Netwrix Auditor Reviews

Netwrix Auditor

Ease the burden of IT auditing

Overall rating

4,5 /5
(143)
Value for Money
4,4/5
Features
4,5/5
Ease of Use
4,1/5
Customer Support
4,4/5

94%
recommended this app
Sort by

143 Reviews

Richard
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software that reads your event logs and makes it easy to read, break down and report on.

Reviewed on 2017/11/10

Know exactly what is happening in your network so you can detect problems and intrusion attempts...

Know exactly what is happening in your network so you can detect problems and intrusion attempts before they get bad.

Pros

This software takes your computer and server event logs and breaks them down into reports that you can easy view and understand exactly what is going on with your environment. You can also record what anyone does on your servers as a video. All reports can have real time notifications of events you select like multiple failed logins etc. It is also an amazing price for all that you get.

Cons

The only thing i have had is that the new version doesn't support Windows Server 2003-2008 so what i did was spun up 2 VM's for this software and ran an older version on one VM and the newest version on an other so I can have the old version monitor the 2003-2008 servers and the newest version monitor 2008 R2 to 2016.

Matthew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Netwrix has helped revolutionize our processes and simplify environmental monitoring and...

Reviewed on 2017/07/17

We are able to easily spend our time on innovation as opposed to "fire-fighting."

We are able to easily spend our time on innovation as opposed to "fire-fighting."

Pros

Netwrix makes the process of auditing changes within our Active Directory environment very simple. We no longer have to spend additional time chasing down problems and what caused them. We can quickly evaluate what has recently changed, who changed it and then evaluate the best resolution without wasting time. This allows us to focus on the most important aspects of our jobs!

Cons

Netwrix does not have a lot of features that I do not find amazing. The only item that I can find that comes close to being a "con" involves the way that data is processed. I would love to find a method of auditing active directory and servers that do not involve granting Domain Admin rights to an account used for the product. It is understandable, though.

Min
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

This application has helped us to determine weaknesses in our server securities.

Reviewed on 2017/07/18

Monitor the usage of all our proprietary information and be able to track the specific computer and...

Monitor the usage of all our proprietary information and be able to track the specific computer and user.

Pros

Monitor our file server usages and provide detail reporting on abnormal access to sensitive information.

Cons

We are experiencing resource issues when the application is running. When running scan on the server over the WAN, the application seems to use a large amount of memory.

Adrian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A auditing solution with huge value to the organization!

Reviewed on 2017/07/17

It makes AD auditing easier for our Information Security Officer, while providing real-time reports...

It makes AD auditing easier for our Information Security Officer, while providing real-time reports for our IT department. The program saves a lot of time that had been spent doing things manually.

Pros

The daily reporting is great at providing a snapshot of changes the environment for Information Security Officer. In our IT department we rely on the real-time alerts daily for user lockouts and other AD related changes to inform us of changes made so we can act accordingly.

Cons

It takes some time to get a handle on the on-demand reporting, but Netwrix provides a huge list of canned reports so you rarely have to create a customized report from scratch.

Matthew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Relations
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Use this software to monitor, alert, and create reports for Government IT Audits

Reviewed on 2017/07/17

Easier domain management, real time security alerts, it is a wonderful piece of software.

Easier domain management, real time security alerts, it is a wonderful piece of software.

Pros

The fact that Netwrix always includes new and better features all of the time. Great price for the software and once it is in place and working it is very stable and solid. The new 9.0 version really allows for so much more than the old versions.

Cons

Some of the plugins are hard to use. I have a hard time figuring out what is causing errors sometimes when it runs its nightly scans of my systems. But customer support is always very good in helping solve the issues.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

It has been refreshing to know that strange activity is going to notify me.

Reviewed on 2018/07/30

Pros

The alerting is incredibly valuable. Changes taking place to multiple files will generate an alert long before a human eye could notice what was happening. This is true of administrative logins and failed logins as well. The ability to audit changes in permissions so that they can be "seen" has been very helpful as well.

Cons

It can be a bit too quick to alert but this is configurable. The initial configuration will set the tone for the application and goes a long way toward the initial implementation and usage so plan your install and determine what you want it to do for you before you actually install it.

Azhar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Now a days changes in AD is very important

Reviewed on 2017/07/17

Like I said real time change alert is the best part of using this product

Like I said real time change alert is the best part of using this product

Pros

Real time notification of any changes in AD and successful and unsuccessful logins to machines, which tells administrators of unauthorized login tries and legitimate user problems even before users approach administrator

Cons

There has to be exception reporting options which lets administrator know as some thing is not right for example I particular user is not supposed to be logging into a particular server and if such action happens then administrator should be alarmed - such relationship database should be there

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very nice and works the second you load it.

Reviewed on 2017/07/17

Insight into logs without manual log review and without having to create a lot of custom alerts and...

Insight into logs without manual log review and without having to create a lot of custom alerts and views.

Pros

The software works well and it doesn't take alot of configuration to be usable.
It proactively sends emails with daily recaps.
Very simple to setup

Cons

It is very expensive and to get everything, plan to buy multiple modules. The value for the money is there, but it is alot of money to start. Great value / High Price.

Ronald
Overall rating
  • Industry: Libraries
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An excellent product that continues to improve.

Reviewed on 2017/07/17

If we start to experience a problem that goes back to AD or Group Policy, we can easily determine...

If we start to experience a problem that goes back to AD or Group Policy, we can easily determine what changed and remediate it.

Pros

The version 9 client is awesome. It provides a much easier way to drill into reports and events than ever before.

Cons

The activity summary reports that it completed with errors, yet neither we nor tech support has ever been able to identify the problem. Since there are no events missing, we have just let it go.

Rahul
Rahul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Disappointed

Reviewed on 2018/09/13

Was hoping to leverage it for audit and compliance. Does collect all the logs, but reports and data...

Was hoping to leverage it for audit and compliance. Does collect all the logs, but reports and data handling has lot to desire.

Pros

Provides all the features you need......

Cons

The features are there, however, reports hardly work, constant bug fixes or upgrades.

Glenn
Overall rating
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Netwrix Auditor is a fairly easy software package to use. It also converse a lot of system...

Reviewed on 2017/07/17

The software covered most of the system that we were required to audit.

The software covered most of the system that we were required to audit.

Pros

Netwrix Auditor can be setup to audit most all of the systems that a company is running. It also allows, for one price to audit most of the systems that need to be audited. In addition you can audit systems that are not part of Netwrix by using the Integration API.

Cons

The primary con with Netwrix is that the documentation is not complete. It does show how to configure a basic system but then stops there. It should also show how to configure more complex configurations. This then requires you to submit a ticket which might take a bit to get a proper answer.

Steve
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

This software is very intuitive to use and a great value.

Reviewed on 2017/07/17

Easy to use interface, daily/weekly reporting on important Active Directory events, Real-time...

Easy to use interface, daily/weekly reporting on important Active Directory events, Real-time alerting, real-time forensics with the intelligent search feature. Ability to scale the product to additional areas as needed (Exchange, SQL, etc.)

Pros

Easy to find the information we need using the search feature. Real-time alerting. Ability to report on any event from the Windows event log.

Cons

Inability to format the reports (choosing data fields or placement of the fields). Inconsistent reporting formats depending on the method selected. Example: running a report within the reporting interface vs. Inactive account report. When running a report and then choosing to subscribe, must reconfigure the subscription to match the report that was already run.

James
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Provides critical reporting on changes in the network. Customer support is outstanding.

Reviewed on 2017/07/17

User account reporting and privileged access reporting.

User account reporting and privileged access reporting.

Pros

The change reporting is the most important component that we use. We're able to receive real time alerts as changes are made or when priviledged accounts are used.

Cons

Setup can be complicated. It would be great it could report on device and Linux access as well. As is it works best with Microsoft AD.

Eric
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very nice product that helps with finding activity on your network

Reviewed on 2017/07/17

insight into the things that change on our network that you do not know about

insight into the things that change on our network that you do not know about

Pros

Ease of use is one, The functionality that it has in it is far beyond what we could have written. It covers a lot of ground on your network. The ease of finding what changed within a file server for me is key.

Cons

Like any software, how it is licensed. Licensed by how many active AD objects you have, well we have some active objects that do not get logged into or touched but they count against us.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Luxury Goods & Jewelry
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Netwrix Review

Reviewed on 2019/01/23

good, but very difficult to do the upgrade.

good, but very difficult to do the upgrade.

Pros

That I can monitor all of my servers and get automated reports

Cons

Our current Sales Rep. Our first sales rep was very helpful and didn't lie about what we would be getting.
Our current Sales rp has been extremely rude, and not helpful at all.

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Was okay product. Did what we needed. Started giving us problems towards the end and...

Reviewed on 2017/07/17

Provided a daily inactive user report and help manage AD passwords.

Provided a daily inactive user report and help manage AD passwords.

Pros

Nice logs of account expirations. Daily reporting of users was great. Password management portal was very helpful.

Cons

Wasn't alway accurate for some of our external domains. Reported inactive accounts were actually still valid users.

Kyle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Wonderful reporting and very easy to use!

Reviewed on 2018/05/31

We have had the ability to gain further insight into various operations via automated reporting,...

We have had the ability to gain further insight into various operations via automated reporting, canned reports as needed, and customized reports for our environment. This has allowed us to operate more efficiently from an administrative standpoint.

Pros

The reporting that is provided both OOB and available for building are quite robust. The GUI is very easy to navigate and quite intuitive. The ability to grant access to other users for their own reporting is extremely helpful as well!

Cons

The only con I have is that sometimes technical support can be a bit delayed in getting back to us for issues, but it is only slightly so not a huge con by any means.

jojo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Netwrix Auditor

Reviewed on 2016/12/05

server requires a lot of memory. running on virtual guests and it choked up once a month. ...

server requires a lot of memory. running on virtual guests and it choked up once a month. requires a lot of hard drive space as well.

Pros

none really

Cons

console crash all the time (at least once a week) especially when you use it. version 8 GUI was redesigned and it worst than the original one.

Benjamin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

NISO

Reviewed on 2019/01/24

Fair. I do get some benefits from the product

Fair. I do get some benefits from the product

Pros

The ability to detect multiple lockouts or login attempts

Cons

Very cumbersome to setup reports. No basic best practice templates to utilize.

Calvin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Get visibility to our environment

Reviewed on 2019/01/23

Pros

The real time alerts, password expiration notifications and report features.

Cons

The interface can be improved. Need more admin training material and knowledge bases

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great Product

Reviewed on 2019/01/23

Pros

Has a versatile use for auditing and other tracking and reports.

Cons

Some things need to be bought in packs and you can buy them separate.

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy access to log data

Reviewed on 2019/01/23

Pros

Gathers logs from all your servers, your AD, etc. The global search is very useful, and you can filter the results quickly. Alerts and daily reports allow you to spot anomalies quickly. The included utility to identify inactive accounts can also disable them to reduce attack surface.

Cons

Searching can be quite slow. Reports look good, but are many pages longer than necessary the way they're formatted.

Dave
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

This tool has been invaluable in tracking down who makes changes to our critical data

Reviewed on 2017/07/17

It easily allows me to identify who made changes to my data and records any changes to my AD that I...

It easily allows me to identify who made changes to my data and records any changes to my AD that I need to be aware of.

Pros

I like the comprehensive scope of the software's capabilities. It allows you to expand as your needs grow. The automated processing and reporting

Seema
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Good tool for change auditing. Lacks features like real time alerts for gpo, etc

Reviewed on 2017/07/18

Pros

This tool is Easy to use and configuration is easy. It is one of the best tools for change auditing.

Cons

The tool has Limited real time alerts functionality. Also it has Tedious filtering of events via files

Colin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Plastics
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Product !! Netwrix has been able to identify and pinpoint areas of potential concern.

Reviewed on 2017/07/17

Pros

The level of compliance documents, The state-in-time documents and the amount of historical documents without a major drain of system resources. The daily email reports I could go on and on,

Cons

The user count limitations. Also if there was a way to report a list of devices and not just the activity on them that would be helpful.