34 reviews

GeneXus

GeneXus: the best Low-Code Platform that you don't know yet

4,9 /5 (34 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,9
/
5
Value for Money
4,6
Features
4,9
Ease of Use
4,8
Customer Support
4,6
100% recommended this app
34 reviews
Arturo R.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

better low-cost solution

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/11
Review Source: GetApp

Is the better software for fast implementation and develop apps multi-platform

Pros

easy for developer, easy for implementation

Cons

is very expensive, an developer can't buy this amazing solution

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

James R.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 11-50 Employees

The true value of GeneXus as a low code platform.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/15
Review Source: Capterra

We are development software for the Tire Retail and Retreading industry where there are not many options to choose for this industry, especially retreading. We have done a number of interfaces with large tire corporations. GeneXus being a low code platform has allowed us to remain lean thus reducing overhead without suffering productivity losses. In my experience I was able to reduce the size of a development team in a COBOL shop from 14 developers down to 2 developers and a project manager without loss of productivity.

Pros

There are many features to like about this development tool and the company that makes it. GeneXus is very in tune with technology and the trends and where its going. This allows me the comfort in knowing that when a digital wave comes I will not have to learn a new development tool in order to build solutions for the new technology. GeneXus has allowed me to carry my hard work from the 90's and without having to reprogram and rewrite thus preserving my hard work. I have literally brought AS/400 code to the windows client/server and then to the web.

Cons

GeneXus has just about filled my wish list over the years. They really listen to their customer base and are genuine in doing so. I personally would like to see more on how to take advantage of things such as Live Video streaming as video content is huge these days. GeneXus does interact with a smart device camera but I'd like to see it become easier, especially with the web. This may already be in existence with their new GeneXus 16 version and I've just not read about it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jeff R.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Software Development with GeneXus

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

GeneXus deals with so many details of application development (like database definition, reorganization and data conversion), has so many features that speed up the development process (like patterned User Experience and multiexperience), and gives you the ability to migrate from one platform/language to another easily that it gives you the chance to utilize technology and focus on business problems instead of worrying about technology and business problems.

I've also experienced technology changes throughout the years as various languages have come and gone, our applications that were based on those technologies were simply regenerated into the next language and kept going.

GeneXus allows you to develop truly future-proof applications. You focus on the business problems and let GeneXus worry about the technology.

Cons

GeneXus deals with so many technical details and that frees you up to not have to worry about every little technical detail. However, this is a double-edged-sword. You can fall into the trap or letting GeneXus worry about everything to the point that you can become out of touch with technology trends.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Pablo B.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

A development team in a terminal

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/02
Review Source: GetApp

In some complex situations automatic code generation becomes cumbersome to control.
We develop complex and mission-critical systems with a high degree of customer satisfaction.
We generate quality functional prototypes in record time thanks to the ease of use of the tool and the organization of modules for coolant reuse, added to a high range of additional tools such as patterns and other varied and numerous extensions.

Pros

I take care of the specific business, everything standard is previously solved.

Cons

In some complex situations automatic code generation becomes cumbersome to control

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

José alfonso Q.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Genexus experience

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/04
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

It allows the development of critical mission applications in record time, ISO audit systems, invoicing, audited warehouse systems, mobile application development, etc; and the best allows to select between JAVA, NET, NET core

Cons

it still has very specific things that it can improve, some of its controls do not have updated documentation

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sergio P.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Excellent tool for corporate web and mobile apps

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/01/17
Review Source: Capterra

We have been using GeneXus for more than 10 years now. When we started developing our ERP software for the apparel industry, one of the biggest decisions we had to make was the tools we would use to build it. We looked at many options, some of them similar to GeneXus, and also traditional software development tools like C# and Java. We decided to use GeneXus because of the multi-platform, multi-database options. Also, we have a small team of developers and cross training was important to us. Once a developer learns how to use GeneXus, they can use it to create a Web application, an iPhone app or an Android App. All from the same source code. For example, the same developer was able to create a desktop and a tablet screen for order entry. The same developer, using the same knowledge and the same programming tools is the most efficient way to develop applications. The productivity of the tool is amazing. Although it is hard to measure, we estimate a 500% to 1000% increase in productivity.

Pros

Productivity, cross platform, simplicity.

Cons

Not free.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Osvaldo P.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

A tool to develop quickly without having to know all the technologies web and mobile in detail

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/02
Review Source: Capterra

Genexus allowed us to start developing in technologies that we did not know very quickly, such as apps for android and iOS and web applications. We have quickly been able to make developments with the latest technologies for our clients.

Pros

- The ease of integrating with any technology
-It does not require that the developer have knowledge of all the technologies for web and mobile development.
- Ease of prototyping which allows a quick definition of what should be developed.

Cons

Documentation does not help to solve problems and is sometimes insufficient. In addition, the way of versioning the product often means that a problem with one version can only be solved with a new version with the consequent need to test the development.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Delvis E.

As its developers say, "It's not magic ' just a smarter way to create smart technology"

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/07/20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

GeneXus is a powerful technology that "changes" many paradigms in software development, but with a positive impact on application development.
Based on application modeling, GeneXus automatically creates the database, the code, the user interface. As its developers say, "It's not magic ' just a smarter way to create smart technology"
In addition, this technology has an excellent research and development team, with a high technical level and commitment to technology.

Cons

Methodologies and processes of Quality Assurance and Software Testing must be well revised and adjusted. But everything is solvable!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Günter R.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

"Go faster to market with GeneXus"

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/14
Review Source: Capterra

We developed in a very short time with a small team a complete business application for bakeries with ERP and administrative functionalities with web and mobile apps. It includes modules for order, delivery, production planning, invoice, stock control, purchase, shop management and controlling, product calculation, statistics, EDI handling and interfaces over web services.

Pros

GeneXus generates software. It allows you to design, develop, maintain and extend your business application much easier and faster, in a higher quality and more flexibility, from the scratch up to complex applications. It makes the most for you and if it's necessary you can extend it with your own code. You can develop with the same environment software for web and smart devices.

Cons

All we wanted to realize, we could do, so I can say there is nothing we dislike.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jose R.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Describe your problem and let GeneXus do the rest.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/01/24
Review Source: Capterra

I have personally used GeneXus for several years in different critical business domains. Since our very first project I have noticed an increase in our development productivity and quality. Nowadays GeneXus platform has adapted to the latest technological trends enabling us not only to develop great web applications but also native mobile apps. Defining an abstract model and letting GeneXus deal with the technological issues is the best approach for developing and maintaining complex software systems.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Miguel ángel B.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Easy to use

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/07
Review Source: GetApp

great experience leaving all developments well with great time

Pros

genexus is a software development tool that is easy to use, implement and highly adaptive for the different needs that arise in development

Cons

the license is high but it is worth it for all the benefits it offers us

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sidilei F.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

I do not exchange Genexus for any other tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/07
Review Source: GetApp

I developed in just 1 year a great application that, for that same time, 3 more people would be needed

Pros

Easy to use, Technologically updated, I can develop applications for web, deskop, mobile, chatbot on a single platform

Cons

It is a little expensive. It costs a developer 50%

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

A fantastic tool to help development and maintain critical multi-platform applications.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Implementation for foreign IT systems is extremely easy. We use it to automate many tasks which frees up resources and allows developers and testers to work freely. Using this software we can now solve many problems clients have extremely quickly and easily.

Cons

This software is less traditional than previous development methodology. It took us time to adjust and develop our skills to fully take advantage of the software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jeremy H.

Genexus consulting is second to none, their developers are passionate, motivated, & highly skilled

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/07/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Genexus Consulting delivers an incredible value to the US market from its headquarters in Montevideo Uruguay. With their near shore model, your developers are in a similar timezone and bill at affordable rates.

I really appreciate that Genexus Consulting puts security at the top of its priorities from the beginning of every product.

I was very happy with the personal attention I received from Genexus Consulting and could not recommend them more.

Cons

Genexus Consulting is bound to the GeneXus platform which can be limiting to some projects and languages

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Insurance
Company size: 11-50 Employees

The best development tool

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/08
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

My experience with GeneXus is more than 15 years and I am convinced that it is a tool that is easy to use, very efficient and with high productivity. It is an excellent choice for developing software quickly

Cons

Not very accessible price for peripheral tools that add value to GeneXus

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Juan angel A.
Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Fast way to launch your Proyect

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This is the Best 4th-Gen Programming tool i have used in my life, it does it all it makes my app www, win and App

Cons

there is not that big of a community where you can discuss on how to fix the issues that you have, or get some feedback

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Cecilia B.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Fast development tool

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/02/04
Review Source: Capterra

Genexus allows more agile software development. In turn, you can quickly have a model to validate the development
Good aditional tools(user controls) available to extend Genexus

Pros

Easy to learn
Fast development phases

Cons

Online documentation

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Germán S.

Excellent development tool

Reviewed on 2017/01/30
Review Source: Capterra

I started using Genexus in 1998 generating source code for MS Visual Basic in client/server architucture. Now I am creating native apps for iOS/Android and WEB applications.
One of the most interesting features is that I can focus in business and Genexus resolves the techinical part. It really simplifies software development and increase productivity!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Marcelo D.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great and powerful tool

Reviewed on 2017/01/24
Review Source: Capterra

GeneXus helped us to reach our IT goals, increasing several times our development throughput. It's an easy to use and great tool, I totally recommend it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Nadim C.

GeneXus can help your company to deliver value to your customers much more faster

Reviewed on 2017/01/25
Review Source: Capterra

GeneXus has helped us to quickly develop and delivery a web version of our mobile app to provide more information to our customers.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Consumer Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees
Translate to English
Translate to English

Excelente herramienta para desarrollo ágil

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/21
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Genexus es una herramienta que permite desarrollar aplicaciones tanto web o móviles en tiempos realmente cortos, el mantenimiento de las aplicaciones generadas es simple y rápido.

Cons

La generación de aplicaciones en iOS deja todavía mucho que desear. Hay que corregir errores, mejorar la experiencia y calidad de la aplicación final

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Maximo A.
Industry: Banking
Company size: 201-500 Employees
Translate to English
Translate to English

¿Excelente producto de software?

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/02
Review Source: Capterra

Con GeneXus hemos implementado muchas aplicaciones web con diferentes exigencias técnicas y han sido un éxito.
Hemos desarrollado aplicaciones que se conectan a web service (SOAP) o por API REST sin inconvenientes, con diferentes bases de datos (SQL Server, MySQL o Azure SQL) y lenguajes diferentes (.Net, Java o RPG), incluso en plataforma como servicio (App service o storage account).

Pros

Nos garantiza la evolución hacia el futuro con la evolución de los lenguajes de programación y framework.
Es un producto fácil de usar ya que con pocos pasos podemos tener un software totalmente funcional y listo para mostrar.
Se integra fácilmente con muchas tecnología de punto y actuales para poder expandir las funcionalidades de cualquier producto.
Tiene mucha información en Internet disponible para todos para empezar rápidamente a capacitarnos.

Cons

Que es un poco costoso en las licencias para desarrolladores que desean empezar a usarlo.
Podría tener una mejor integración con Azure para que aproveche todas sus características y ventajas actuales.
Podrían tener un mejor control de las extensiones que son muy útiles pero un poco difícil de evolucionar entre versiones.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Marco antonio F.
Industry: Program Development
Company size: 2-10 Employees
Translate to English
Translate to English

Genexus una forma Agil para desarrollar Software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/02
Review Source: Capterra

Es una herramienta que la uso desde el año 1990 en sus primeras versiones Gx. 7.0, Genexus evoluciona a través del tiempo con los distintos lenguajes que aparecen en el mercado y los acopla a su tecnología para que te sea muy fácil usarlos. Esta herramienta me ayudo como analista programador a poder aplicar y concentrarme en la realidad del negocio y luego automatizarla; sus objetos y forma de trabajar a través de sus base de conocimiento (KB) te permiten poder trabajar con múltiples modelos de arquitectura de desarrollo usando motores de base de datos distintas y lenguajes de programación diversos, con tan solo aplicar el lenguaje de programación Gx y aplicar código nativo en ciertas partes del código que uno desea detallar. Muy recomendable su uso.

Pros

Es una herramienta con objetos muy sencillos y fácil de programar con un lenguaje claro y conciso, te permite trabajar en una KB - Base de conocimiento, con múltiples arquitecturas, es una herramienta Ágil que te ayuda a construir desde simple prototipos hasta complejas funcionalidades. Además cuenta con una plataforma que te brinda capacitación y apoyo en el uso de esta herramienta y tiene comunidades donde se comparte experiencia y te brindan solución a cualquier tipo de problema.

Cons

Es una herramienta muy completa con funcionalidades muy buenas que en algunos también vienen por separado y/o se actualizan a una mejor versión y para tenerlas debes pagar por su licencia de uso.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees
Translate to English
Translate to English

Productividad y Calidad maximizados.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/02
Review Source: Capterra

Permite dar al cliente un producto beta de Calidad muy Rápido y un Producto acabado antes de lo que se imagina el Cliente.
Uso la herramienta hace mas de 25 años y solo puedo hablar bien.
La herramienta hace todo lo Automatizable como BBDD, código y objetos. Así uno se puede dedicar a crear los algoritmos para la solución.

Pros

Tiene una curva de aprendizaje muy pronunciada.
Soporte Múltiples Generadores y BBDDs (de los mas importantes del mercado).
Se mantiene actualizado usando las tecnológicas mas importantes.
La productividad es muy ALTA.
Es Muy extensible con productos Propios o de terceros (Gratis y pagos)

Cons

Tiene muy pocas limitaciones aunque cumple con el objetivo. Tiene algunas rigieses en el diseño de interfaces.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

✔️oscar eduardo G.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees
Translate to English
Translate to English

Desarrollar software con GeneXus es una estrategia a largo plazo que funciona

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/02
Review Source: Capterra

La comunidad de tecnicos GeneXus es muy agradable. Es fácil encontrar gente dispuesta a colaborar.

Pros

Mantener tus aplicaciones en la última tecnología disponible sin codificar nuevamente es la característica que más destaco de su filosofía para la construcción de soluciones "a prueba de futuro"

Cons

Cuando tu aplicación crece, debes considerar invertir en más capacidad de hardware para mejorar el rendimiento en la generación de código.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10