Showing 82 reviews of 69

Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

4,3 /5 (69 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,3 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
88%
recommended this app
Showing 82 reviews of 69
Miguel M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Penelope from the Perspective of Reporting and Program Surveillance

Reviewed on 2020/09/21

I was hired to obtain, process and analyze the raw Penelope data because the built in reports were not sufficient for our reporting purposes. To be fair to Athena, I've observed this is true with any database system; built in reports for any database are static and the reporting needs of non-for-profit organizations are dynamic and shift at least annually.

Initially, I had trouble using my credentials to log into Penelope's ODBC interface. It took a couple of months for Athena to figure out the issue was on their end. Once I was able to download the data, I had to figure out where everything was at and how to link it together. Athena's data dictionaries were invaluable, but you have to become familiar with the databases to correctly merge them and prepare the data. Now I can track anything entered into Penelope.

Pros

Penelope is comprehensive in terms of documenting service appointments, client assessments, referrals, notes, agency workshops and meetings, etc. One can access the raw data via ODBC and prepare the data for reporting, projections for grant writing or program surveillance. One can also use the built in reports for these. There is a feature that allows appointments to sync with Microsoft Outlook that is very handy. Athena Software has a lot of documentation for Penelope that I have found extremely helpful. Managers can look at staff caseloads easily.

Cons

I found that support for accessing the raw data, especially in terms of data preparation is very limited unless you pay for a support meeting. They do provide data dictionaries and data maps which I found very helpful. Using login credentials for downloading the data can be frustrating initially because they are not immediately actualized by the engineers. Once that occurs, ODBC works fine and is reliable. With other issues Athena responds fairly quickly. Also, they do not provide support for using R. Thankfully, there is sufficient documentation from R developers that enabled me to figure it out.

Alvin A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Captures all Data but All Over the Place

Reviewed on 2020/09/16

It's a full featured program that you can adapt to many different scenario's - but you need to set it up right.

Pros

It has the ability to capture data for every aspect of the process.
Feature rich.
There's the ability to report directly from the raw data (from the back end) but this requires a fair bit of extra knowledge to get it working effectively.

Cons

The data is all over the place - you need to know where to go to enter/find what you're looking for.
Reporting is somewhat lacking - lots of standard reports but often quite specific.

Michele M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Some pluses, some frustrations

Reviewed on 2019/01/23

Pros

Penelope has many features that other software does not, like pulling statistical reports and tracking anonymous client interactions. It gives flexibility in some areas to customize and tailor your software experience to your organization. Generally, it functions well for its purpose.

Cons

Penelope is difficult to learn and is not very intuitive to use. It's not visually appealing. The statistical reports don't always have the capability to capture the information you need. There are quite a few small, annoying processes that leave new users frustrated (like re-opening a case file and having to delete the "end date" before you can put in new information. Shouldn't re-opening it automatically invalidate the end date?)

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

CSC

Reviewed on 2019/05/15

We have had Penelope for several years and use it for our Clinical Counseling services. Especially like the Profile, Accounting and scheduling segments of Penelope.

Pros

Scheduling and client profile information.

Cons

It is not easy to pull reports that we need specifically.

Sor moi S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Using Penelope

Reviewed on 2019/08/26

Penelope enable us to document all events by client
Easy to train any new employees-user friendly
Easy to get data by staff, client, date, service type, etc.
Staff can do collaborative documentation with client in the community.

Pros

User friendly, flexible, you can design to fit the needs for Case Management Program

Cons

I wished there is one report that I can run to obtain all the critical data I need in one report.

Carol C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

CFS Saskatoon

Reviewed on 2020/09/15

I feel the system is designed well as it is great for tracking our activities in our counselling department and makes reporting easier in terms of understanding demand and invoicing. I feel new staff are able to learn the system fairly quicly.

Pros

I find the support through submitting tickets very helpful and with new releases the system is current and incorporates . Also having the backup done by Athena is very beneficial to us.

Cons

I know there are a lot of other features offered but we haven't investigated them fully but from the limited exposure it feels very expensive.

Maureen H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent for group psychotherapy practice

Reviewed on 2017/02/01

We have used Penelope for a few years now. We are able to log, bill, schedule, remind for appointments. It is easy once you get the hang of it. The customer support couldn't be kinder and more patient.

Pros

All inclusive

Cons

So much to learn in the beginning

Raymond P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent software, does what we need and in time may need to roll with changes of improvement

Reviewed on 2017/08/24

Ease of use

Pros

Understanding the software helps, once you do this and you can appreciate it more and what it does and becomes a very simple solution.

Cons

May need a redesign of the workflow but probably more so in training of navigators. Feedback from customers is essential in developing a catered solution for that market but keeping the same NGO concept of the original design and perhaps improving the use of the product based on your target market.

Robert J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great for Case Management

Reviewed on 2020/09/15

It has been pretty good. Although the interface isn't as intuitive as other tools the ability to manage cases and events adds a different dimension that takes it beyond merely a CRM or case management suite.

Pros

The ability to link clients, family members, and case workers as an 'entity' in a single case. Creating event triggers to remind users to fill out assessments.

Cons

I can't download the backend data via the web interface. This is done through a separate ODBC connection.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Not user friendly at all

Reviewed on 2019/02/12

It accomplishes having a medical records. We stay with it due to the headache of changing and being a small non-profit.

Pros

I am not a fan of Penelope at all so there is very little I like.

Cons

It is terribly difficult to schedule clients, indirect appointments, or interface with other staff members. The fees are too high for what you get. It is impossible to get basic reports. Due to the high fees we are unable to purchase enough licenses for everyone which means we have to take turns entering information into the system.

Anna P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

I used this system as a mental health intern - it was my first exposure to mental health...

Reviewed on 2017/11/02

It was at least a basic way to electronically organize and store confidential client information.

Pros

It has a lot of different and very useful functionalities. You can get very granular with your documentation if you choose to.

Cons

The user interface was rather convoluted and sometimes not very easy to engage. There would be multiple ways to access different parts of a case file, or different places to deposit similar information, which was very confusing.

Konrad G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Individual & Family Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

It's clunky, appears to be on a platform from the 90s, not intuitive, convoluted, expensive...

Reviewed on 2017/07/03

Maybe better than nothing

Pros

Case management is OK
Initial costs cheap

Cons

Doesn't work at all for EAPs in Australia.
Reporting is hopeless.
Schedule is as user friendly as a brick.

Christine D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Pretty Good Software!

Reviewed on 2018/04/20

Pros

Customer support is awesome. They get back to you super quickly. It is very user friendly and efficient!

Cons

I've been using this software daily for a few months and the site has went down once for about half of a day. Would love to see an app for it.

Diamond T.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Awesome easy to use

Reviewed on 2017/05/09

Pros

It makes everything a lot easier to find regarding clients and workers. It helps programs run smoothly on the paperwork side.

Grant H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

UI is poor. Reporting function only in PDF. not SMS friendly. Case file structure = privacy...

Reviewed on 2017/08/25

Pros

it has a diary schedule linked to cart items. it's god if you only want Penelope to do one thing, ie, ATAPS service & payments

Cons

UI poor resulting in clunky data entry and more time spent entering data.
not mobile / tablet friendly
Reporting function does not provide dashboard, only reports in pdf or that you have to cut and past into Excel.
Case file / service file structure creates privacy issues - we may have to move away from this product on the basis of legal advice
Lack of technical support available in Australia

Alyce W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

many used

Reviewed on 2020/09/15

We are a unique organization in many ways, (arent we all) and the configuration of the software was an undertaking not for the faint of heart. We did have issues where Athena struggled to understand our business model during configuration. Once we overcame this issue, Athena has been very flexible, understanding and creative in helping us maximise the softwares uses to our organizations specific needs. We have found great value for money in this partnership.

Pros

The engage tool (client communication) has made a big difference to our interactions with clients, particularly during COVID lockdowns. The customer service and support is always quick, informed and flexible to our needs. Our particular business pushed the Penelope system slightly out of its intended scope, but the Athena team has been so flexible with us and very creative in solving our issues.

Cons

The software can be difficult to configure and test. The testing environments are extremely helpful for this, but as with all software, it can be impossible to understand the ramifications of system changes without testing each and every expected output. I have seen systems that do this a little better than Athena's Penelope.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

It does a lot

Reviewed on 2019/02/11

Overall, there are a million types of software for mental health out there. And Penelope is a solid, experienced, reliable, excellent customer-service option that keeps getting better. I trust Penelope, I like that it keeps improving, and I look forward to seeing some of the problems fixed!

Pros

Penelope offers a wide range of options for customizable software. Our counseling center is a practice of about 50 professionals, and in the search for software, we realized that our software needs are a bit unique. Penelope was able to offer customizable options and reports (reports are an additional cost) that fit our needs.

Cons

It's expansive (which is good), but keep in mind that it takes time to train, set up, install, teach others, and learn how to best use. In addition, the reports are sometimes be transferred to excel and other times not. There is no mobile version yet (they are working on it), but mobile use is important for in-the-field or during-the-commute work. SO when the mobile version is up and running, it will be amazing.

Cathrine C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

intuitive and helpful

Reviewed on 2020/09/16

Pros

I find Penelope an intuitive and easy to use client management system. It is the most effective system I have used in the 15 years I have been using client management systems.

Cons

None that I can think of at this very moment.

Elena M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Individual & Family Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Customizable Software with Excellent Support

Reviewed on 2020/03/27

Overall, Penelope has been a great asset to our organization. It has helped to gather our data into one secure location for all staff to access. We love the ability to configure Penelope to best fit our organization, and we look forward to the reporting updates in the near future.

Pros

The ability to unite multiple programs with varying services is by far the best feature. This software allows us to track our families and the services they utilize, regardless of location and which program they attend. The ease of access to log into Penelope and the extensive help support (trainings, guides available on the website, and direct technical support) are additional key features Athena excels in.

Cons

In the beginning, it was a bit challenging to integrate this software with our current business processes. The inability to export data using Excel is the most challenging. Although there is an option to export data, it requires further training and time especially with merging pertinent identifying and service information.

Courtney W.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Penelope has allowed our staff to work more cohesively by providing a user friendly database.

Reviewed on 2017/05/05

Pros

For the first time our organization has been able to capture better client and partner data that has allowed our multiple departments to work more cohesively. The ease of use of the Smart Documents and Forms has enhanced the way we gather demographic and program information for grants and funding purposes. While the overall functionality of the database has been very helpful to capturing client and partner data, we hope further updates with the Search function and Calendar will better serve our organizational needs, for example searching by Event Description (specifically Indirect Events). Both the launch support and technical support team have been wonderful to work with and respond quickly to our inquiries.

Overall: Cloud Based, Easy to create Forms, and Smart Docs are great features. Reports within Penelope are great for capturing basic information. Easy for most staff to use.

Cons

It'd be helpful if more fields were more customizable and if reports could be more specific (more Breakdown options) in Penelope instead of having to utilize the Open Database Connectivity. Search function includes many fields to filter by, but not all the fields that we need- would like better customizable search options.

Pam B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Penelope

Reviewed on 2018/10/30

Pros

It meets the majority of our needs for tracking clients, staff notes, documents and scheduling space in our building (both internal and external meetings).

Cons

I can't create mailing labels from Penelope, the calendar of meetings (outside groups can schedule days/times to use our meeting rooms) doesn't always sink between the appointment icon and the monthly calendar (side tab). Wish the calendar worked more like Outlook. Search should be for anything vs. having to click an option.

Deborah G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Personal Opinion

Reviewed on 2020/03/23

Between fair and good, depending on what is needed.

Pros

Able to provide most information needed.

Cons

Cannot get the acutal outcomes needed. I'm not sure what else you want me to say. There seems to be a lot of going back and forth to get information. Cannot get information needed for an individual client when asked for it. It's not as simple as it seems.

Gabriel A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent clinical software

Reviewed on 2019/01/29

I am able to efficiently chart for each of my students. The layout and software is user friendly. It is quality!

Pros

The organization and ease it provides. I utilize Penelope on a daily basis and our counseling clinic enjoys it.

Cons

When we initially utilized Penelope I accidentally delete en entire file. That bug has been fixed now which is outstanding news.

Hannah B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Innovative product for Behavioral Health Services

Reviewed on 2019/09/04

Overall Penelope has been a great match for what our organization needs.

Pros

The software has grown as our organization has grown, and continues to implement new innovative features

Cons

Can be difficult to teach new users the organization behind the software, not always intuitive, billing statements are incredibly complicated

Rebecca M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We love our "Penny"

Reviewed on 2017/02/14

In our company we refer to the Penelope Software familiarly as Penny. She is our friend in so many ways! She makes documentation, scheduling, reporting, payroll, invoicing easy! So much time is saved. She is User friendly as well making auditing for accountability and accuracy a breeze. I would recommend the software to anyone.

Pros

User friendly

Cons

Would like easier use of documents