56 reviews

Prophix

Automate & streamline corporate performance management

4,6 /5 (56 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,6
/
5
Value for Money
4,6
Features
4,5
Ease of Use
4,4
Customer Support
4,6
98% recommended this app
56 reviews
Emily A.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Flexible CPM software that provides excellent variance analysis

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/09
Review Source: Capterra

Prophix has helped us to save time in our budgeting and month end.

Pros

We love the budgeting aspect of Prophix. We are able to have more cross functional support and accountability.

Cons

The thing that I like least about the software is end user engagement. It's always difficult to get them interested in the software beyond budgeting.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Amanda C.
Industry: Insurance
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Plethora of Options

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/12/30
Review Source: Capterra

Prophix is the best planning and expense analysis software I have seen. It has allowed me to streamline so many processes. This company also provides excellent training so that we have the ability to control the software and create whatever is needed. The consultants are knowledgeable and have helped us to customize the system to our company.

Pros

The Prophix Software is very versatile, starting with it creating a web-based platform. This was important for our company and allows the software to be updated quarterly without issue. We are able to use Prophix for Expense tracking, Expense and Capital planning, reforecasting, Compensation planning, Project tracking, Expense allocation, GAAP PLOB reporting, and still have several more tasks to implement through Prophix. The data can be sliced and diced many ways, and each user is able to do it however they like. It is easy to create or run existing reports. We have made many of our processes more efficient, and Prophix has allowed us to save more time than you can imagine. The software is easy to use and visually outstanding. The Prophix consultants were patient and supremely knowledgeable, personalizing and customizing the software to our company’s needs.

Cons

There are so many options within Prophix that at times, it can be overwhelming. I think it’s necessary to have a few Admin to create reports and assist users, so that the users do not have to know how to use everything.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Tom K.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Construction review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/18
Review Source: Capterra

it met all of our needs and is a great software

Pros

its very flexible and provided what we needed

Cons

sometimes it can be a little slow and has crashed in the past

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Philip H.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great Customer Service

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/09/27
Review Source: Capterra

Overall it has gone very well. I have learned a lot. The customer service has been sincere and helpful. Data integration is daily and report consolidation is easy to do.

Pros

The consultation and training was excellent. The data management is simple and effective. Easy to browse from different modules and pages. The knowledge bank is large and there is a large customer resource pool.

Cons

Some of the graphs and charts have limited accessories and capabilities. Learning curve was high, but this may be the nature of the software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Furniture
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Powerful, flexible reporting tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/07
Review Source: Capterra

Capex planning and project management including variance analysis budget vs actual, internal reporting (formal quarterly reports, ad hoc management reports, with variance analysis year-on-year), consolidated external reporting (several entities across multiple countries and currencies), other external reporting

Pros

Powerful and flexible- report on almost anything! Pull data from multiple sources and compile and present in an almost infinite number of different ways. review variances, budget vs actual, generate your annual financial statements- name your reporting requirement, this program can do it. Great customer support and a community of users with a dedicated forum for questions. They are constantly seeking feedback from their users and adding new improvements to their product.

Cons

Like any other new software, this represents a huge investment in time, training, and supplier relationship. There is a great deal of software specific jargon, although they are always working to simplify this and improve training. Some steps can take a long time for the report to load. Some reports may be very difficult to build. That said they can help you redesign the report to run faster. Almost anything is possible with the right approach though. They are based in Canada with a limited presence and customer base in Europe, and sometimes can feel very North-America specific. I think this is slowly improving though.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Tom S.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 201-500 Employees

One Source of Truth

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/16
Review Source: Capterra

We have had a very good experience with Prophix. We were very reliant on Excel spreadsheets for Financial reports and budgeting. That is not the case now. Prophix has freed us from that.

As we have learned more about the system we are able to develop other ways to use it besides reporting and budgeting.

Pros

Prophix has allowed us to have one source of truth for our Financial reports, our budget and forecast process. It has allowed us to get more people involved in the budget and forecast process while making it easier share information among participates.

Cons

I am not an IT guy so understanding the data connections has been a bit challenging. We get IT involved but I know they have other projects so getting it completed in a timely manner can be a challenge.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Samantha J.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Prophix Review from a non Financial user

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/09/15
Review Source: Capterra

I've had a fantastic experience with Prophix. Their engagement with the organisation, the structure to their implementation process and the online and offline support has been impressive. They empower the organisation to skill up to manage their own development and ability to evolve the platform so I feel excited about taking it forward. I also find their roadmap impressive, in that they are already thinking and planning some great developments for the future

Pros

Its ability to adapt and handle our non financial data without feeling like we were compromising , its logic and the transparency of the system

(I am seperate to those within our organisation who have completed the implementation of our financial data-my focus is on the non financial operational data and measures)

Cons

For the operational data we opted for a flat file approach to integrating our data onto this platform so there was a lot of importing and exporting, however this was the best solution for us based on the format of our source data. We have spent a lot of time working on the structure, bringing in of data and creating the appropriate reports but I strongly believe the system is as good as the time you invest into its development for your organisation. It will be as good as what you put into it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Shan S.
Industry: Packaging & Containers
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Great Product for

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It is intuitive and easy to use. If you're familiar with excel, most of the functions carry over flawlessly.

Cons

Connecting more than 20 ERP systems to import data was a challenge. It affected the overall performance and ultimately usage as my company has not fully been able to convert to the cloud version. The administrator is still managing the Smart Client.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Kelly C.
Industry: Insurance
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Propohix

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/15
Review Source: Capterra

Overall experience and support is generally average, but we did have a poor experience with customer support throughout our migration to the cloud.

Pros

Ability for multiple users (owners of each product line) to submit budgets and forecasts within Prophix. The work flow process allows my team to then analyze all submissions in consolidation, all within Prophix. Drill across capabilities are used constantly by the finance teams within our organization.

Cons

The excel add-in is not as good as others that I've used. Our migration to the Cloud environment was also very difficult for our team.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Prophix helps us solve business problems!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I love how powerful Prophix is as a reporting, analytics, and planning tool. It helps us to speed up our monthly close process, get accurate and timely reports to decision makers within the organization, and helps us prove value to our clients as well with dashboards. It is also a powerful tool for what-if scenario analysis.

Cons

It is a little difficult to learn and implement at the front end, but once you get up to speed it is a very powerful tool.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Flexible and Cost Effective

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/12/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This software is easy to use and administer and provides all the functionality that we needed for a fraction of the price of some of the other systems. Offers on-prem (with cloud access) or cloud only. Great for planning and consolidating across a distributed organization. Handles multiple locations/currencies/ERP's seamlessly. Ability to establish connection to other systems and run regular imports. We have been able to use this system for our consolidated financial reporting. The DPM module allows us to build out HR Cost projection at a very granular level to increase accuracy and quality of our forecasting and budgeting. It is very flexible and the customer success team is always looking for ways to improve the product and help you utilize it to its full potential.

Cons

The formatting of templates and reports can be a little quirky and there are some limitations with using Excel based formulas but nothing insurmountable.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Bobby R.
Industry: Events Services
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

CPM Made Easy

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/19
Review Source: Capterra

We used to consolidate all of our financials for 20+ agencies using excel and it was a nightmare. After using Prophix we have been able to reduce errors, improve reporting, and be more analytical. The latest commentary functionality allows us to exclusively use Prophix for our forecasting and analytics.

Pros

As a finance employee, I enjoy the freedom of being able to control and maintain Prophix with minimal IT support. We have an on-premise server and I am able to RDP into the system if needed and reset services, modify tables, and update to the latest Prophix version without having to include our IT department. This allows me to quickly diagnosis issues and work more efficiently.

Cons

Report building can be problematic at times, especially when creating large reports with multiple data views.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ashleigh A.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Easy to use budgeting tool

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/11/26
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, I really enjoy Prophix. I find it extremely easy to use. My only frustrations have been with the detailed planning model but everything else is great. Ad hocs are easy to run, the DPM is easy to set up and reports can be created in a matter of minutes.

Pros

I like the ease of this software. I started my position at a time where I did not get much, if any, training in Prophix. I found it very easy to use and felt like an expert after about a month of teaching myself the functions. It has been great.

Cons

I do not like the detailed planning model. It is very easy to use but unfortunately it does not integrate well with our financials system. We cannot split out salary, taxes, merit increase, etc when running an ad hoc which makes it a little complicated at times when trying to explain increases to department heads.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Michael F.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great Product with Excellent Customer Support

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/23
Review Source: Capterra

My overall experience has been great. They support customers through their Prophix Academy and annual user conference. The monthly webinars are very informative. The staff is always very friendly and easy to work with. We are hoping to bring more processes into Prophix in the future.

Pros

I like the flexibility of this product. You can build any type of report, forecast, calculation, etc. that you want as long as you can feed data to it. I also really like the customer support - they are very helpful and responsive when their's a problem.

Cons

There are some manual activities maintenance activities you need to do. I can navigate it fairly well with the documentations provided.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Bilal S.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Friendly and easy to use tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/08
Review Source: Capterra

Currently we do Financial planning and consolidation of our budget, Internal operational reporting and analysis and personnel budgeting within Prophix. Prophix has help us with better business partner during our budgeting process through there workflow and template process, which are great and easy to use.

Pros

The tool is very flexible for customizing the software to our business needs and even if we need to rebuild the structures and data cubes. The experienced Prophix consultants are a pleasure to work with and very knowledgeable.

Cons

Dashboard aspects is still a little weak

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Robust and flexible with on-premise deployment option

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Robust framework for Detailed Planning of HR, CAPEX, etc. plus ability to define workflows to support custom business processes in these areas. Also it is built on Microsoft SQL Server stack, which is ideal for our org as our other systems are based on the same and we can set up highly customized integrations using familiar technology.

Cons

Updates for the on-prem deployment are a little cumbersome and involve an uninstall/reinstall, plus editing web config files if you're deploying the web client.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Rebecca B.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Completely Satisfied

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/01/14
Review Source: Capterra

My experience has been so much better than expected. We have reduced our budget cycle by 2 1/2 months, that’s just one example!

Pros

The time savings we’ve been able to achieve as well as the consistency of reporting.

Cons

That I can’t have one report workbook (like an excel file with tabs) to work in. You have to create a workbook process to combine it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Michelle F.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Prophix Saves us Time and Money

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/19
Review Source: Capterra

It is far superior than any other software I have used for reporting. Prophix makes everything we use it for easier and faster. The support team is easy to work with.

Pros

Prophix saves our team multiple days of work every month and multiple days during budgeting and planning every year. We have improved reporting and analysis. We can pull data from several sources and consolidate in one place.

Cons

Graphing capabilities, but they have communicated that it is in the product roadmap.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Donna F.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Prophix Fan

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/14
Review Source: Capterra

Prophix has improved our monthly and annual processes with one true source; the Prophix support team has been instrumental in teaching every step of the way with professionalism and patience.

Pros

We primarily needed a budget that didn't require Excel spreadsheets being sent and complied in hopes nobody added a column or row! Not only are we able to all share the input of budget data, but we have comments, details, and a history of who did what!
As a bonus, we were able to create all of our monthly financial reports in Prophix and automatically generate them into a PDF or in Excel! A nightly process that can also be run on-demand imports the GL details from GP, so we can review within minutes!

Cons

There is definitely a learning curve, but once you understand it, creating reports and viewing ad hoc details gets easier.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Chris L.
Industry: Retail

Help your users help themselves!

Reviewed on 2015/11/25
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Prophix is a great software that is very multifunctional. You can use it for many different applications and design it to be as complicated or simple as your needs dictate. Our installation uses a function labeled Relational Data Views and allows users to drill into a total on a P&L and view the transactions from the GL system that make up the balance. This frees up Accounting from answering simple questions and allows the users to contact us less frequently.

Cons

Prophix does a great job on listening to users. We have located minor issues\bugs in the past but they are receptive to feedback. They also have a feedback forum for enhancement requests and users get to vote on each other’s ideas.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Erin G.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Dynamic and Easy to Use

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It is a very intuitive software. It is easy to learn (and to teach). I especially like the Excel add-in functionality, which we use for financial consolidation, managerial reporting, budgeting and monthly forecasting. It is also a great tool for ad hoc reporting.

Cons

Like any software, it can be sluggish sometimes - especially when dealing with large amounts of data.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Marina R.
Industry: Insurance
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Intuitive and Insightful

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/09/15
Review Source: Capterra

Prophix has been great for budgeting and projection financials. It allows for easy insight into the general ledger data which has reduced my time spent piecing together information from multiple systems/sources.

Pros

I like how easy it was to grasp the basics of this software. Without being an expert I still feel that I am capable of getting the information I need and continuing to learn the system intuitively.

Cons

Some features of the software are a little more challenging to pick up and understand without adequate training.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jenny B.
Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

User friendly, multi-purpose software with great support

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/10
Review Source: Capterra

Prophix has been the perfect solutions to our company's need.

Pros

Prophix is a well rounded software that is easy to use and is well supported by the Prophix team. Prophix has met and exceeded our company needs while continually improving on a daily basis.

Cons

There is some difficulties extracting multiple years of data our of the system.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Tiffany M.
Industry: Philanthropy
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Prophix Power User

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/06
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Great for budgeting and forecasting. You can set up different templates to budget and forecast and other users can enter their values. Limits user access to certain areas. Has a personnel planning feature that eases the budgeting process for all wages, taxes, and benefits. Has a good reporting feature and interacts with your accounting software to import info with ease.

Cons

If you need to upgrade or make a large change you have to ask for support from Prophix and they aren't always easy to work with or quick to fix major issues. The reporting feature requires a lot of manual steps to set up new reports. It isn't super user friendly if you don't use it on a regular basis.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Great Product - Enhancements Galore!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Accessibility on web and and smart client, continued improvement and great customer support. Reporting and budgeting capabilities are limitless.

Cons

Dashboards have few updated features. However, feedback has been heard and enhancements will soon be released based on latest news.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10