24 reviews

Helix ALM

Flexible, end-to-end application lifecycle management

4 /5 (24 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4
/
5
Value for Money
3,6
Features
3,9
Ease of Use
3,5
Customer Support
4,4
88% recommended this app
24 reviews
Harold P.
Industry: Medical Devices
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Helix ALM all in one package

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/21
Review Source: Capterra

Great, used on numerous projects. I prefer it vs a number of other tools I've used: Doors, Confluence, Jira, Jama, Matrix, Trello, Rational, and in house custom.

Pros

There are numerous packages out there but few that are all in one - one support center packages like Perforce Helix. People often forget that the biggest investment is the user's learning time and having s flexible tool with strong support and ownership is essential.
Many other tool packages depend on email or user group/forum support that is unpredictable for each of the "linked" parts of the tool set. I've spend many hours to days trying to find help for problems on some of these.
That said, I like that Helix in "insanely configurable", flexible and strongly supported with phone center, tutorials, examples and templates.

Cons

Round tripping items with MS tools as Word & Excel somewhat cumbersome. Editing in Helix vs familiar MS Word limited.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Shannon B.
Industry: Biotechnology
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Powerful tool for product development, learning curve is difficult for new users (using 2015.1.2)

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/09/28
Review Source: Capterra

centralized requirement, bug and test tracking with a complete audit trail of edits, as well as "easy" automatically updating trace matrices.

Pros

Captures requirements, bugs and testing all in one place, instant update so people are all using the most up to date version, easy to add new users and licenses, can update fields and text easily to better suit project needs,

Cons

Word export challenges mean that the team won't use the export feature any more and instead has to make the update twice - once in the ALM and once in our "official" word version

Test case and Test Run setup isn't WYSIWIG when embedding images into test steps, greatly annoying my developers

Test Run system is not adaptable to mechanical testing, where there is one test setup and then many samples to run on a simple test (like a pull test) - so we have testing in multiple places.

Validation overhead for medical device software tool requirements means we can't easily update (which means we can't update without spending on re-validation)

The tool is not particularly user-friendly - I've used it for years and know where almost everything is, but new users, particularly less tech-savvy ones, have an extremely difficult time moving items through the workflow and executing tests in the system.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Tim L.

the product is an example of an old desk top application

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/10/17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

nothing about this product can be said to be good , it is old , cumbersome and clunky .

the product needs to be refactored and replaced

Cons

poor reports - difficult to create
can not have different type of issues
does not really support scrum approach

Response from Perforce

Thank you for sharing your thoughts, Tim.

We're sorry to hear that your experience hasn't met your expectations. Our support team is always ready to help you and can be reached at [email protected] I'd also like to follow up and learn more details about your experience (and how we can make it better).

Helix ALM receives quarterly updates to both the desktop and web clients. You can use both clients with your license. Our top priority with product updates is to make it easier for you to use.

It's true that you can't have different types of issues in the Helix IM module. But you can differentiate between issues using a field type (e.g. feature request or bug). Helix ALM also lets you use different item types for requirements, requirement documents, test cases, test runs, and issues. Contact [email protected] if you have more questions about this.

-Jeni at Perforce Support

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Ken W.

Helix ALM has the necessary core features but needs work in terms of usability

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/10/06
Review Source: Capterra

Through this software, I was able to successfully document software specifications that were linked against test cases, and ultimately used for test runs. This allowed our team to much better understand just how much more work was required to be done and how far along we were in terms of the QA testing.

Pros

The software contains good functionality for linking various bits of information together between the different modules that we use (requirements, test case management, defect tracking). It's also has the flexibility to be configured to work with many different kinds of workflows (we know because we've gone through a number of different design processes over the years that we've used this).

Cons

The text editing is the portion of the software that I like the least. Copying and pasting seems to mangle linefeeds, building up a nested list of bullets has inconsistent behavior, and trying to create/edit a table is incredibly awkward.

The text editor is still functional, but it's fallen below the minimum expectations for a text editor in this day and age.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Judy L.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

It does Everything, but not always easily!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/09/28
Review Source: Capterra

It enforces a decent workflow for trouble tickets and testing.

Pros

I like that it ties everything together and if you have things set up correctly, you get great trace-ability.

It is VERY powerful, and flexible.

Cons

With so much flexibility comes a LOT of configuration. And it's not always easy to modify your workflow once it's been in use for a while.

I really don't like that I have to kick everyone out of the project to make the tiniest change to the workflow and events.

The cost of licenses makes it hard for us to have enough for everyone.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Van L.
Industry: Computer Hardware
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Usage of Perforce

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/06/11
Review Source: Capterra

Overall it is a very good source control tool. It also has command line tools in automation scripts.

Pros

Shelving files is a great feature for users because they are saved onto the server and if the developers system crashes or the developer left the company, other users can retrieve them.

Cons

When a new file or folder is created in a "workspace", you cannot add it until you have added the folder in the workspace configuration. It's not intuitive enough if you are a new user.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Carlos E.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Great test case/requirement management tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/10/02
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like the test case/test run model which gives the the ability to generate base tests and instantiate them using test runs. I write the test once, and generate the multiple times per feature release or sprint.

Cons

The web interface for the product is not as rich as the thin client. Would like to see that catch up feature wise.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Raimundas P.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

I've been using Helix ALM over 5 years. This was a great experience of combined SCM and Helix.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/10/03
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Workflow customization, integration with source provider. Dashboards looks nice feature and allows to plan future releases.

Cons

Lack of HTML support in emails sent by Helix ALM. It still doesn't support inline images. Links... Links could be displayed in more user friendly view.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Using every day.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/10/10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Dashboard look great really great and have valuable information. Love issues filters. You can easily find required issue with them.

Cons

Would be better if it's not lag. Some workflow steps could be improved. One flow could be assigned to two users.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Abraham H.
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Difficult to set up, but quite powerful

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/07/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Helix ALM is super flexible, and can be configured in just about any way you need. It can be set up to automate some steps, and when you complain, they have excellent customer support.

Cons

It is somewhat difficult to set up, and if it set up incorrectly, it is extremely frustrating to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Rimvydas R.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 11-50 Employees

function rich software.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/10/10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

easy to sort items using catalogs, also it's very flexible software and allow to highly customize according our needs.

Cons

in issue window it's hard to see some details as they are hidden in various tabs. usually we do not notice attached additional files and number of reports.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Ken K.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Since buying the product when it was called Test Track Pro it has been a good relationship

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/10/02
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ease of use for IT people and Business alike. Anytime we've had a question on how to use it (thru Seapine Software) it was always answered quickly.

Cons

Reporting has always been a bit weak but we make do. We also use Test Case Management and it works out well for us also.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Andy S.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Easy to set up and configure

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/09/28
Review Source: Capterra

Central place for our companies backlog.

Pros

Easy to set up, configure and administer. Great way to keep things organized. Keeps team on track with tasks.

Cons

Client-based application. It would be great if this was converted into a web application. Also, it can get overwhelming if you over complicate the set up.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Gintaras G.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Working for more than 1 year with this tool and I am very satisfied in Helix.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/10/10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The most important thing is Filters and our company using it as much as possible. Also, we are very happy about Requirements section.

Cons

Some filters during Helix Item creation are required but they are not marked as required, i.e. Impact

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Thomas S.

Helix ALM allows us to track a project from beginning stages through the upkeep and maintenance

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/09/28
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to use and customize for specific projects, easy to track specific tasks/issues to requirements and develop test cases

Cons

All features are not available using the web interface making it difficult to perform administrative tasks over the web when access a workstation on the server's network is not available

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Alfred W.
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Using the TestTrac with a smal process

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/10/04
Review Source: Capterra

All our Testcases on one place.

Pros

Easy to fit the processes to our needs.
It is realy a good thing, that this software is so easy to fit also to smal process and deep, and complex processes.

Cons

We use a old Version form 2012, so we dont now the newest Features. This old version is not very nice and not so easy to use as it could be.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Sam S.
Industry: Utilities
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Usefull tool but need lot of improvements

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/10/10
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Overall this is a good Product. It need lot of improvements
1. Facelift
2. More Widgets or allow creating New Widgets using filters.
3. Ability to link multiple Projects in one Report.
4. More to come :D

Pros

Everything in one place including requirements/ test cases etc. I am still learning but not enough web content compared to JIRA.

Cons

Cannot create Dashboards that we need. Not sufficient Widgets and we cannot create any widget other than pre-defined ones.
Once you create more projects, you only can generate report per projects. My team works in multiple projects and I have to write multiple reports to see the work.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Beat K.
Industry: Medical Devices
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Easy to use and easy to understand

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/09/29
Review Source: Capterra

Easy to use and affordable tool for requirements engineering and testing

Pros

Mostly self describing User Interface for users and the high configurability of items to make it work for a lot of different requirement types.

Cons

Even a lot is configurable, the missing of a possibility to save and distribute a view between users and specific per document reduces the usability enormous.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Gary S.

I use this for test case development and defect tracking

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/10/06
Review Source: Capterra

Centralizes test cases and defects and makes them easier to manage.

Pros

It has a web interface so the client software does not have to be used. It is easy to use and easily customizable with custom fields

Cons

Reports are not easily exported to Word for putting test cases into our company's document template.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Amy N.

Good software, a bit difficult to learn

Reviewed on 2017/02/13
Review Source: Capterra

I was given no real formal training using TestTrack, but with some assistance from my colleagues, I was able to get up and running fairly quickly. The search could be much improved, but other features seem fairly simple and easy to use.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Elwanda K.

End user feedback

Reviewed on 2017/02/13
Review Source: Capterra

I found TestTrack fairly easy to search, add, and process items within the scope of my work. It was already configured for my use and I did not contact customer support nor was I involved with the purchase.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Jarrad M.

TestTrack rocks

Reviewed on 2017/02/02
Review Source: Capterra

TestTrack is crucial in not only logging all our tasks, it also is key is prioritizing our work and keeping all stakeholders informed.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Juan G.

Review for Test Track

Reviewed on 2017/02/13
Review Source: Capterra

Rather difficult to find certain information. Not very user friendly. Functionalities are not very accessible.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Theresa A.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 51-200 Employees

I have been using this software for a year and a half, and it is good in its speed and execution.

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/09/28
Review Source: Capterra

Helped to automate the testing process for certain reports

Pros

Its speed and execution and its usage of different features like - sending emails, record and playback, user-defined codes are excellent.

Cons

The methodology used for recording - like Contextmenu, which makes the playback session to fail, even though the necessary objects are available on the screen. Most of the time I have to debug the tool than the software against which it is being recorded

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10