Vena Reviews

Vena

Enterprise budgeting, planning & forecasting for Excel

4.3/5 (12 reviews)

Vena provides flexibility to set up budgets, reports and other processes as flexibly as we need.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 8/7/2017
Review Source: Capterra

We were able to streamline and centrally collect data for our budgeting process, which save considerable time for the budget administrator and other admin assistants across our university. We created Board-level reporting templates that can be re-used every year to report the results of the budget process with only changes made as necessary for the format of the current reporting year. We collect forecasting information from over 330 departments and compile all the information within one template to estimate the financial outcome for the fiscal year. We have been able to include data in planning of various kinds in ways that we weren't able to by just using Excel, resulting in better planning results. We can create new planning or reporting processes and have the flexibility to save additional data input that isn't part of our ERP data. Overall, we have saved time, improved processes, created one version of the data visible to all involved in the process and created efficiencies by being able to share data across processes.

Pros

Flexibility to set up whatever process we are working on the way it needs to be set up for our business requirements. Continual improvements being done on the Vena add-in and browser administration interface. Formatting Excel templates and reports exactly as needed. Ability to pull in data from all data versions for any reporting or template. Ability to save non-financial data to use in reporting or calculations. Ability to control user input as needed to better quality data. Prompt customer service responses. Great implementation team. Administrative control over data visible to individual users. Workflows to show status for process steps and email notifications when a workflow step is ready for input or review. Once learned, allows for creation of new processes to collect or report data.

Cons

Having to download each Excel file, but once downloaded, it's easy to select the data we want to see.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Excel based Performance Management Tool

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 4/19/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Our Financial Planning and Analysis team picked Vena from many other tools. The reason for zeroing on this tool, is, it is an excel based tool. We have been doing all this work in excel since years.
We have standardized the process and have fixed excel templates. However excel has certain limitations like version control, access control, audit trail etc.
With Vena we overcame the limitations of excel while retaining the power, flexibility and ease of use of excel. We have many desperate IT systems some by choice and some by compulsion due to various acquisitions. We import the data from all these systems into vena database. Data is automatically consolidated and aggregated per our requirements for use in advanced management reports as well as ad hoc reports in vena. Vena offers workflow and approval management by project, department etc. Further one can drill up, drill down, slice and dice the data using vena. Variance analysis is a piece of cake in this tool. Vena customer service is good too.

Cons

There is a learning curve like any other tool. There is no drag and drop from a selection of columns, fields etc. However once you learn the tool, reporting becomes easier.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

Add super powers to your Excel templates

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 8/14/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I don't have to learn SQL programming languages or wait around for my computer department to do something . I can manage everything myself.

Cons

Being a young company, they need more demonstrations, downloaded working files to build users skills.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Powerful, User Friendly Budgeting, Reporting, and Analysis Tool

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 8/18/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Improved budgeting and ad hoc reporting

Pros

The Excel interface is my favorite part about Vena. Everyone within our business is familiar with and comfortable using Excel. Therefore, when we started using Vena for budgets, our contributors did not have to learn a completely new interface. However, Vena offers so much more than just Excel. I love how Vena shows you who made changes to the file and what the previous values in the file were. It helps hold people accountable. It is also very easy to make powerful reports using Vena.

Cons

We built a very complicated template which took a long time to open. However, Vena was very helpful in helping us optimize our template and improve the performance drastically.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

VENA SOLUTIONS IS AWESOME!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2/17/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

I particularly like how easily Vena integrates with my existing software programs (Microsoft Excel based), and the support provided to our business has been second to none!

Cons

There were a few glitches during set-up and installation and there is a bit of a learning curve as we customized the program to fit our particular requirements, however customer support made life as easy as possible.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

The ease of use is a big plus for me, but the consistent rollout of buggy updates is frustrating

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 8/10/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The ease of use is a big plus for me. Was able to pick up a majority of the best practices within a couple weeks of use

Cons

I realize you are continually trying to enhance the product, but quality has been faulted in the past couple months.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

VENA

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 5/2/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Excel based which makes it very easy to use when you're already using excel.

Cons

The cut and paste feature takes a while specially since I work with big files.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Powerful tool for budgeting and forecasting

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 6/7/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Adaptability with Excel while still being able to use all Excel native functionality. Easy to input variables and run data rich spreadsheets

Cons

Setup time on individual templates can be cumbersome. Error messages are not very specific so you spend lots of time contacting the Help Desk.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Vena

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2/20/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Useful product but hard to use without constant support from their consultants.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

5.0/10

Review of VENA reporting and budgeting capabilities

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 5/8/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

VENA leadership very supportive of our implementation. Reacted quickly to our concerns

Pros

Ease of design and compatibility with Excel. Flexibility in implementation allowed us to try multiple iterations and change items like budget template design mid project.

Cons

Some start up bugs - Excel add in had to be added in a few times. Some users experienced unexplained data losses. Compatibility with MACs an issue

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

Vena Cloud

Reviewed on 7/21/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Allows data import, easy to navigate and use, customer support is very helpful.

Cons

I'm sure there is something that could be improved, but personally, I cannot think of a single thing!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

First post implementation impression

Reviewed on 4/16/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Ease of use and retention of the all familiar Excel.

Cons

I look forward to the day Vena has a robust user group.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10