84 reviews

Lokalise

Advanced localization & translation workflow automation tool

4,9 /5 (84 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,9
/
5
Value for Money
4,7
Features
4,8
Ease of Use
4,8
Customer Support
4,9
98% recommended this app
84 reviews
Robert T.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

So easy, even at extreme scale

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/02/07
Review Source: Capterra

Previously, localization was a situation in which our teams would constantly step on each others toes, trying to use Google Sheets to coordinate with each other and developers. It just never worked well and we wasted so much time on it until we found Lokalise. Now, translators can see what text is being edited in real time and work together to ensure the most correct translations.

Pros

Lokalise makes localization SO easy, even when working with extremely large teams. It's also packed full of features that make managing localizing easy, like SDKs for iOS and Android, easy batch edit tools and integrations with third party apps like Slack so we get notified when new strings are added. The duplicate editor has allowed us to drastically cut down on translation time. Finally, the latest feature we found and love is translation memory which allows us to translate a common word or phrase once and then Lokalise can automatically suggest it in the future.

Cons

Sometimes the website can be a bit slow... but we do have thousands of strings so I can't really blame them

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Religious Institutions
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Comprehensive Solution for a Translation Workflow

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/05/28
Review Source: Capterra

We are managing all our strings with this solution We are translating into 3 different languages (e.g. English, German and Romanian). The benefits we have realized lies first of in dissolving one bottleneck of passign all the translated strings through our development team. Now our managers and translators handle all the strings and formulations, and the devs focus on other tasks.

Pros

The app has really reviewed translation workflows and included integrations and tools for all the roles in the team. We can say from integrating this solution with our current web app, that we were astounded by the simplicity the tool connects to the repository, get's the most current keys the developers added and easily pushes changes back to the repository. From a developers perspective this is a dream to use.

The translation tools are also on par with the rest, with multiple views for editing, suggestions from major translation software (e.g. Google Translate) and placeholders support. The design is also nice and friendly and well thought out, allowing for easy understanding without needing to read documentation.

Cons

At the time of the review we haven't encountered any issues or discomforts with the solution.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Tatiana S.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Review for Lokalise

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/03/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

--Intergration with Github
--API to automate translation process
--Customer support, timely response
--Screenshots for context

Cons

--Unsupported file formats
--TM is not context based and not per language
--TM can't be exported in XLS format
--String description is not available with "Allow source key editing" disabled (we do not use "Allow source key editing")
--Performance issues with large files
--Terminology import/export is not available with XLS format
--Some functionality is not user friendly (e.g. too many dependencies, reports are not easy to read)
--word count is confusing

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great software for translation services

Used Daily for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2020/08/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

What I like most about this software are the video tutorials that guide you through each part of the website. The customer service is excellent because they even provide you the opportunity to have a call with them in which they will guide you on how to use the software.
I also enjoy the fact that I can work with my colleagues from other states in my country. The nonprofit I work has two locations in two different states and we have to do a lot of translation services, so this software is excellent.

Cons

I could not use it on my phone. I've tried multiple times to scan the QR code to perform my task on the phone but when it reaches to the final stage a message pops up which says "Shake the phone now to open the Lokaalise Debug Menu, and enable Live Mode by toggling the only switch there". However, when I shake my phone nothing happens.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Jonathan J.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great location platform!

Used Weekly for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2020/02/27
Review Source: Capterra

We were looking for a tool to manage all our translations for our Apps and Lokalise surprised us. In a few hours we have imported our projects and the export to iOS and Android is fast and easy.
Let's move on to the payment plan because it's worth it.

Pros

- It's very easy to import and export.
- Automatic language detection when importing all files.
- Grammar checking is very useful.
- Perfect for App developers.
- Multiple format support (excel, csv...)
- Group keys by a specific tag or file.

Cons

* We miss being able to see all the QA's and warnings without having to create a specific filter for all of them.
* We have not yet discovered how to ignore the header (first lines) of a CSV or Excel file.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Geza K.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great tool for collaborative localization

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/06/12
Review Source: Capterra

My team is really satisfied with Lokalise. It is a dream compared to our old tool and their support is really responsive.

Pros

- dashboard
- easy to use
- collaboration features
- translation suggestions are really helpful

Cons

- GitHub integration is a bit complicated

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Clement P.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Awesome software that greatly eases our L10n workflow

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/05/13
Review Source: Capterra

Awesome.

The team is quick to react and have a killer product

Pros

- The fact that we have can have different keys that are differ based on the platform
- We can add screenshots [with automatic OCR!] to add more context to our translations

Cons

They don't have support for variable-width strings (an iOS/macOS feature) [yet?], this isn't a life changing feature per se, but would be nice

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jørgen orehøj E.
Industry: Sports
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great user experience and nice API

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/07/03
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We use it to manage around 8000 keys in 12 different languages.

The service is very easy to use and has a really nice user interface that is joy to work with.

Another helpful feature is the batch support, which allows for managing/updating many translations with just a few mouse clicks.

Furthermore, we use the CLI to fetch the translations and embed them in our React native and Ruby on Rails apps.

Cons

Searching of translation keys could be improved at bit by supporting for example wildcard searches, but that's just a minor thing.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Rachel W.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great tool and customer support

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/04/02
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Lokalise is extremely easy to use, the speed in which translations are returned to us has helped improved efficiency across our teams! Our account managers ([SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]) have always been on hand to help with any queries.

Cons

I'd like if there was some optional add on so that we could add a certain number of translations included with our package.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 201-500 Employees

LOKALISE is a must for mobile apps

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/01/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Lokalise made things very simple for the mobile team leading our multilingual app development. Versions x.1 have no longer been launched for typing reasons (in the past we always had to launch small updates to fix typos or to rephrase things that were not clear). The "intelligence" in Lokalise, recommending words that are similiar to the ones already used in other sections of the app is incredible.

Cons

To be honest: nothing. In the team we do not understand how we could live before implementing Lokalise.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Steev H.
Industry: Environmental Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Just What We Needed

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/01/06
Review Source: Capterra

We have used Lokalise to integrate our translatable codebase with translations, and leverage paid and volunteer translators to help us increase our language coverage. We also had a need for a system that non-technical translators could easily understand and use.

Pros

The best things about Lokalise are the integration with other tools like Github and Slack, as well as the UI and the access controls. I like how easy it's been to import and export sources and translations to and from our code repositories, and the ease with which we can control who can do what within different languages.

Cons

I have very little to complain about. The only thing worth mentioning is sometimes a slight delay because of time zone in getting support when we were first learning how to use it, because we're in Arizona and they're in Latvia. But that's a very minor inconvenience!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Tom C.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 11-50 Employees

A great product fit for a startup with several apps and an international customer base

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/02/07
Review Source: Capterra

We've been able to implement clear, simple processes and improve the quality of the translation and localisation of our apps and websites.

Pros

First and foremost, the team are extremely communicative and helpful. Every question we asked was answered in minutes and they gave us fantastic and friendly assistance to get us onboarded swiftly. 100% awesome.

The QA feature found literally thousands of errors throughout our translations — we had missed these for *years* using our previous tool.

We export our translations for use in an iOS and Android app — there are variable placeholders in several files and Lokalise makes it super simple to define these so they are exported to the correct format for the target platform; no need to write scripts to convert from iOS "%@" to Android "%s" etc...

Additionally, we love the platform-specific features; being able to specifically disable a key for export on iOS or Android, or change the name of the key when exported, so that it can match that platform's conventions.

The pricing model is sensible, you are charged on translation keys and not penalised for adding new languages. Again, this is way better than other solutions on the market.

When importing translations, Lokalise is intelligent and recognises the language.

All the modern (and obscure) localisation formats that we needed were available.

The web interface is intuitive and easy to learn, you can tab across navigate quickly.

Cons

Nothing really, this has been a real upgrade in process and quality for us.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Tadas Ž.
Industry: Consumer Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Best service for localising your content!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/04
Review Source: Capterra

I haven't seen anything better than Lokalise at this price level. Also amazing customer support!

Pros

I love this service because it is built for software engineers in mind. It supports all the different file formats you might need, works super well with the different languages, great APIs and integration with other services that we use. It's top in the class and pricing is very reasonable. Our translation team loves the product team and for them, it's ease of use and supportive UI that really helps you catch small mistakes. Highly recommend!!

Cons

I really like that you can order translations with just a few clicks, but it's hard to know who is translating the text. It would be great if you would have the same person assigned to your project and could directly talk with him.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Richard B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Game Changer

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/12/20
Review Source: Capterra

Lokalise has completely removed the headache of managing strings across all our apps and it has reduced the need for constant reviews and re-working of translations.

Pros

Lokalise has completely transformed how we translate our apps.

We don't have to struggle with zip files flying around via email and are able to quickly and efficiently produce new builds for review.

Once we had fixed the main problem, we were able to use Lokalise to completely automate our translations process using web hooks. When translations are Reviewed by our provider, we pull these into Bitbucket, generate a new build and run UI tests to generate Screenshots which are sent to the client within one hour. This process used to take at least 5 days per language.

Cons

Honestly, not much. the only problem we've had is with User Permissions, users report not being able to see Languages but it's always because we haven't updated their permissions.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Daniel L.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Lokalise is a platform beyond expectations and covers a range of advanced use cases

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/07/08
Review Source: Capterra

We are translating our platform to 15+ languages with Lokalise using the team and QA features.
We're integrating both dynamic and static content using efficient integrations. And we plan to order translations via the built in channels that give you a good overview of pricing and benefits.

All in all, the experience has been great. Thanks to the many integrations (from S3 to Github to Slack etc.) and solid documentation.

Pros

Lokalise has a whole range of thought-through features and their support has been outstanding.
We were looking for integrations with Sketch and Github, along with a solid Dashboard and automated translation. We found all these and more features with Lokalise. Also, their online guides and documentation pages are very helpful.

Cons

Had some very minor issues at the beginning but the support team solved these in 10 minutes. Overall our experience has been great.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kristaps L.
Industry: Translation & Localization
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great localisation tool for our translators

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/02/25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Translators who work for our agency love using Lokalise. UI is very easy to understand and the fact that the clients can add screenshots of where the translated text be visible in their app is a great help as it aids in understanding the context.
It is possible to see in real time the progress of the translation, which is very helpful for the project managers to see the translation progress. Customer service is very fast and questions are answered and resolved quickly.

Cons

Depending on the internet connection, it can be a bit slow sometimes, but it does not tend to distract the work.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jinho J.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

The best translation platform I've ever experienced

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/01/02
Review Source: Capterra

More than perfect. I am able to manage our translation campaign thanks to Lokalise and everyone is super satisfied. Thank you Lokalise!

Pros

1. Easy to use
I tried to use a couple of other translation platforms before but Lokalise is the easiest to learn and use. Our open source translators were satisfied as well.

2. Developer friendly
Automatic Github integration, handy upload and download, and other developer friendly features

3. Free for open source projects
Lokalise contributes to the open source ecosystem together offering its wonderful services for free for open source projects. I already recommended Lokalise to other open source projects.

4. Customer services
The customer services are super detailed and fast. Even I'd like to know how the team manages the CS department and educate the team by themselves.

Cons

Does not support md(markdown) files, which are one of the most popular extensions to maintain documentation.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Stefan K.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Time saver!

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/10/16
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Lokalise really helps us to manage all our translations. No matter if you are using it as translator or on the other side as a developer. Even though it is easy to use still have all the flexibility to customise the flows just like you need them! Also the customer support is first class and really quick!

Cons

Nothing to add here. So fare really happy with the whole experience.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Oleg I.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great instrument for mobile development

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/08
Review Source: Capterra

We develop mobile apps for iOS and Android. We have several products and each of them has from 6 to 25 localisations. It is unreal to maintain all of these localisations by yourself and Localise solve this problem nicely.

Pros

Easy to filter, search and edit keys.
Automation of the localization​ process with translation providers.
Supporting iOS and Android localization files.

Cons

Screenshots and description are crucial for the right translation. Drag & drop for a screenshot and description editing would be easier without additional popups on the main project screen.

More flexible rights for members by sharing the payment method. Many of team should order translation by oneself but now it could be done only by members ​with an ​attached credit card.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Andreas S.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Big fan of this system and top notch support

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/07/15
Review Source: Capterra

Our company wants to rapidly translate our products to reach new markets. At the same time, we have medically sensitive texts which need to be reviewed by a medical expert after the are translated. I spent loads of time analyzing the market and lokalise ticked every box so we signed up. The experience has been great. The customer support via chat has solved every issue I have and the inferface is good enough such that I can send a task to a non-technical person, for example to review texts in our app, and they immediately figure out what they need to do without any further instruction. So yes I’m a fan and would strongly recommend it.

Pros

Great features and support
Workflow and task manager fits like a glove with our needs

Cons

Couple of minor user interface improvements could be made

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Quentin A.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 11-50 Employees

We use Lokalise to manage our website and applications translations

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/11/03
Review Source: Capterra

Easy managment for our translations and integration with our development tools throught the API.

Pros

- simple and easy to use
- export in many formats
- API
- contributor managment customizable for each project
- translation tools integrated

Cons

- plan limitation for users in team can sometime be too restrictive if you ave to manage different users per project

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jacob K.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great product, amazing service

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/01/11
Review Source: Capterra

Lokalise plays an integral part in our internationalisation and localisation strategy. Making it easy to localise our products helped us to get new business.

Pros

There are many things to like about Lokalise. A few stand out:

* The UI is easy to understand, and helps a lot with quickly translating and reviewing a lot of content.
* Customer Support is truly amazing. A very responsive team and issues are resolved quickly.
* Integration with translation partners and machine learning helps to get started quickly with high-quality translations.

Cons

Getting started was a bit hard, especially integrating Lokalise into our build process. That's been almost a year though, so that might be easier now.

Small bugs pop up from time to time; one of those actually broke output. But these are usually resolved very quickly when Lokalise is informed of them.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Alexandra G.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Highly recommend - works well, fast and easy to use

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/03/24
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Everything about Lokalise works well - the translations are spot on (and I am a native speaker of four languages so I can really tell), the UX is well thought out and intuitive, it's fast and the search function especially. One thing I really love is that Lokalise remembers how you chose to translate something, not just the generic translation. The other thing is how easy it is to collaborate across our team.
KUDOS for developing this and we love using your tool. Have recommended it to many others too, and they have been happy.

Cons

Please don't change anything - this is an awesome tool and it works perfectly as is!!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Wei Z.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Fantastic tool for managing the localization process

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/06/04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This tool facilitates a streamlined localization process amongst admin, translators and reviewers. The workflow fits very well to our needs. The User interface is friendly. Managing big amount of translation data is simple with smart filtering/sorting and extremely importantly the backup. Getting support using the online chat is super efficient. The customer service agent on the other side is polite and always helpful.

Cons

This tool works very well for us. Hard to think of anything I don't like. The team behind has done a fantastic job building this.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Dominik R.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 2-10 Employees

One of the rare products where every feature is thought out into the very last detail

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/08/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pretty simple to set up and honestly, the experience got better and better the more I used it, because I just then realised how much thought has gone into the product.

Pros

Perfectly efficient workflow - it is very convenient to translate your keys, you always have great context, you automatically get suggestions, and the lokalise team has perfected the UI so that you don't have to waste a single click. Love it.

Cons

Nothing major really.
The buttons for the functions within a translation project (upload, download, etc.) could be a bit bigger and self-explanatory. It's only rather small items where you have to learn what is where (although they do have tooltips of course).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10