138 reviews

Netwrix Auditor

Ease the burden of IT auditing

4,5 /5 (138 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,5 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
94%
recommended this app
138 reviews
Christopher C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Overview of your Systems

Reviewed on 2019/01/23

I have been able to provide real-time reporting for AD changes and several other administrative functions that we did not have the ability to before which has allowed the institution to focus on our core products and information flow.

Pros

We are a smaller financial institution with limited staff and the automated reporting has been a great time saver for me to review various selected events. There are more than enough predefined reports to meet many of our oversight needs

Cons

I do have some issues with trying to understand the licensing and when we had to had other modules. Perhaps someone coming from an IT administration or CIO background would understand it better.

Jack B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Invaluable solution for our Microsoft Active Directory auditing requirements.

Reviewed on 2017/07/17

Ease of addressing our Microsoft audit/compliance activities.

Pros

Netwrix provides a thorough, easy to use interface to address supporting documentation for almost all of our Microsoft audit requirements. We have been able to easily produce the documentation and evidence for all requests from our audit team with ease. Something that used to take a considerable amount of time to compile.

Cons

Would prefer that the client be web based, as opposed to the Windows client that is used today. Additional detail in error reports to help identify exactly what is not working would be extremely helpful as well. We occasionally have to do quite a bit of exploration to determine exactly what component is generating the error.

Jesse K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to implement and quickly gain value from reporting

Reviewed on 2017/07/17

Various default reports are vary useful... i.e. NIST, PCI, etc. reporting

Pros

Quick and easy deployment. Most features do not require an agent. Video monitoring of server sessions is a really cool features that we actually use.

Cons

Because there is to no support for Cisco products, we are forced to look into alternatives for a fully capable SIEM.

Rich J.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

While it may lack features a few people will claim are needed, it offers what most people need.

Reviewed on 2017/07/17

Pros

The prebuilt reports for so many areas of compliance. The option to install a client rather than RDPing to the server is nice.

Cons

The arduous task of creating an alert via the server console. And on this console (and I know this is not technically a SEIM), it would be nice if there were already pre-built alerts that we could simply enable for the most common security threats. The client interface is great for showing you what you are looking for if you wanted to print a PDF. I don't want a PDF view in the interface though. I want to see data returned in rows that I can filter live, sort columns, drill down on data, pivot on data, etc... Again, these features encroach on SEIM territory, but for what this product is, it kinda should have it. I am open to discussing further if you need more clarification.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Luxury Goods & Jewelry
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Netwrix Review

Reviewed on 2019/01/23

good, but very difficult to do the upgrade.

Pros

That I can monitor all of my servers and get automated reports

Cons

Our current Sales Rep. Our first sales rep was very helpful and didn't lie about what we would be getting.
Our current Sales rp has been extremely rude, and not helpful at all.

Kevin B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

This is an important tool, especially in a large environment with only 1 IT Staff or even a...

Reviewed on 2017/07/17

Being able to discover issues with users that may not be reported to me. Compliance reporting is now a simple task!

Pros

Visibility, notifications/alerts, reports and bringing all of the data down to earth in a nice format.

Cons

If there is a problem, it sometimes can be difficult to solve. Redundant reports/categories are a bit confusing but not a deal breaker. Would be nice to know specifically what/where data a given report is pulling from to isolate what you may need.

Calvin C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Get visibility to our environment

Reviewed on 2019/01/23

Pros

The real time alerts, password expiration notifications and report features.

Cons

The interface can be improved. Need more admin training material and knowledge bases

Luke K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Audit Software

Reviewed on 2019/09/25

Taking over this product from previous administration, left a bad impression of the product, having worked with the technical team to get the product up and running, has re-invested my confidence in the product.

Pros

The functionality of the software is impressive for tracking active directory changes and modifications.

Cons

Some configuration challenges and support from an older version is lacking, but with reason as long as you keep the product updated, you shouldn't run into troubles. Just make sure to keep the product updated to keep along with all the products changes.

Bill H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A great interface and set of features that allows small businesses Enterprise level insights.

Reviewed on 2017/07/17

Insights into things we had never had before, and several advanced security items that saved us from spending more momney on a second product.

Pros

An easy to understand, modern looking interface and sweet looking reports on a budget. Pretty easy to understand, and a lot of high level features. Great customer support and configuration assistance. Highly recommend the Jump Start package.

Cons

Well, it doesn't have "In the file" levels of changes that other (much) more expensive programs have. It can be difficult to whittle down the "noise" in Active Directory and other false positives, though thats an issue with all logging. A few of the settings are using confusing terms, but once trained it is understandable.

Dustin P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Decent information for the price.

Reviewed on 2017/07/17

Audit compliance.

Pros

Decent information for the price. Works for our audits and auditors to stay in compliance. Like the auto generated reports where I don't have to search for the information.

Cons

Hard to get some information out. Support isn't extremely helpful, only points you to some online documents that I was able to find myself before calling.

Danny G.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

this tool is awesome, great functionalitly and support team.

Reviewed on 2017/07/17

Pros

ease of use, reporting and lightweight footprint. I downloaded the VM and was up and running within minutes.

Cons

it's not free! Seriously though, the only con I can think of is that the sales approach is too modular, have to purchase mutliple modules to accomplish what i was look for.

Jason A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great product

Reviewed on 2019/01/24

Pros

Helps us protect our network from unauthorized access.

Cons

Reports sometimes take a little long to run.

George A.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Accessibility to tools, very useful and easy to utilize.

Reviewed on 2017/07/19

Pros

Easy to use software, liked the reports it has generated for within Active Directory and within the organizational structure.

Cons

Could be better in auditing other objects, having the ability to diagnose intrusion detections within AD.

Dennis O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good not easy but robust.

Reviewed on 2017/07/17

Pros

The password expiry notice and the password lockout functions. Also reasonably priced for functionality.

Cons

How much of a hit it can put in the performance. Complicated to setup and tweak. Alerts can get overwhelming.

Shannen B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Netwrix

Reviewed on 2019/01/23

Pros

I like the visibility I didn't have before. I was able to use it to clean up vulnerabilities we had.

Cons

Reports don't always work. Search feature is hit or miss.

Min L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

This application has helped us to determine weaknesses in our server securities.

Reviewed on 2017/07/18

Monitor the usage of all our proprietary information and be able to track the specific computer and user.

Pros

Monitor our file server usages and provide detail reporting on abnormal access to sensitive information.

Cons

We are experiencing resource issues when the application is running. When running scan on the server over the WAN, the application seems to use a large amount of memory.

Kurt K.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Product is solid.

Reviewed on 2017/07/17

Pros

The product is easy to use and always runs well. Interface is intuitive. We have only had one issue that was resolved quickly via hepde desk call.

Cons

The licensing model needs to come in blocks of 50 or 100 instead constantly having to "true-up" one at a time.

Gary M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great product that really lets you get a handle on what's happening on your network

Reviewed on 2017/07/17

Daily reports to let me know if/what has changed on the network. Alerts if anything suspicious happens in real time

Pros

The simplicist of it. I had it up and running at its basic level in 10 minutes. The advanced features take some more work but you will know within the first day how handy this thing is

Cons

Some of the database config is not that clear, but the support is good and they're able to help get it working properly

John B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Works well, some of the settings are difficult to get right without support.

Reviewed on 2017/07/17

Visibility into changes in my environment.

Pros

Reports are very detailed,
Super easy interface,
Easy Database setup and maintenance,
Daily emailed reports are super helpful.

Cons

Missing some real-time features and alerts,
Difficult to Integrate with other auditing software,
Support is not the best,
Setup is a bit cumbersome.

Cao-quy N.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great, helps us to keep track of users

Reviewed on 2017/07/17

Pros

It gives us the opportunity to track down all the edits in AD, it shows which computers get updated, and let's us know who edits what in AD.

Cons

It gives us errors but doesn't explain exactly what the error is so we can fix it, it tracks windows 10 but has trouble tracking Windows 7 updates.

Faton I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

it helped me a lot to see who changes what because of many people working without documenting

Reviewed on 2017/07/24

Less headache and safety.

Pros

it gives you the complete visibility to the systems you are responsible for , even those which aren't auditable.

Cons

If the roles are not properly set I mean policy wise not technically related to netwrix you can see the things you are not supposed to.

Tim R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Fantastic Auditing Software

Reviewed on 2017/07/17

Monitors our file servers, AD changes, and SQL and Sharepoint changes.

Pros

Very flexible and can audit about any event possible on the network. We mostly use it for a Windows environment.

Cons

Cumbersome initial configuration...very expensive. Licensing is per AD-user so you will need to keep your directory cleaned up.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Complete auditing solution that you should never miss.

Reviewed on 2019/04/15

Pros

Simple installation process
Reporting feature is class, its pre-built feature is life saver.

Cons

Steep learning curve. Apart from that I don’t see any issues with the tool.

Sam L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Tool for Sys Admins

Reviewed on 2021/02/24

Overall, I am extremely satisfied in this product for the features and function that save time. Having this tool has provided value several times over since installation several years ago, and the proof is in the pudding. It works and provides valuable insight into system health and the WHO, WHAT, WHEN and WHERE.

Pros

Easily identify the 4 W's: Who, what, when, where. Eliminates sifting through several event logs to find the relevant information. Allows easy investigation into changes not authorized or a failed system. Alerts easy to setup for notifications of items you need to know about.

Cons

Occasionally, services fail and don't stop, so monitoring the service doesn't tell you that there is a problem until it is too late. No preventative as I would like.

James M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Netwrix auditor does what is needs to but watch out for hidden cost

Reviewed on 2020/04/21

Started off ok, but when the extra bill came and rude sales guy started in we were more than happy to turn this off. We moved to a fully managed SOC.

Pros

I liked I could get reports on who made changes to everything on my domain. I knew when someone adjusted a group policy, created a user, or made a change in SQL.

Cons

We set this up to monitor employees only. We did not want to monitor students or service accounts because of the extra cost. The count on the user side showed 2000+ and we were not licensed. I opened a support ticket with the company and was told not to worry about it because it would just not monitor any user because of the license. I didn't like the answer, but it was still monitoring so much more. Then a year later I was hit with a huge bill because we had 2000+ people being monitored. We decided to just turn of the service.