395 reviews

Jamf Pro

Apple device management & security for IT professionals

4,7 /5 (395 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,7 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
97%
recommended this app
395 reviews
Chris H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Apple device management platform in existance

Reviewed on 2020/08/12

While no company is perfect, JAMF has really gone out of their way to take care of us as both customers and admins. I'm in education so they're not making any money off is (given the high level of support everyone receives). There are no tiers of service, no packages for support, and no BS. You will be treated and supported very well. JAMFs training options are also the best I've ever attended. I have yet to try the virtual trainings though.

Pros

Day 1 support of all Apple releases, full roadmap compatibility with Apple, and dedication to the integration of Apple products at the enterprise level. It has allowed me the flexibility and capacity to provide a truly world class user experience without the world class investment and effort.

Cons

It certainly could have better remote support features. It HAS remote support, but really only on the local network. Mind you, I don't really need additional remote support capacity, but it would be nice.

Mike B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Pretty good management system for Macs. Don't even consider LANDesk.

Reviewed on 2017/08/02

Because it is a MDM solution that actually works, with reliable uptime and easy maintenance requirements, I am the hero for having pushed for JAMFPro.

Pros

Fairly easy to figure out what it takes to make it work if you are of average intelligence for this sort of thing. In my case, it was difficult, until I figured it out. Patch management was the priority for us and it turns you have to be a little creative in trying to get the information extracted from the Macs (depending on the application) in order to determine if it needs to be patched. In another words, it's not as turnkey as much as I was led to believe. Support at JAMFNation is fantastic. Those folks have tackled most of the problems and that's where I located the scripts and other nuances required to make it work. No other resource like it. Newbies and super rockstars all contribute to make things work. JAMF staff also helpful. Make sure you contribute too!

Cons

For me personally, the required Jumpstart training you need to purchase didn't work so well. Did not know enough about what I was doing to ask intelligent questions. After the training, fighting the learning curve began. There are no step-by-step procedures (or friendly user manual) to help a newbie get the system up and running. Mind you I say this as a complete novice and not a very smart one at that.

Jonathanwilson W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Jamf @ UCLA Library

Reviewed on 2020/08/05

Our Macs were largely unmanaged before Jamf, and now we have a good handle on everything and are able to provide a level of support that was impossible before. It's allowed us to not worry (as much) about what device people choose to use for work.
It's also allowed flexibility when purchasing new devices for different purposes. If it's made by Apple, we know we can handle it.

Pros

The completeness of features - just about anything you can do with an Apple device, you can do with Jamf. I don't have to worry about not being able to do something, including on the day new software is released.

Cons

The learning curve is high - I would be struggling if I hadn't taken the Jamf training courses (200 and 300). I struggle to explain concepts to employees that haven't taken the training, even when they've taken the Jamf 100.
Sort of related is the support for legacy features/systems - it can be hard to tell what is relevant, such as when you type 'sudo jamf help' - there is a lot there that you'd never use.

Mark W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Macs Managed

Reviewed on 2018/10/10

We have used this product for 5 years and have loved it. It allows us to focus on our people and not worry about Did that printer get installed? We know it is going to happen. We can automate a ton of stuff and not worry about it. We know it will work and we can manipulate thousands of computers in seconds in real time.

Pros

It does everything that Apple lets them do. Save money and time by having less IT support staff and your staff feels like they have the power to manage themselves and not need to reach out to IT and feel frustrated when it takes too long to respond.

The community is a huge plus as you can normally get hard questions answered by pros who are happy to help at no charge.

Support is great as well. Things do break, but they are there to help.

Cons

Cost is a factor as it is continuing to go up.
It can be very complex and hard to understand some of the more useful features as there are a ton of hoops to jump through to get everything working and if something breaks it can take a while to figure it out.

Gary W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Jamf Pro Review

Reviewed on 2019/04/14

I haven't found anything truly comparable. I just wish Apple would have done what JAMF does out of the box for Apple products.

Pros

Jamf is simply one of the best management platforms to manage Apple devices. This include macOS and iOS devices. You can push anything out to these units from software installs to printers. I use mine to perform zero touch installs for my users. They get their MacBook Airs. They are already joined to the domain as they take the shrink wrap off the box. This is possible due to the close relationship Apple and JAMF has. It does take some setup to get there though.

Cons

It is expensive. They just started to enforce their 50 unit minimum. They charge a boot camp fee to get you setup which is extremely expensive but it is worth it. JAMF is powerful and you want a good foundation in order for it to be effective. You have to be willing to put the work in and learn it for it to be beneficial.

Jill H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

JamfPro

Reviewed on 2020/08/04

We found Jamf back 14+ years ago at a small startup booth in San Francisco at MacWorld. That year we purchased Jamf and the [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], came all the way out to West Texas, and set up our Jamf Server for us! We took him to eat frog legs at a local diner, and he enjoyed our west Texas sun during the day by taking breaks and laying outside on the hood of his rental car!

Pros

The feature I like the most is the ease of using prestage enrollments. Being able to just push a few times and the device is ready to go is of the utmost importance in a school with over 5000 devices.

Cons

I would like to see some cross referencing. For example, how to know if a Smart Group is actually being used in a scope of an application, policy or configuration profile.

Dora D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Jamf Pro

Reviewed on 2019/10/24

The customer service is top notch and they will help you quickly sort things out.

Pros

Mobile Device Management is a requirement these days, especially if managing Apple products. Jamf Pro is a comprehensive suite that covers all support. It is accessible to all skill level, from a department director managing tablets to the system administrator writing scripts to manage a fleet of laptops.

Cons

The interface can be overwhelming to a novice user. Things can quickly become confusing and overlapping services can make troubleshooting the problem complicated.

Jay M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best in Apple Device Management

Reviewed on 2019/09/30

Trying to make sure that everyone was running the latest software, aware of new updates, etc was always a nightmare until Jamf Pro. With Jamf Pro, most all of those problems go away and you have a simple to use, streamlined process to manage all of your Apple devices.

Pros

Jamf Pro makes it incredibly easy to manage all of your enterprise Apple devices. With a few simple clicks, your users can update their computer inventory, install new trusted apps and make sure that their system is up-to-date and secure. Just as Jamf's website says, they automate the easy things and make the hard things easy!

Cons

There's not much negative to say about Jamf Pro. It will only be as helpful as your IT team makes it, but if they invest some time in it, your device management will never be easier.

Richard A.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We can now have a full you of and control of our client machines

Reviewed on 2017/10/24

Total control of our clients

Pros

Having ultimate control of our client machines gives us the Peace of Mind of knowing that our machines are being used with the functions that they were intended to. Being able to install apps and remove ass and change configurations at a moment's notice since our business and makes us a much more efficient organization when it comes to managing our client devices

Cons

I am hard-pressed to come up with the concert this product sure there are some features that I would like to see but the support is top-notch the product does what it says it will do and every iteration is just a wonderful improvement from the last version. I like that releases are not bugging. I like the support is still available. I like that they support the user groups

Sean F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

JAMF Pro revolutionized the way we manage Macs in our company. Less engineering and more...

Reviewed on 2017/10/24

The best benefit is limiting time I have to spend with assisting my Helpdesk with issues by pointing them to pre-built packages and policies in our JSS. Also Self service has drastically reduced the amount of help desk tickets, clearing up the noise for us to focus on more essential tasks.

Pros

I love the intuitive Smart Grouping and Inventory collection. We've tried numerous tools for our Mac deployments and JAMF was the only one that gave us the information we needed in a clear and concise format. It is an essential tool for our day to day workflow.

Cons

While the Inventory and MDM offerings of JAMF Pro are unrivaled it would be beneficial to see better RMM functionality and MSP support. In our environment we have to rely and JAMF and other solutions (i.e. Addigy) for in-the-moment RMM support. I would love to see active client connections to run script remediations and Terminal commands directly and/or integration with a remote control solution like ScreenConnect or TeamViewer.

Brandon A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Jamf Pro Review

Reviewed on 2020/08/04

jamf has always been a great product to work with. Does exactly what it is supposed to do.

Pros

Ease of app deployment to our iPad fleet

Cons

Managing a MacBook still has some bugs to work out, but getting better

Eric L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

JAMF Pro makes Mac management easy

Reviewed on 2017/07/27

This product makes us wish we had a Windows variant. Everything is easier thanks to it. Imaging, policies, asset management.

Pros

I love the information that is placed at your fingertips. I love the control you are given over the Apple devices in your company. JAMF Pro makes handling your user's machines a breeze. Self Service allows users to install their own software without your aide. Configuration Profiles allow for ease of management and total lockdown if necessary. The ability to have users set up their own printers is a support tech's dream.

Cons

We've had issues with the success rate of combining it with DEP in order to have a 0 touch experience. Sometimes it works and other times it does not or needs some pushing to get it going. The dream would be getting to the point that is advertised. The user gets their machine, logs in, and away they go. All on their own.

Sean H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Makes managing mac computers easy and intuitive

Reviewed on 2017/08/02

The ability to manage all my macs almost without interaction.

Pros

The scalability of the software. You can manage 100 macs or 100,000 macs with this super easy to use MDM. It also has a diverse network of Mac Admins who constantly post creative solutions to expand Jamf Pro's capabilities far beyond what is already provided for you.

Cons

I would say that if you are new to mac administration it will take a little to get used to how the different parts interact with the mac. The other thing to remember too is a lot of the functionality of Jamf is allowed by Apple, meaning that sometimes Jamf is a little constrained due to what Apple allows you to manage with an MDM.

Larry H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Jamf Pro

Reviewed on 2019/11/12

Pros

How easy it is to use and that it just works

Cons

Need more reporting tools for macs and software

Michael G.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Jamf is a powerful Apple device management tool.

Reviewed on 2017/10/24

Pros

Jamf Pro has many practical features to manage hundreds of Apple devices across a network, including Apple DEP and VPP integration, software update and policy management, and self service.

Cons

It takes planning and training to integrate Jamf into the workflow to fully utilize the many features. There is no one way to do this since the infrastructure of Jamf customers varies dramatically, so on site training is recommended. Although the training is costly for new users, thankfully the JamfNation community is always helpful to bridge any gaps.

Christine E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Jamf has changed the way our team provides support to pediatric patients in need of...

Reviewed on 2017/10/24

Jamf has enabled us to transform our program from a fully manual operation to an automated and scalable model. We are now able to expand our program to hospitals across the country because of Jamf.

Pros

It's easy to create specific profiles and smart groups to automate the distribution of content to our pediatric patients that meet their needs based on developmental age. We are so excited to begin implementing the healthcare listener in the hospitals we support now and that we will support in the future to continue automating our iPads for Kids Program further and ensure HIPAA compliancy.

Cons

Our team does not have an IT person, so we are relying on less technical people to implement our program. We are so thankful for an amazing Jamf support team because the program alone is a bit challenging to learn for people who don't have that IT/technical background.

Ken C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Market Research
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy, intuitive and powerful

Reviewed on 2017/08/02

Pros

The amount of control and flexibility that this software gives is incredible. I've used other MDMs (AirWatch and LanDesk), and this is, by far, the easiest one to use. It's quick to get up and running, the yearly costs are low (on-prem), and there are a lot of fun Cloud solutions that can be set up. If you manage Macs in any capacity-- this is the only product to consider.

Cons

Not in love with the training regimen (higher level certs require pre-reqs.), as the first two certs were basically reviews. The interface has it's own quirks, a universal search would be helpful. These are very, very minor, as the functionality of the actual product is great.

Ken C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing. Fantastic. Game Changing.

Reviewed on 2017/08/02

Pros

I like that it can be customized to fit the needs of our organization with minimal effort. It's really changed the way our company supports Macs. We constantly hear about the PC teams trying to catch up or find similar ways to implement ideas the way we do.

Can't mention the immediate support that JAMF provides when we need it. They are always on top of it when we email or call. It's amazing that they find the time to be able to answer questions or provide support so quickly.

Jayne B.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Jamf Pro has been a great product to work with

Reviewed on 2018/06/27

Pros

Jamf Pro is a great tool to help with our imaging and inventory of laptops, desktops and IOS devices. Pushing out Apps is a lifesaver to our understaffed technology department. The product basically serves as a part-time employee for us.

Cons

I would like more hands-on training. All training has been over the phone and when we began, it was very over-whelming. I don't feel that I am fully utilizing the features of the product. The conference is way too far for us to attend.

Robert B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Wouldn't manage Apple devices without it. It has made our IT Department much more efficient.

Reviewed on 2017/09/19

The ability to keep track of devices and their update status. The ability to restrict student devices. The ability to hand a student a shrink wrapped device and have them up and running in minutes with no help from IT.

Pros

Ease of use. It is so easy and powerful that we have allowed our teachers access so they can manage devices. This takes some of the burden off our department.

Cons

Some of the searching and sorting functions need improvement. For example you can't filter Smart Groups and in VPP Account Management I can't sort by app name.

Chris J.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Jamf Pro saves us time and makes managing our Macs SO much easier.

Reviewed on 2018/05/05

Pros

Jamf Pro provides a framework and makes Mac management simple for novice admin, but has a ton of more powerful tools for veteran Mac admin too. It scales well and is great for both small for large environments. They have a great community of very friendly and helpful users and customer support.

Cons

On premise installs can be tricky for new admin with all the prequisite software (Java, MySQL). They do offer cloud service now, which is a great option for some environments.

Steve K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One the the only company's to over Zero Day support

Reviewed on 2017/08/03

Able to Track 20,000 iPads at are school district and have a record of who has and what apps are installed.

Pros

Very is to deploy Macs and Ipads Being able to sent Configurations and policies to Macs and iPads.

Easy to sent Restrictions to devices and to customize smart groups for deploy Apps and profiles

Cons

Does almost everything We need it to do. would like to be able to import some data to database records but using a third party software like MUT makes that easy to send commands to be able to do that.

Shane F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Jamf Pro has seriously helped my unit provide top level support to our Mac user base.

Reviewed on 2017/08/02

We can manage our Mac systems in an enterprise environment.

Pros

This software scales and you can implement one feature at a time to ensure that the administrators and users of the software are able to fully understand and properly utilize each feature.

Cons

The most annoying item that I experience is a very short time out of the web console, which tends to then freeze my web browser entirely. However, I have been informed that the techs are aware of this issue and are working on fixing it.

Mick C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I have gone from one process to a new process, all with JAMF Pro

Reviewed on 2017/08/02

Without JAMF Pro, I couldn't do my job. Many ask me, how did you possibly do your work without it? To be honest, I have no idea. All I know, I can do more, with less and be extremely efficient and strategic because of JAMF Pro. My customers love what I do for them and I can because the software makes it easy.

Pros

The software is easy to use, very robust, scalable and best in class for Apple desktop support of Macs and iOS devices.

Cons

I wish there were more documented best practices that were easy to access.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Cosmetics
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product that I have been using since 2009.

Reviewed on 2017/10/24

Ease of use and gives me the ability to manage my my Macs and images without no problems.

Pros

Ease of use and also the reliability. I implemented this product at 4 separate company and at each one it has made the MAC environment stable and safe for all Mac users.

Cons

Scripting help would be appreciated. I don't not use the API features of this product but would love too with help. Also more descriptions of each item via the jamf help guide would be nice.