SolarWinds Take Control Reviews

SolarWinds Take Control

Collaborative remote access solution

4.1/5 (7 reviews)

Great software with many features

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 7/17/2018
Review Source: Capterra

I am able to support my clients with ease and provide A+ support at a reasonable cost.

Pros

* Easy to navigate once you have a basic understanding of the interface
* Agent software is easy to install and has a lot of features to help manage a clients computer
* Request help feature is fantastic. Simply guide a client to the website and ask them to select the
request help option which allows you to assist them without installing the agent.

Cons

* The agents tend to fail randomly due to updates but this can easily be rectified with the new "repair agent" feature.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Great alternative for helpdesk businesses

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 11/10/2016
Review Source: Capterra

I've used MSP Anywhere for quite a long time. It's a great product for internal and external helpdesk teams, with multiple ways to provide attended and unattended support to our customers, usually fast and very simple to use. But what I like more is the customization options it offers: a plethora of security permissions for managing technicians, branding, and some sleek functionality like average waiting time information until a support request is taken. The price is also good, much better than Logmein or screenconnect.

Pros

Price, customization, ease of usage.

Cons

Integration options can be difficult to setup if you are not a developer, but at least the documentation is good.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

Not user friendly

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 1/16/2018
Review Source: Capterra

None at all

Pros

The products drag and drop functionality with transferring files is wonderful. The groups make it easy to find machines as well.

Cons

This software has more bad points than good. Seeing the screen is very difficult unless you change the resolution on the client screen. If you use the zoom functionality you have to scroll all over the screen. Each session opens in it's own window so if you are doing a large upgrade and need many open it make sit difficult to use. Some of the default settings such as to log the person off when you log out of a remote session make support harder.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

2.0/10

One of the best remote access that I used

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 7/6/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Faster conection, live chat, file transfers in the background and bash shell access.

Pros

One of the things that really like about msp anywhere is how fast is the connetion of the remote access, and you can also record the session so you can used to win more clients by showing your work.

Cons

I don't have complaits about msp anywhere the only thing that I can say as cons is that the interface is really text-heavy and is not easy to used.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

Excellent utilities to ease IT life

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2/2/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Solarwinds products have always been extremely useful especially with networking and Active Directory. They offer so many tools that can help with every day tasks to better streamline day-to-day activities that can become time consuming.

Cons

They can have the tendency to over advertise their products and try to push their paid products.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Worth a Free Trial

Used Other for Free Trial
Reviewed on 10/2/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Quick and easy to setup a trial with nothing more than an email address. Sales contact is quick to respond but not over powering in their approach.
The software is full featured with a great set of tools for the IT support Tech.

Cons

When ending a session the remote computer is locked and this can be annoying. Maybe there's a setting to stop this but its not obvious and should really be optional not default.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10

Okay, but there are better options

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 4/17/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The connection quality and speed is fine, and the features that they offer are what I would consider standard remote support tools. Connection speeds are much improved from prior versions.

Cons

Compared to alternatives, this solution lacks in some more advanced features. It's possible they've been added in recent versions but I've stopped using this tool in favor of other options.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

5.0/10