Spreadsheet Server Reviews

Spreadsheet Server

Financial reporting solution for linking ERP data into Excel

4.3/5 (13 reviews)
Donald M.

Low cost; easy to use; effective reporting solution

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/08/11
Review Source: Capterra

Replaced all our financial related reporting; very flexible and easy to train new users

Pros

Excel based; relatively easy to learn; works out of the box with simple install; has replaced all our internal financial and management reporting

Cons

Conflicts with some other Excel add-ons; occasional issues with some users and PCs; custom GL doesn't have all the features of a standard GL version

Response from Global Software

Thanks for your feedback, Donald! We appreciate learning more about our users¿ experiences. Our recent update, Spreadsheet Server 14.6.4, includes several enhancements. Contact us at [email protected] to upgrade today!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Karl S.

I use Spreadsheet Server only twice a year but at those times it's critical.

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/06/01
Review Source: Capterra

Because Spreadsheet Server is connected to our general ledger, when we enter a journal entry we get immediate updates in the financial statements.

Pros

Spreadsheet Server is critical in allowing us to produce financial statements that are integrated into our financial software.

Cons

Our financial statements contain many tables and schedules. Because of this, Spreadsheet Server has to look into almost every general ledger account in our system. This results in an initial load time each day of approximately 15-20 minutes. Excel is unavailable for any other use during that time.

Response from Global Software

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that Spreadsheet Server is such a critical part of your financial reporting environment! Our team has just issued a new release, V 14.6, which should significantly improve your load time. We¿ve received very positive feedback on this enhanced capability. Please reach out to your customer success representative for more details or email [email protected] .

Thank you,
The Spreadsheet Server Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Vaibhav M.

A neat spreadsheet for you detailed reports

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/12/24
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We had a very peculiar situation where we wanted to make sure that all the data from our project development team, testing team, product implementation team and finally QA team would be on same page and would deliver the product to consumer as required, but the biggest task was how to get 10 different people living across the globe and sharing the same spreadsheet, so we searched and found out Spreadsheet server, that gave instant solution to our long lingering problem. As the same spreadsheet was used to collect and replay the data, it was easy enough to be accurate and to hunt down in case of discrepancy. Super joyed with the software

Cons

There are lot many layers created in the software to "Drill down"to get the results, once you are used to that, you feel it easy. But getting used to the same takes some time and then you can generate reports as required

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Ayushi M.

Amazing accounting tool. Recommend.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/08/08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

SpreadSheet server seamlessly integrates live ERP data directly into Excel. It generates various account based reports that are flexible as per need.

Cons

Needs minor improvements and few bug fixes. Other than that it is a good software. I would recommend it.

Response from Global Software

Thanks, Ayushi! We¿re happy to see that Spreadsheet Server is working so well with your ERP data. Our latest update, Spreadsheet Server 14.6.3, includes several enhancements. Contact us at [email protected] to upgrade today!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Ray B.

We use this product as a replacement for Oracle FSG reports for departmental and location reporting.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/08/11
Review Source: Capterra

Reporting times dropped from 3 to 4 days to overnight.

Pros

The product offers great flexibility, looks at the live data and all hierarchies. Distribution Manager and Profile Scheduler really enhance the reporting functionality.

Cons

Performance is slow particularly for transaction based reports. Updating to the very latest software was of great help but we had to move the transactions to a table for quicker queries. This allowed reports to be able to complete overnight (around 8 hours) but we are limited to only a periods worth of data at a time for transaction based reports.

The translated ledgers are not currently working but consolidation ledger are so not a top priority but something to fix in the future.

Response from Global Software

Thanks for your thoughtful response, Ray. We¿re happy to hear that you are experiencing success with your reporting times. We have an even more recent update for you, Spreadsheet Server 14.6.4, which includes more enhancements. Contact us at [email protected] to upgrade today!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Karan U.

A good value for money. Highly recommend!

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/10/10
Review Source: Capterra

I am extremely satisfied with this software. It is helpful in creating complex reports and data analysis.

Pros

This software uses ERP live data with Microsoft Excel. You can easily create spreadsheets, has advanced filter options and what not.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Matt S.

Great tool for connecting to databases and running reports

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/06/07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Great tool for connecting to multiple databases and generating reports with Excel add-in functionality.

Cons

If connecting to multiple databases, report generation is often slow. Can take time running very detailed reports. Can have issues when enabled in Excel when opening a new Excel document.

Response from Global Software

Thank you for your review. We are always interested in learning more about your experience with Spreadsheet Server. Our team has just issued a new release, V 14.6, which should significantly improve your load time. We¿ve received very positive feedback on this enhanced capability. Please reach out to your customer success representative for more details or email [email protected] .

Thank you,
The Spreadsheet Server Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Gail O.

SS Server

Used Other for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2019/03/26
Review Source: Capterra

We built quite a few reports but it took fewer than our old system due to ability to run them various ways.

Pros

Distribution scheduler allows you to schedule them during off hours

Cons

Slow to build reports, slow running really large reports

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Yeshuwanth L.

Low cost; easy to use; effective reporting solution

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/31
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The best thing is that I get to use excel to build the reports and make them look the way I want. All without having to get custom reports built by the accounting software vendor.

Cons

If connecting to multiple databases, report generation is often slow. Can take time running very detailed reports. Can have issues when enabled in Excel when opening a new Excel document.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Dale L.

Great Product

Reviewed on 2017/04/26
Review Source: Capterra

We use Spreadsheet Server extensively. It has great functionality, is easy to use and saves us quite a bit of time. I would not hesitate to recommend it.

Response from Global Software

Awesome feedback! Great to hear about your positive experience with Spreadsheet Server, Dale!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Greg B.

This helps enable you to build reports in our accounting software and make then look the way we want

Used Monthly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/07/20
Review Source: Capterra

Better reporting with being able to customize the look.

Pros

The best thing is that I get to use excel to build the reports and make them look the way I want. All without having to get custom reports built by the accounting software vendor.

Cons

It takes a little time and training to fully understand the queries, how they work and associate one query to another.

Response from Global Software

Great to hear from you, Greg! We¿re excited that you¿re experiencing so much success with Spreadsheet Server. We¿re here to make sure your experience is always a positive one. Our latest version has many enhancements, including ease of use! Contact us at [email protected] to upgrade.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Akhilesh P.

Rating only

Reviewed on 2018/03/16
Review Source: GetApp
Dann M.

Cool new tool for Financials

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/04/26
Review Source: Capterra

So far with the free license it is pretty cool to use. Going to discuss other options with our rep soon.

Response from Global Software

Hi Dann, Thank you for your review! We look forward to your continued deployment of Spreadsheet Server!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10