FootPrints Reviews

FootPrints

IT service desk automation software for mid-size businesses.

Overall rating

3,4 /5
(34)
Value for Money
3,4/5
Features
3,5/5
Ease of Use
3,4/5
Customer Support
3,6/5

53%
recommended this app
Sort by

34 Reviews

Alessandro
Alessandro
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent process and project support tool

Reviewed on 2020/03/18

We acquired Footprints at the bank where I worked in 2004, and they still use that system today. It...

We acquired Footprints at the bank where I worked in 2004, and they still use that system today. It is used for Basically helping in IT Demand Management processes (Incidents, RFCs, RFSs, etc.). And we quickly discovered
that the tool would be useful to support other business processes as well.

We then use Footprints in IT Project Management (Footprints forms are super customizable and this was very useful for registering and monitoring projects).

It was a happy surprise when we were able to implement Footprints in other departments besides IT, we had not planned this, the IT department won many points for that. Because we had a fast implementation solution and we became one of the main suppliers of operational performance reports (from the different sectors of the company).

So we start to used Footprints in the area of Internal Controls and Compliance, where we made forms specialized in these activities and methodologies (5W2H for example).

Our Legal department has also adopted the tool. Because the alert configuration features (based on elapsed time or status) worked very well to support their activities, in addition to the feature of recording time spent by activity, for billing of lawyers' hours to be separated by cost center, this was very cool.

Pros

Extremely easy customization of support forms page;
We use it in several sectors of the company, such as: IT Infrastructure, IT Projects, Internal Controls, Legal, Compliance, Accounting, Administrative, Customer Service and HR;
Low cost due to the possibility of using named licenses and shared licenses;
Low hardware cost, you don't need anything dedicated.

So, to complete the pros. A good administrator of the tool must know the company's processes, once this professional knows the company's processes, he will have in hand a quick implementation solution (Footprints) to control processes and projects, without having to wait for the development of a software to support such a need.

Cons

As for cons, we can note that the tool is not so easy to integrate and the support team is not very good at suggesting solutions for this.

It is important to have a well-trained person who knows the business processes of the company
to be able to make the most of Footprints' features. If the company does not have this type of
professional, there is a risk of not being able to make good use of the tool.

Don't expect Footprints support to offer you a super solution, they usually have a vision
limited to technical aspects of the tool, the ideal technical profile to manage this system
is someone with some background in IT and who knows business processes well.

Alternatives Considered

JIRA Service Management
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Dependable

Reviewed on 2022/07/11

Footprints is reliable and does its job, even if it's a bit old-fashioned and clunky.

Footprints is reliable and does its job, even if it's a bit old-fashioned and clunky.

Pros

I liked that we could configure forms to request needed information based on request type and details, as well as configure automatic routing to correct teams. Fields and routing were automatically filled out upon selecting specific details. It was nice that we could automatically create tickets from incoming emails to service account mailboxes. Tickets could track time spent working on the issue. Notifications were automatically sent to stakeholders based on status.

Cons

Unable to resend attachments from previous ticket updates. Inadequate size limit on attachments; failure to update by email if attachment exceeded limit. Instructions to reply by email are unclear; if reply message was not precisely formatted, response text is cut from ticket update. Have to take the system down to publish changes or apply updates.

Michael
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Version 12 has been the most painful experience in my IT career

Reviewed on 2017/11/29

Pros

There is very little to like about this product. Ii guess if i had to pick one thing it would be i like the color scheme.

Cons

Support is horrible, there are only a couple (literally two at the time of this review) senior support staff that have any knowledge about this product. The API does not work consistently. Random business rules stop working after a publish and supports only answer is to recreate the rules. We have consistent deadlock errors on the database, we have tracked it down to the table that contains ALL of the relationships for every item in the system. Support says they are looking at it, but we have seen this for about a year now and there is no resolution as of yet. If you don't believe my review, check the BMC communities and look at the idea section for footprints. You will find scads of suggestions about returning out of the box functionality that were in older versions of FP that is missing in v.12.x.

The migration was extremely painful it consisted of rebuilding everything from the start and the finished product is in such a bad state that the suggestion about what it would take to go back to version 9 has been discussed. it is not about bad logic in the rules, because when they work, it works. you just don't know what you will have after you publish. BMC needs to rethink what they did to the FP product.

Response from BMC Software

Thank you for sharing this feedback. If you ever have an issue with our support team, please ask to speak to management immediately so we can address it. Our support team has consistently high satisfaction ratings so the experience you describe is not typical nor something we would be happy with. As for the product issues, during a recent visit by one of our partners to your site, we were able to join and conduct an in-depth analysis of your setup. During that evaluation we identified a number of configuration issues and based on those findings we provided several recommendations that your team is in the process of implementing. We are confident that when this is completed you will have a much improved situation. Please reach out to us directly once the work is completed and we will continue to work with you and your team until you are satisfied.

Alvin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Footprints helped our Service Desk!

Reviewed on 2022/10/06

Pros

Great features at a very affordable annual cost, the ease of configuration and customization to fit our needs was well suited for our environment. The number of knowledge base articles and community support was very good.

Cons

The dashboard needs a revamp of it, it looks outdated and not as streamlined as other ITSM solutions. Chat feature needs to be improved on.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Solid Ticket Tracking Solution

Reviewed on 2019/04/01

We have used this software to track helpdesk tickets, system access requests, and change management...

We have used this software to track helpdesk tickets, system access requests, and change management for many years now and it's overall worked very well with very little trouble. Support when needed has always been great too.

Pros

I like that we've been using it for over 10 years now with not 1 major issue with it.

Cons

The licensing cost seems a little steep I feel like there should be some sort of a discounted price for use over time as well.

Debra
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Footprints 12 was a big step backwards. The interface is much more complex to learn

Reviewed on 2017/05/16

Pros

I liked Version 11 with five stars but they are dropping support next June 2018. The Escalations that automate processes was also very nice. System was very easy to use and was easy to navigate. All the bells and whistles that automated processes was extremely beneficial for our company. I was really pleased with this product.

Cons

We were pushed into a new version that is basically a shell and you have to create most processes that are pre-built in other products. What was BMC thinking? Up to this version I have always had a great experience. They took away several features that are going to cause us a lot of work, no quick descriptions and no quick actions which was one of the reasons we bought this product. I think their level 1 desk is in India they only take ticket info. What happened to supporting the USA economy?

Response from BMC Software

Hi Debra, it sounds like there has been a miscommunication or misunderstanding here.

FootPrints 11 Support
We have no plans to end support for FootPrints 11. It is still fully supported. There are also no plans to force anyone to move to FootPrints 12.

Tech Support
To better support our global customer base, we added capacity in the US, UK, Mexico & India as well as a global triage center to ensure that everyone is served effectively, especially those with severity 1 issues who are routed to the front of the queue during triage.

Configuration
FootPrints 12 is more powerful & customizable than ever before & includes many automation features. Most customers use FootPrints as their Service Desk & it includes built-in templates for this.

If you dont mind, we will follow up with you directly to get more clarity on the support issues and to provide help with configuration.

Heather
Heather
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Not What It Used to Be

Reviewed on 2018/11/28

Footprints was once a great application, but since being rebuilt for version 12, it has lost much...

Footprints was once a great application, but since being rebuilt for version 12, it has lost much of what made it once so successful. While workspaces are fully customizable, they are built in several 'containers' that must match identically across various parts of the application to connect and function. For example, if you connect it to Active Directory for user authentication, you must create each field you want to appear in the ticket type, in that appropriate workspace, and then create a relationship between them. The navigation is not intuitive and requires quite a bit of digging around to find these settings.

Footprints is very flexible, however. If you can think of something, you can probably create it and automate it here. My company was able to use it as a ticketing platform across several departments, each with their own custom fields and features.

The reporting is very versatile. It allows you to build nearly any type of chart or graph and export it with the ticket data. They can also be scheduled to send to anyone by email address or user name.

My biggest issue is the way attachments are handled mostly because if an attachment is added to a ticket, you cannot add it to outbound email by selecting it. It must be downloaded and uploaded to the ticket a second time as Footprints only sends out attachments on the update when they're added.

Pros

Flexibility and Customizable
Functionality
Reporting

Cons

Complicated Setup
Performance
Advanced Searching
Attachments

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Heavy Use at Wrok

Reviewed on 2018/02/01

Pros

It functions and allows for a lot of customization. We are using a slightly older version. But being a member of multiple assignee groups is helpful. Assigning different teams as they are needed to a ticket while keeping yourself on is helpful in monitoring the problems completion.

Cons

Dated interface. Slow to respond at times. The need for Java to be installed, but no real use for it. The extra cost of a mobile interface, no mobile app.

Jaleel
Jaleel
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

This is one of a few ticketing systems I've used in my helpdesk career. Nothing special

Reviewed on 2018/07/31

Pros

customizable fields depending on how the company intends to use it
Very lightweight on the client side, in fact so lightweight you can allow your customers to put in their own tickets without a significant lag on their side, or strain server-side.

Cons

Too many fields to populate to get a case started.
When it does lag, watch out because there's no autosave feature, or quick save feature

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Suits needs across the company

Reviewed on 2019/05/21

Pros

This software has been very beneficial to my company. It has been used for many departments throughout the workplace.

Cons

There is not much bad I can say about footprints. I don't love the new version.

Rocky
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

For over 3 years, I have administrated multiple BMC FootPrints Service Core workspaces.

Reviewed on 2017/08/03

FootPrints Service Core is a robust tool that improves efficiency for many departments at O'Reilly...

FootPrints Service Core is a robust tool that improves efficiency for many departments at O'Reilly Auto with at current total of 22 workspaces. Almost on a daily basis, processes are improved using capabilities FootPrints Service Core offers. The efficiency gains helps the corporate departments accomplish more in less time with streamlined processes. This helps the company save money on payroll for additional corporate employees even though several additional stores are opened each day. We don't have to hire as many people on the corporate level to keep up with the store growth due to the improvements of processes related to this software.

Pros

Footprints has become one of the most important software packages many departments in the company use. What I like most is how the workspaces can be adapted to suit the needs for any department. We started using it for IT help desks, which is our most complex workspaces, but we keep identifying other departments in need of a new workspace for various needs. For example, several departments used to keep track of requests in emails and track requests on shared Excel workbooks. Service Core provides a workspace to receive, store, provide trackable accountability, report, and develop workflow previously unavailable for incidents handled by each department. The abilities of Service Core has improved processes for every department we have implemented.

Cons

While the software almost always accomplishes desired workflow for new tasks, I sometimes have to come up with a workaround to accomplish the desired advanced workflow. On the positive side, Service Core is flexible to allow manipulation of the workspace to allow workarounds when necessary.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Big piece of JUNK

Reviewed on 2019/03/07

I've had the displeasure of being the admin for this trashy software for the past two years. I've...

I've had the displeasure of being the admin for this trashy software for the past two years. I've put in a lot of extra hours just to keep this garbage software running. If you're wanting to give up your life to support garbage then this is the product for you. If you want a reliable software that is easy to maintain, then go find something else.

Pros

Support has been good to point out all the issues, bugs and defects in the software.

Cons

Every time there is an issue, ends up it's usually a know defect. There are so many known defects with this garbage software that it causes memory leaks. The footprints server must be rebooted daily otherwise it Footprints become even more useless.
There are people who take garbage and make a sculpture out of it to give it another look. That describes Footprints, garbage software put together to resemble a working program, but in the end it is just a piece of garbage.

Robert
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Mediocre Software

Reviewed on 2020/12/15

Being part of IT, our department used the software for it's intended purpose; IT help desk tickets....

Being part of IT, our department used the software for it's intended purpose; IT help desk tickets. But then when our audiovisual software was taken away, administration wanted to use it for daily AV scheduling. Because tickets are meant to be entered for on-demand issues, scheduling of future setups and events is not possible. It can only be used for record keeping and to enter tickets for past happenings

Pros

The software is not super complicated to use. I would say, however, it would require a bit of brief instruction from a colleague to get started.

Cons

Again the software is not overly complicated, but navigation can be tricky at first. Finding past tickets, however is fairly easy IF you know how to do it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

A complete ITSM solution for Enterprise Companies

Reviewed on 2018/03/29

Pros

FootPrints is the ITSM Solution Ferrari, as it may be adapted not only for IT processes but also for any other not IT process such as HR, Legal, Field Services, etc. configuring as many instances or workspace as you need in your organization for every of these processes. Its licensing is adaptable to the customer needs. It also has Mobile and web browser access, Graphical Workflow designer to configure your processes in an easy and fast way.

Cons

For asset management it is necessary the integration with BMC Client Management which means to pay for additional licensing in terms of number of assets and it increase the investment in comparison with other solutions that has asset management included.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Clunky outdated ticketing platform

Reviewed on 2018/09/13

Pros

it's not incredibly difficult to use, but that's really it

Cons

this ticketing platform is the least robust system I've used. I've used many homebrewed and many enterprise level ticketing systems and this is by far the worst. Ticket tracking and event tracking is non existent. It lacks many basic features like child/parent relationships on major outages, leaving me clearing through countless tickets after a major outage. Searching through cases is also clunky and difficult, you can't really view cases outside of your workspace, so when tickets are submitted to me, I often receive duplicates because no one knows that a ticket is already opened.

Ray
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Basic ITSM Incident Management tool

Reviewed on 2021/11/08

BMC has been helpful to work with. Tool interface looks like something out of the 90s. It has...

BMC has been helpful to work with. Tool interface looks like something out of the 90s. It has been meeting our needs and it is a fraction of the cost of other full suite ITSM tools.

Pros

Cost. A fraction of other ITSM tools. There are 3 supported platforms to choose from

Cons

Reports are clunky, lack of intuitiveness, not much for self serve portal, the KB won't accept images, no option for end users to get ticket statuses on demand, etc.

Gerardo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

An excellent Help Desk tool but expensive too

Reviewed on 2022/10/06

I'm a Footprints user but I have knowledge about IT and there's not a problem for me to use this...

I'm a Footprints user but I have knowledge about IT and there's not a problem for me to use this software but if you don't have IT notion, it could be a problem to use the interface because it is not friendly or intuitive like some other Help Desk softwares.

Pros

The customization level for work areas and dashboards.

Cons

The interface is very cold, ugly, not friendly or intuitive for the end user.

Katie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Not a fan

Reviewed on 2022/07/28

not a fan

not a fan

Pros

easy to use, great for people that don't like change.

Cons

not a scalable software. it doesn't have the integrations we hope to find in a tool and only seems to compliment it workers. we need a multi purpose tool now.

Harold
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Footprints does a great job keeping your help desk tickets in order.

Reviewed on 2017/08/16

Footprints does a great job managing help tickets.

Footprints does a great job managing help tickets.

Pros

Configuration can be granular and specific for your needs
Includes Knowledge base library
Good query for tickets
Email tickets are very descriptive
Can assign roles to users

Cons

Initial configuration is involved, but straight forward.
A bit of a learning curve for those who are not tech savvy.

Stacey
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

I am the Footprints admin and part of the set up/customization team for our company

Reviewed on 2017/08/07

Pros

Customization and the ability to have different work spaces or containers. Different work spaces allow multiple teams to have their own ticketing space.

Support team is great

Cons

Opening a ticket via phone - the first group you speak with is out sourced and they don't always comprehend English well

Angie
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Footprints is a great tool that helps us track interactions with our clients.

Reviewed on 2017/06/27

Pros

I like being able to do searches on previous calls. Working support, it is invaluable to be able to look at previous solutions to aid in today's issues.

Cons

Sometimes the fields get out of index and I see the wrong data in the fields. I can delete the ticket and start a new one to correct the problem.

Teresa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great software that just needs a few minor enhancements

Reviewed on 2019/12/06

Overall it's a good product that we use to manage tickets that are submitted by the client to our...

Overall it's a good product that we use to manage tickets that are submitted by the client to our help desk. There are minor enhancements that would be nice to have, such as the ability to open attachments with a double click.

Pros

I like that the software automatically sets send email to customer based on status and that all communication is in one place.

Cons

I dislike the fact that attachments need to be downloaded and opened rather than a double click to open.

Fonta
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

FootPrints

Reviewed on 2022/07/08

Overall experience is functional for day to day usage

Overall experience is functional for day to day usage

Pros

How you can customize your layout for productivity

Cons

Assigning tickets to users sometime don't function properly

Philip
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Overly Complex and Functionally Limited Platform

Reviewed on 2019/11/08

Fairly negative, it’s an old product. Look at JIRA instead

Fairly negative, it’s an old product. Look at JIRA instead

Pros

Didn’t like much about the software, but their support was first rate.

Cons

Old and complex platform with an out of date UI

Jeremy
Jeremy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use

Decent ticketing system, could improve user experience

Reviewed on 2018/06/27

Pros

Monitors tickets, priorities, status well. Use of email responses to update statuses and add updates makes it quick and easy in many situations. For most situations where I'm viewing updates and replying quickly it's easy and effective.

Cons

The UI is a little non-intuitive for adding updates - when editing/adding an update I want to be able to see history as context for my reply/update, and that requires first viewing a different area.