SchoolMint Reviews

SchoolMint

Registration, enrollment & administration for K-12 schools

4.8/5 (12 reviews)
Stefani P.

Amazing! Our school administration and campus registrars love it!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/06/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It is 100% online. This alone has saved our campuses many hours in going through paper applications and parents can chose more than 1 school at the same time without having to complete a new paper application.

I love the conditional formatting, scheduling of messages and the defaulting of today's date enhancements added this year.

We are able to get incoming students set up very quickly for testing or find potential needs for students earlier by collecting the information earlier in the process than we have in the past since the forms are so easy to use online.

Wonderful tool to collect enrollment data and create projections when we start year 3. This helps locate the grades of greatest needs so we can concentrate marketing in the locations and grades we need as well.

Cons

No way to stop users from creating multiple accounts year to year when they cannot remember their password or username - I have parents with 3 user names for 1 student and 3 siblings with different usernames. We send them the username in all communication, but parents still create new accounts!
We would really love a view only or a way for certain groups to be able to print their own forms, such as Nurses or principals. We would not want them having the ability to make any changes, but if they could look at the information and print out anything pertaining to their department, then this would eliminate the need for the registrar to do it for them.
The feeder campuses and administration would love a way to see which campus the re-enrolled student came from the prior year. For example, the Junior High campus cannot see which elementary campus the re-enrolled student came from. Since we are open boundaries, there are 5 elementaries that feed into 2 different junior highs. But the student can pick either junior high. So to get the records to the right school, I have to go through and find the info student by student since I have full access.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Peggy A.

This is our 2nd year using SchoolMint for re-enrollment and I love how it's streamlined the process!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/06/28
Review Source: Capterra

It has streamlined my process so much that I only need a little help now! Once we get all of our forms figured out and set up, it will be even easier! And once everyone gets used to the fact that they can use the spreadsheet and no longer need to have the paper in their hand, it will cut down on even more time and paper waste.

Pros

The ease in communicating with our entire school community. The ability to sort and download the information. The ease in which we can conduct our lotteries, and sort and organize our waitlist. The quick reaction time for customer support when small issues arise. The ability to build our own forms to our own specs so we can collect information for our specific needs and state requirements. The companies quick and open response to suggestions from and accommodations for their clients. And the overall respect with which they treat their clients. This all contributes to the whole sense of family and a caring community.

Cons

I only wish they also supported a database!
The most difficult thing about having online paperwork is making sure everyone has access and knowledge on how to use it. SchoolMint is wonderful about helping the families with issues, but they can't help with everyone having access! :)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Katie M.

It has provided our school with an efficient way of organizing our entire enrollment process.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/06/26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

* Interest Tracker feature *Automated emails/text messaging *Great Customer Support team *Each student profile/dashboard keeps gives both the parent and our staff easy access to up-to-date application/registration information *Notes feature allows users to know what other staff actions have already been taken on a student--which helps with communications between departments *Electronic Signatures and uploads *Online Teacher Recommendations are very important to us as it speeds up the process of getting feedback on applicants. *Cut costs on printing *Integrates with Powerschool *Lessens transcribing errors *Time/Money saved on Data entry *Up-to-Date enrollment numbers/reports

Cons

*Still learning how to make this work for a private school that requires a different process. *There have been several software issues/errors that have come up delaying numerous applications and therefore affecting our school's customer service response time. *Pay feature-needs promo code *Application doesn't auto save progress *Doesn't save the whole application when you hit submit at the end of the application

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Diane B.

SchoolMint is the cutting edge of enrollment and registration software.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/06/26
Review Source: Capterra

SchoolMint has taken our application, lottery and registration to a new level. They have streamlined every aspect of the process. Our school now has opportunities to expand and grow in ways that were unlikely even just a few years ago, in part thanks to SchoolMint.

Pros

SchoolMint's customer service is the best I have ever encountered. Each question is answered quickly, thoughtfully, and with kindness. Their technical expertise is matched by their humanity, patience and good humor. SchoolMint is truly a partner in our school's success and growth.

Cons

There are certain aspects of our school that have evolved because of our unique circumstances. There are still a handful of minor issues in the registration process that we have had to work around. SchoolMint has taken note of our difficulties and is exploring ways to meet our needs more fully in the future.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Christine G.

SM is easy to use and captures all the data needed for applications, communication, enrollment.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/06/28
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The student enrollment summary is reviewed daily, the easy function to export families information, data, charts, map of where student applications are coming from, the ability to use SM fields for enrollment forms, and RSVP tracker.

Cons

Email communication design could be improved, easy search for family emails, and rsvp tracker on each application not just in the rsvp section.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Tori H.

SchoolMint is beyond user-friendly. It is so intuitive and easy to use for both admin & families

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/06/29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The ability to easily customize the lottery application and registration forms. You don't even really need the training support to figure it out.

Cons

I would like to be able to run more reports with customized features. For example, we poll our families about aftercare needs on the registration form. I would like to be able to see the responses ordered, etc.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Todd H.

Best customer service and value of any company I've ever worked with.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/06/26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

SchoolMint has completely revolutionized the ways that we recruit, enroll, and conduct a lottery. In year one of working with SchoolMint we saw ROI in our first 6 months and have remodeled how we work with families. We are no longer chasing paper, but instead focus on productive outreach and onboarding of new families.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Jaciel C.

Exceptional, user-friendly software for student recruitment and enrollment

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/06/21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Dashboards, Mapping application, Family-Centered Profiles, ease of communications via email and text, tags and sorting of the database, ease of tracking leads from events.

Cons

reports need work, does not allow for mass self-data imports, the text editor is simple and requires thorough editing on Word before pasting from a document.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Shirley M.

The overall process of re-enrollment and registration is great. However, reporting needs flexibility

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/06/26
Review Source: Capterra

Quick access to parents and easy to track and verify data.

Pros

It is easy for parents and I am able to track items quickly. I love the automation of emails so that I can follow-up. I also like the notes. I would wish there was a privacy section on notes so that parents could see some notes but not view others.

Cons

Their is no custom reports that I can use. I don't want to have to pay for custom reports on data that has already been collected. At least the csv export download could ask for what fields we want to pull.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Mary R.

Great for first time users. Horrible to update!

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/05/23
Review Source: Capterra

Clear registration to schools, simple organization for school paperwork, and multiple kids listed in one place.

Pros

The organization of information and presentation is simple. It lends to being great for getting away from paperwork. Parents can interact with both the website or the application. If kids are going to multiple schools registration and acceptance are easily accessed and clear.

Cons

Attempting to update information has to be done per individual in the household with no option for everyone to update at the same time. Also, updating the students information does not mean the school gets that information appropriately. Customer service is not friendly and very automated.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Jennie B.

Mostly good, not great, customer service could be better

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/07/19
Review Source: Capterra

We managed our lottery efficiently and the subsequent offers of space.

Pros

Easy to setup, easy to communicate with various groups, fairly intuitive. Forms are simple to put together but a little but limited in what you can do.

Cons

Reporting is so-so, I wish it were more customizable. The search feature is limited (you can't search for a parent name). If you want to export your data into your SIS system - good luck, it takes them a month to create the file!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

5.0/10
Chelsea L.

Easy to coordinate with school

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/11/28
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Great way to keep track of applications, important documents, dates and contact to get in touch with school on the web.

Cons

Doesn’t remove the need to call and discuss needs with a person at the schools. Needs a live chat option or direct calling option through the application.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10