101 reviews

holaSpirit

Web platform designed for Self-Managed organizations

4,6 /5 (101 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,6
/
5
Value for Money
4,5
Features
4,3
Ease of Use
4,4
Customer Support
4,6
98% recommended this app
101 reviews
Leander V.
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Fast fluent and easy to use software

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/05/07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

HolaSpirit has an intuative UI and has different 'paths' to achieve what you want to do or see. The search function is one of my favorite features, its quick, fast and finds everything that is stored in Holaspirit.

If you do need customer support, they respond quick and friendly.

Everything is webbased so all is excessible to everybody with a internet connection. Adding employees is simple, just enter a email adress and invite, within 1 min you are setup and ready to work.

Cons

HolaSpirit offers you the ability to make so called 'projects' and 'actions'. These are (still) kept very simple. They are not linked or tagged to other projects or actions, no meta data. So if your organisation has a lot of projects it can be hard to keep track if you use this funtion. On the other hand HolaSpirit offers connections/integrations with project management tools like Asana or Basecamp, but I should prefer one total solution. Perhaps these features come in the next release.

Response from holaSpirit

Thank you Leander for your feedback. We will improve projects and actions in further releases.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Augustin D.
Industry: Entertainment
Company size: 2-10 Employees

The only necessary tool

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/06/16
Review Source: Capterra

Overall experience is great, all our colleagues, which are not at all software fans (educators, musicians), are feeling very touched by the way that Holaspirit takes care of their talent, their needs, their contribution in the project, that becomes their project.

Pros

Holaspirit is, as I believe today, the only absolutely necessary tool to coordinate our work, above all productivity tools. You can implement Holacracy, but also any inbetween system that works for your team, based on a new structure of power and decision processes.

The software is really well conceived and easy to use once you get the principle of an holactratic structure, which is a necessary step before to get into the software.

Cons

I miss some export options, like exporting publications as PDF, or printing them, or exporting the project lists as database.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Paul M.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great support for our Holacracy practice

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/08/08
Review Source: Capterra

Clarity of roles and responsibilities. No more people waiting for 'the boss' to decide what to do.

Pros

It covers all components of Holacracy. it is easy to understand.

Cons

A nice improvement would be for meetings to only show checklist items and metrics that are valid for that particular meeting. SO weekly items every time, Monthly items only when it is a monthly meeting, etc.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Anne C.
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Amazing tool for self managed organizations

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/03
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Holaspirit is easy to use, and gives us a lot of flexibility to adapt the software to our needs. Great integration with other apps. It allows us to exploit the self management model Holacracy at its fullest, without the rigidity that sometimes comes with it.

Cons

Nothing so far. The development team is very reactive upon suggestions for improvement, which is a huge plus.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Anne L.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Holaspirit helps you to make valuable meetings

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/07/22
Review Source: Capterra

the meeting's organization is easy. it preserves your time product and you can focus on your key issues with your team. It is engaging and challenging for your business and your team's motivation.
I warmly recommend Holaspirit for your team's management.

Pros

it is quite easy to use, create a meeting can be done with few clicks. reminders are very useful for the entire team to stay on tracks.
you combine Holaspirit and Trello for example to fallow all yours projects.
For beginner or mature organizations, it is worth it to buy this software.

Cons

An app will be a plus.
every function is well designed and created forsatisfying the purpose of each team.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Elena L.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Best tool for self-managed companies and role based working

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/05/29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We have been applying Holacracy at first and now doing our own form of Holarcracy but what I loved is that compared to GlassFrog you can adapt it to your own needs and change the structure. Being a happy customer for 2 years I think the evolution of the tool is fantastic. Now we can work with OKRs as well which is very helpful to create a well-defined strategy for our company and the circles.

Cons

There are bugs some times especially after the relaunch a few months ago. I also had an issue logging in a few weeks ago. But overall I am very happy.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jean-gerome C.
Industry: Apparel & Fashion
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Agile software for agile organizations

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/05/29
Review Source: Capterra

Customer feedback is taken seriously, being responded to and in many cases result in a new feature. Transparency also is a value that Holaspirit lives fully: as a customer I have a full visibility of Holaspirit's Backlog of functionalities.

Pros

In the meantime I couldn't work without Holaspirit. All our meeting notes, my reminders and project are set up and recorded in Holaspirit. I like the fact that Holaspirit continuously improves itself with new helpful features.

Cons

We've had twice a stability issue in the past few months. System wasn't available for a few hours. Luckily, system was made available quickly and no data went lost.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Camille C.
Industry: International Affairs
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Great tool for visualization of structure

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/06/10
Review Source: Capterra

The knowledge base is a bit superficial, we had specific questions on certain functions - the support team is very available.
It is very appreciated that feedback is so welcome and that we have a direct channel on improvement ideas.
Overall great.

Pros

This platform really helped us map our work and somewhat harmonize the structure of each team. It was the first time we were able to visually translate our network (all the projects; hubs and partners it is composed of).

Cons

There is room for improvement in the integration of other platforms. For example, we use primarily slack for coordination: only receiving notifications from Holaspirit on Slack is not enough, we would benefit from synchronization of calendars, embedded links to the corresponding circle in a channel, etc.
Another example is the Trello integration taking over projects and actions, and having all info in the Trello bucket description instead of using the available features.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Henk D.
Industry: Consumer Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Happy user

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/06/09
Review Source: Capterra

Great tool. Necessary for business.

Pros

The possibility of using the software on a daily basis is wonderful. We found not so without.

Cons

Still have to get used to user experience after last updates.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Annie V.
Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Usefull tool

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/22
Review Source: Capterra

Visual picture of our organigramme help to reflect and talk about what are the needs of the organization.

Pros

Easy to learn and use.
Design and soft colors.
Évident use for an organisation that wants to start Holacratie

Cons

Nothing ?
Not there yet.
Si easy to learn, and I have others teammates that know it better to always answers questions.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Adele G.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Excellent and innovative software that increases organization and flow

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/12/11
Review Source: Capterra

I was the program manager of a a homeless shelter and when we started using this software it made a HUGE impact almost immediately on the effectiveness of our organization. I only wish we had gotten it a lot sooner.

Pros

The process for building an agenda and during a staff meeting was intuitive and efficient. The report generated and email to all meeting participants made outputs easy to track. The process for proposing a policy through the email function of the governance meeting made it so easy to have a clear method for everyone to have a voice regarding the proposals. No more leaving a meeting feeling frustrated that nothing was accomplished. This software makes it very clear who is assigned to what role and what the status of their projects is. Cuts down on wasted time and increases staff moral and transparency.

Cons

Sometimes when I would click on a role whose accountabilities I wanted to review, the feature wouldn't open and I would have to try several times. This seems like it may have been a minor bug. Also there was a change to the layout of the projects that put them in a counterproductive order where the active projects were no longer displayed first. This was a little confusing and the original order was easier to navigate.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Jean-marc W.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Excellent tool which much supports our key and high-stake migration towards a Teal organization.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/05/04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Embarking on the path of distributed management and role-based organization, regardless of the methodology chosen, is a risky, complex and complicated endeavor which requires the buy-in of the whole company. Tools are essential in supporting such transition. HolaSpirit has been a significant contributor to our successful migration to Teal due to its user-friendliness, to the way information can be centrally shared about people, roles, accountabilities, quality documents, processes, etc..., to its handling of tensions, tasks/projects, or metrics, and to provide multi-user on-line tactical meeting capability. Support is also very responsive and effective.

Cons

While simple changes in governance is easy to manage, more complex changes in roles and circles are tedious (I wish we could drag-drop roles/circles!). The lack of not being able to classify some information as restricted to just the circle or to some members is a significant limitation (e.g. meeting reports / outcome from HR or top management tactical meetings). Integration with Jira has been abandoned in our case -- some limitations as I understood. Small improvements in filtering / ordering / hiding some information could also help.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Robert S.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Holaspirit is the product of my choice for implementing holacracy in two! organisations.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/08/15
Review Source: Capterra

Transparency, clarity and self organization in two organisations by implementing holacracy using this software. One medium sized (approx. 50 people) software development company and even a school.

Pros

Ease of use is key for implementing holacracy, because keeping track of all the roles in an organization can be tedious. If it isn't easy to do so, it won't happen. And holaspirit does a great and ever improving job in doing so.

It has a great and responsive support team who are interested in improving the software.

All important aspects of holacracy are built into this product. Having integrations for your projects and actions is a nice addon, but not really necessary, especially for smaller organizations, since it is already handled well by holaspirit.

The developers keep a transparent roadmap in form of a public Trello board, where you can see if your favorite feature will be implemented soon.

Cons

The two integrations (Jira and Trello) for externalizing tasks are kept too simple for my tase. They work, but could be improved upon. (Automatic member assignment for projects in Trello for example. Integration for tasks as well as projects, etc. But from what I know about the team, there will surely be improvements in the future)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Michael M.

Flexibility in language & ops allow me to work with any client to create a transformative company.

Used Other for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/07/29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I've been engaged in organizational transformation for 30+ years. While many great achievements have been accomplished there has always been something missing to enable the organization to continue to produce breakthrough results.

The missing piece in all transformation efforts originating from outside intervention, and most internally generated initiatives as well, is an information system specifically designed to enable continuing transformation. This is mainly due to lack of system with can show results as they are being produced and not merely numbers after the fact.

A significant transformation of an enterprise is a complex process - not a linear one. There is no other platform that I've seen where complex activity can be managed and coordinated. holaSpirit allows display of all ongoing transformational activity, from initial intentions to coordination of activity across normal lines to the measurement of results. The most amazing and useful part of this is that everything can be viewed by all members of the enterprise, while information that needs to be restricted for confidentiality reasons can be part of the system as well.

This is the platform that every transformational initiative of any significant scale requires. I predict this will alter an organizational life forever. It has already started to give me access to needed info.

Cons

Not quite as flexible and adaptive as I'd like but the best that is out there so far. Not easy to learn.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Quentin H.
Industry: Environmental Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Holaspirit help us daily to get a full vision of our projects and responsibilities...

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/08/14
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Holaspirit is an application that help human in there organisation to accomplish their due and task with a deep respect of the Holacracy constitution. It's really user friendly, so you don't even need documentation and anyone of your organisation can take in hand its use by himself. It's help the users to apply Holacracy during meetings (tactical and gouvernance). It gives clarity to users to take action together and to distribut their responsabilties. It has been a real change in our organisation since we use Holaspirit.
On top of that, the developpers and customer team are really helpful, fast and really cool ! :)
There is a before and after Holaspirit...

Cons

Unfortunatly, the way to manage projects is not the best way to do. In fact, it's missing tools like tags, comments, dropbox attachment file...etc But Holaspirit's team gave a multitude way to synchronise Holaspirit with many application or Webhooks. Like that you are free to manage your project as you like...

Response from holaSpirit

Hi Quentin, thanks for your feedback. Improving the projects/actions module is on our priorities for the next weeks and months.
In particular, link actions & projects, add attachments are already in our public roadmap: https://trello.com/b/fg4W01AX/holaspirit-roadmap

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Klaas R.
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Good alternative to Glassfrog from HolacracyOne for companies using Holacracy

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/06/05
Review Source: Capterra

Without Holaspirit we could not implement holacracy, because self-organization for whole companies relies heavily on software support.

Pros

Software helps a lot for transparency about the organization structure and makes all governance and operations accessable to everyone. The search is quite good to find information who is accountable for what, seeing the roles of all users and finding projects.

Holaspirit enforces the rules of holacracy so that beginning users/circles cannot make big mistakes, like changing the governance out of an governance meeting or changing the role assignment without beeing the Lead Link.

Cons

It does not provide a holacracy habit program like Glassfrog does. I have to relolad the highly interactive UI using SHIFT+F5 quite often, when I switch between different organizations. Maybe this is not an issue just working in one organization.

The learning curve for beginning users is there. They need to have a basic understanding for all the mechanics to use the software properly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Alison V.
Industry: Furniture
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Holaspirit is a great tool to energize your role in a concrete way

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/08/07
Review Source: Capterra

The software helped me in a faster way to practice with Holacracy and be organized with my actions, meetings, and checklists. It is very intuitive, powerful and thoughtful as Holacracy is. I really like the toolbar. You feel fast comfortable with the software. Really, design and features are well thought!

Pros

The design is elegant and differs to a general webpage, CRM software, blog whatever a digital user is used in nowadays. You don't need to scroll down long. You have the entire visualization at once.
The structure of the website is simple but concise. The visible architecture of the super circle and sub-circles is not cumbersome or stodgy but clear and transparent.

Cons

The "got it" message on every page.
The scratchpad is too small even when we make it bigger. It would be great if could be movable as a simple note pad during a gov. meeting especially for some meeting attended remotely. It could help "secretary" roles.
The software doesn't support yet, faster ways to edit tensions or update projects. Maybe some shortcut design would be helpful. Reports design could be review to ease the work of secretary and any members who read them.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Martin Z.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

best tool to do hola with

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/14
Review Source: Capterra

You do need a tool like hola to truly live holacracy - overall we did reach a level of proficiency after 3 months and are now incredibly efficient and transparent. This translates to higher productivity and employee satisfaction.

Pros

hola is a great tool allowing you to quickly and efficiently apply holacracy principles to your org. It supports on site as well as remote sessions perfectly and once you understand how to navigate becomes your de facto tactical management tool.

Cons

The initial learning curve is steep, especially once you start managing all parts of your org with the tool. It does help having an experienced person available during the initial adoption phase. If not your meetings will be dominated by 'how do I do...' questions and slow you down substantially.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Patrick S.
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 2-10 Employees

holaSpirit had been a staple and an important sucess factor in our Holacracy practice.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/09/04
Review Source: Capterra

Solid implementation of the Holacracy rules and very valuable support for any Holacracy practice.

Pros

Easy to use and functional UI. We've used holaSpirit for ourselves and for several client projects. We've never had to offer any training. People just get it. The customer support is phenomenal!

Cons

The UI could use a facelift. Some oft the workflows feel a bit akward. Sometimes it takes several clicks to get something done.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Andréane N.
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Very friendly user. Easy to use, to understand and the Customer support is excellent!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It really help us with the implementation of holacracy. It is necessary for us to have such a software to be able to collect and consult roles and their description. It is very friendly user, very intuitive and it was well adopted by everyone.

Cons

It needs to be more efficient with tasks and projects. But I know that the improvements are coming. So I am very eager to see the upgrade.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Yannick B.
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Flexible, Reliable and Feature Reach Holacratic Organization Collaborative Software

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/01/10
Review Source: Capterra

As a change consulting organization we practice both Holasprit and Galssfrog with our clients but internally we use Holaspirit to manage our own holacratic processes.

Pros

Holaspirit is THE alternative to Glassfrog. Both systems have very similar features. Holaspirit is a bit more flexible and open. The support from the team is very good and the software very reliable. It has a strong community of users and new features are added continuously.

Cons

Well, it you don't like the color "green", Holaspirit is not for you. :-)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Hani L.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 201-500 Employees

User Friendly

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/12/02
Review Source: Capterra

Been using it for 1 year plus and I am a happy user. Looking forward to getting a better improvement with the software.

Pros

The softaware is very user friendly, I didn't really need any help or support of people to teach me on how to use the software, because the features are very easy.

Cons

Sometimes can be a bit lag when I use it during tactical meeting, but it's not a very big deal.
I also would like to suggest to find a better way to categorize and indexing all the policies in order to make it more structured.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jim D.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 2-10 Employees

How to completely change your meeting culture

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/08/14
Review Source: Capterra

We operate better using holaSpirit as a guide for our meetings. People feel listened to and engaged in the work. I would recommend it to anyone.

Pros

I am most impressed with the outcomes of our meetings using holaSpirit. We immediately have a list of actions sent to us in seconds at the closing. More importantly it raises the involvement of everyone on our team. All are equals at the meeting and all can create propose and solve problems right there in the meeting. Best of all we can address up to 15 agenda items and still finish the meeting in 43 minutes. There has been no better system or process in my 39 years of running meetings.

Cons

There are really no real problems that we have experienced with holaSpirit. It does take some time to get new staff and group members up to speed but it is very intuitive.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Anne B.
Industry: Apparel & Fashion
Company size: 51-200 Employees

top! ...small issues

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/06/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Very well structured.
Handy in Use.
Love the colours.

Cons

In the overview, the circles are not labeled. I have to "mouse-over" every circle to recognize which subcircle it is.
And I would like to sort/cluster the projects (or is this already possible?), for example to show prios or to put similar Projects together.
the contrast of the greens is a little low.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Claude L.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Amazing tool to implement Holacracy in any size of organization

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/08/16
Review Source: Capterra

Many benefits !

Pros

holaSpirit is easy to use. The user interface is very clear. There is a very useful online documentation.

Cons

We used to implement Holacracy in our company with an other solution. Since we swithed to holaSpirit, we haven't got anymore difficulties to make Holacracy alive in our organization... So, in fact, I haven't got any weak point to underline here.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10