GeneXus

4,5 (146)
GeneXus: the best Low-Code Platform that you don't know yet

Overall rating

4,5 /5
(146)
Value for Money
4,1/5
Features
4,4/5
Ease of Use
4,5/5
Customer Support
4,3/5

94%
recommended this app

146 Reviews

Carlos Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best development CASE Tool

Reviewed on 2021/11/11

Impressive tool that I have been using for almost two decades
When I managed GENEXUS, my life in systems development changed radically.
It is not really programmed anymore, it is simply described.
And it is that describing goes beyond lines and codes.
Now with the recent and updated version, I can develop a STARTUP for smartphones in less than an hour and with a few clicks, generate the APPS for Mobile Windows, iOS, Android and Windows.
Great smart tool.
Besides the cost you have, it is well worth it because it is a huge investment.
It is highly recommended for medium and large companies.
In small companies, a feasibility study should be carried out.

Pros

It is an intelligent tool that in just a few clicks and knowledge about development can generate a good information system
It has most of the programming platforms, development languages and environments necessary today.
With a minimum of clicks we can generate for iOS, Android, Windows, Mobile and it continues to grow
An excellent tool and an extraordinary investment.

Cons

Well, it doesn't really have bad points or cons.
You just have the build detail because now everything runs and builds in the cloud. If at any time we do not have Internet or No Data, then the process stops.
But hey, it no longer depends on the GENEXUS company.
Highly recommended, anyway.

Alternatives Considered

SAP Concur

Reasons for Switching to GeneXus

Cost Ease of use for smartphones
James R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The true value of GeneXus as a low code platform.

Reviewed on 2020/09/15

We are development software for the Tire Retail and Retreading industry where there are not many options to choose for this industry, especially retreading. We have done a number of interfaces with large tire corporations. GeneXus being a low code platform has allowed us to remain lean thus reducing overhead without suffering productivity losses. In my experience I was able to reduce the size of a development team in a COBOL shop from 14 developers down to 2 developers and a project manager without loss of productivity.

Pros

There are many features to like about this development tool and the company that makes it. GeneXus is very in tune with technology and the trends and where its going. This allows me the comfort in knowing that when a digital wave comes I will not have to learn a new development tool in order to build solutions for the new technology. GeneXus has allowed me to carry my hard work from the 90's and without having to reprogram and rewrite thus preserving my hard work. I have literally brought AS/400 code to the windows client/server and then to the web.

Cons

GeneXus has just about filled my wish list over the years. They really listen to their customer base and are genuine in doing so. I personally would like to see more on how to take advantage of things such as Live Video streaming as video content is huge these days. GeneXus does interact with a smart device camera but I'd like to see it become easier, especially with the web. This may already be in existence with their new GeneXus 16 version and I've just not read about it.

Jeff R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Software Development with GeneXus

Reviewed on 2020/09/22

Pros

GeneXus deals with so many details of application development (like database definition, reorganization and data conversion), has so many features that speed up the development process (like patterned User Experience and multiexperience), and gives you the ability to migrate from one platform/language to another easily that it gives you the chance to utilize technology and focus on business problems instead of worrying about technology and business problems.

I've also experienced technology changes throughout the years as various languages have come and gone, our applications that were based on those technologies were simply regenerated into the next language and kept going.

GeneXus allows you to develop truly future-proof applications. You focus on the business problems and let GeneXus worry about the technology.

Cons

GeneXus deals with so many technical details and that frees you up to not have to worry about every little technical detail. However, this is a double-edged-sword. You can fall into the trap or letting GeneXus worry about everything to the point that you can become out of touch with technology trends.

Petros P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GeneXus: Inference Engine, Generators, Extensibility and more

Reviewed on 2020/12/09

We currently carry out web and mobile development with great agility, we consider that we are 300% more efficient and faster compared to development with traditional tools. We are recently facing chatbot projects with Genexus, which has allowed us to enter this world, under the same philosophy of declarative development, abstracting ourselves from the complexities involved in knowing all the technologies that exist behind these projects.

Pros

For more than 15 years, from versions 8, 9 onwards, I was always surprised by its inference engine, allowing declaratively to describe in the GeneXus knowledge base what we want at the business level, and its powerful inference engine, is responsible for generating the database structure (always normalized), in the database engine that one wishes, and in the same way the transactional screens and other objects are automatically generated.

This ability to infer and generate has been maintained in all its versions, which has allowed us resilience and evolution, abstracting ourselves from the complexities of incorporating and learning new technologies.

Another of the capabilities incorporated in the latest versions and that we highlight the most, or like the most, is the extensibility of Genexus, allowing us to create extensions for the GeneXus development IDE, visual controls, modules, GeneXus code generators from development patterns, as the main extension mechanisms.

Cons

Probably its lack of diffusion and the shortage of GeneXus programmers is what is complex for us to handle. Genexus is a great tool that should be studied from high school with great support and a great community, however, today it is difficult to find programmers.

Sergio P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent tool for corporate web and mobile apps

Reviewed on 2017/01/17

We have been using GeneXus for more than 10 years now. When we started developing our ERP software for the apparel industry, one of the biggest decisions we had to make was the tools we would use to build it. We looked at many options, some of them similar to GeneXus, and also traditional software development tools like C# and Java. We decided to use GeneXus because of the multi-platform, multi-database options. Also, we have a small team of developers and cross training was important to us. Once a developer learns how to use GeneXus, they can use it to create a Web application, an iPhone app or an Android App. All from the same source code. For example, the same developer was able to create a desktop and a tablet screen for order entry. The same developer, using the same knowledge and the same programming tools is the most efficient way to develop applications. The productivity of the tool is amazing. Although it is hard to measure, we estimate a 500% to 1000% increase in productivity.

Pros

Productivity, cross platform, simplicity.

Cons

Not free.

Osvaldo P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A tool to develop quickly without having to know all the technologies web and mobile in detail

Reviewed on 2020/09/02

Genexus allowed us to start developing in technologies that we did not know very quickly, such as apps for android and iOS and web applications. We have quickly been able to make developments with the latest technologies for our clients.

Pros

- The ease of integrating with any technology
-It does not require that the developer have knowledge of all the technologies for web and mobile development.
- Ease of prototyping which allows a quick definition of what should be developed.

Cons

Documentation does not help to solve problems and is sometimes insufficient. In addition, the way of versioning the product often means that a problem with one version can only be solved with a new version with the consequent need to test the development.

Giovanni P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

A very fast front end and backend development tool

Reviewed on 2021/10/01

Genexus is a tool that allows you to develop applications in a short time and its implementation is very simple to do, the deployment of applications is also very simple.
The support from the Genexus team is very good, although it may take a while to respond.
You also have the facility of being able to display in different programming languages.

Pros

A tool that allows you to develop very fast since you only have to worry about the development rules and you can focus on creating faster applications.
It allows you to carry out implementations in different environments and make connection with almost any database, allowing you to deploy your development in almost any environment.

Cons

Its cost can be very high for small and medium-sized companies, making its implementation difficult.
The documentation of this tool can only be found within the provider's wiki, and many times it is difficult to find a solution to the unforeseen events that you may encounter.

Pablo B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A development team in a terminal

Reviewed on 2020/09/02

In some complex situations automatic code generation becomes cumbersome to control.
We develop complex and mission-critical systems with a high degree of customer satisfaction.
We generate quality functional prototypes in record time thanks to the ease of use of the tool and the organization of modules for coolant reuse, added to a high range of additional tools such as patterns and other varied and numerous extensions.

Pros

I take care of the specific business, everything standard is previously solved.

Cons

In some complex situations automatic code generation becomes cumbersome to control

Claudio B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

All in all a good product

Reviewed on 2020/12/10

We landed on GeneXus looking for a CASE for the development of mobile applications and it allowed us, in a short time, to create some applications for Android and IOS with good results.

Pros

Once you understand the mechanisms and rules of product development, good results can be achieved.
In our case it integrates perfectly with our management software with different databases (postgres, mysql, etc.), using apache tomcat and java

Cons

We would need more support for java and apache tomcat and linux based solutions

Delvis E.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

As its developers say, "It's not magic ' just a smarter way to create smart technology"

Reviewed on 2017/07/20

Pros

GeneXus is a powerful technology that "changes" many paradigms in software development, but with a positive impact on application development.
Based on application modeling, GeneXus automatically creates the database, the code, the user interface. As its developers say, "It's not magic ' just a smarter way to create smart technology"
In addition, this technology has an excellent research and development team, with a high technical level and commitment to technology.

Cons

Methodologies and processes of Quality Assurance and Software Testing must be well revised and adjusted. But everything is solvable!

Günter R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

"Go faster to market with GeneXus"

Reviewed on 2020/09/14

We developed in a very short time with a small team a complete business application for bakeries with ERP and administrative functionalities with web and mobile apps. It includes modules for order, delivery, production planning, invoice, stock control, purchase, shop management and controlling, product calculation, statistics, EDI handling and interfaces over web services.

Pros

GeneXus generates software. It allows you to design, develop, maintain and extend your business application much easier and faster, in a higher quality and more flexibility, from the scratch up to complex applications. It makes the most for you and if it's necessary you can extend it with your own code. You can develop with the same environment software for web and smart devices.

Cons

All we wanted to realize, we could do, so I can say there is nothing we dislike.

José alfonso Q.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Genexus experience

Reviewed on 2020/09/04

Pros

It allows the development of critical mission applications in record time, ISO audit systems, invoicing, audited warehouse systems, mobile application development, etc; and the best allows to select between JAVA, NET, NET core

Cons

it still has very specific things that it can improve, some of its controls do not have updated documentation

Arturo R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

better low-cost solution

Reviewed on 2020/09/11

Is the better software for fast implementation and develop apps multi-platform

Pros

easy for developer, easy for implementation

Cons

is very expensive, an developer can't buy this amazing solution

Alternatives Considered

Dynamics 365

Reasons for Choosing GeneXus

Genexus is more complete and more powerful

Reasons for Switching to GeneXus

Genexus is more easy, more complete and more integrity.
Héctor O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

older user

Reviewed on 2020/12/17

I'm a user since 3.0 version, 1994, WorkPanel was born.
This tool have been my sidekick during this time, accompany de technology evolution of the software industry.
I began generating to RPG/400 and Clipper, then Visual FoxPro, later Java/C# legacy apps, and the last 10 years to Java Web.
This my experience.

Pros

Early adoption of News Technologies is the goal.

Cons

Code generated is difficult to read and some restrictions in the use of each language.

Jose R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Describe your problem and let GeneXus do the rest.

Reviewed on 2017/01/24

I have personally used GeneXus for several years in different critical business domains. Since our very first project I have noticed an increase in our development productivity and quality. Nowadays GeneXus platform has adapted to the latest technological trends enabling us not only to develop great web applications but also native mobile apps. Defining an abstract model and letting GeneXus deal with the technological issues is the best approach for developing and maintaining complex software systems.

Dru D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Rapid-Development Tool

Reviewed on 2020/12/09

Switching from coding in native languages, GeneXus has been a tremendous benefit to my workflow!

Pros

The speed at which I can roll out a new application is unbelievable. Genexus makes managing my database tables, front end programs, back end programs, and everything in between easier than ever!!

Cons

There is a bit of a learning curve, and some objects have documentation that is not very easy to understand. There is a good amount of videos, but a lot of them are in Spanish only.

Sidilei F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

I do not exchange Genexus for any other tool

Reviewed on 2020/09/07

I developed in just 1 year a great application that, for that same time, 3 more people would be needed

Pros

Easy to use, Technologically updated, I can develop applications for web, deskop, mobile, chatbot on a single platform

Cons

It is a little expensive. It costs a developer 50%

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A fantastic tool to help development and maintain critical multi-platform applications.

Reviewed on 2018/02/08

Pros

Implementation for foreign IT systems is extremely easy. We use it to automate many tasks which frees up resources and allows developers and testers to work freely. Using this software we can now solve many problems clients have extremely quickly and easily.

Cons

This software is less traditional than previous development methodology. It took us time to adjust and develop our skills to fully take advantage of the software.

Jeremy H.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Genexus consulting is second to none, their developers are passionate, motivated, & highly...

Reviewed on 2017/07/19

Pros

Genexus Consulting delivers an incredible value to the US market from its headquarters in Montevideo Uruguay. With their near shore model, your developers are in a similar timezone and bill at affordable rates.

I really appreciate that Genexus Consulting puts security at the top of its priorities from the beginning of every product.

I was very happy with the personal attention I received from Genexus Consulting and could not recommend them more.

Cons

Genexus Consulting is bound to the GeneXus platform which can be limiting to some projects and languages

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best development tool

Reviewed on 2020/09/08

Pros

My experience with GeneXus is more than 15 years and I am convinced that it is a tool that is easy to use, very efficient and with high productivity. It is an excellent choice for developing software quickly

Cons

Not very accessible price for peripheral tools that add value to GeneXus

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Not most intuitive, but useful

Reviewed on 2020/12/10

Pros

Very helpful in daily software development

Cons

Need some time to learn every section, some time need to Build more time the same code before write off correctly

Gary V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Works well for non-programmers

Reviewed on 2020/12/09

It has allowed me to be productive in my job while not having to spend significant time learning to read and write RPG code.

Pros

It is very easy to start writing and maintaining programs very quickly.

Cons

The interface has numerous features which operate contrary to industry and interface standards in my country.

Towfiqur R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Training support for New User

Reviewed on 2020/12/13

Making a new version of a current Software.

Pros

Easy to Use and also for feature. It is using by our clients.

Cons

Need more topics about the Genexus.

still not that easy to Understand by Engineers

Juan angel A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Fast way to launch your Proyect

Reviewed on 2018/12/18

Pros

This is the Best 4th-Gen Programming tool i have used in my life, it does it all it makes my app www, win and App

Cons

there is not that big of a community where you can discuss on how to fix the issues that you have, or get some feedback

Cecilia B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Fast development tool

Reviewed on 2017/02/04

Genexus allows more agile software development. In turn, you can quickly have a model to validate the development
Good aditional tools(user controls) available to extend Genexus

Pros

Easy to learn
Fast development phases

Cons

Online documentation