Prophix Reviews

Prophix

Automate & streamline corporate performance management

4.5/5 (33 reviews)
Verified Reviewer

Flexible and Cost Effective

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/12/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This software is easy to use and administer and provides all the functionality that we needed for a fraction of the price of some of the other systems. Offers on-prem (with cloud access) or cloud only. Great for planning and consolidating across a distributed organization. Handles multiple locations/currencies/ERP's seamlessly. Ability to establish connection to other systems and run regular imports. We have been able to use this system for our consolidated financial reporting. The DPM module allows us to build out HR Cost projection at a very granular level to increase accuracy and quality of our forecasting and budgeting. It is very flexible and the customer success team is always looking for ways to improve the product and help you utilize it to its full potential.

Cons

The formatting of templates and reports can be a little quirky and there are some limitations with using Excel based formulas but nothing insurmountable.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Bobby R.

CPM Made Easy

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/19
Review Source: Capterra

We used to consolidate all of our financials for 20+ agencies using excel and it was a nightmare. After using Prophix we have been able to reduce errors, improve reporting, and be more analytical. The latest commentary functionality allows us to exclusively use Prophix for our forecasting and analytics.

Pros

As a finance employee, I enjoy the freedom of being able to control and maintain Prophix with minimal IT support. We have an on-premise server and I am able to RDP into the system if needed and reset services, modify tables, and update to the latest Prophix version without having to include our IT department. This allows me to quickly diagnosis issues and work more efficiently.

Cons

Report building can be problematic at times, especially when creating large reports with multiple data views.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Michael F.

Great Product with Excellent Customer Support

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/23
Review Source: Capterra

My overall experience has been great. They support customers through their Prophix Academy and annual user conference. The monthly webinars are very informative. The staff is always very friendly and easy to work with. We are hoping to bring more processes into Prophix in the future.

Pros

I like the flexibility of this product. You can build any type of report, forecast, calculation, etc. that you want as long as you can feed data to it. I also really like the customer support - they are very helpful and responsive when their's a problem.

Cons

There are some manual activities maintenance activities you need to do. I can navigate it fairly well with the documentations provided.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Robust and flexible with on-premise deployment option

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Robust framework for Detailed Planning of HR, CAPEX, etc. plus ability to define workflows to support custom business processes in these areas. Also it is built on Microsoft SQL Server stack, which is ideal for our org as our other systems are based on the same and we can set up highly customized integrations using familiar technology.

Cons

Updates for the on-prem deployment are a little cumbersome and involve an uninstall/reinstall, plus editing web config files if you're deploying the web client.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Michelle F.

Prophix Saves us Time and Money

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/19
Review Source: Capterra

It is far superior than any other software I have used for reporting. Prophix makes everything we use it for easier and faster. The support team is easy to work with.

Pros

Prophix saves our team multiple days of work every month and multiple days during budgeting and planning every year. We have improved reporting and analysis. We can pull data from several sources and consolidate in one place.

Cons

Graphing capabilities, but they have communicated that it is in the product roadmap.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Chris L.

Help your users help themselves!

Reviewed on 2015/11/25
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Prophix is a great software that is very multifunctional. You can use it for many different applications and design it to be as complicated or simple as your needs dictate. Our installation uses a function labeled Relational Data Views and allows users to drill into a total on a P&L and view the transactions from the GL system that make up the balance. This frees up Accounting from answering simple questions and allows the users to contact us less frequently.

Cons

Prophix does a great job on listening to users. We have located minor issues\bugs in the past but they are receptive to feedback. They also have a feedback forum for enhancement requests and users get to vote on each other’s ideas.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Tiffany M.

Prophix Power User

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/06
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Great for budgeting and forecasting. You can set up different templates to budget and forecast and other users can enter their values. Limits user access to certain areas. Has a personnel planning feature that eases the budgeting process for all wages, taxes, and benefits. Has a good reporting feature and interacts with your accounting software to import info with ease.

Cons

If you need to upgrade or make a large change you have to ask for support from Prophix and they aren't always easy to work with or quick to fix major issues. The reporting feature requires a lot of manual steps to set up new reports. It isn't super user friendly if you don't use it on a regular basis.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Great Product - Enhancements Galore!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Accessibility on web and and smart client, continued improvement and great customer support. Reporting and budgeting capabilities are limitless.

Cons

Dashboards have few updated features. However, feedback has been heard and enhancements will soon be released based on latest news.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Steve A.

Awesome CPM tool!

Reviewed on 2015/11/24
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

I like the simplicity that Prophix brings to its software. Building on OLAP cube technology, data can be sliced and diced as much as you like. They have an outstanding product feedback function, where users can request enhancements to the tool. In fact, many of the enhancements are customer driven. Total cost of ownership is low, including initial price point.

Cons

There isn't much I don't like about the software - the full control that the Finance team exhibits on the software keeps frustrations to a minimum.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Barbara L.

Amazing, if you have the time

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The functionality of this program is astounding. Having all of your financial and statistical data easily accessible in one place really makes a difference.

Cons

It takes a considerable amount of time to learn how to manage certain aspects of the program.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Kyle S.

Great Product

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I really like the ease of use of this product. Makes it easy to train a new user on how to get information.

Cons

There are many limitations to using this product as far as formatting and amount of info used in a single report.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Erin G.

Dyanmic and User Friendly

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/06/18
Review Source: Capterra

Great product - I've been very happy with it.

Pros

It's easy to use. It's a great tool for budgeting and monthly projections. It consolidates data from multiple sources and is more flexible than other softwares that we have utilized.

Cons

Switching from desktop application to online version is time intensive. This would not be an issue for new users - all new users receive the online version.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Prophix Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/24
Review Source: Capterra

One-source place for data. Budgeting/forecasting and financial statements

Pros

The software is flexible. Allows you to have multiple versions and multiple cubes

Cons

Sometimes the software is slow in generating reports

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Parveen R.

Prophix Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/17
Review Source: Capterra

Exciting

Pros

The ease of use and customer service staff.

Cons

Constant changes with out the reminder to update

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Prophix for Budgeting

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/12/21
Review Source: Capterra

Great price and the Helpdesk has been prompt and wonderful every time I have needed them. Dynamic information and ability to drill to specified levels of information. I think if we had a full team or at least an employee who's full time job was to manage and maintain this system it would be great.

Pros

It is dynamic and multidimensional, as someone who uses it regularly with IT experience, I find it to be a good tool. I like that we can add comments and Line item details to our Budgets and flow information through our versions if need be.

Cons

Many of our managers do not use our system regularly since the Product can be a little confusing for end users that are not in the IT or accounting world. Sales Managers find it difficult to remember what steps/versions they should be using. Also, it looks similar to Excel but the screen is smaller and the system has many quirks when trying to build templates, especially when involving formulas.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Tim O.

Easy to use, easy to administer, easy to configure

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/19
Review Source: Capterra

Easy administration of Income Statement mapping from an otherwise onerous GL system.

Pros

Software is great to work with - very user friendly administration portal. Templates make for great re-use of information, with easy changes to named-sets (variables).

Cons

Nothing - great system - the more you maintain it, the more you can get out of it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Paul F.

Prophix Review

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/04/15
Review Source: Capterra

Overall experience so far has been outstanding. The team is supportive and very knowledgeable. Always thinking outside the box to find a solution.

Pros

It's transformational. Our process was completely manual utilizing Excel. The power, flexibility and intuitiveness will change the way we budget, forecast, re-forecast and plan for the future

Cons

Reporting - need to add functionality that easily allows you to take an existing report and replicate the model without having to re-select each account or group.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Jeff D.

Budget your Expenses and Revnue with Prophix Software

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/03/06
Review Source: Capterra

Prophix Software is very detailed, allowing you to budget month by month. I have been using it for my budgets for 2 years now, and it has worked for me and my company in detailing several rounds of budgets each year.

Pros

Prophix Software enables our finance team to enter and coordinate budgets for the entire company. We all can go into it at any time to see how much we have budgeted for a given project or department in a given time frame.

Cons

When you have a lot of different people entering and approving budgets, it is hard to know when your budget was changed and by whom. So, you may go into the software thinking your budget is one number and another number shows up, without really knowing why.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Michael S.

Early implementer but so far the Prophix team has been there every step of the way.

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/07/19
Review Source: Capterra

This was a welcome replacement of two separate unsupported software packages.

Pros

I really like the flexibility and ability to get all of our financial reporting, budgeting, KPI data on one platform.

Cons

Still new to the software, so i have no major issues yet that aren't attributable to end user error.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Larry C.

12YearProphix User_Review

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/25
Review Source: Capterra

Budget Planning and Analysis

Pros

Ease of use.
Little learning curve.
Stable and reliable.

Cons

Licensing and User Roles is confusing for users.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Tom K.

Construction review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/18
Review Source: Capterra

it met all of our needs and is a great software

Pros

its very flexible and provided what we needed

Cons

sometimes it can be a little slow and has crashed in the past

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Harshit B.

Good analytical software

Used Other for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/08/10
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

compatible with microsoft sql & analytical products like Excel, PPT
Capable of running high frequency ratios/metrics

Cons

on sql server or flat files data can be integrated into the software for analytical purposes
Small scale system, still needs to be enhanced further

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Kit K.

Good product, room for improvement

Reviewed on 2016/04/26
Review Source: Capterra

Product concepts are great. Detailed planning module is separate from budget module which creates good security for segregation of duties. I have been using Prophix for budgeting since Priphix Enterprise. However, software displays are not very user friendly. It's difficult for users who take part in budget once or twice a year to remember the icond that lead to different views and functionality. I have got too many user requests to be re-trained every year. So I decided to distribute template in Excel then upload back to Prophix.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Meaghan M.

Great Customer Service

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/01/30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The interface is very user friendly. It has a ton of options but is not overwhelming and it's easy for someone with minimal training to use.

Cons

There are no cons with Prophix Software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Barbara L.

So much potential

Reviewed on 2016/04/26
Review Source: Capterra

The program has so much potential, but it's difficult to learn how to harness it. Trial and error has been our method so far, which has helped tremendously in the learning process, but is very time consuming. The customer service line seems to only have 4 people working it and has not been very helpful. Overall it's a great product if you have the resources and time to put into it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support