DevonWay Reviews

DevonWay

Quality, work, and safety management software

4.6/5 (30 reviews)

High earned value for your clicks and key strokes.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2/5/2017
Review Source: Capterra

I have had the opportunity to utilize DevonWay in multiple enterprise situations. I have also had the pleasant experience of implementing DevonWay as an enterprise, single-point entry system for greater than 6000 individuals and integrating several diverse applications from action tracking and regulatory corrective actions, to work management and equipment database maintenance. DevonWay has such an intuitive look and feel that anyone who has searched the internet, uses email, and at the extreme has shopped on the web, can easily use DevonWay. I have used DevonWay as a "front end" for less user friendly programs to make them more effective and I have used DevonWay to integrate several legacy programs so they could be eliminated along with their maintenance and cost. I have often said that the real cost of a software system is not in buying or hosting, but in key strokes and clicks required by the workforce to produce value in the system. Will people want to use it? That is where DevonWay excels.
Pros:
Ease of use for both those who input and those who use the input. The information you want at your fingertips, not waiting for someone to provide a dated report in order to take action. Large, diverse user base provides timely useful upgrades, keeping the system contemporary. You do not have to worry about having yesterday's system.
Recommendations:
Do not just try and replicate your current system using DevonWay. Go in with the philosophy of, if you had it to do over, knowing what you know now, what would your system look like? Who are all the customers? What would make the workforce want to use the system? If you put the right effort into figuring out what you would like in a system for now and into the future, DevonWay will create it and give you more versatility than you knew was possible.

Response from DevonWay

Great recommendations for organizations taking their continuous improvement to the next level to increase efficiency and performance! We appreciate you sharing your broad experience with the DevonWay platform!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Heavy user of the DevonWay (LabWay) software. Plant and Project Engineering Subject Mater Expert.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/5/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Ease in usage. The software is intuitive.

Pros

We have been using this software for several years now. It is very easy to use and teach DevonWay to others, even if instructing someone on how to use the software over the phone. My organization has the bulk of performance assurance issues for the entire company because of the nature of the work we are responsible for at the Idaho National Laboratory (INL). It is extremely important while working in this high pace/use area that the software functions easily for not only the person who oversees the issues but for those working in the field who submit and work through the issues that have been entered in DevonWay (LabWay). We have that ease of use with the DevonWAy (LabWay) software.

Cons

I had to really think about this question. I guess if I were to have to write something that I dislike about the software that would be that I dislike changes in the software functionality. I personally dislike updates to the software. Although It is not too hard to adapt to new changes when they are incorporated, it would be nice if the software aligned more with standardized software we are currently using (i.e., Microsoft Office) so it would be even easier to adapt to the changes. Not all company's use our company standards so this may not be an issue for others.

Response from DevonWay

Penny, thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We're glad we're providing solutions that are easy to use. We do try to make the platform upgrades as smooth as possible but will reach out to you on how we can make them more seamless.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

Long-time user of DevonWay products. Apprecite continuous improvement.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 6/2/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Helps us run our business and collaborate with hundredsof people from around the country.

Pros

The ability to work with DevonWay staff at all levels to configure the product that does exactly what I need it to do. I also appreciate the significant number of enhancements that have been made in the last year or two to make products more user-friendly.

Cons

There is definitely a learning curve involved in using the different modules and it can be difficult to force myself to take the time needed in order to use the products optimally. Use of the DevonWay products is not my core function per se, however, I have the sense that there is so much more I could be doing with them that would improve my overall efficiency (I feel the same way about Excel, for instance).
I think the more casual user (e.g. our members) struggles, even more, to learn the software as they simply don't use it enough to lock the processes into memory and they constantly have to ask how to do the same tasks. Perhaps context sensitive help/FAQs would be useful. I do think the recent update to the Help system was outstanding, however.

Response from DevonWay

Jim, thanks so much for both your positive review and feedback. We did take your suggestion to heart and did implement context sensitive help and online documentation. You are right, the needs for casual and advanced users are different so we kept this in mind as well and continue to design and develop ease of use for users at all levels. Thanks so much for your continued support of DevonWay and allowing us to be of service to the alliance!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Devonway for Observations

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 11/27/2018
Review Source: Capterra

We are using Devonway as a central point for observations in our fleet. This allows for everyone in our multi-plant fleet to be on the same page in relation to observations. We are all using the same criteria for observations. This also allows for easy comparison and trending across multiple sites in multiple performance areas. This allows for a collective look at how the fleet is doing and the ability to break that down into individual sites, even though we're scattered across the country. This also allows for easy access to data from nearly everyone in the fleet. This has led to less siloing in our departments and plants.

Devonway is also used for the Performance Indicators for our fleet as well, for similar reasons.

Pros

The program is highly customizable. The interface is very simple and user friendly, even a first time user can find their way around with little instruction.

Cons

In-depth reports and analysis do take time to learn. If you're not familiar with some basic functions and features of the system, you may not have the data you think you have.
The custom reports and specialty features do take some tweaking to get right. That also leads to those reports being very specific and not easily altered in the future.

Response from DevonWay

Jared, thanks so much for sharing your experience with DevonWay. You're right, the DevonWay products are built with users of various levels of experience in mind allowing users to get up and running with minimal training. On the flip side, more advanced users can really dig into data with more powerful reporting tools. We're thrilled to help Entergy realize the benefits of cloud solutions to standardize your programs and easily report results at all levels.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

The software is powerful and saves time. Very easy to use and fast.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 5/25/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Easy application for 2000 workers. Powerful database. Automated trending and notification. Daily automatic reports. Automatic email of new assignments and assignments coming due. Real time support if needed.

Pros

It is very versatile and easy to use. The more you use it, the more you think of "what if I could do this" and soon you are doing exactly that. The technical support considers every question a possibility and they are same day innovators. The software has modules for a wide variety of enterprise applications, and each will provide notifications and information to you automatically by email if you wish.

Cons

The applications to iPhone are just being developed, and sometimes in that application are difficult to navigate in. But that is improving. Looking forward to not typing some day, just talking to it. They don't yet have a "Siri" like feature, but they are as close as the phone.

Response from DevonWay

Thanks for such a glowing review! We can't wait to show you the really exciting products we've introduced this year showcasing mobility!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Powerful, but not always user friendly - improving, though

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/7/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Trending and tracking functions are excellent.

Pros

Once you learn how to use DevonWay, it makes reporting and analyzing data trends possible in ways we weren't able to before. I see the power of it, and want to be able to fully utilize it.
When we have an issue or question, DevonWay is very responsive.

Cons

User interface can be confusing. Those who don't use it frequently have difficulty figuring out what's being asked of them, or how to find what they're looking for. Many steps to accomplish just about anything.
DevonWay is clearly taking steps to address these issues, but there's a way to go, yet.

Response from DevonWay

We're so glad our solutions are helping APS find meaningful insights into your data. We do continue to focus our efforts on ease of use so anyone can use it, and as always we welcome user feedback. There is a Feedback option in the top right menu to send your comments and suggestions directly to us. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10

DevonWay software user since 2011. Keeps getting better. Output tools are improving to meet business

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/7/2017
Review Source: Capterra

1) Fewer calls from end-users that do not know how to use the product or mess something up.
2) Reporting is getting much better; better tools and good response/solutions from DevonWay when new reporting is needed.
3) User interface keeps improving.
4) Automated reporting to monitor for issues (both with the system and for company issues) is a real time-saver.
5) The Trakway ticket system helps with software development and changes, as well as addressing problems.
6) Track history helps troubleshoot issues.

Pros

The ability to extract data for trending and reporting. Also, the user interface is easy to understand for users that infrequently use the system.

Cons

You get what you ask for. So make sure you understand your business needs and be able to communicate them adequately.

Response from DevonWay

Thanks for your positive review of DevonWay and sharing great advice as a long time DevonWay customer, Rodney!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

I am an end user. It is a nice software, however the implementation is not well thought of here

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 6/5/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like the fact that one can tie objects or actions together or that they can be related.

Cons

It is not inherently obvious how to navigate thru item. I'd reccomned a pop up bubble when the cursor is over a certain item or button to help users navigate the system

Response from DevonWay

Thank you for the honest feedback. We're working on many improvements to the implementation at Talen, which will be live later this Fall. We'll make sure to include pop-up help text as well to any fields that should have it and are missing it -- that sort of thing is very easy to add. We've also made some recent platform upgrades that focus on usability, especially regarding the search screen. We would love your continued feedback on these and any other areas -- please feel free to use the Feedback option in the top right menu to send comments directly to us. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Excellent Teamwork

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/22/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I love DevonWay's ease of use. As an administrator, it makes my life easier as well. My users love the reports we can build easily so they can use the information in different applications.

Cons

It's pretty compartmentalized. Each module has it's limitations as to what it can/can't do. This is typical for software, but sometimes I wish we could break down those walls and use fields across all modules without much hassle.

Response from DevonWay

Thanks for taking the time to review us, Christine. We're glad the ad hoc reporting and charting tool is helping users easily derive meaningful insights from the data. As far as native connectivity, we do have new common fields functionality that will let you create reports across modules. I'll be in touch to show you how!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

I have found that this software is a superior product in comparison to other CAP software.

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 7/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The functionality of the report writer and data search is intuitive and user friendly. This software had been developed to meet every need of a Corrective Action Program and continues to evolve and improve. It has built in tools that allow the user to successfully manage their assignments. Using saved data searches, you can schedule notifications/reminders to keep you on track. Interface between modules is beneficial within Contractor Assurance System. The versatility to customize the software to meet specific project needs is quite impressive.

Cons

Most of the things I liked least about the software have been improved over the years. Maneuvering thru the software and understanding the workflow was sometimes a challenge for users over the age of 35. However, DevonWay has gone to great strides in answer to this by making the software more intuitive. When developing charts, the user is directed via link to Jaspersoft to use for customization of chart; it would be advantageous to have a means by which to find the preferred format as opposed to scrolling through the entire list.

Response from DevonWay

Thanks for your review, Jill! The Business Intelligence (BI) tool and the notification feature really are game changers that differentiate DevonWay CAPA from other applications. We're so please to hear the ease of use and configurability of the software are helping users work more efficiently and find meaningful insights in the data.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Utility Application

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 11/27/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Very positive. Very responsive design team. DevonWay understands our work type (i.e. utility construction).

Pros

Our team uses the DevonWay application to manage the safety of a large utility project in Southern California. We like the intuitiveness of the field application. We also like how easy it has become to track and trend our data.

Cons

Our only issue is that we had to make substantial changes to the application out of the box. However, the DevonWay team was very responsive, and we wound up with an application that suited our needs perfectly.

Response from DevonWay

Thanks so much for your honest review, Tom. Since DevonWay's strength is configurability our products are truly able to meet any organization's specific needs. And thank you for mentioning usability and intuitiveness - this has been a primary focus for our product and development teams so I'll make sure they receive your positive feedback!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

DevonWay customer service is outstanding. The project teams always provide quick responses.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/11/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The reporting features have greatly enhanced over the years. The ability to export files into a variety of different formats is handy making it easier to include statistics into a number of different report files.

Cons

It is not compatible with BlackBerry Devices, if this software was compatible with blackberry devices, our station would be able to further utilize the products.

Response from DevonWay

Thanks for the wonderful compliment and it¿s great to hear you¿re taking advantage of the newly enhanced search and reporting features. You should also know that the newest versions of Blackberry do run the Android platform which we do support. We¿re look forward to helping CNL take advantage of mobile solutions when you¿re ready.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Observation trending/mining

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/10/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Being able to trend and mine data related to employee observations has transformed how we do business and prioritize our energy. DevonWay has met and exceeded what we needed.

Pros

The ability to put in detailed information is far better than other programs I have used. Even after purchase, the software has met other needs as they have arisen.

Cons

Configuration to fit individual needs or run/access particular reports requires a certain amount of professional knowledge/training.

Response from DevonWay

We appreciate your review Michael! We're glad the site is seeing the power of the DevonWay search and reporting tool to gain insights, as well as taking advantage of a platform that can support your changing needs with agility.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

When issues /concerns/problems are identified there's always a quick response to identify and fix

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 6/1/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Easy to input data and easy to extract data. The software is very flexible to meet our needs.

Pros

Very intuitive even for someone that is not an every day user. Data is easy to extract and understand what you are looking at.

Cons

I don't create reports very often so when I do create one it is not intuitive to me on how to customize a report for what I need.

Response from DevonWay

Thanks for taking the time to provide a review, Randy. We're glad to know the various DevonWay products are easy to use for even novice users. Did you know we recently rolled out new online help and documentation that can be accessed directly from the software? It's also context sensitive and searchable which is very helpful!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

DevonWay Software Intuitive

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 11/22/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I have found the software to be not only extremely adaptable and powerful, but easy to use. These are very desirable attributes for a large company with hundreds of users. Whether the user is a power user or an infrequent novice, they can function effectively with this software. The response is almost instantaneous regardless of the size of the database, and it allows for precise searches and self-designed reporting. Support is a cooperation between internal SMEs and DevonWay. In either case it is rare that issues are not resolved in more than a few hours, many in minutes. I have become convinced that DevonWay can provide solutions to virtually any software need, and I very much endorse the product and encourage readers to take the opportunity of a demonstration, especially if most of your workforce are not well versed in software. They will find this easy to use.

Pros

Intuitive, customer support, report building, speed.

Cons

When we procured this software, we did not take advantage of sending individuals to the training to do more of the configuration than we currently can do. While DevonWay support is excellent, having this capability would enhance the flexibility of exploring additional attributes.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Best in class software.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/7/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Automated reporting features that have helped save time and have reduced multiple home tracking methods.

Pros

I am able to manage my corrective actions and provide oversight to any outstanding activities. We are able to trend and measure based on how many date changes occurred to help improve our planning

Cons

They should consider making it easier to enter multiple actions and making the action screen a little larger so you do not have to scroll.

Response from DevonWay

Thank you for the positive feedback. We hope you're enjoying the new search and reporting enhancements included in CNL's most recent upgrade!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Great Software bang for the Buck!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 11/22/2016
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using multiple DevonWay products for over eight years. The software is highly customizable and the DevonWay team is always willing to go the extra mile to make the experience right for you. They are focused on providing you the right tools to make your job simpler, and more efficient. They are also always looking at new technologies to make their software and tools cutting edge. Customer focus though, is what sets the DevonWay team apart. They are quick to respond to questions, address issues, or make adjustments to fit your needs.

Response from DevonWay

Delighting our customers even as we've grown has continued to be very important to us so thank you allowing us to be of service to the USA, John!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

FENOC CAP Program Manager

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 1/9/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ease of use and great and easy search and reporting features. The software ties all the CAP items together - Operating experience, Self-assessment, trending, KPIs, Observations, General Action Tracking, Rule Making, Aging Management, etc.

Cons

People module being in 3 areas - foundation person, Users and person

Response from DevonWay

FirstEnergy does such a great job managing its performance improvement programs to track issues, fine trends, and identify actionable insights. We appreciate being your technical partners to help you tell stories with your data!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

Generally good.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 5/30/2017
Review Source: Capterra

It is our main work tracking tool for addressing Condition Reports.

Pros

Latest format. It is a good working tool for everyday use with respect to initiating, tracking and addressing CRs.

Cons

Inability to mimic some of MS Word File Capabilities with respect to editing and formatting (e.g. creating a numbered list and alignement).

Response from DevonWay

Thanks for your review, Ramiz. We're making continuous improvements with each regular platform release and your suggestion for more robust editing capabilities is a good one that I passed this along to our platform development team. Thanks for your support!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

I am an outside contractor interfacing between the purchasing business and the DevonWay vendor.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 1/3/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The technical and sales teams are wonderful. DevonWay is very willing to help customize the software to the customer's needs and exact specifications.

Cons

The response time for the customer support on resolution of TrakWay incident tickets could be improved.

Response from DevonWay

Thanks Nicole, we really appreciate your review and feedback. Like our customers, we take continuous improvement seriously and have made some recent process changes that we're confident will help improve response time with regards to issue resolution.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

The observation module is easy for the end user and versatile for different types of observations

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 7/5/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We have the ability to slice and dice the information however a user may desire. The tool allows for multiple sites and departments to view and compare data results for analysis of common trends. We are able to adjust the templates and variables on an ongoing basis to support our business needs.

Cons

At first use, many of the features/functionality was not intuitive, especially on the reporting end. However, the company continues to do more to create an improved experience for their customers.

Response from DevonWay

Thanks, Marie. The DevonWay Business Intelligence tool is very powerful and we're glad it's helping you to find meaningful insights!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

The software is the easiest I've ever used. Customer support is fantastic when I have questions

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2/7/2018
Review Source: Capterra

The ability to easily extract the data that's been entered.

Pros

The Ease of Use and it provides me with what I need when I use it. It's easy to put the data in and it's easy to extra data from it.

Response from DevonWay

We appreciate the positive feedback and continue to focus on ease of use in all our solutions!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

Easy to use program that is extremely flexible when evaluating information.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/6/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Performance Evaluation

Pros

Easy to use program that is extremely flexible when evaluating information. Easy to run reports for data evaluation.

Response from DevonWay

Thanks for sharing such a positive DevonWay experience and mentioning flexibility. We've been honing our efforts on easy reporting!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Productivity Software

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 11/30/2018
Review Source: Capterra

It's been an excellent experience with Devonway. We need to track multi-million $ productivity improvement projects across the globe and Devonway has made that seamless.

Pros

Very easy to implement. Good user interface. Easy to learn and use - very intuitive.

Cons

Reporting module took a lot of time to get right.

Response from DevonWay

Mark, thanks so much for your overwhelmingly positive review of DevonWay. Our teams are very focused on building products with ease of use in mind so we're delighted to have hit the mark with such a large number of global users and projects at GE!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Versatile corrective action software that can be adapted for various uses

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 11/23/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I have used this product at both a nuclear power plant and at a research facility in a university. From a very complex large power plant to the simple laboratory facility setting this software is extremely user friendly and adaptable to the many different needs of different organizations. The customer support is very responsive and the software can be molded to the needs and desires of the facility. At the university we have customized this software to track not only maintenance and repairs but also our purchasing and knowledge management. The software is user friendly enough that new students can easily manage their way around in getting things done.

Pros

The versatility and adaptability for any situation

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10