ampEducator Reviews

ampEducator

Web-based student information system for higher education

4.2/5 (17 reviews)
David P.

Great Value - handles attendance, clock hours, terms, easy to use.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/02/15
Review Source: Capterra

We are a small non-profit college that uses clock hours and terms. I searched several other options, but nothing in this affordable price range. Software is web based and we never have any problems with being down. Software handles attendance, make up hours, terms, etc. Customer Service has been very helpful in making changes and improvements that improves the software capability. I believe this software will get even better as time goes on.

Pros

Easy to use, Web Based (Does not require a IT support team for backup and maintenance, instructors and staff can access where ever they internet), Handles Attendance, Clock Hours or Credit Hours, has flexible fields that you can utilized. You can easily generate some reports to PDF or Excel. Very affordable. You get a lot for your money.

Cons

There is not a lot of built in ready to use reports. Currently there are not predeveloped IPED Reporting that is required for U.S. Department of Education type reports. I will say that the programmers are very open to developing whatever reports you need. The software does not come preloaded with reports that other schools have developed or had previously written.

Response from ampEducator

Hi David!

Thanks for the review! I agree that when it comes to reports we still have work to do even though we do have a lot of built-in reporting tools.

One of the issues we face is that we work with many schools from around the world that do so many specific things and are governed by different rules it's nearly impossible to have a "standard" set of reports. Having said that we are working towards having some "standards" based on type of institution and region. A really good example is tax forms - in Canada the T2202A tax form is completely different than the 1098T tax form in the USA. While we can do both it still involves some work depending on how your staff track financials, etc.

Anyway, as you know with all the work we are doing for you it's good to know at least there is a solution for pretty much any situation you can throw at us!

Thanks again, looking forward to continue making ampEducator even better with your help!

- Jamie

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Pauline K.

Love / Hate Relationship

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/02/15
Review Source: Capterra

There is a love/hate with ampEducator. I love the look of it, I like that it can be flexible and easy to use. It would be great for simple, straight forward companies / organizations but for more complex, higher education it is difficult to get what you need done which is what we experience.

We have to pay to get special features created in order to get what we need done and later those features are given to the rest of the customers at no charge. I feel like we do help AmpEducator expand its capabilities so it's great for people who use it now.

AmpEducator is limiting and there are a lot of workarounds and errors that come up. It can be frustrating. It's affordable for us at this time, it's really hard to switch out right now, and the customer support really do try to help and fix things but it does take time.

Pros

I like the way it looks, easy to use, able to show academic history / audit, data maintenance.

Cons

It's limiting in functionality for a bigger, complex school. It can feel unreliable like there is a bug or a huge workaround.

Response from ampEducator

Hey Pauline!

I also have a love/hate relationship with ampEducator :) that is so funny!

Since we got started back in 2010 with you specifically I can remember so many times going back and forth for hours sorting out ideas and issues with you and the development team. While we have come a long way with all that we still have so much work to do! We have always done our best to address any ideas, bugs or concerns that you have brought to us and it is because of users like yourself over the years helping us improve that someday we will reach our goal of becoming "the most affordable, fully featured campus management system in the world".

Now that we got that mission statement plug in there - I just wanted to say again that you are awesome and thanks again for putting up with us in those earlier years Pauline!

- Jamie

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Patrick P.

Coordinator, Student Enrollment

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/02/15
Review Source: Capterra

It is very affordable and the amp support team has been very helpful. They always try to help us to figure out the problems. It works well with our school and I am satisfied.

Pros

Amp support team is very helpful.

Cons

Easy to generating the report.

Response from ampEducator

Hi Patrick,

It's hard for clients to find time to review so thanks so much for doing it!

While we have made efforts to build in reporting tools all over the place in the software we know it's not there yet. We're going to be adding some new section Dashboard reports that may help in Spring 2017. Custom reports for a small fee may be the only way to go for now if you need things to be exactly a certain way. We do provide that as an option as a last resort. If you have any request please let us know of course!

Best,
- Jamie

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Ronnie C.

Invaluable Tool for Our Office

Reviewed on 2017/02/16
Review Source: Capterra

ampEducator provides a easy to use solution to student information management. The interface seems to constantly be updated to expand functionality. The CS team is pretty small but every efficient it following up with issues with the software. ampEducator also allows for customization features that can be added /built into the platform. Not perfect, but pretty close!~

Pros

ease of use, customization of features.

Cons

updates to interface seem to happen at random and without warning. A notification of recent updates would be extremely helpful.

Response from ampEducator

Hi Ronnie,

Thanks for the review! Since 2010 when we started with your school we have really improved and notification of those improvements has been our priority all along. If you are not getting these notifications please visit the ampeducator.com website and in the footer there is a link to subscribe to our newsletter and also to make sure your email is on the lists. Also we offer blog.ampeducator.com for all updates and we are announcing updates on the Dashboard with our new communications tools added in Nov 2016. We welcome any ideas that you have that we can improve in this area - please email [email protected] any time to start a ticket!

Thanks again!

- Jamie

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Chris S.

Glad to use this product

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/02/15
Review Source: Capterra

We have been using AmpEducator for over 8 years. We have watched President and his team evolve the system to a more intuitive system than before. We appreciate the responsiveness of the tech support and I am always impressed with my personal interaction with AmpEducator's President. When the President responds to even minor questions, it shows you care.

Pros

Ease of use

Cons

Would like to see more ease in tailoring it to our needs.

Response from ampEducator

Thanks so much for the review Chris! We really appreciate the feedback and support over the years. We're working hard to release new features in the coming months to make things even easier to tailor to your needs. If you have any specific requests please let us know!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Ryan D.

Best bang for the buck!

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/02/17
Review Source: Capterra

My school has been using ampEducator since 2010. As a small school, we needed an off-site, web based, simple, affordable solution. ampEducator has grown with us over the years and adds new features that we ask them to, for a nominal fee, of course. I recommend ampEducator to my colleagues with small-medium schools.

Pros

intuitive to use, simple interface.

Cons

We pay to have custom programming done. Then some months later, the feature appears available to all software users. It feels like we paid for it, yet all get the benefit.

Response from ampEducator

Hi Ryan,

Thanks for the review! We really appreciate it!

We have come a long way since 2010 when we got started with you. While we do have planned feature updates internally it's true that when clients urgently need feature(s) to be added as soon as possible (whether we had planned or not) we offer to let them pay for priority rather than wait until the planned release (where technically possible). We do we share the benefits of the added feature(s) with everyone using ampEducator because that's just the way the platform works but you also get the same benefit from all other clients around the world that also do this. This is why we only do custom work that will benefit everyone using ampEducator. The pooling of resources based on real world needs together since 2009 has allowed us to save money and then pass those savings back to you in lower monthly fees or the "best bang for the buck!" to quote one of our best clients :)

Thanks again!

- Jamie

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
David M.

Working with SIMS

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/02/15
Review Source: Capterra

I have seen improvements with this software but there are still little things that are bothersome. For example, I work mainly with faculty members for our university so their information is stored in AmpEducator. I've noticed several times that when I update an address or email address, the information resorts back to what was previously there and no update actually occurred. I would update an address, and then when I'm ready to mail out a check, I would mail it to the wrong address. This has happened twice with the same professor so I know I updated the professor's information at least once, especially after the first time. But really, these are minor and I want to share this information so that in the future, I can give 4 stars instead of 3 which just means satisfactory to me.

Pros

It is easy to use and I like how things are grouped together.

Cons

Information does not stay updated!

Response from ampEducator

Hi David,

Thanks for the review. As per our email conversation please make sure that your staff are clicking the right button to update the profile or otherwise this may happen!

Hopefully, this solves your issue if not please send us a ticket and we will check it out.

Best,

- Jamie

------------------
from David:

Hi Jamie,

Yes, that could have been the issue. I know I have been clicking on Update Details but I'm not the only one updating Professor's information.

Thanks for looking into this! We'll definitely send in tickets if we see any more issues.

Thanks!

With blue Eagle pride,
David

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

5.0/10
Sharon S.

Good Software for Student Managment

Reviewed on 2016/03/17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros: I can load course documents easily and print off transcripts with issues when ever we need to. Entering data is easy. Jamie - the president is very easy to get along with and will step in to solve even the simplest requests. For that we are grateful.

Cons: Program Management isn't simple. Not having an "how to guide" is hard on us as we are always reliant on the tech support and timing is critical. Creating a course is simple, but existing templates don't transfer attached related documents when used to create a course from the template. Report development isn't simple and has been the issue from the inception of the software.

Response from ampEducator

Hey Sharon,

As one of our long term clients we really appreciate you guys! Those early years with ampEducator were a real learning curve for us to say the least.

We're in the process of developing a full manual which can be found on the website here http://ampeducator.com/manual_start.php and while it is not completed yet this will also be supplemented with how to videos currently in production as well. We also encourage you to review the blog.ampeducator.com as well!

We have plans to include documents with course templates for this Spring 2017. It's part of a broader update that is happening right now and that feature requires some other things to happen first.

I will email you directly to discuss the improvements to reports coming up. If there is something else you need please let me know.

Thanks again for the feedback!

Best,
- Jamie

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Emilia S.

I use ampEducator on a daily basis as an administrator.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/09/07
Review Source: Capterra

This software greatly benefits us in organizing our students personal info and their academic progress.

Pros

I like how easy and clear ampEducator is. The software is extremely user friendly for administrators and users. I have only been using this software for 3 months but I have learned how to use it very quickly.

Cons

I wish that there were more bulk enrollment options for ampEducator. For example, when inputting student grades it has to be done in single batches.

Response from ampEducator

Hi Emilia, Thanks for taking the time to post this! We have plans to add new features to the "More Actions" also known as "Bulk Options" for ampEducator. I'm not sure if you knew this or not but you currently can bulk import grades using an excel template?I will contact you directly about this and we can discuss any suggestions you have to improve. This type of feedback is how ampEducator was built over the last 10 years and is greatly appreciated! Thanks again, Jamie.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Harmony G.

Very responsive tech support

Reviewed on 2017/02/21
Review Source: Capterra

The representative is great to work with and responds quickly. We did have some issues with the reporting software early on, but those have since been resolved. ampEducator is user friendly and has simple to set up user portals.

Pros

Easy to use, responsive tech support

Cons

sometimes the reporting systems goes down or changes without notice (rarely). Pulling reports for lates doesn't always work.

Response from ampEducator

Hi Harmony!

Thanks for the review! We really appreciate it. Pretty much anything you can think of can be achieved with our Custom Reports option in ampEducator when the built-in reporting tools don't do exactly what you want. Occasionally, (depending on how complicated the custom report queries are) we have to make database changes and that can break a custom report we have built for you in the past. We've taken steps to ensure that doesn't happen anymore by tracking custom reports better but anything is still possible so please let us know asap if you get an error status running any custom reports. As for Lates not always working I assume this is with a custom report and not the built-in attendance tools but I will email you directly and you can confirm what you are seeing so we can resolve it for you.

Thanks again!
- Jamie

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Almost There

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/01/08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I love the ampEducator idea and the overall software when it comes to keeping track of students and development.

Cons

I wish the interface was a little less cluttered and user-friendly.

Response from ampEducator

Happy New Year! Thanks for the review! We really appreciate any feedback. It's been a challenge to develop a User Interface (UI) that is easy to use when ampEducator has so many advanced features - depending on your assigned User Role in ampEducator you can disable and not see a lot of features if you are not using them. This may help to make things a little less cluttered - please let me know if you have any questions. Thanks again! Jamie

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Ken N.

I am happy and recommend ampEducator to anyone

Reviewed on 2016/03/17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
- Super affordable
- The support team has been helpful
- They have just what I need for our school

Cons
- It's a little bit hard to learn at the beginning but once you know the system, you will be fine
- There are still rooms for improvement

Overall
It works well with our school and I am satisfied

Response from ampEducator

Hi Ken,

Thanks for the feedback! We really appreciate it! If you need anything you know how to find me :)

Best,
- Jamie

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Patrick W.

Tampa Allied Health

Reviewed on 2010/10/18
Review Source: Capterra

Good system for small schools on fixed budget. Easy to use and easy to implement.

Pros

Reports that it generates are thorough. Willingness to accomodate is hallmark of customer service. Easy navigation through the system. Inexpensive for schools on tight budget.

Cons

As one works with the system one has to customize on a regular basis to accomodate the needs of the school.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Norma G.

Excellent Product

Reviewed on 2009/11/17
Review Source: Capterra

Excellent program and support.

Pros

As one of the first users of Ampeducator I feel that it has met all the needs of building a new data base for Marca College.

Cons

Would like to see something implemented to have a breakdown of reports per campus.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Areej S.

You folks are doing a great job!

Reviewed on 2014/09/04
Review Source: Capterra

Thank you so much for the support, really appreciate it. Your staff has been so helpful in giving me precise instructions regarding the Amperea account management. You folks are doing a great job!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Arjun S.

ampEducator is an easy to learn, easy to use web based student information system.

Used Monthly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/16
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The software is easy to use. The software is very clear and extremely user friendly for administrators and users. I learn to use the software very easily.

Cons

There is no bulk enrollment option. For example, when inputting student grades it has to be done in single batches.

Response from ampEducator

Hi Arjun, thanks for taking the time to review our software! We really appreciate it. For bulk updating student grades there is an option to import the student grades from a CSV file. If you would like to contact us and start a ticket with [email protected] we would be happy to help you with this function. Best, Jamie.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Julia G.

Director

Reviewed on 2009/12/10
Review Source: Capterra

it can be an good help for the college

Pros

internet based

Cons

not easy to navigate, all the information of the prospective students should be on one page instead of the sales have to click too many pages.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support