes too long to respond.

The community is a huge plus as you can normally get hard questions answered by pros who are happy to help at no charge.

Support is great as well. Things do break, but they are there to help.

Cons

Cost is a factor as it is continuing to go up.
It can be very complex and hard to understand some of the more useful features as there are a ton of hoops to jump through to get everything working and if something breaks it can take a while to figure it out.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
David Y.

I've been a huge fan of Jamf since we started using it about five years ago!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/08/02
Review Source: Capterra

Ease of management for laptops and iPads, amazing product support when issues arise, and even though I'm not the money guy it appears to be well worth what we do pay and includes tiered levels so that as we increase the number of devices in our district we pay a little less per unit. I also love JNUC as an educational and networking resource.

Pros

It's terrifically easy to use. The absolute best thing about it, however, is that other people think I'm a wizard at how quickly they get results when they need something. They can literally request an app and in most cases have it assigned within less than 2 minutes of me getting notification.

Cons

The Java component. I know it's necessary for some reason or another, but java has been an absolute terror for us in the district for various reasons (not all related to Jamf). That said, yesterday our java version on the JSS server updated all by itself and things went south very quickly. A quick support chat session with Jamf and we were back up and running after reverting to the old java.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Daniel S.

the best MDM for Apple devices

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/27
Review Source: Capterra

using to manage multiple iPads at multiple locations and keep software up to date

Pros

Works seamlessly with Apple devices and software, easy to deploy, easy to manage multiple devices in multiple locations.

Cons

a little difficult to learn, if you've never used an MDM before, but it's not too bad once you get it set up

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Gary W.

Jamf Pro Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/14
Review Source: Capterra

I haven't found anything truly comparable. I just wish Apple would have done what JAMF does out of the box for Apple products.

Pros

Jamf is simply one of the best management platforms to manage Apple devices. This include macOS and iOS devices. You can push anything out to these units from software installs to printers. I use mine to perform zero touch installs for my users. They get their MacBook Airs. They are already joined to the domain as they take the shrink wrap off the box. This is possible due to the close relationship Apple and JAMF has. It does take some setup to get there though.

Cons

It is expensive. They just started to enforce their 50 unit minimum. They charge a boot camp fee to get you setup which is extremely expensive but it is worth it. JAMF is powerful and you want a good foundation in order for it to be effective. You have to be willing to put the work in and learn it for it to be beneficial.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Pete C.

Supporting a rapidly growing Internet startup in multiple locations

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/09/19
Review Source: Capterra

Doubled size of Mac fleet in nine months while simultaneously improving app standardization, device security, and offering end users the ability to proactively manage their own systems - as the single IT resource for the organization.

Pros

Easily write, test, and implement policies to proactively support Mac desktop and laptop users
Zero-day support for Apple software and hardware releases
Simple DEP and VPP integration with excellent documentation
Outstanding customer support
Large and active user community with a strong commitment to sharing solutions and ideas

Cons

STILL no effective built-in software patching tools
Long-standing UI quirks and obsolete JSS interface
Not enough functionality to track changes over time (show me adoption rates of new software titles for a given smart group, etc)
Rudimentary support for user notifications still requires extensive scripting to be effective
Mandatory JumpStart training a waste of money for experienced Jamf admins

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Kevin W.

JAMF made supporting macOS/iOS devices enjoyable...and that was not an easy feat.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/09/19
Review Source: Capterra

We were able to reach device management parity with our Windows environment. Reduced IT staff time needed to perform one-off administration of macOS/iOS devices.

Pros

Flexibility, extent of system management capabilities, technical support, ability to create "sites" for de-centralized IT teams that allow them to administer their own devices. Really, the list of what it can do goes on and on.

We run SCCM for management of our Windows devices. JAMF allows us to reach management parity for macOS/iOS devices.

Cons

Some high level computer management functions (packages, scripts, printers, etc) are centralized and cannot not wholly distributed/de-centralized to departmental IT teams (eg. each IT team will see and potentially be able to change these items).

Not an issue with the software itself, but a challenge and consideration we had to take into account when implementing in our unique support environment.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Emily K.

I've been working with Jamf products for 4+ years

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/10/02
Review Source: Capterra

We use it to manage 2000+ Macs. I can't imagine being able to do our job and offer first-class support to our Mac population without it.

Pros

I love how Jamf leverages native Apple technology, services, resources, and features to best manage Apple devices. User Experience has improved greatly and looks like it'll be even better with version 10 launching later this year.

Cons

I think the biggest holdup for Jamf products right now, for me and my priorities, are how configuration profiles are built and applied using the GUI. A lot of funky stuff happens when you have payloads split across different profiles, and Jamf's MDM doesn't seem to be able to create profiles with only the settings you want applied and not other things in other tabs. It's cause a lot of headache for a lot of admins not having considerations like this well-documented somewhere. It falls a lot on the community to sort out the intricacies.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Sean S.

Could not do my job without this tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/26
Review Source: Capterra

We manage 350 users with two help desk people. This is only possible with JAMF.

Pros

Whenever I have a need, it seems that JAMF has the tools in place for me to come up with a solution. We can essentially do whatever we need to do for our Apple users with JAMF. People think it's magic that we can remotely install customized software builds for them instantaneously. Users are blown away when they walk into my office and without touching their computer I can tell them the last time they restarted, or how much hard disk space they have left. This is an insanely powerful set of tools which we use daily, and without it we'd need to hire more IT staff to manage the workload!

Cons

I honestly can't think of any. If anything, JAMF is so powerful that I know that there are features that I'm not tapping into!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Makes Managing Apple a Breeze

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/02
Review Source: Capterra

Overall the product has allowed us to deploy approximately 2000 ipads to various elementary schools with very little issue. We are able to nearly have a zero-touch deployment with them which saves us on man hours. We have been able to roll this out with a very small team, and Jamf allows us to lock down the iPads for our education environment with ease. Support has been a solid when we have had issues and can't recommend it more. You won't be disappointed.

Pros

Well rounded with many features. It integrated well with Apples School Manager product and allows us to pull in student data to it. Makes our 1:1 environment easy to manage and a lot less stressful.

Cons

The one major con for us has been its reporting features. It does have the ability to give you a lot of information, but it is not intuitive nor user friendly when creating reports. Perhaps some canned pre-made reports would be advised.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Ross B.

Best MDM that we've used!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/03/27
Review Source: Capterra

JAMF has made my life so much easier managing a large amount of devices with very little need to physically touch the device. It just works and the support is awesome!

Pros

All encompassing. It works great for all of our iOS devices and allows us to run our environment with "zero touch" to over 500 devices, (soon to be over 2000). We primarily use it for Apple iPad management, but we do have a few Macs on premises and have been slowly adding them in to the mix. Once the initial setup is done, it just works. Any time that we have had issues, my personal "JAMF Buddy" is only an email or call away, and our issues are resolved in a timely manner.

Cons

Not a lot not to like. Probably my biggest complaint, which I've slowly been losing is that the UI can sometimes be a bit annoying. Reports also could be a bit more intuitive, although you can get a report for such a wide variety of items, but there is a learning curve. Maybe some premade reports or something to go off of would be nice.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Jeff Z.

Expansive, Confusing at first, Full control

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/07/22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The software is amazing at controlling Apple devices, it allows for an expansive way of sorting and searching such as an audit system but also how you can manipulate those sorts and add/remove or restrict, it allows for "lost mode" batch naming, app pushing and all the typical controls you rely on in a Single mac or IOS device but allows for it in a massive scale, we manage over 15,000 devices using this software and will continue to add more,

Cons

There have been many times we have gone to JAMF themselves in search of a remedy of issues we had no control over, these have been sorted out very quickly. The software can be daunting to look at when you first begin to utilize it and in some cases confusing. How an app or software can be managed from device to device can change with each update requiring a new policy or script to manage the device/app/software. All of these issues have been sorted out by the amazing customer service provided by JAMF

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Steve E.

JAMF Pro has changed our Mac Management experience. It provides us ease to do whatever we need.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/08/03
Review Source: Capterra

Manageability. Oversight. Consistency. Peace of Mind. A great product and support team.

Pros

I thoroughly enjoy using JAMF to do what we need through either its on board functionality or through integrating other solutions to work along with JAMF Pro in creating a suitable workflow or solution. JAMF is easy to use, understand, logical, graphically pleasing and overall a fantastic software.

Cons

I would like to be able to update a software package in a policy, and have other policies also update the software package automatically if they were using the original package I wanted to upgrade. For example, if I had 5 policies which involved Firefox 54, and then Firefox 54.1 comes out, I don't want to have to go to all the policies and update the package. I would like for the package if selected to update through all the policies at once.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Jesse S.

Best MDM we've used, and the price is just right!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/09/19
Review Source: Capterra

Automation, reduced workload, more chances to be Proactive versus reactive, valuable work experience.

Pros

What we can do is near limitless. The automation is something we are still working on, but for a business thats entering the enterprise world, this is an absolute must before things get out of hand. We started using Jamf while we were still only 300+ employees, and now we are coming up on 700, and having the data on all our macs in one spot is awesome. Now that we can make the worry of deployments a thing of the past, it gives me time to work on being PROACTIVE, versus REACTIVE.

Cons

Because the software can do so much, I'm sometimes surprised at the things it can't do.

Example. when Prestages get changed from one MDM server to another on accident, you lose your entire scope. Luckily, the customer service is great, and we were able to recover data. Just a shame that it lost the data in the first place. and that I couldn't recover it on my own with built in methods.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Chris S.

Fantastic MDM for Apple OS and IOS Devices

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/13
Review Source: Capterra

Ease of use, customization and customer support are the best. This product was designed for Apple products and that is where is shines.

Pros

What I love most about Jamf is the ease of use. The first couple of iterations while workable, did not do what we needed in the education field. What was the saving grace, was the customer support. They came up with work arounds for us until IOS 10 hit. This makes adding software to our district IPads a snap as well as policies for the student use. As for support, I ALWAYS get someone who contacts me within a couple of hours of submitting a ticket.

Cons

My main problem is that there is no find my device or location tracking as with other MDM's. We have thousands of student IPads and a lot of disappearing on a daily basis. This would be a great feature to have.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Richard A.

We can now have a full you of and control of our client machines

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/10/24
Review Source: Capterra

Total control of our clients

Pros

Having ultimate control of our client machines gives us the Peace of Mind of knowing that our machines are being used with the functions that they were intended to. Being able to install apps and remove ass and change configurations at a moment's notice since our business and makes us a much more efficient organization when it comes to managing our client devices

Cons

I am hard-pressed to come up with the concert this product sure there are some features that I would like to see but the support is top-notch the product does what it says it will do and every iteration is just a wonderful improvement from the last version. I like that releases are not bugging. I like the support is still available. I like that they support the user groups

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Sean F.

JAMF Pro revolutionized the way we manage Macs in our company. Less engineering and more client time

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/10/24
Review Source: Capterra

The best benefit is limiting time I have to spend with assisting my Helpdesk with issues by pointing them to pre-built packages and policies in our JSS. Also Self service has drastically reduced the amount of help desk tickets, clearing up the noise for us to focus on more essential tasks.

Pros

I love the intuitive Smart Grouping and Inventory collection. We've tried numerous tools for our Mac deployments and JAMF was the only one that gave us the information we needed in a clear and concise format. It is an essential tool for our day to day workflow.

Cons

While the Inventory and MDM offerings of JAMF Pro are unrivaled it would be beneficial to see better RMM functionality and MSP support. In our environment we have to rely and JAMF and other solutions (i.e. Addigy) for in-the-moment RMM support. I would love to see active client connections to run script remediations and Terminal commands directly and/or integration with a remote control solution like ScreenConnect or TeamViewer.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Good all-in-one

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/24
Review Source: Capterra

Inventory and asset tracking, single location to manage all macs, lots of community support

Pros

jamf has an advantage of having MDM and policy/self-service built-in to one, and it manages macOS and iOS in the same platform. There are a lot of things that jamf does really well, and being one of the larger platforms it has a great community around it.

Cons

jamf has a lot of limitations and does some things poorly. They have grown in their release cycle which has helped with Apple's quickly changing landscape, but there's still a lot that is customized. Often you don't know there's a limitation until you're in the weeds and realize that jamf doesn't do it at all or doesn't do it well. Our environment (and most) have a lot of customization in order for it to run smoothly

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10